Huntington, WV 
Indian Rock Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #1 (Taken 3/2011)
-- / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Rock n' Roll

1    5/2/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 127  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 13.5 Years
Pros: 1) Concrete tees
2) Elevation changes
3) Hole 10
Cons: 1) Small tees
2) Loiterers
3) Some baskets only single chain
4) Tee signs
Other Thoughts: Scenery: 4/5
Difficulty v Fun factor (5/5 is best mix): 4/5
Tees: 3/5
Signage: 2.5/5
Navigation: 3/5
Course design: 3.5/5
Total/Average: 3.3/5

This was the second course that I played at the Tri-State Open. This is a beast of a course due to its thick woods with elevation sprinkled in for good measure. You will find this course to be very challenging if your release timing on your drives is off at all. Tight, narrow fairways abound. If you go off the fairway path, be prepared to kick off of a tree into oblivion.

Although this course is tough, I found it to be quite enjoyable precisely because of this point. The course makes you slow down and focus on accuracy, not bombing a 400' drive like at Rotary.

Hole 10 is amazing. I've never played a hole that made use of a bridge as a tunnel to go through. Very unique.

A few negatives...the tees are pretty small if you have a large frame like me; however, on wooded holes like these, I rarely need a run-up anyway. Just be aware of this problem if you do run-ups on the tee every time.

The tee signs are adequate, but it would be nice to have a hole map.

Also, some of the baskets seem worn out and old. Some baskets only have a single layer of chains.

The last negative are the loiterers. There were random shady-looking people standing around at various points during the round. They weren't doing anything but talking, but they seemed suspicious anyways. Another guy was jogging up and down the course. These things were distracting. That said, it didn't affect me enough to alter my overall score of this course.

This is a great course to test your accuracy, your putting, and your mid-range. There are holes that you can throw drivers on, but be prepared for huge ricochets if you choose to go that route. It's a nice complement to Rotary.

My total average for this course is 3.3 and I'm rounding it up to 3.5/5.

Challenging to say the least

1    12/30/2014   1/3/2015
Review By: JBryant
Played: 93  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical and tight which can only make you a better player.

Beautiful setting and scenery. You'll find this on most WV courses.

Great use of the land. Elevation will punish you if you can't hit lines required. It will test your mental game and mid range game.

Rotary Park is on the mountainside as well. So you get two disc golf experiences in one when you come here.

Cons: Some single chain baskets. This course is a lot older than most.

Did not seem to have a lot of upkeep. I hear the parks systems doesn't do much. The club can't afford all maintenance.

I played in winter time which made the course easier to play. Summer time is when I hear it is not kept up and the greenery takes over. This is sad. If the park system did some spraying, this course would be playable more often during warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Easy to lose discs so keep an eye out. Have a spotter.

Some baskets were tagged. Vandalism seems prevalent.

Overall, I actually liked Indian better than Rotary. They are two different courses though. If you need some wooded disc golf practice, play Indian Rock. It will test you to the limits. Just play it in the fall and winter when there is no snow on the ground.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging wooded course.

2-4    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: - Perfect for those seeking a challenge, requiring long drives on the opening holes and tight precision shots on the remainder.

- Hole #3, with its mando under the old stone bridge, is likely one of a kind.
Cons: - Amount of tight, wooded shots required can become boring to the intermediate player and soul-crushing to the novice.

- Lack of variety at tail end of course.

- Single set of tees and pins for each hole.
Other Thoughts: Though on the same piece of property, Indian Rock is an entirely different animal than its sister course, Rotary Park. The first three holes are longer than all but one hole at Rotary, and they're frustrating enough that more than once I've abandoned my round on the third tee and headed back to the easier course. Pars are not posted, and if you mistakenly assume that the first three holes are par three's, it's easy to lose your motivation.

The rest of the course is extremely challenging, almost to a fault, and as another commenter said, it's downright "monotonous." Usually I stop after four or five holes to write down my scores, but it's impossible to do that here because all the holes run together and you end up losing count.

All that being said, it's still a viable course and is probably great for the advanced player who doesn't need huge drives to be entertained. For the novice, it's worth a shot, but you'd probably be better served at Rotary.

 Technical Through the Woods

5+    8/20/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: dgcembrist
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical course with lots of tight lines to challenge more advanced players.

Hole #3 with the stone bridge is beautiful and really fun to play.

Concrete pads with distance signs at every hole.
Cons: One teepad per hole.

There are a couple places that need signage to lead players to the next teepad.

Other Thoughts: Note: The first three holes are par 4's and the rest are 3's. The first teebox is located down the slope from the #18 basket on the Rotary course, at the end of the two-tiered parking lot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical course

1    4/21/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a heavily wooded area with lots of steep hills. Every hole has some elevation, and most have tough greens that add fun challenge to your putt and approach game. The fairways are tight, but fair, with reasonable lines on every hole for accurate players. I really enjoyed the risk/reward this course presented, with rewards for accurate drives and harsh punishment for errant shots.

There was a really good mix of left and right turning holes along with some straight shots. You'll need multiple accurate shots in your arsenal to score well here. There was also a great mix of holes that played uphill, downhill, or along the side of a slope. There are a couple of really awesome holes, especially the 3rd hole playing down a ravine with a mando under an old stone bridge, one of my favorite holes I've played.

There were adequate signs that made navigation ok throughout the course, with signs directing you to the next tee when there was more of a walk. When I played, some tees were gravel and some were concrete, but all were level and provided good enough footing to tee off from. I've heard that all the tees are concrete now, that really helps the course.

Cons: The biggest con here is that there isn't quite enough variety to keep the course interesting throughout. The first few holes are great, but then the course starts feeling like you play the same few holes over and over. There were no longer shots, or more open shots for variety, so most of the course just called for control shots with mids and putters for more advanced players.

The first tee isn't necessarily obvious from the parking lot, but friendly locals pointed us in the right direction. The course was clearly still in development when I played, so there were some fairways that still needed a lot of work. The locals seem like they take good care of their courses though, so I'm sure a great deal of work is going into improving the course.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a very beginner friendly course, with lots of tight holes that will make errant shots tough to find. More advanced players will enjoy the test of their accuracy, but might find the course lacking some variety.

I would definitely recommend playing this course, it's a fun play and complements the other course on site quite well. Plan to spend some time here and play both courses if you can, it's worth it. If you only have time for one, this course has a couple more memorable and unique holes, but the other course is better taken care of and has more variety so it gets the nod from me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.