Disc Golf Store
Colonial Heights, VA 
Pharaoh's Tomb Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 321ft.   3 / 400ft.   3 / 415ft.   3 / 415ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red/Short Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

1    5/18/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 27.4 Years
Pros: Fun course, easy to find, and well marked. Good variety of open holes, woods , and dog legs. It is not a long course so there is good chances for an ace, which i kinda like. Good signs,not hard to follow, and located in a nice park. We did not see a single cat while we were there as others have described. The gorge hole was fun although the tee area is sketchy.
Cons: Not a whole lot of negative here. There were a couple of holes that were near a lot of people(we were there on a Sunday) and i had to yell at a little kid from about 200 feet away because he picked up my girlfriends disc after she threw.
Other Thoughts: Overall a nice course and park. Bathrooms and picnic areas were available and the golf course was not crowded. We will be back.

Fun park course

2-4    6/17/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Pxranger
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice newer baskets that had painted indicators as to which direction the next hole was.
- Great signage on every hole
- Scorecards and 81/2 x 11 maps were available at the kiosk near hole #1
- plenty of benches and trashcans
- 3 tees for each hole
- over half of the long tees had concrete tee pads, the ones that didn't were formed for what must be imminent concrete pourings.
- well groomed and maintained course.
- nice variety of shots, anhyzer/flick, tunnel, etc. including a nice shot over a deep gorge on 15.
- Great use of terrain for a small city park.
- Alternate "Safari Golf" maps were available that added some much needed length to the course.
Cons: The majority of the holes were on the short side (just near or under 300'). I am a newer player and had no problem shooting sub par rounds, so the difficulty was not there for me.

I really don't have a lot of bad things to say that stuck out, While this was not a great course, it was not a bad course, it just lacked distance and variety

Some of the concrete tee pads were on the short side for me, maybe I am spoiled, but I am used to much longer tee pads.
Other Thoughts: As another poster commented, there were about a dozen cats greeting me near the parking lot, kinda weird. If you are anywhere near the Fort Lee area definitely check this course out.

As city park courses go this is in my top 10. It was evident that a lot of care goes into maintaining this course.

I was torn on where to rate this course, I felt that a 3 wouldn't be enough, but a 4 seemed too high as it does not compare to some other city park funded courses I have played in Des Moines and Kansas City. I would have gave it a 3.75 if it were an option, but 3.5 seems a good fit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 awesome

5+    11/11/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: rockethound
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging course love playing thru the woods. I live not far from there so its very close to me .
Cons: Cats everywhere !!! Would like to see them removed. But colonial hieghts don't respond to stray cat call .
Other Thoughts: Wish they would make another park behind Walmart .really nice park next to scenic river.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Date: 4/4/2014 Designer Response by: gottafixit
I have talked to Parks and Rec about the park behind walmart and have scouted the land. Could make for at least a 9 hole. If any one else is local and would like to see more disc golf get involve and reach out to parks and rec and let them know.

Not Horrible...

1    2/9/2013   2/24/2013
Review By: zewski12
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -There are definitely some fun holes.
-Located in a nice park.
-You can take your time here because no one was there playing the course.
Cons: -No Signage!
-Very difficult to navigate.
-Plays into a park where kids are walking around and families are picnicking. (played in the winter so this wasn't much of an issue but kids were still running around).
-Swampy area, couple be better in the summer months.
Other Thoughts: I don't see myself going back there. Some fun holes but nothing out of the ordinary. there are definitely better options in the area.

The biggest thing that bothered me was how difficult it was to navigate. There is Zero signage and no course map at all to help you. the only way you know what hole your on is to look at the 4x4 in the ground that the number is painted on but even this was faded.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 5/8/2014 Designer Response by: gottafixit
I apologize for the lack of maps in the box. I do try to keep up with filling it but sometimes it goes with out. The Links/Files tab has all the maps should the course map box currently be out. Parks and rec started the long set of concrete tees last year and once complete this spring they will be installing the course signage as well.

Edit: All Tee Signs have been in for a while, the remaining concrete tees on the longs should be finished this spring/summer.

 Disc Golf Fail

1    8/7/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Layout - The big plus here is multiple tees for each hole and the diversity in hole types.

You weave in and out of sparse woods and there is a good range of holes between long and short. There's only one big bomber hole (18) but you can let some discs fly in places.

The course does a solid job of forcing different shots and giving you different looks from each tee. They mixed up placement holes with gap hitting holes pretty well.

They incorporated a lot of vertical gaps in to the course, usually making you throw low under thick branches. I threw a roller more than once here.

There's a bit of elevation here, it's used with moderate success on a few holes.

Equipment - The baskets were in okay shape. There is a course map at #1 and there was also printed out course maps/scorecards you could grab. The print out also had individual hole layouts shown.

