Sugar Land, TX 
Imperial Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 2/2008)
3 / 291ft.   3 / 254ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Plays fast.

5+    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: jgsqueak
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -For being a relatively short 9 hole, there is great mix of terrain (for Houston).
-Plays fast
-You can navigate easily without a map or never playing the course before.
-Wide open, so windy days keep you honest.
-#5 is "downhill" and over a ravine. Best hole on the course.
-No one around middays on weekdays.
Cons: -Holes #6 and #7 are tough for first timers or if you don't have a spotter. The paths through the trees are stupid curvy/impossible to throw through.
-Can be very windy.
-The brush and trees can be unruly.
-Weekends are packed with softball/baseball players walking across your drives (hole #1 and #2).
Other Thoughts: The course begins with with with 2 holes that make you think about your throw (if you are RHBH). #1 has broad tree in the middle of the fairway. #2 has a low tree in the middle and a few off to the right. #3-5 are wide open and wind can be an issue. East winds can put your disc in the (typically dry) bayou.drainage ditch. #6-7 are short, but have no clear path to the pin. #8 is great for big RHBH arms. #9 is wide open and fun.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

5+    4/12/2013   5/7/2013
Review By: Hockeydoc2112
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good flow and use of trees and baskets by ditches.
Fairly open course with strongs winds at time that favors a power thrower more than a finesse expert.
Restrooms available and plenty of parking as it runs along a softball complex.
Cons: Only 9 baskets so can't have a full tournament in its usual form but can easily fit (and has fit) 20 holes in a pinch.
No "heavily wooded" holes to speak of though the tree placement will definitely make you focus on your drives.
Other Thoughts: Great 9 hole course with very nice alternate tee placement. One of the better courses in SW Houston.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Brush Kills

1    4/27/2013   4/27/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * The Course is very clean and well kept.
* Large parking lot.
* Large map of the course.
* Easy to see tee markers and number posts.
Cons: * 10 holes (there is a practice hole at the beginning)
* No yellow bands on the baskets, making them kind of hard to see.
* The thick brush is a huge pain. Several of the back holes have huge brush piles between you and the target, you have to make a best guess on your first throw and hope you can find your disc as there is a path on each side of the pile.
* Tons of poison ivy!
*One of the holes is really short, and your throwing at a road!
Other Thoughts: This is not a destination course, but if your in the area its a nice pit stop. The first few holes are wide open with few obstacles, but the last few are surrounded by thick brush! The course is well kept and very clean, I didn't see any trash, though I also didn't see any trashcans.... For a city park, when your there it feels like you in the middle of no where!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Snake heaven

1    3/18/2013   3/18/2013
Review By: FairwayBeast
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All the pros have been noted.
Cons: The brush is very thick. Great place for snakes. Be very careful retrieving discs. You have to be pretty accurate if you don't want to be digging through all that crap. My disc landed 5 feet in and I had all the branches tugging at my shirt and skin. I even had to grab a stick to pull it closer to me.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

meh, its a park and a course

1    1/25/2013   1/28/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good use of park features
-well maintained park
-good baskets
-well marked and easy to follow (but could use a map at a couple of the holes that go around the woods)
Cons: -only 9 holes
-a couple of very open holes so if it is windy be prepared
-no tee pads
Other Thoughts: I will definitely come back and play here again but there is nothing special about this course.

be careful on the first wooded hole you come to. it is a really short hole that can not be seen from the tee so it is easy to overthrow the hole and end up in the road behind it

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/19/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 125  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At 2.5 stars this is a typical city park style course that does not seem like it is widely used.
-There is a large parking lot near the warm up tee and basket.
-The course is in great shape. The main tees are well defined with a small tee sign showing distance and the line of the hole. There are alternate tees but like mentioned before you may have trouble spotting them.
-Hole #5 is easily the nicest hole on the course as it plays downhill, with water in front and to the right of the pin.
Cons: -The course is a little tricky to find if you cannot find the entrance to the park. I know I still have problems of trying to find the entrance coming off of Hwy 90.
-The course is not exciting. The first few holes are the same wide open shots with literally no obstacles to contend with.
-During the growing season the brush can be brutal. During the colder months of Dec-Feb the brush is not all that bad. Watch your disc though!
-9 Holes is a big bummer. The area that the course is set in seems rather large. It seems like there is a potential to add a few more holes.
Other Thoughts: As long as this course is in it's current set up I do not see this being a destination course. It has a bit more potential then what it is set up as. Maybe if a few more trees were planted and a few of the front 4 holes were re worked this course could be something a bit more then just being a "typical" course.
Southwest Houston is still lacking the signature 18 hole course. Could this be that signature course? Maybe.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A mixed bag of wholes on a superior practice course

