Colonial Heights, VA
Pharaoh's Tomb Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 163ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 254ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red/Short Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Awesome

1    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Tom.Jones
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of wooded and open shots, well marked, fun holes (hole 15 over the gorge), not too hard to find any lost discs
Cons: So many bugs flying around my head during field shots, some holes were fairly muddy
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was great - I'd hope there'd be something done about the bugs flying around, especially the bees - even then, it's a great course to play.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hole 15 WOW!

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Huge variety of holes. The most memorable hole I've ever played! Hole 15 = Intimidation!

Great combo of open shots and precision shots. Most of the holes are good distance, nothing too long.
Cons: A couple of the holes go over the parking lot, so try to go early in the day during the week.
Other Thoughts: Grab a map at the first tee...it helps.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

1    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a disc golf course with good baskets and multiple tees. There is a good mix of heavily wooded, tight shots and some more open long shots. Park has picnic areas, bathroom and room for other famly activities. The back 9 offers some opportunity to avoid the other park users.
Cons: Course layout. There was some sort of community event going on so the picnic areas and parking lot were full. Several of the fairways were unplayable since they were being used as a flag football field. #3 plays through an area with some gazebos and picnic tables. One good bounce off a tree and you can send people scattering from their tables. #4 was unplayable due to the cars parked around the parking lot. I might have been able to throw over them, but it wasn't worth the risk. Between cars and people it just isn't a good spot for a basket. #5 had a flag football game going on and enough pedestrians around the bathrooms that I decided to skip that one too. #7 was the same story. Might have been a good round with no one else on the course, but I'm not psychic, so I wouldn't know when to play this course. On #9 I got the special treat of watching a guy urinate on a tree 5 feet from the basket. Skipped that hole too. I didn't have my Gore-Tex shoes on. Didn't want to get wet.

Oh yeah, the course has natural tee pads marked by white and red wood in the ground. they weren't bad, but they weren't concrete either.
Other Thoughts: Any course with good baskets is worth having, but the way this course works around the rest of the park facilities makes it a tough play. It might be decent when no one is around, but driving there would be a risk. I really enjoyed some of the holes, but the non-golf factors were enough to guarantee that I won't go back. I did see a few of the cats and did like the gorge, but none of that will be enough to bring me back. I'm sure it's great to have a local course, but this one is not for tourists.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Fantastic Course!

5+    3/11/2010   10/26/2009
Review By: RichieRich804
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is spread out in a park located next to the Appomattox river with a variety of challenging holes, in the open and in moderately wooded sections. Recently updated with an additional 9 baskets for a total of 18!!

The majority of holes offer unique challenges and new topography, most notably hole #15 over the huge gorge. Pics don't do it justice. The vastness of the gorge is an effective distraction and can thwart an otherwise accurate and strong arm.

Many holes feature mini creeks and water ways. Little makeshift bridges add character.

Red and White (short/long) tee sections for varying skills as well as alternates tee locations.
Cons: Grab a map as the red/white plank markers can be tricky to find your first couple times around.

Recently added arrow markers on trees help point you in the right direction to the next hole.

The meowing cats and kittens pay no attention to the "quiet" signs your friends may hold up during your shots.

Marshy areas could make things messy on wet days. Expect muddy conditions from recent rainfall especially hole #1. Hole #13 has a relocated basket to the right from it's inital position (which basically became a lake from rainfall).

The park shares much of it's landscape with patrons. Keep an eye out for V-ball players and golfers on hole #5. A stray disc to the left @ hole #10 could take out a small child on the playground. Keep an eye for your disc when throwing on hole #15 and #16 as it can easily become lost or missing around the gorge/bridge.
Other Thoughts: The addition of 9 more baskets really elevates the course to a new level. Recent fine tuning of the course from Daniel Cotter addressed some fundamental issues any new course would have. New signs point the way. A new colorful map better outlines the course.

Thankfully the Colonail Heights rec. dept. is on task with supporting the d-golf cause and I would like to thank them as well as Daniel for taking their time, money, and effort in providing us with a great facility.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cats!

