Layout Extinct

Duluth, MN
Miller Creek - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8
-- / 330ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Got very lost

1    9/24/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: tyna77
Played: 61  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good view, some trash recepticles, a water hole or two. nice walk.
Cons: This course was a bummer. We got lost every other hole or so, the tee boxes were worn down and/or wet. A lot of the tee markers were pulled out of the ground and thrown around. Pleanty of signs telling you not to litter but missing actual tee signs. There needs to be a map of some kind. The course layout was nothing exciting, a few fun holes but nothing really different or that challenging. We had to walk through what smelled like sewage. We ended up getting so lost we just walked out of the course on whatever trail we could find. Not cool.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: -Challenging shots on most holes
-basket placement is thought out to make aces difficult/improbable
Cons: -tee boxes are in rough shape, to say the least

-No hole or tee markings visible, makes following the course without a map nearly impossible
Other Thoughts: Definitely not a course for beginners - the foursome ahead of me spent 4 times longer looking for discs than playing

Wear good hiking/walking shoes as the terrain is very gravelly and hilly

  

1    8/8/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: north star
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: pretty easy course, nothing overly difficult, has a nice variety of holes, trash isnt as bad as it was in the past,
Cons: a lot of people are playing on the weekends, so beginners should play during the mid week, the course can get real narrow towards the last couple holes and discs can get lost pretty easily, the mosquito's are really bad in the evenings
Other Thoughts: this was my first time playing in over a year so besides going into the woods a lot it was an enjoyable time

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent potential

2-4    4/16/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: MNsnowbikedisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 6/1/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Love the feel. From the Cities, go to college in Duluth, and this course reminds me of Plymouth Creek in Plymouth, MN.
-Well protected baskets on many holes
-Hole 4 is an interesting downhill shot down the middle of a ditch
-large drop-offs behind the basket on Holes 1 and 8
-Hole 11 is challenging. Longest one of the course, at the end you have to cross a muddy pond and then immediately straight up a tree and root covered hill. Gauranteed uphill putt on this one.
-Was crowded with experienced players so we were able to ask for directions
Cons: -Holes 4-8 can be really rough on windy days.
-Holes 13-15 play along a sewer line
-If you are a rookie to Miller Creek and aren't playing behind some veterans, you WILL get lost.
-Have to backtrack on 4 holes to get to the next tee.
-Terrible tees. they are short and have holes in them, easy to twist an ankle or to fling yourself off the end of the tee and tumble down the cliff it rests on.
-Terrible signage.
-Throw over the parking lot on the 18th hole.
-Some holes have homemade alternate tees which can make things even more confusing as to where you are suppose to tee off at.
Other Thoughts: With large concrete tees, hole marker signs at the tees, and next tee signs at the baskets, I would give this course a 4. I definitely plan on coming back many times, but this course just seems crude at the moment. It does have the potential to become a "must play"

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 This Course STINKS!

5+    9/26/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Surlydrinker
Played: 142  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: it is a 18 hole course. Every hole but 1 can be birdied pretty easy.
Cons: Garbage on the ground on almost every hole. Lots of vandalism, many broken trees. Tee boxes suck, they are to short and the gravel in many of them is warn away resulting in big holes where you would normally plant your foot. You could twist an ankle very easily if your not careful. The signage sucks. If you are trying to play it by yourself for the first time, you will most likely get lost. One spot on the course 4 different holes criss cross each other. Very rocky gravel will destroy your discs. The back 9 runs along a sewer line and on most days it smells very bad. Hole 18 shoots over the parking lot. Many cars and people are frequently hit. During school months the course is always super crowed.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time with this course. If you want to play a good course in the area, try Mont du Lac.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

1    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: Moffwicket
Played: 55  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many unique holes. Every hole is different from the last. Uphill, downhill, forest, open, water, etc. Great pin placement makes approaches very important. A less than perfect shot will result in a more difficult putt than usual. I enjoyed each individual hole very much.