Atmosphere - Looks like an average community type park. A lot of picnic areas and a playground; looks like a good place to bring the family.
Cons: Layout - Where do I start? The first thing I noticed was how incredibly bad the upkeep has been on this course. #1 had 4' grass going down the fairway as well as bunch of debris. The entire course wasn't like this but there was more than one place where work needs to be done.

The second thing I noticed was how incredibly terrible the flow of this course is. You literally do tiny little circles everywhere through it and backtrack a lot. This brings numerous fairways near each other and there are a few occasions where baskets are close to each other.

Then there's the abundance of holes that play over or very close to parking lots, roads, picnic areas, multi purpose fields. I played very early morning but if there were people there I can see how this course might be unplayable.

There are some straight up dumb holes here, holes that make you make you wonder what the designer was thinking.

There is a massive overuse of shots where you throw under limbs. A few is fine but it goes overboard here.

There's several spots where baskets are in dumb places. I'm talking right by other park facilities or 4' from a massive drop off in to super thick woods right next to a lake.

Don't let that lake part confuse you, the lake is in no way involved with the course with the exception of the hole where missing 4' right makes you lose your disc.

I was amazed at how many 200'-300' blind shots could be put on one course. We went searching for the basket on numerous occasions and that's with a map in our hand.

Equipment - Some tees are natural with colored boards marking their location, some tees are spray painted on to the ground, some tees are concrete, one tee is mostly concrete with the back 20% unfinished because they ran out of concrete while they were pouring it.

The natural tees were okay in some places and not okay in others. Oh yeah one tee that is spray painted on the ground has the colored board right in the middle of it... yeah wtf.

The map/scorecard is great but much bigger signs giving that info would be way better.

Atmosphere - There's to many holes that need to be manicured very badly. There's trash and debris all piled up in some places.

It's normally a plus when a park has trashcans but this one had a trashcan so rank I almost vomited.
Other Thoughts: "I hate this course." I said that and heard that multiple times throughout the round. It's one of those courses where you keep asking how much longer until it's over. Hole after hole you find another thing to make you hate it.

It started with #1. They pad was screwed up, you couldn't see the basket because of debris, there was super tall grass... we knew then.

#15 is the prime example of the entire course's faults. It should be a great hole, the signature hole. It's a good valley shot with the lake out on the right. BUT... right behind the basket is a building with privacy fence, right next to the basket is a giant drop off in to jungle and water, at the bottom of the valley which is a treacherous walk lies a crap ton of broken up cinder blocks.

The park has a lot of good space to work with it's just done terribly. There's to many forced in holes. It looked like the space was just misused. I could see a really well designed 9 holer being here, either way it needs to be redesigned.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a play

1    10/16/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are multiple tees and some well laid out holes. The park is free and open to the public, and there were maps/scorecards kept at the beginning along with tournament information and a locals posting board. Although there weren't tee signs, having the map was a plus. The baskets have large, bright signs on top, making them a lot easier to see than normal. Also, someone painted the basket spokes to point to the next tee, which is awesome. As far as course play, there are some great holes requiring various different shots...to really play this course, you will need a variety of shots in your quiver. There is a relatively low chance of losing discs, as the only water hazard is down a giant hill, and you'd have to be terrible or catch a nasty roll to actually get a disc down there. Course is a mix of wooded and open, short and long. All in all, a nice course. Also, there is a wind indicator on the 18th basket (the basket closest to the parking lot) so you can see what you're dealing with. Although the tees are merely buried 4x4's, luckily they are color coordinated and clearly labeled with hole number and distance.
Cons: The first two holes were muddy, and look like they have a tendency to flood during bad storms. Because of this, there are briars and mud that make finding errant discs all the more entertaining. Three of the holes (4, 7 & 18?) are situated in such a way that they require shots over and across parking lots. Given the traffic, this could result in vehicle damage if you're not careful. 4 and 18 it was obvious...when shooting 7, I had no idea that I ran the risk of overthrowing and smashing the windshield on a Chevy, as you shoot over the crest of a hill. Be careful. The t's for 4 and 7 are slightly ambiguous also, so a little bit of time was spent wandering back and forth trying to determine what was what.
Other Thoughts: The course wasn't busy...we were the only ones playing. There were kids on the playground and cars in the parking lot though...so be aware of others. We almost managed to wreck a chevy windshield on 7 and take out a photographer who decided to pause in the middle of a fairway to snap a family photo on a bridge. It was cold and very windy when we shot, but I can imagine the first two holes would be bad for mosquitoes in the peak of summer. We never saw a single one of the cats rumored to roam the course, although trash and litter were clearly an issue. Also, depending on the direction you are coming from, the drive takes you through some seedy areas. All things considered, this is a very enjoyable course, and I look forward to shooting it again sans wind, and knowing the layout. Also, it's free to play, which is always a plus.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Irene

