Colonial Heights, VA 
Pharaoh's Tomb Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #10 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 315ft.   3 / 326ft.   3 / 344ft.   3 / 344ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 White/Long Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    11/5/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2014
16 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course in a great park. Nice scenery will help you forget some of the risks.
- Many fun aspects to the course. Some very solid holes with good, fun pin placements and challenges. #13 - 16 is a good stretch of semi-wooded holes, all with awesome views of Appomattox river.
- Good mix of holes. There are a couple open, longer holes that allow you to unwind your tee shots (in the 350+ ft range). There are also some good, tight holes that have little margin for error.
- Multiple tee pads - 2 regular length tees and a beginner tee. I love how the regulation-length tees (A & B) give a good variety of different looks and length. The 2 regular length tees present a 4th option (the long layout), which is simply playing the longer of the two tees for each hole. You get a good mix of both layouts by playing the "longs."
- Great course maps & scorecards online. With a lack of signage on the course, the detailed maps are a tremendous help. They're a life-saver for any first-time player.
- I like the being able to see some of the old-school markers for the former object holes. On #17, you can see the object "basket" near the real basket. It makes you appreciate how nice it is to have real baskets instead of playing object disc golf.
- Good park amenities for families - lots of picnic tables, playgrounds, open fields and boat ramp. You'll see all of these as you play throughout the park.
Cons: There were a lot of potential risks playing here, so many that I was having to keep an eye out for people on almost any hole.
- The biggest, and most obvious, problem is that the course plays too closely to other park activities. A partial list includes: #2 & 3 run close to/through a series of picnic shelters, #4 is throwing over a parking lot; #7 includes a blind tee shot around a corner into an open field, near a building; #18's tee shot is throwing uphill toward a road. It'd be very easy (but not necessarily likely) for a car to appear and be "at risk" of being hit after you throw. Other holes include throwing into/through open, public parts of park.
- I'm echoing what others have said: this course could be unplayable at peak times because of people in too many common areas/"fairways." I played on a Friday afternoon, and saw less than 10 people in the entire park, but even with that low a number, I was still forced to be overly cautious.
- Standing on the tee for #11, you're at a 90-degree angle to the basket. If you can't cut your disc sharp, you'd actually be in better shape to throw 50 straight ahead, and get into the opening past the trees, then throw a long second shot to the basket. I just felt this was a poorly designed hole.
- Several baskets are near picnic shelters. The positive is that there are wood walls protecting any people at the shelter, the bad is if you're one of the people at the shelter, and have to deal with discs thudding into the wall 5 feet behind you.
- As others have mentioned, the tee signs are just painted pieces of wood on the ground. Even with the course maps, there are some you have to be essentially right on top of them to see them.
- The course would be nearly impossible to play without a map for a first-timer. Maybe you will end up playing all 18 holes, but I doubt you would be able to play them in correct order.
Other Thoughts: I think PT is a great name for a course. It'd be cool to have a hole layed out along the theme - i.e. have a low, tunnel shot called the tomb hole.
- I felt like this course covered just about every square inch of the park. You're throwing over parking lots, roads, right up to & behind picnic benches & shelters. It's not that the park is that small, just that the course is so spaced-out. As said above, you'll see every part of the park.
- I thought it was interesting that #4 & 7 shared the same tee locations for both the A&B locations. You're throwing in different directions, but using the same pads. Don't know if it was a good thing, a bad thing, or just a thing; so it's getting noted here.
- Driving into the park and seeing how great things looked (plus what I've read on here), I had such high hopes for this course. Unfortunately, it couldn't meet those expectations. It's was the polar-opposite effect of Goyne Park. At Goyne, I had low hopes going in, only to have them exceeded.
- I loved #15. Short, 205 foot, uphill shot over a ravine. You can park your tee shot right next to the hole, or you can have it roll down the ravine, giving yourself a fun, little second shot.
- Just about every hole, in and of itself, is a good hole. Like any course, there are some duds. The problem is how they are impacted by the rest of the park. If you played here when the park was empty, it'd be a 3. Due to too many risks, it's getting a slight downgrade, but I know there's room for improvement.