1    5/9/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really enjoyable course to play. It has a nice mixture of open and wooded holes. Near the first tee is a bulletin board with maps and scorecards (grab a map - you'll need it!). Multiple tees on every hole make the course playable for all skill levels. 9 of the holes have brand new baskets, and each tee has markers with the hole number and distance.

The course features some really unique holes, particularly #15 (a short throw over a gorge, close enough for a view of the water without bringing it into play). The holes vary in distance and design so you will use every aspect of your game at some point.
Cons: The first noticeable con at Pharaoh's Tomb is the natural tees. I played in the evening after a tournament earlier in the day, and many of the tees were muddy and difficult to play on. While it was nice having the distance on the markers, it would be helpful if the markers stuck out of the ground - they lie flat next to the tees and can be tricky to find. The course could really benefit from signs at each tee with a diagram of the hole - some of the targets were hard to locate (particularly 16). Several holes have mandos, which are marked with signs, but not at the tee. After playing here once it won't be a problem, but I missed a few mandos just because I wasn't aware of them until after throwing my drive. I really didn't mind that half of the holes didn't have baskets, but the course will definitely jump up a notch once they are put in.

The course plays near several picnic areas, a playground, and a few parking lots as well. It doesn't take much away from the course, but on a few holes you have to be really careful - there were a lot of kids running around when I played.
Other Thoughts: I had heard about the cats at the park but I didn't realize there were so many! When I arrived there was an old lady feeding about 20 of them at the pavilion near the parking lot. They seemed pretty wary of people and stayed out of the way, so it was not a problem, but it was pretty funny to see all of those cats on a DG course.

I wish that I had been able to play in the tournament earlier in the day, but I'm glad that I was still able to finally check this course out. Coming from Richmond's Museum District, this course is the 4th option (after Bryan Park, Gillies, Dorey, and Goyne), but it was nice enough that I will definitely make it back there. All of these courses are just minutes from the highway, and if you're passing through on a trip I would recommend checking out any of them - they are all unique and enjoyable. This course is a great addition to the Richmond DG scene - I can't wait to see how it evolves.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  white bank

1    5/9/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: dsg2667
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent course, Nice use of the 9 baskets that they do have for the best fitting holes. Especially on the gorge :) It is a very fun and challenging course from the shorts. And what makes it even better is when you play the longs, its harder, more technical and you must be more precise.
Cons: The only cons are the 9 remaining baskets it needs. And also where some people cut off some of the brush on some of the holes to make them "easier"
Other Thoughts: Great course, great location, great layout. I will definately be playing there a lot more, and bringing all the richmond boys.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Varied Holes and Good Landscape

2-4    9/18/2011   3/23/2009
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole layout, nice park landscape, variety of individual holes.
Cons: Holes that play over or too close to parking areas.
Other Thoughts: White Bank Park is an excellent park on a branch of the Appomattox River, with playgrounds, a boat ramp, and lots of picnic areas. The disc golf course plays throughout the entire park and features a wide range of disc golf challenges. While it has no tee pads and minimal signage, and is only of average length, it does feature plenty of variety, including alternate tee pads that change most holes, as opposed to simply adding length. White Bank is not exactly a destination course, but it is the kind of course most any disc golfer would love to have nearby, due to its classic DG landscape, variety from hole to hole, and the options of playing the holes at least two, and in most cases three different ways. White Bank is not a course you will tire of easily.

The big strength of White Bank is the course design, the variety of each hole. You've got some woods holes and some open holes, and some that are a mixture of both. You've got holes that fade right and holes that fade left. You don't have any big uphill shots or downhill chucks, but you do have some slight downhill shots, and one true signature hole that plays over a big gully. You've got some 200 foot but challenging touch holes and you've got a couple 400-foot air it out holes. Most holes at White Bank have three tees - a shorter red tee, which is appropriate for beginners and young people probably, and then two separate white tees, which come at the hole from different angles. Each tee is natural and is marked by a painted "toe board" that is flush with the ground, but not too hard to find, a good solution in my view, if concrete or otherwise installed tee pads are not an option. There are no signs really at this course, but with the map available from the kiosk at hole #1, the directional paint on every basket pointing to the next tee by color, and the painted toe boards, navigation isn't too much of a problem.