5+    9/3/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Auto
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good course for all, three different tees. Longs, alternates, and shorts. Wooded and open holes for variety. Three mandos for course complexity. The boy scouts have placed several benches on the white long holes. Concrete is being poured and half of the holes are done. Park is well maintianed and groomed.
Cons: Beware of the cats. disc in woods go to grab it there might be a cat near buy that startles you. Busy on the summer weekends with other park users. Hole one has some major drainage problems when it rains.
Other Thoughts: After the storm came through it has changed a few holes. Hole five is missing a huge tree which makes a birdie possible now. Nine is wide open now with a little luck a possible ace in the future. Hole fourteen has a bigger gap to throw though which allows for a high release. Sixteen b has a wide open drive available now where a huge tree use to be. So future moves of the baskets might need to happen to keep the challenge up for this course. Overall nice course.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 You only have to share the course with the cats.

1    6/29/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Kiosk with maps, TAKE ONE!
18 holes with 3 tees on every hole. (4 and 7 share a tee) Course was designed to have 54 separate tee locations to entertain all skill levels and prevent monotony.
Baskets are marked to guide you in the general direction of the next tee.
The new number plates make normally hard to see DGA baskets stand out like Discatchers, without the large yellow belt excellent idea!
The various tees often give a totally new look instead of just adding 30 feet.
Some slight elevation changes.
Low chance of disc loss.
Hole 15 is probably the signature hole throwing over a large valley with a low ceiling.
Hole 16 is a nice down hill ace run.
Large playground for the kids who do not play
Bathrooms on site.
Wind gauge flag on one of the baskets.
Course still features a 19th object hole to show the course's roots.
Cons: No tee signs on numerous blind shots.
You need the map to navigate the course and know where the baskets are.
Dirt tee pads with colored bars on the ground, some of the colored tee pad markers are becoming buried in sand due to erosion, tee 8 was a small white sliver poking out of the sand.
If the park were used more there would be several safety issues.
Hole 1 was blind and flooded with a creek running up the fairway
Hole 3 throws over or between pavilions, if the park were ever busy this hole would be unplayable. Tee 3B had no clear fairway, but is still playable with a lucky hyzer
Hole 4 appears to throw over the parking lot, but the visible basket is 18, 4 is hidden down the hill (look for the large flag sticking up) The drive is safer, but the basket is 20 feet from another parking lot. (only boat trailers should be parked behind the basket, not cars)
Holes 5 had a confusing mando, you can see 2 arrows in a tree pointing in opposite directions, but it is too far to see which is which. Hole 5's mando has you go to the left closer to the volleyball court and building. It is there to protect players putting on 7, the baskets are very close.
If you have one use a spotter on hole 7. It is a hard blind right turn with lots of foliage, one of the few holes with risk of disc loss.
9A had no clear fairway and 9C had a tree 10 feet infront of the tee pad, leaving 9B as the only tee with a clear fairway to throw across the road.
Hole 12 A is a strong right using the parking lot as OB, Hole 12B and 12 C throw over a parking lot.
Hole 18 drives along the road with the basket at the top of a crest, so you can not see if a car is coming. Hole 18 also leaves a high chance of putting towards the road.
Other Thoughts: All of the safety concerns are only an issue if people actually use this park, but giant spider webs blocking paths that should commonly be used show that this park is only visited by the lady who feeds the cats and a few boaters. I only saw 2 people drive through while playing and I saw a family playing on the playground.
The biggest improvement I would love to see is tee signs, even if they are shared between the 3 tees.
It is clear that numerous improvements have been added to increase player enjoyment, colored stripes on the basket to help navigation, Maps at the Kiosk, brand new custom number plates, and fundraising is in progress for more improvements (possibly tee pads)
Unfortunately designer and man who cares the most about the course lives 2 hours away from it.
There is a Sheetz 1.5 miles down the road to buy drinks and food before and after your round.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/13/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: Equipt2flip
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: The course have a very nice layout, and good mix of open and wooded hole. The wooded holes have nice, well defind fairways with guarded catchers. Course management is rewarded. The course design is well thought out,with the space avalible.
Cons: The teepads hard to find, they are toe borders 2x4 set into the ground. Whites are a little easier to spot then the red ones. Open holes play thru and close to common areas and play over 2 parking lots.
Other Thoughts: The course is a mix between Bryan & Dorey. Its worth the drive to play and to put on you regular play rotation.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    3/16/2011   3/16/2011
Review By: Larceny_Lars
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - As mentioned, has a good combination of open and wooded holes.
- 3 tee/course options (rec being the easiest, A being moderate and B being the most challenging)
- Quick playing course allows the option to play multiple times.
Cons: - Plays tight around a public park.
- Lack of concrete tee boxes makes a slip hazard on rainy/sloppy days.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.