16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Cats in a Par Three

1    5/31/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: tfoley
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
* Nice, new baskets
* Open and wooded holes
* Mix of shots: left, right, and straight
* All tees are marked and painted
* Maps and scorecards at board
* Lots of orange cats
Cons:
* Lots of bugs in the woods
* Some tees are very muddy
* Poor course design
Other Thoughts:
Overall I thought this was a really fun course and I would play here again. The large amount of cats there was hilarious and I've never see that before at another course. Those cats make this course memorable.

There is one item keeping this course from getting a better rating. The course layout is pretty poor. Some holes are too close together and others make you throw over a parking lot. It seems like this park could have about 11-13 holes, but the designers squeezed in 18.

Saying that, I liked almost all the holes by themselves and found it really fun to play. Make sure you get to the course early in the morning because there are a lot of other people in the park in the afternoon. It would be very difficult to play some of the holes because you would be throwing at people.

I personally really like natural tees so I was happy to see that they have three tees on every hole (I think) and the baskets look brand new. The tees are all clearly marked and most holes have a rock in the ground noting the distance to the hole.

If you are looking for a quick par 3 course with some character I recommend this course. Just make sure you go there in the morning.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    5/20/2010   5/20/2010
Review By: Tom.Jones
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Good mix of wooded and open shots, well marked, fun holes (hole 15 over the gorge), not too hard to find any lost discs
Cons: So many bugs flying around my head during field shots, some holes were fairly muddy
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was great - I'd hope there'd be something done about the bugs flying around, especially the bees - even then, it's a great course to play.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Hole 15 WOW!

1    5/6/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: xxxvictimizerxxx
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Huge variety of holes. The most memorable hole I've ever played! Hole 15 = Intimidation!

Great combo of open shots and precision shots. Most of the holes are good distance, nothing too long.
Cons: A couple of the holes go over the parking lot, so try to go early in the day during the week.
Other Thoughts: Grab a map at the first tee...it helps.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

1    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a disc golf course with good baskets and multiple tees. There is a good mix of heavily wooded, tight shots and some more open long shots. Park has picnic areas, bathroom and room for other famly activities. The back 9 offers some opportunity to avoid the other park users.
Cons: Course layout. There was some sort of community event going on so the picnic areas and parking lot were full. Several of the fairways were unplayable since they were being used as a flag football field. #3 plays through an area with some gazebos and picnic tables. One good bounce off a tree and you can send people scattering from their tables. #4 was unplayable due to the cars parked around the parking lot. I might have been able to throw over them, but it wasn't worth the risk. Between cars and people it just isn't a good spot for a basket. #5 had a flag football game going on and enough pedestrians around the bathrooms that I decided to skip that one too. #7 was the same story. Might have been a good round with no one else on the course, but I'm not psychic, so I wouldn't know when to play this course. On #9 I got the special treat of watching a guy urinate on a tree 5 feet from the basket. Skipped that hole too. I didn't have my Gore-Tex shoes on. Didn't want to get wet.

Oh yeah, the course has natural tee pads marked by white and red wood in the ground. they weren't bad, but they weren't concrete either.
Other Thoughts: Any course with good baskets is worth having, but the way this course works around the rest of the park facilities makes it a tough play. It might be decent when no one is around, but driving there would be a risk. I really enjoyed some of the holes, but the non-golf factors were enough to guarantee that I won't go back. I did see a few of the cats and did like the gorge, but none of that will be enough to bring me back. I'm sure it's great to have a local course, but this one is not for tourists.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Fantastic Course!

5+    3/11/2010   10/26/2009
Review By: RichieRich804
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The course is spread out in a park located next to the Appomattox river with a variety of challenging holes, in the open and in moderately wooded sections. Recently updated with an additional 9 baskets for a total of 18!!

The majority of holes offer unique challenges and new topography, most notably hole #15 over the huge gorge. Pics don't do it justice. The vastness of the gorge is an effective distraction and can thwart an otherwise accurate and strong arm.

Many holes feature mini creeks and water ways. Little makeshift bridges add character.

Red and White (short/long) tee sections for varying skills as well as alternates tee locations.
Cons: Grab a map as the red/white plank markers can be tricky to find your first couple times around.

