Colonial Heights, VA 
Pharaoh's Tomb Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #14 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 205ft.   3 / 270ft.   3 / 239ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Red/Short Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/18/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27.2 Years
Pros: Fun course, easy to find, and well marked. Good variety of open holes, woods , and dog legs. It is not a long course so there is good chances for an ace, which i kinda like. Good signs,not hard to follow, and located in a nice park. We did not see a single cat while we were there as others have described. The gorge hole was fun although the tee area is sketchy.
Cons: Not a whole lot of negative here. There were a couple of holes that were near a lot of people(we were there on a Sunday) and i had to yell at a little kid from about 200 feet away because he picked up my girlfriends disc after she threw.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course and park. Bathrooms and picnic areas were available and the golf course was not crowded. We will be back.

 You only have to share the course with the cats.

1    6/29/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 211  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 7.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Kiosk with maps, TAKE ONE!
18 holes with 3 tees on every hole. (4 and 7 share a tee) Course was designed to have 54 separate tee locations to entertain all skill levels and prevent monotony.
Baskets are marked to guide you in the general direction of the next tee.
The new number plates make normally hard to see DGA baskets stand out like Discatchers, without the large yellow belt excellent idea!
The various tees often give a totally new look instead of just adding 30 feet.
Some slight elevation changes.
Low chance of disc loss.
Hole 15 is probably the signature hole throwing over a large valley with a low ceiling.
Hole 16 is a nice down hill ace run.
Large playground for the kids who do not play
Bathrooms on site.
Wind gauge flag on one of the baskets.
Course still features a 19th object hole to show the course's roots.
Cons: No tee signs on numerous blind shots.
You need the map to navigate the course and know where the baskets are.
Dirt tee pads with colored bars on the ground, some of the colored tee pad markers are becoming buried in sand due to erosion, tee 8 was a small white sliver poking out of the sand.
If the park were used more there would be several safety issues.
Hole 1 was blind and flooded with a creek running up the fairway
Hole 3 throws over or between pavilions, if the park were ever busy this hole would be unplayable. Tee 3B had no clear fairway, but is still playable with a lucky hyzer
Hole 4 appears to throw over the parking lot, but the visible basket is 18, 4 is hidden down the hill (look for the large flag sticking up) The drive is safer, but the basket is 20 feet from another parking lot. (only boat trailers should be parked behind the basket, not cars)
Holes 5 had a confusing mando, you can see 2 arrows in a tree pointing in opposite directions, but it is too far to see which is which. Hole 5's mando has you go to the left closer to the volleyball court and building. It is there to protect players putting on 7, the baskets are very close.
If you have one use a spotter on hole 7. It is a hard blind right turn with lots of foliage, one of the few holes with risk of disc loss.
9A had no clear fairway and 9C had a tree 10 feet infront of the tee pad, leaving 9B as the only tee with a clear fairway to throw across the road.
Hole 12 A is a strong right using the parking lot as OB, Hole 12B and 12 C throw over a parking lot.
Hole 18 drives along the road with the basket at the top of a crest, so you can not see if a car is coming. Hole 18 also leaves a high chance of putting towards the road.
Other Thoughts: All of the safety concerns are only an issue if people actually use this park, but giant spider webs blocking paths that should commonly be used show that this park is only visited by the lady who feeds the cats and a few boaters. I only saw 2 people drive through while playing and I saw a family playing on the playground.
The biggest improvement I would love to see is tee signs, even if they are shared between the 3 tees.
It is clear that numerous improvements have been added to increase player enjoyment, colored stripes on the basket to help navigation, Maps at the Kiosk, brand new custom number plates, and fundraising is in progress for more improvements (possibly tee pads)
Unfortunately designer and man who cares the most about the course lives 2 hours away from it.
There is a Sheetz 1.5 miles down the road to buy drinks and food before and after your round.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/13/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: Equipt2flip
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course have a very nice layout, and good mix of open and wooded hole. The wooded holes have nice, well defind fairways with guarded catchers. Course management is rewarded. The course design is well thought out,with the space avalible.
Cons: The teepads hard to find, they are toe borders 2x4 set into the ground. Whites are a little easier to spot then the red ones. Open holes play thru and close to common areas and play over 2 parking lots.
Other Thoughts: The course is a mix between Bryan & Dorey. Its worth the drive to play and to put on you regular play rotation.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Varied Holes and Good Landscape

