Las Cruces, NM
New Mexico State University DGC Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #4 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 406ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Short Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
New Renovations

5+    6/5/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: benwilly
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Shorter t-offs available for newer players
2. Newly renovated
3. Not to many large obstacles
Cons: 1. only a 9 hole course
2. Can be a little confusing to find the next hole
Other Thoughts: A lot better than it was years ago

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Desert Disc Golf At it's Most Ugly State!

1    4/5/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set in this ugly lot across the street from the NM State football stadium. The lot is flat, sandy and covered with desert scrub brush, most of it about three feet tall. The teepads are marked with little pieces of ribbon. The Discatcher baskets have an extended piece of metal sticking up making them somewhat visible above the scrubby bushes.
I really liked the # 5 tee sign. It was two beer bottles, one had one of the little pink flags sticking out of it.
Cons: Because being hot, dusty, sandy, arid, ugly and uninviting, the lot was filled with broken bottles, plastic and other garbage.

The park course sign was totally trashed.

The course was extremely hard to navigate and after # 9, I didn't really care to continue.
Other Thoughts: This course could really benefit from some tee signs like the ones they have at Lionel Forti DGC in El Paso. They're 4" x 4"s buried in the ground with the hole #, par and an arrow pointing to the basket. They're pretty difficult to vandalize and might last a while on this course.
This course is in serious need of a facelift. Someone needs to step up, clean it up, sign it or else it's just going to continue to get become more of an eyesore.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 im let down

2-4    1/2/2010   1/28/2011
Review By: Madhatter575
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Pro's lets see;
1) they didnt alter the course from the original landscape.
2) the course is right next to aggie memorial, so if you want you can play a round then watch the football game.
3) its free to play which during some times in the month some of us like lol
Cons: Con's this will be easier;
1) horrible layout
2) construction
3) fairway is pretty much no where to be found
4) simply said not kept up.
Other Thoughts: Ok I havent been playing for that long but i've played good courses for both experienced players and beginners. I dont know what these people on here are talking about when they say this course is easy to lose your disc on, i took 3 people out with me who have never played before and we didnt lose not one disc. Im stationed in Va and was home on leave when i played this course, i was let down with it but i do see potential with it. If you live in the area i will be back to LC in july and would love to meet anyone who is willing to work with me to get this course up to par. I know disc catches are expensive but we can figure something out to replace the ones that have been damaged due to construction. So please if your willing to put in hard work to make this one of the best courses in NM let me know.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 what a joke

1    11/13/2010   11/14/2010
Review By: puffpufftoss
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Id say the best part of my trip out to this course would have been watching the NMSU LT game as i was searching for the #2 pin apparently they forgot to toss an empty milk carton on this pin. T-shirts werent a big issue but at least put an arrow indicating where the pin might be.
Cons: 1. No course map.
2. No teepads.
3. Terrible terrain for finding a disc.
4. Construction, contruction, contruction
5. I think i managed to play 4 wholes correctly terrible layout.

I wouldnt suggest this course to any level of player especially not a begginer god only knows how many discs youd lose. The next time i get caught up in a sand dune will be at the beach with a cold one in my hand.
Other Thoughts: Tear it down and plan something new. Its a shame like previously stated that they dont have a better course considering its the only one between tucson and el paso.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Seriously?????

1    10/12/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: Disczilla
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets....and um....NO trees to lose a disc in!
Cons: T-Shirts used as Tee pad markers....Tee Shirts. Same shots over and over with an occasional ditch to cross over. Easy to lose a disc here so throw something bright!!!!
Other Thoughts: I tend to give a course the benefit of the doubt having played courses all over the U.S and a few in Europe, but this course left me scratching my head. I'm not sure what the course designer is planning on doing when the construction is complete and there is a huge building complex in the middle of the course. Very poor location and layout which makes me sad for Las Cruces with the closest decent park being Album Park in El Paso which is pretty poor itself.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great all-around course

2-4    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: lp1holl
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners
Great opportunities to practice driving and putting for distance
Beautiful views of the Organ Mountains
Very accessible to everyone
Not a lot of obstacles in the way of trees, (everything under 10 ft.) but very narrow fairways will challenge even the best.
Cons: Extreme heat (but i've only played it in the summer, winter and fall are probably fine)
Hard to find the holes (take someone who has played it before with you, or expect to spend a long time searching)
Not extremely challenging (though for some this may not be a major con)
Other Thoughts: The designer plans to have a lot of tournaments in the next few months, and the local newspaper will soon have an article on it, so traffic should pick up and things will become easier to find. On the whole, not my favorite course ever (that's Bear Creek in Grapevine, TX) but its up there.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course around

5+    2/11/2010   1/24/2010
Review By: NWcityguy2
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, recently remarked, friendly players and right off I-25.
Cons: Little to no obstactles above 10 feet. I've never lost a disc here but I've spend 30+ minutes looking for them sometimes. There isn't an organized league or group here that I know of. The Basket to hole #6 has been destroyed by a constuction vehicle.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't the best I've played, but it is pretty good for what it has to work with. Leaps and bounds above album park in El Paso. If you don't want to drive a long way, this is the course to play it.

UPDATE: A road (using stimulus money) is being built right through the middle of the course. I have talked to a local group of players who are trying to raise funds to rearrange the course so that 9 holes fall on one side of the road and the other 9 are on the other side. Currently they are starting to lay concrete down. As of right now Holes 2, 6 and 14 can be hard to play because or workers and equipment.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Gives new meaning to Badlands

5+    7/27/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: Sweaty Putter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is wicked long and is great if you're tired of pitch & putt courses. Requires players to work for their pars on most holes and a sub par score would be outstanding. Challenging to say the least, excellent for experienced players. Have played 100+ times and never lost a disc.
Cons: The designers were given very little to work with here, basically 18 baskets and a big open desert. No funding for tee-pads, markers, maps, etc. It's really the desert too, sand and cactus. Not much in the way of obstacles with the wind and distance being the true foe.
Other Thoughts: Given time this will develop into a nice course. It's hot and has no shade, but hey, its the desert. It's popularity is growing and it is not uncommon to see players in the dusk hours around the course. Anticipate the University spending some money in the near future for Fly-pads, maps, markers, garbage cans, etc.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 windy, bush covered desert

1    8/30/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long. There really isn't any other Pro.
Cons: Has no technical shots with the highest obstacle being less than 10' tall. Fairways are just short bushes, have to walk around them and they scratch you up. Good shots stand a 50/50 chance of landing in one and there's no way around that. Impossible to navigate without a map-seriously do not bother attempting without one. Easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: MAP needed-trust me. Wear long pants if it's not hot, but it's in the desert with no shade. Wind and distance is the only key here.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.