Recently added arrow markers on trees help point you in the right direction to the next hole.

The meowing cats and kittens pay no attention to the "quiet" signs your friends may hold up during your shots.

Marshy areas could make things messy on wet days. Expect muddy conditions from recent rainfall especially hole #1. Hole #13 has a relocated basket to the right from it's inital position (which basically became a lake from rainfall).

The park shares much of it's landscape with patrons. Keep an eye out for V-ball players and golfers on hole #5. A stray disc to the left @ hole #10 could take out a small child on the playground. Keep an eye for your disc when throwing on hole #15 and #16 as it can easily become lost or missing around the gorge/bridge.
Other Thoughts: The addition of 9 more baskets really elevates the course to a new level. Recent fine tuning of the course from Daniel Cotter addressed some fundamental issues any new course would have. New signs point the way. A new colorful map better outlines the course.

Thankfully the Colonail Heights rec. dept. is on task with supporting the d-golf cause and I would like to thank them as well as Daniel for taking their time, money, and effort in providing us with a great facility.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Cats!

1    5/9/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a really enjoyable course to play. It has a nice mixture of open and wooded holes. Near the first tee is a bulletin board with maps and scorecards (grab a map - you'll need it!). Multiple tees on every hole make the course playable for all skill levels. 9 of the holes have brand new baskets, and each tee has markers with the hole number and distance.

The course features some really unique holes, particularly #15 (a short throw over a gorge, close enough for a view of the water without bringing it into play). The holes vary in distance and design so you will use every aspect of your game at some point.
Cons: The first noticeable con at Pharaoh's Tomb is the natural tees. I played in the evening after a tournament earlier in the day, and many of the tees were muddy and difficult to play on. While it was nice having the distance on the markers, it would be helpful if the markers stuck out of the ground - they lie flat next to the tees and can be tricky to find. The course could really benefit from signs at each tee with a diagram of the hole - some of the targets were hard to locate (particularly 16). Several holes have mandos, which are marked with signs, but not at the tee. After playing here once it won't be a problem, but I missed a few mandos just because I wasn't aware of them until after throwing my drive. I really didn't mind that half of the holes didn't have baskets, but the course will definitely jump up a notch once they are put in.

The course plays near several picnic areas, a playground, and a few parking lots as well. It doesn't take much away from the course, but on a few holes you have to be really careful - there were a lot of kids running around when I played.
Other Thoughts: I had heard about the cats at the park but I didn't realize there were so many! When I arrived there was an old lady feeding about 20 of them at the pavilion near the parking lot. They seemed pretty wary of people and stayed out of the way, so it was not a problem, but it was pretty funny to see all of those cats on a DG course.

I wish that I had been able to play in the tournament earlier in the day, but I'm glad that I was still able to finally check this course out. Coming from Richmond's Museum District, this course is the 4th option (after Bryan Park, Gillies, Dorey, and Goyne), but it was nice enough that I will definitely make it back there. All of these courses are just minutes from the highway, and if you're passing through on a trip I would recommend checking out any of them - they are all unique and enjoyable. This course is a great addition to the Richmond DG scene - I can't wait to see how it evolves.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  white bank

1    5/9/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: dsg2667
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent course, Nice use of the 9 baskets that they do have for the best fitting holes. Especially on the gorge :) It is a very fun and challenging course from the shorts. And what makes it even better is when you play the longs, its harder, more technical and you must be more precise.
Cons: The only cons are the 9 remaining baskets it needs. And also where some people cut off some of the brush on some of the holes to make them "easier"
Other Thoughts: Great course, great location, great layout. I will definately be playing there a lot more, and bringing all the richmond boys.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Varied Holes and Good Landscape

2-4    9/18/2011   3/23/2009
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole layout, nice park landscape, variety of individual holes.
Cons: Holes that play over or too close to parking areas.
Other Thoughts: White Bank Park is an excellent park on a branch of the Appomattox River, with playgrounds, a boat ramp, and lots of picnic areas. The disc golf course plays throughout the entire park and features a wide range of disc golf challenges. While it has no tee pads and minimal signage, and is only of average length, it does feature plenty of variety, including alternate tee pads that change most holes, as opposed to simply adding length. White Bank is not exactly a destination course, but it is the kind of course most any disc golfer would love to have nearby, due to its classic DG landscape, variety from hole to hole, and the options of playing the holes at least two, and in most cases three different ways. White Bank is not a course you will tire of easily.