2-4    9/18/2011   3/23/2009
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole layout, nice park landscape, variety of individual holes.
Cons: Holes that play over or too close to parking areas.
Other Thoughts: White Bank Park is an excellent park on a branch of the Appomattox River, with playgrounds, a boat ramp, and lots of picnic areas. The disc golf course plays throughout the entire park and features a wide range of disc golf challenges. While it has no tee pads and minimal signage, and is only of average length, it does feature plenty of variety, including alternate tee pads that change most holes, as opposed to simply adding length. White Bank is not exactly a destination course, but it is the kind of course most any disc golfer would love to have nearby, due to its classic DG landscape, variety from hole to hole, and the options of playing the holes at least two, and in most cases three different ways. White Bank is not a course you will tire of easily.

The big strength of White Bank is the course design, the variety of each hole. You've got some woods holes and some open holes, and some that are a mixture of both. You've got holes that fade right and holes that fade left. You don't have any big uphill shots or downhill chucks, but you do have some slight downhill shots, and one true signature hole that plays over a big gully. You've got some 200 foot but challenging touch holes and you've got a couple 400-foot air it out holes. Most holes at White Bank have three tees - a shorter red tee, which is appropriate for beginners and young people probably, and then two separate white tees, which come at the hole from different angles. Each tee is natural and is marked by a painted "toe board" that is flush with the ground, but not too hard to find, a good solution in my view, if concrete or otherwise installed tee pads are not an option. There are no signs really at this course, but with the map available from the kiosk at hole #1, the directional paint on every basket pointing to the next tee by color, and the painted toe boards, navigation isn't too much of a problem.

Variety is the spice of a good course, and in this regard White Bank succeeds as well as any course in Central Virginia for the most part. My main concern is the two or three holes that play right over or near the parking lots, and maybe the one or two holes that play very close to other roads in the park, or the main playground. Those holes could be a problem on a busy summer day, though the park has built protective fences in the places that overlap most closely. In addition, a few holes are a bit boggy, but that's a minor issue.

As far as a neighborhood park course goes, White Bank is pretty sweet; it is a good complement to the growing array of Central Virginia courses, and with the multiple tees and nice park landscape, one that warrants many visits from locals and is certainly worth a stop if you're passing by.

Favorite Hole - #15 - Short hole over a deep gully with basket at an equal elevation to the tee on the other side.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly suprised

1    1/26/2009   1/27/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 226  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course that makes you pay for any errant throw with some tight wooded holes and fairways bordering ob areas. A good mix of hyzer/anhyzer shots, elevation changes and a few open holes to let er rip. Duel tees give flexibility to all skill levels. Putting is harder, so accuracy is very important. Restrooms on site and plenty of parking were available.

Located in a very nice multi-use park that has a lot of activities for the non disc golf family members to do, such as canoeing, playgrounds, scenic overlook and a fishing pier, while we get our fix.
Cons: No baskets. Surprisingly, the thing I missed most about the baskets was being able to see where the hole ended. My 40+ y/o eyes in the dim late afternoon light had a hard time seeing the marked objects. Very difficult to navigate without a map for a first timer. A few next tee signs would have been very beneficial. Even with the map, I was having a hard time locating the tees, especially the red tees. Fallen leaves and poor eyesight certainly weren't helping my cause.

Objects 6 & 8 were too close to each other, and I mixed them up the first time through. Some holes play in and around the park shelters, making them potential unplayable if in use by park patrons.
Other Thoughts: I grew up on an object course in the late seventies, and hadn't played one since 1982. I must admit that I wasn't exactly looking forward to playing this object course, since I prefer baskets. But to my surprise, I really enjoyed it. Maybe because it brought back memories of my roots, or that it was such a different challenge and different from a typical basket, but I really had a lot of fun playing it.

Since it doesn't have baskets, I would recommend printing out a map before coming out to play. This is important because there are no maps available at the course, and without one, it would be very difficult to navigate and find the tees and objects.

Playing the course for the first time blind, it was hard for me to see the object from the tee. Using the map, I would drive in the general direction and would then see the object when I got closer. Perhaps a bright yellow ribbon marking the objects would have been better for me to see.

Finally, if/when this course gets baskets, I can see disc golf taking off here. A few park patrons gave me funny looks like, why is this guy throwing a Frisbee around the park. Having baskets and seeing people throwing their discs in them and having fun, should only peak the curiosity of other park patrons. Hopefully, that curiosity won't kill the Ferrell cats I saw running around.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.