5+    10/8/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A mix of strong arm throws for holes 1-5 & 9 and a trio of finesse technical shots on holes 6-8 allow you to (mildly) vary your play style when you take on this course.
- Alternate tees add length to the otherwise straightforward front 5 and give a slightly different look to the back 4.
- Elevation changes are utilized where possible.
Cons: - Elevation changes are mostly unavailable (I know this contradicts what I just said, but of the 9 holes 8 don't utilize elevation.) I don't knock the course too hard for this though because elevation is not a luxury afforded to the southwest Houston region or any of the rest of the coastal plains of Texas.
- Alt tees are hard to find (Bring a map!).
- Holes 1-4 are nearly carbon copies of one another.
- Easy to lose discs in the brush of holes 6-8 (Especially 7).
Other Thoughts: I would say this is a step up from a practice course like Pecan Grove but a half disc shy of River Point (though I do give it a one up for the downhill shot on 5; River point has no such shots.) Parking isn't bad during the week but I've never been on the weekends. You can run through this course (literally) in about 15min or walk it in less than 30. I mostly play it as an alternative to trudging through the occasional mud at River Point.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not bad

1    12/21/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: DMC89
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park setting. My kids were excited to get through the course so they could play on the playground. Hole 7 and 8 provided some nice challenge the 1st time through. Hole 5 was a fun visual over a large drainage ditch. Tees were easy to find. Good flow to the course.
Cons: Most of the other holes are essentially straight shots. The was a lot of bird crap on the hole markers and the baskets themselves, some were nasty. Alternate tees are ground level and were hard to find. Hole 9 does not end near hole 1 so you will walk a little bit to get back to the car if you park near hole one. I'd probably stay away from this course if there were sports going on, parking might be an issue. Used a mid range and putter through the whole course. Par 4? for hole 9? It's 400+ according to the marker but straight and an easy par with a mid range and putter only.
Other Thoughts: The restrooms were open but smelled horrible. Tees are in need of some maintenance but were easy to find. As long as there are no other activities going on in the park I'd go again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs more trees

5+    6/15/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: BigJim
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quality baskets, well marked tees. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Lack of obstacles other than wind.
Since basket #2 is near the only decent shade tree in the park, Other park users like to picnic on the green.
Busy park. With softball on the weekends, people can overflow the parking lot and park in the middle of #3s fairway.
Minor Gripe: Basket 9 ends a long way from the 1st tee.
Other Thoughts: Almost every hole is wide open. Even the alternate tees don't change things up much. When the course is on a flat open field, it doesn't much matter what direction you're playing.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "yawn"

1    5/20/2010   5/21/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The main tees are well marked with posts indicating hole number and length. If you like wide open shots that let you grip and rip than this is probably a good place for you. With the alternate tees coming in at over 3100 feet it can be a good workout.

Holes five, six, and seven change up the course a bit using the terrain and foliage a lot along the fairways. Holes six and seven even force you to pick certain lines in which you must make at risk of losing your disc in the dense brush. The park is nice and well kept, and the course location is in good proximity to some other nine hole courses in the area.

There is also a warm-up basket by the parking lot that serves as hole #0 for those of you that just can't get enough with nine holes.

BEST HOLE/S: #5; #7
Cons: I felt a lot of, "really, this hole again" through the front half since holes one through four are essentially the same shot at different lengths. Plus, once that south summer breeze gets going on the flat terrain, you have a difficult time in the headwind for most of the round.

Do not throw your disc into the rough on five, six, and seven - it's some of the most insanely dense brush I've ever seen on a course. Other than that - the course is fairly straight forward to not much to get excited about, which is really the biggest con of all. You go out, play a round, and think was that it?

WORST HOLE/S: #3; #4
Other Thoughts: Imperial Park was slightly less impressive than Pecan Acres Park, and I didn't have high hopes for either. Given that you get alternate tees, and mostly open long distance, big arms may enjoy this place more those fans of tight and technical. The longer I play - the more a fan I am of tight and technical, so I take that into consideration when playing an open typical course like Imperial Park.

Overall the course is in good shape for what it is, just don't expect anything amazing. The mix of the latter holes breaks the monotony of the front four and is the saving grace. Know your preference on the style of course that suits you, and know what to expect when you get there - just don't go out of your way to do it.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.