Variety is the spice of a good course, and in this regard White Bank succeeds as well as any course in Central Virginia for the most part. My main concern is the two or three holes that play right over or near the parking lots, and maybe the one or two holes that play very close to other roads in the park, or the main playground. Those holes could be a problem on a busy summer day, though the park has built protective fences in the places that overlap most closely. In addition, a few holes are a bit boggy, but that's a minor issue.

As far as a neighborhood park course goes, White Bank is pretty sweet; it is a good complement to the growing array of Central Virginia courses, and with the multiple tees and nice park landscape, one that warrants many visits from locals and is certainly worth a stop if you're passing by.

Favorite Hole - #15 - Short hole over a deep gully with basket at an equal elevation to the tee on the other side.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly suprised

1    1/26/2009   1/27/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 221  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 35.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course that makes you pay for any errant throw with some tight wooded holes and fairways bordering ob areas. A good mix of hyzer/anhyzer shots, elevation changes and a few open holes to let er rip. Duel tees give flexibility to all skill levels. Putting is harder, so accuracy is very important. Restrooms on site and plenty of parking were available.

Located in a very nice multi-use park that has a lot of activities for the non disc golf family members to do, such as canoeing, playgrounds, scenic overlook and a fishing pier, while we get our fix.
Cons: No baskets. Surprisingly, the thing I missed most about the baskets was being able to see where the hole ended. My 40+ y/o eyes in the dim late afternoon light had a hard time seeing the marked objects. Very difficult to navigate without a map for a first timer. A few next tee signs would have been very beneficial. Even with the map, I was having a hard time locating the tees, especially the red tees. Fallen leaves and poor eyesight certainly weren't helping my cause.

Objects 6 & 8 were too close to each other, and I mixed them up the first time through. Some holes play in and around the park shelters, making them potential unplayable if in use by park patrons.
Other Thoughts: I grew up on an object course in the late seventies, and hadn't played one since 1982. I must admit that I wasn't exactly looking forward to playing this object course, since I prefer baskets. But to my surprise, I really enjoyed it. Maybe because it brought back memories of my roots, or that it was such a different challenge and different from a typical basket, but I really had a lot of fun playing it.

Since it doesn't have baskets, I would recommend printing out a map before coming out to play. This is important because there are no maps available at the course, and without one, it would be very difficult to navigate and find the tees and objects.

Playing the course for the first time blind, it was hard for me to see the object from the tee. Using the map, I would drive in the general direction and would then see the object when I got closer. Perhaps a bright yellow ribbon marking the objects would have been better for me to see.

Finally, if/when this course gets baskets, I can see disc golf taking off here. A few park patrons gave me funny looks like, why is this guy throwing a Frisbee around the park. Having baskets and seeing people throwing their discs in them and having fun, should only peak the curiosity of other park patrons. Hopefully, that curiosity won't kill the Ferrell cats I saw running around.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Full 18 baskets with a Variety of Shots!

5+    10/31/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 31  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out and makes great use of the park grounds. Makes use of all shots and even uses pavement as water hazards to make the course even more challenging. The map works great if followed closely. Combines open throws and tough hyzer/anhyzer throws throughout the course. Both wooded and open shots are represented. Red and white tees, red being easier and white a bit more difficult. The course takes you a complete circle around White Bank Park so you get a nice hike as well as a fun game. Great park for families and disc golfers alike! Bathrooms available just beyond the volleyball court. A great addition not always found on DG courses!
Cons: Without a map finding all the tees, Red and White could be difficult. Each is marked with a red or white two by four and are a nice touch, but for a First Time Player it is difficult to follow. E-Mail a guide, like me or follow the course map closely. Falling leaves can make the tees hard to find. After a hard rain, holes 1, 2 and 14 are swampy and marshy, be warned before heading out.
Other Thoughts: Note: 7-15-2009:
Daniel worked hard the last weekend to put down red and white planks to clearly mark the red and white tees. It makes navigating the course a whole lot easier! Great job!

Favorite Holes:

#9: Has you throw across a paved street from a tough angle. Remember, the paved street equals water on this course, and makes this very difficult and fun!

#15: Has you throw across a gorge and is a signature hole for The Tomb!! Very unique high risk/high reward hole. One of the most memorable shots in the Tri City area!

