Richmond, TX 
Pecan Grove Park Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #9 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 345ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disappointing

1    5/12/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: KimD
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park
Tees are marked with posts
Cons: Holes 2 and 3 are missing.
Wide open fields with no trees.
Confusing configuration.. with it so wide open you can't tell which target to throw at.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't play here unless you live in the area and are just looking for a place to practice!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

at least they have a course...

1    12/7/2012   1/23/2013
Review By: McC.Alexander
Played: 34  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2013
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +the park is well taken care of
+good place to practice long drives
Cons: -pretty much flat open land
-when i recently visited there were 2 holes missing (i believe it was number 2 and number 3 but im not certain)
Other Thoughts: its a bit of a drive out there so I will probably never play here again but hey, theres a course and I got to disc so Im happy

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A mediocre Practice Course

2-4    6/1/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nearly impossible to lose a disc unless it flies into the outlying tree-line.
- Every hole is a birdie waiting to happen.
Cons: - Every hole plays like the last.
- Very few obstacles make the course less fun, even for someone like me who just wants to go out there and chuck some discs at a basket from a dirt tee.
- More or less a rolling soccer field with baskets dotting various points on the pitch. Entertainment value is limited.
Other Thoughts: Not much else to say that hasn't been said. I would only play this course if you live in the neighborhood and don't feel like making the drive to River Point, or to add another notch on your proverbial Disc Golf Course belt.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Basic

1    12/15/2011   12/22/2011
Review By: DMC89
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find the park. Easy to find the course in the park.
Cons: Wide open. Straight and boring. Played with a mid range and putter only, nothing else needed. Though I played in December the Spring Course was set up. Could not play holes 2 & 3 due to ultimate game and football games happening. Holes 7 and 8 are open but tight, bad throws will put you in the way of others if they are playing at the same time. Unimaginative. Could have made better use of the few trees as obstacles. Probably won't play there again.
Other Thoughts: Restrooms were nasty. Fire ants were present in December. Sticker burrs stuck to my sneaker laces and cut my fingers. If other activities like youth baseball or youth football are happening in the park the parking would be an issue.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than an open field, but not by much.

1    5/20/2010   5/26/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great open area to try out new discs, and work on your placements. The holes are long enough for a variety of drivers and mid-ranges to be practiced, so this place definitely beats the open field. The park is very well manicured and the second hole felt like walking a fairway from a ball golf course. The park is well maintained with playground equipment and restroom facilities.

BEST HOLE/S: #6S
Cons: When the biggest pro is, "the course is better than practice in an open field," then you know that's a pretty sad course indeed. On paper things look great - good distance, fall and spring layouts, easy to navigate area - but it just so straightforward and boring that I felt like I was wasting my time. The spring layout offers no a few to no trees on every hole, and every shot it literally the same shot from a different direction.

This course is basically like playing Hohlt Park in Brenham, Texas without the elevation and even fewer trees. Add it all up, and you have a neighborhood course that, if you lived next door, would use it for practice, but nothing more. At least the mediocre nine courses close to it are fun to play.

WORST HOLE/S: Take your pick
Other Thoughts: Not much too really add except, hit River Pointe Church DGC over this place if you're in the area. Heck, I would even take McCleandan Park over playing here ever again. I couldn't even think of a new layout to make it more entertaining - it's just straight-forward boring, so be prepared.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing Special

2-4    2/23/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Not much danger of pedestrian interference. Course changes layout in Spring and Fall to alternate between avoiding baseball or soccer fields. Tee signs well marked and uses red bricks to mark edge of tee box.
Cons:
Not very interesting or challenging. Too many (7 or 9 in Spring) holes that are straight shots with no obstacles whatsoever. #3 & #4 on the Fall layout add some minor trees.
Other Thoughts:
A rather bland course of mostly straight-to-the-basket holes. Granted the small park doesn't offer much opportunity for course creativity. Spring layout favors lefties while Fall layout favors righties. Fine for locals who want to toss some discs, but don't go out of your way to play this course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.