Fort Collins, CO 
Fort Collins High School Share



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Now and then.

2-4    10/14/2009   1/14/2010
Review By: CBass
Played: 85  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One short water hole(#4) was nice to see, shoot carefully as there are ball fields to the right and water to the left. The back section of holes was more fun for me due to its stretched out nature and large cottonwood trees. You will not find a lot of disc traffic here. Tees are marked on the sidewalk with bright yellow paint. It's good to expose younger people to the sport with this course being located where it is.
Cons: Nothing too spectacular here, I will stop by only now and then. Lots of tall chain link fences on almost every hole which area pain to climb. Most of the time I was here, they were locked leaving only one way in(or over). If there are school activities after hours this course can be somewhat unplayable at times, keep this in mind when heading out to play. No tee signs or mappage anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Hit this course up on a day when no one is around and if you don't throw over a fence it is a lot of fun. If it is in fact too busy, there are 3 other courses nearby to feed the need.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/11/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: TheBrownZombie
Played: 51  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I thought since it was a highschool coarse that it might just be another short 9 hole, but the coarse is actually really spread out. The holes are pretty spread out, there is even a pretty cool water hole.
Cons: They did construction on the sidewalks on the north side of the building. So there is no hole number 3. So really this is now a 8 hole coarse. It is also really easy on hole number 4 to either lose it in the water or lose it in the softball fields that are fenced in.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not as bad as people say

5+    2/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 5/24/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent course with plenty of obstacles to make shots challenging. All holes are at good length between 200' and 400' including some open holes, up and downhill holes, and one tricky shot where water comes into play. Fairways are filled with nice grass and a few trees here and there. If played on weekends, there is very little course traffic. The course has 9 baskets again after a few were stolen in the past.
Cons: Some holes play closely around ball fields and tennis courts which can pose a safety issue. Avoid throwing into the ball fields because they are enclosed by a high fence that is a pain to get over. Course play is limited due to high school hours and activities. Long walks between holes makes the course hard to navigate for those new to it. The tee pads are marked on concrete sidewalk areas. Some of the baskets are not quite secured to the ground and can be loose.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a decent, challenging course that satisfies my need to throw!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/14/2008   4/15/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some very technical shots. Water holes and wide open shots to diversify this 9 hole course
Cons: Alot of traffic. A few holes if you fly right or left you could be climbing a 12 ft fence to retrieve your disc
Other Thoughts: This course is ok. Nothing spectacular but a bit challenging. A decent 9 hole.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Almost pointless

5+    3/3/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: UPDATE: At least one more basket has been removed. There are now only two consistently usable holes on this course. As of August 20, 2009 the basket on hole three is no longer in position.
The first two holes are okay for a quick practice or to stretch it out if you are short of time.
Cons: Many of the baskets have been removed and locked fences make it difficult or impossible to retrieve errant discs. The tee pads are painted into the narrow sidewalks and are too short. Some have been removed. Baskets are never moved and there are no accurate maps or guides. This is a forgotten course that gets no care. While school is in session playing time is limited to late afternoon or early evening. This course should be removed from course listings as it has only two playable holes and is on property with limited public access.
Other Thoughts: I play the first two holes if I am passing by at the right time and I have not thrown in a day or two because I have been busy. That is about all it is good for.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 All 9 are in

5+    12/31/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: originalcracker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is BIG for a 9 hole course. Finding a local or getting a map at Wrightlife is HIGHLY recommended. Once you know the layout it makes a great safari course. Local club put in 3 new Mach III baskets to replace stolen ones. Hope to get all Machs at some point. Would definitely suggest playing the course backwards, but you MUST be cautious how you safari holes 9 & 8, when going backwards(there's a blind corner on a sidewalk).
Cons: Brutal to figure out direction of course. There are #'s on the painted tees, but there is no arrows or anything pointing you in the right direction. 6 of 9 baskets are crummy portables (don't even know exactly what brand, just cheap).
Other Thoughts: This really is a fun course. I would say to find a local if you want to play the actual setup; otherwise, just play some safari and make it into your own course (keeping in mind any pedestrians/students around the school). And make sure not to play during school hours.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very frustrating!

7/20/2007   2/15/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's good that high school students can get exposed to disc golf by having a course on school property. The holes are long enough to air out some good drives. Only 2 are under 300 ft (249' and 258'), one hole is 492 ft, and the other 6 are 300-399 ft. There is a small pond on hole 4 that adds a little bit of beauty and risk to the hole.
Cons: -When I played the course it only had 6 of 9 baskets. It's very frustrating to try to figure out holes that have no baskets!
-With no tee signs the tees are extremely hard to find. Don't even attempt to play here without getting a map from Wright Life first. The map isn't the greatest; it's very basic, so the first tee is hard to locate.
-There are serious safety issues with many sidewalks, ball fields, buildings, and people around. If you play when other people are around be extremely careful. I hope that no new players whack someone with a disc! -The portable baskets they use aren't the greatest either, but I guess they're adequate.
-Since the holes are long they're more appropriate for more skilled players who can throw farther. The majority of players at a high school are probably newer players with many being brand new to the sport. For them, shorter holes would be more appropriate.
Other Thoughts: My Rating = 0.4 out of 10

My favorite hole was hole 4 because of the little pond that added some beauty and added some risk vs. reward.

You can find more detailed review notes in my file under the Links/Files tab.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.