Also as a bonus, if you read the map, WB has a Hole 19. It starts on an island of grass in front of the stop sign and throws across the pavement to a target on another small island of grass! The target is marked by white tape on a post. Remember the pavement = water rule and you have a fun time for a tough bonus shot! It is the last remaining Object and a fun tie breaker hole!

Also note: The name Pharaoh's Tomb comes from the amount of cats running wild in the area! Like the cats left in a Pharaoh's Tomb, White Bank Park has people that leave food out for the wild cats so you may have eyes on you as you play! Welcome to Pharaoh's Tomb!

Update 4/7/2010: Now with all 18 baskets and alternates on many holes, this course has improved a lot and become one of the most fun courses in the Tri City area! Check the newest map edition, for all Tees and even the Safari Tees, that start at certain Tee boxes and have you shooting further at different number baskets. Just a fun addition to the park's games.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Finally 18

5+    4/11/2010   8/13/2008
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 413  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 4x4 toe boards more visible than the lodge stones. Navigation arrows at key spots and drop zones at mandos. Improved map and scorecard/hole profiles eliminate the need for tee signs. Score card complete with all future alt tee distances.

Forces you to control your disc with some very tight holes. A fun variety of wood/open long/short. Lots of connections that make for a mix of loops. Alt tees are half in and when finished will add a different look to most holes. Course sign has maps and scorecards so pick one up. Baskets are marked with red and white paint to point to the next tee.

The park itself is really nice with a lot for the tots, volleyball, horse shoes, big gazebos, a boat launch and dock, and river trails for some good fishing. Bathrooms and water are seasonal, and a protajohn in the winters.
Cons: Hole 1 can get a little hairy if the up keep is not there during the summer. With heavy heavy rain a few holes get squishy. No Tee signs, Tees are painted dug in 4x4 toe boards, really nice but can be hard to see at times like winter with the leaves but the maps are great and should get you really close.
Other Thoughts: Finally 18 baskets, and it feels good. However things are never done. I've finished putting in the alt toe boards and now have all numbered as well. Still need to get the distances though. I think the directional signage is pretty good but want to work on a number plate alternative to help with that as well. I have added a few protective additions on a couple holes so that over thrown discs don't enter two shelters. Down the line if I can get some extra muscle together I want to put a log bench on every hole. There are more minor projects but there not worth mentioning. I hope that next year Parks and Rec can help with some of the funding to improve the tee pads(I want hard plastic like at hot shots in MD). I left the hole by hole below. If you play and have and feedback please get in touch.

Hole 1 - start it in the woods, has a creek that when it rains fills and is OB.
Hole 2 - more woods and slightly up hill.
Hole 3 - Narrow shot through some trees and slightly up hill but short, however watch you don't go long and hit the parking lot which is OB.
Hole 4 - Either shoots over the corner or down the right side of the parking lot( OB ) but is completely open, again watch that distance as if you catch an edge on your approach you could roll down into the parking lot.
Hole 5 - Dogleg left around the back of the bathrooms.
Hole 6 - tight into the woods shot.
Hole 7 - Long almost double dog leg right, almost better to go wide to the left to set up for a straighter approach.
Hole 8 - Narrow woods hole with a little down and up to the hole.
Hole 9 - slight downhill dog leg left over a road and small creek.
Hole 10 - Great downhill through some big old growth trees.
Hole 11 - Shoots back up the hill through a mando tree path that has fairly low clearing.
Hole 12 - Fairly open with a tree guarded basket and a parking lot down the right side( OB ).
Hole 13 - The first hole I really set in stone, narrow shot through the woods with a hard right.
Hole 14 - Starts in the open and shots into a low clearing path into the woods and then up a hill.
Hole 15 - The Gorge, short enough but if you don't make it or roll down thats a hard putt up hill.
Hole 16 - Shoots back across the beginning of the gorge and fairly open, watch your step in the center through the leaves as there is loose cinder block under them.
Hole 17 - Mostly open through some tree paths.
Hole 18 - Shoots across a street and then up an open hill to behind a giant tree. The road is OB and runs kinda in the middle of two exceptable fairway(left grass, right mulch).

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.