Orlando, FL 
Avalon Park Share
Uploaded By: stsren   (Taken 6/2010)
Photo of large field with 9 baskets...



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    12/30/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 201  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: This is a pretty good practice area as long as you approach it with the right mindset. Think of it as a place to do field work with the addition of a few baskets.

The best part is that you now have a target for field work, instead of just throwing. There is enough space for most players to throw their best drives, and work on accuracy and distance at the same time.

I loved it because there are locations where you can stand with your bag and see baskets at different distances away, allowing me to throw drivers at one, mids at another, etc.

After a dozen trips back and forth across the field, I returned to my car(which by the way, can be parked about ten feet from the field) and hit the putting green. It's fantastic to be able to work on drives and putts in the same location.

It's also a really nice area, with nice grass that you will be comfortable throwing barefoot in.
Cons: It is just a bunch of baskets in an open field. Since there are no tees, or even an order of baskets, there is no way to play it as a course other than safari. But this isn't labeled a course, it's labeled a practice area. As such it has only two faults.

1. For 450+ throwers, there won't be enough space for you to fully air out drives.

2. The baskets are too low, and only one is usable for putting practice, and even that one is less than ideal.
Other Thoughts: This worked for me as it was not far out of the way and I would have otherwise hit the local soccer field when I got home. This was much better. I wouldn't recommend traveling to get here but if you live in the area or are temporarily in the vicinity, it's a great place to do some solid form work. If I lived by there, I'd use it on a regular basis.

 Course? No.

1    6/19/2010   6/20/2010
Review By: stsren
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Nine baskets, cemented in place.
2. Adequate space for beginner 9-hole course
Cons: 1. No obstacles
2. No tee boxes
3. Only a couple of tee box signs
4. All baskets are not labeled/numbered
5. No elevation change
6. No garbage cans or benches on the "course"
Other Thoughts: Well, to be honest, this is a field with 9 baskets in it. The baskets are in a village green, of sorts, in an Avalon community. You don't get the scenic vistas of the nuclear power plant due to the surrounding houses, but the course itself is a lush field of grass, a beauty in its own right. Currently, this so called "course" is only good for practicing throwing, providing adequate space for some long drives (over 400' of grass from edge to edge), approaches, and 9 different baskets to practice your putting on!

When I look at the course, I see potential to make it at least a tolerable 9-hole course with several planted bushes and trees along with some mulch and wood strips to mark out tee boxes. A little TLC and about a $500 investment and you could turn this field of baskets into something resembling a disc golf course. As it is...it's not playable.

Unless you live in the neighborhood and just want to get some practice in, go elswhere...I never thought I'd say this, but I would recommend the UCF course over this!

(Side note to "local" that gives all of these reviews of Avalon Park thumbs down - please write your own review or provide constructive criticism rather than simply giving a thumbs down.)

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

1    4/24/2009   5/7/2009
Review By: Heart0fGld
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There is no chance of losing your disc at this course!! Great for practicing your technique for all your throws.
Cons: This is just a grassy square in the middle of a development. Only one sign that was in the correct location, another sign was laying on the ground and other then that, no other sign can be found.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Avalon PArk

1    2/15/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: CristobalSalvaje
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Other than practicing on straight flat areas, or skipping the baskets and practicing your drives is all this course is good for.
Other Thoughts: It is a shame that they wasted 9 baskets. THey should move those over to the Debary, Fl course as that place is crowded even for 9 holes.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 at least there are baskets

1    4/23/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is great for the neighborhood player that doesn't want to fight the traffic to make it out to UCF, barrnet, or even f burton, but wants to throw some before or after whatever
Cons: wins no awards for anything. open field with nine baskets
Other Thoughts: Is kinda sad to see baskets go to waste when i wish i could get some for my park.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 This is not a disc golf course!!!

1    4/7/2008   4/27/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
15 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good place to practice if you live in the neighborhood.
Cons: Seriously, this is 9 baskets in the middle of a 2-3 acre grass field. Absolutely zero trees and zero elevation change.

"Courses" like this should never get planted.
Other Thoughts: Cracks me up that some people would "thumbs-down" this review. It's very much black and white, 9 baskets in a wide-open field do not make a disc golf course. They make a field with 9 baskets.

Not that there's anything wrong with having a couple baskets in a field as a place for people to practice, just don't call it a "course".


Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

15 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.