Huntington, WV 
Indian Rock Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #5 (Taken 8/2010)
-- / 251ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Tough Course

2-4    2/12/2013   2/15/2013
Review By: Ed Cordle
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very tough course, lots of steep grades and heavy tree cover. First 3 holes are tough with a neat Mando under the stone bridge on #3. Rest of the course is shorter but still in heavy trees and steep grades.
Cons: It was very windy last time we played this course, gusts up to 40mph, definitely added a degree of difficulty. First time playing we had a little trouble located the next tee but with the help of some fellow DG's we had a blast!
Other Thoughts: Very tight fairways on several holes. I play the Rotary Park course more often but love to play Indian Rock for a change of pace.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Indian ROCKS and thensome

1    12/31/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This DGC is nestled in the woods with very steep terrain to add with the challenge with tight fairways and baskets located near some serious drop offs.

I loved # 3 unique mando in which the player has to shoot under/ and through the archway of a very old stone bridge.

Even though this DGC topography is very steep, the local DG club has made every effort to make things eassier by having steps almost everywhere you'll need some, unless you stray from the fairways (like I did a few times).

Innova yellow banded baskets make it easier to navigate this DGC.

Tee signs had usefull information on them indicating how to find the next teeing area.

Ample parking
Cons: I wish the tee signs had the holes layout on them.

Although it's not essential, longer tee pads would be nice for people (like myself) who have longer strides in their delivery of their drives.
Other Thoughts: I love these kind of DGC, and will be back. I initially went to the wrong parking lot and asked a few Disc Golfers who we're playing Rotary Park DGC of how to find Indian Rocks DGC and they said to follow the road/ walking path to where it meets another road (near # 3's basket and "the bridge". # 1's tee is UP the roadway and to the left.

I don't know how (well I do and I give a BIG THANKS) to all the Volenteers who pour the cement tees and have made Indian Rocks a seriously demanding and challenging DGC.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging wooded course.

2-4    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: - Perfect for those seeking a challenge, requiring long drives on the opening holes and tight precision shots on the remainder.

- Hole #3, with its mando under the old stone bridge, is likely one of a kind.
Cons: - Amount of tight, wooded shots required can become boring to the intermediate player and soul-crushing to the novice.

- Lack of variety at tail end of course.

- Single set of tees and pins for each hole.
Other Thoughts: Though on the same piece of property, Indian Rock is an entirely different animal than its sister course, Rotary Park. The first three holes are longer than all but one hole at Rotary, and they're frustrating enough that more than once I've abandoned my round on the third tee and headed back to the easier course. Pars are not posted, and if you mistakenly assume that the first three holes are par three's, it's easy to lose your motivation.

The rest of the course is extremely challenging, almost to a fault, and as another commenter said, it's downright "monotonous." Usually I stop after four or five holes to write down my scores, but it's impossible to do that here because all the holes run together and you end up losing count.

All that being said, it's still a viable course and is probably great for the advanced player who doesn't need huge drives to be entertained. For the novice, it's worth a shot, but you'd probably be better served at Rotary.

 Technical Through the Woods

5+    8/20/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: dgcembrist
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Technical course with lots of tight lines to challenge more advanced players.

Hole #3 with the stone bridge is beautiful and really fun to play.

Concrete pads with distance signs at every hole.
Cons: One teepad per hole.

There are a couple places that need signage to lead players to the next teepad.

Other Thoughts: Note: The first three holes are par 4's and the rest are 3's. The first teebox is located down the slope from the #18 basket on the Rotary course, at the end of the two-tiered parking lot.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Serious hike

1    4/14/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 169  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 26.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice pads and baskets

Gorgeous park

Fantastic signature hole - #3
Cons: Monotonous

Zero open shots

Lacking diversity
Other Thoughts: This course is tight, tight, tight. To really paint the picture, I would need to type "tight" exactly 18 times. You start in dense woods, you continue through dense woods and you finish in dense woods.

The first few holes are amazing. All of them are 400+ and extremely challenging. I was very stoked starting off. I had just played Rotary Park, and was thinking this course had the makings to be better.

The course has a good mix of lengths. You will need to hit from all angles. Steep slopes are everywhere. Pinpoint accuracy is a must to score well here. Low scores here will be hard to come by. This is the type of course you could score an even par on one round, then a 10 over the next.

Be prepared for a hike. This course can wear you out. Expect to climb, slide and leap your way through this bad boy.

Unfortunately, the major flaw with this course is it's lack of balance. By the time I reached hole 18, the previous 9 holes all seemed to blend together into one big wooded shot. None of them really stood out from one another.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun technical course

1    4/21/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a heavily wooded area with lots of steep hills. Every hole has some elevation, and most have tough greens that add fun challenge to your putt and approach game. The fairways are tight, but fair, with reasonable lines on every hole for accurate players. I really enjoyed the risk/reward this course presented, with rewards for accurate drives and harsh punishment for errant shots.

There was a really good mix of left and right turning holes along with some straight shots. You'll need multiple accurate shots in your arsenal to score well here. There was also a great mix of holes that played uphill, downhill, or along the side of a slope. There are a couple of really awesome holes, especially the 3rd hole playing down a ravine with a mando under an old stone bridge, one of my favorite holes I've played.

There were adequate signs that made navigation ok throughout the course, with signs directing you to the next tee when there was more of a walk. When I played, some tees were gravel and some were concrete, but all were level and provided good enough footing to tee off from. I've heard that all the tees are concrete now, that really helps the course.

Cons: The biggest con here is that there isn't quite enough variety to keep the course interesting throughout. The first few holes are great, but then the course starts feeling like you play the same few holes over and over. There were no longer shots, or more open shots for variety, so most of the course just called for control shots with mids and putters for more advanced players.

The first tee isn't necessarily obvious from the parking lot, but friendly locals pointed us in the right direction. The course was clearly still in development when I played, so there were some fairways that still needed a lot of work. The locals seem like they take good care of their courses though, so I'm sure a great deal of work is going into improving the course.
Other Thoughts: This isn't a very beginner friendly course, with lots of tight holes that will make errant shots tough to find. More advanced players will enjoy the test of their accuracy, but might find the course lacking some variety.

I would definitely recommend playing this course, it's a fun play and complements the other course on site quite well. Plan to spend some time here and play both courses if you can, it's worth it. If you only have time for one, this course has a couple more memorable and unique holes, but the other course is better taken care of and has more variety so it gets the nod from me.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  indian rock

1    7/10/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: eroc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: #3 hole with mando under bridge very cool,hole's are coming along,has been cleaned up of fallen trees. Also concrete tees are there now.
Cons: concrete varies in lengths a little,some holes are a little repeticious playing along the side of mountain 2-3 holes then up a tier, then repeat up each level.
Other Thoughts: loved it though,rotary parks other course makes it a good place to play two different courses on the same landscape.

 Indian Rock

2-4    12/29/2008   11/18/2008
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 85  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of a mountainside in WV. Extreme elevation changes and some nice holes cut through the woods. Better bring every shot in the bag or you could get in big trouble. The hole #3 Tunnel mando shot is a beauty. Hope you don't like nice level greens because you won't find many here - Long roll aways are the norm if you aren't careful. Tight fairways on many holes. Good mix of left vs right turn holes.
Cons: Was very new when I played it so there were a few rough places and the Tees were gravel. I see this course improving with use. There is a little cleanup needed on the #1 Green (Two large trees have fallen just short of the basket)
Other Thoughts: Short course but extremely challenging. You need a good short game to score and better learn when not to go for it. Avoiding roll aways are #1 priority.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.