Great to see a popular course in Duluth. I was looking for some a few years ago and was shocked to find none. Each hole was sponsored by a local business or group, so it's clear that the course designer(s) put a lot of effort into making this course a reality.
Cons: Terrible layout. Several times you backtrack half the distance of the hole you just shot to get to the next. Pretty annoying if its a busy day. At one point in the middle of the course, there are FOUR holes that converge on the same open area. If you are playing any of the four holes, you need eyes in the back of your head.

Signage needs improvement. There are posts at each long teebox, most with a number drawn on, but some are blank. Maybe they washed off, but whatever the reason, it can make finding your way around a little hard. Sometimes there are arrows pointing to the next hole, but some of the most confusing spots aren't marked.

Terrible teeboxes. All the long boxes are comprised of a wooden frame filled with dirt and gravel. There needs to be a lot more upkeep here if this style of teebox is expected to work. Nearly every box was worn down deep and filled with water and mud. At least a couple times I tripped as I threw or the hole I stepped in caused my whole body to shift and resulted in a lousy drive.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad to see this 18 hole course in Duluth, however, it still needs a lot of work. Better signs and teepads for sure will improve the score in my book. Each hole individually is great, but I just wish they would all flow better.

Lots of opportunities for 2's here, especially if you can putt well. Most holes are short with some technical aspect to them.

I played this course on a very busy day, and that made the layout problem very noticable. I recommend playing offpeak hours.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 bad layout dooms course

1    8/30/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: deadbody
Played: 90  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
Pros: Really fun holes, lots of different looks, uphill shots, downhill shots, wide open, tight and wooded. Nothing super memorable, but nothing terrible from the holes either
Cons: POOR LAYOUT. at two different spots like 3 holes converge and you are in serious danger of getting hit with a disc. Terrible signage, spent a good amount of time trying to figure out where we were going, with a map. Bad tees, small and dirt, all of them had dips and holes, unable to get much run up at any holes.
Other Thoughts: With a better layout this course gets 3.5 stars from me, I really would have enjoyed it more. Needs tees and good signage. But the layout where you are throwing at people multiple times really dooms the course rating wise for me. I play with my wife and kids often, so not having to keep my head on a swivel looking for errant throws is really important to me.

 

2-4    7/21/2008   2/13/2009
Review By: Guurn
Played: 81  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes in Duluth Mn. Most people think of Mn as a place rife with disc golf courses, the Duluth area has been the exception rather than the rule. Nearby courses have closed or offered little challenge, Miller Creek has changed that.
Teepads were in (heavy gravel) on most holes and all holes had signage of some type. The flow is ok with no crisscrossing fairways. Hole length varied greatly often using the hilly terrain or trees to great advantage, Hole 4 is a good example of that. Featuring a great view of Lake Superior, from the tee it looks like it is a straight forward example of a slight downhill hole (305ft). There is a wooded hill on the right interfering with a hyzer shot starting about 200 feet in and a small less steep hill on the left. The basket is tucked away at the bottom of the hill under some overhanging trees. The 300 foot shot is perfect to put it directly between many peoples driver and midrange. Much harder than it looks. Hole number 11 - 515 feet finishing on a small hill with a pond (like a really large mud puddle really) at the near base of the hill, again making the drive in many peoples danger zone. This penchant for putting well thought out difficulties in the path of the player is a recurring theme.
Cons: Fairways and rough were still new making little stumps common. Some areas needed work to help with small erosion issues. Although there was signage it wasn't always clear and some direction to the next teepad was often needed. For instance, near the creek there are diverging paths that made the location of the next hole hard to find (holes 14-17). Hole 9 needs a stairway badly. Clearly a work in progress.

*update* This course has taken a beating over the last year since I was last there and is really in need of serious help. The teepads are deeply worn, there is garbage strewn about and vandalism is evident. You would think with so few choices that people would have more sense than to wreck what is a pretty good course. I am moving my rating down from 3.5 until if gets some help. Sorry Duluth, at least you still have Mont Du lac-a great course.
Other Thoughts: It should be noted that this course is a labor of love for a group of local players. There is a course layout in google maps and it should probably be printed before playing to clear up any issues. There is no trash pickup so pack your crap out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.