The big strength of White Bank is the course design, the variety of each hole. You've got some woods holes and some open holes, and some that are a mixture of both. You've got holes that fade right and holes that fade left. You don't have any big uphill shots or downhill chucks, but you do have some slight downhill shots, and one true signature hole that plays over a big gully. You've got some 200 foot but challenging touch holes and you've got a couple 400-foot air it out holes. Most holes at White Bank have three tees - a shorter red tee, which is appropriate for beginners and young people probably, and then two separate white tees, which come at the hole from different angles. Each tee is natural and is marked by a painted "toe board" that is flush with the ground, but not too hard to find, a good solution in my view, if concrete or otherwise installed tee pads are not an option. There are no signs really at this course, but with the map available from the kiosk at hole #1, the directional paint on every basket pointing to the next tee by color, and the painted toe boards, navigation isn't too much of a problem.

Variety is the spice of a good course, and in this regard White Bank succeeds as well as any course in Central Virginia for the most part. My main concern is the two or three holes that play right over or near the parking lots, and maybe the one or two holes that play very close to other roads in the park, or the main playground. Those holes could be a problem on a busy summer day, though the park has built protective fences in the places that overlap most closely. In addition, a few holes are a bit boggy, but that's a minor issue.

As far as a neighborhood park course goes, White Bank is pretty sweet; it is a good complement to the growing array of Central Virginia courses, and with the multiple tees and nice park landscape, one that warrants many visits from locals and is certainly worth a stop if you're passing by.

Favorite Hole - #15 - Short hole over a deep gully with basket at an equal elevation to the tee on the other side.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly suprised

1    1/26/2009   1/27/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 230  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 36.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course that makes you pay for any errant throw with some tight wooded holes and fairways bordering ob areas. A good mix of hyzer/anhyzer shots, elevation changes and a few open holes to let er rip. Duel tees give flexibility to all skill levels. Putting is harder, so accuracy is very important. Restrooms on site and plenty of parking were available.

Located in a very nice multi-use park that has a lot of activities for the non disc golf family members to do, such as canoeing, playgrounds, scenic overlook and a fishing pier, while we get our fix.
Cons: No baskets. Surprisingly, the thing I missed most about the baskets was being able to see where the hole ended. My 40+ y/o eyes in the dim late afternoon light had a hard time seeing the marked objects. Very difficult to navigate without a map for a first timer. A few next tee signs would have been very beneficial. Even with the map, I was having a hard time locating the tees, especially the red tees. Fallen leaves and poor eyesight certainly weren't helping my cause.

Objects 6 & 8 were too close to each other, and I mixed them up the first time through. Some holes play in and around the park shelters, making them potential unplayable if in use by park patrons.
Other Thoughts: I grew up on an object course in the late seventies, and hadn't played one since 1982. I must admit that I wasn't exactly looking forward to playing this object course, since I prefer baskets. But to my surprise, I really enjoyed it. Maybe because it brought back memories of my roots, or that it was such a different challenge and different from a typical basket, but I really had a lot of fun playing it.

Since it doesn't have baskets, I would recommend printing out a map before coming out to play. This is important because there are no maps available at the course, and without one, it would be very difficult to navigate and find the tees and objects.

Playing the course for the first time blind, it was hard for me to see the object from the tee. Using the map, I would drive in the general direction and would then see the object when I got closer. Perhaps a bright yellow ribbon marking the objects would have been better for me to see.

Finally, if/when this course gets baskets, I can see disc golf taking off here. A few park patrons gave me funny looks like, why is this guy throwing a Frisbee around the park. Having baskets and seeing people throwing their discs in them and having fun, should only peak the curiosity of other park patrons. Hopefully, that curiosity won't kill the Ferrell cats I saw running around.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.