Silverdale, WA
Kitsap Fairgrounds DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #14
3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good Course, Great Challenge

5+    11/23/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: John_Hav
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With all 18 holes a Par 3 this is a good course for novice to slightly more advanced players.

Variety of angles and decent terrain.
Cons: As mentioned in the other reviews the brush on the course does make it difficult to find a disc thrown off course. It has improved as more players go thru the course but my group and I have recovered 3 discs on a single run thru the course.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned all the holes are Par 3 and may not present a challenge for more advanced players. That being said, for average players still learning this course is great.

One bad throw can land you in brush that will take a couple throws to get out of. Fighting with the foilage will certainly help train you to throw straight and true.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One very challenging course

5+    9/1/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: Great parking. All holes marked and have cement tee pads. This course is for players who desire to play a technical and challenging course. All holes have a possible chance for a great drive with the reward of a possible birdie...I repeat "possible chance". If you don't have a good drive then you are scrambling to (1) find your disc..(2) throw some kind of hizer-tomahawk-roller. Great deep woods course, you know you're playing in the woods in the north not in a field or pasture...you will need all you're shots/throws/tricks to conquer this course. Hole 8 very hard par 3. Hole 13 very hard par 3...this hole is well protected by the woods. Hole 17 very hard par 3...this hole is well protected by the woods.
Cons: Not for beginners! Nettles, devil's club, blackberries and other sticker bushes. If you go off the fairway, which in most cases is only 15 feet wide you will be in the search mode. Expect 20-40 minutes of disc searching.
Other Thoughts: Lost a disc last night. Deep off course when my drive on 7 went way into the woods on the right. It isn't pretty down in that area. Longandwrong was not what I wanted :)
I have played this course at least 50 times and as a right handed forearm thrower it is very very difficult to score. If you have a good straight 200-250 backhand you will be rewarded. Have a great day playing here. You will have a course to remember and talk about for a long time.

Hardest Kitsap course

5+    8/22/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, you want the challenge of every throw counting? This is the place. Deep woods, heavy undergrowth that will make you throw every type of throw plus every disc you carry. Great parking, good pads, good signs. Playable all year around. Not a crowded course!
Cons: Deep underbrush makes for lost disc's (there is a found disc box that allows people to go to Team Sports and retrieve their lost disc.) Also you must watch out for Nettles and other sharp plants if your throw is errant. No toilets of any kind.
Other Thoughts: Consider this the hardest course in Kitsap county which makes me play it over and over. Come to Kitsap...3 great courses within 8 miles...2 within 1.5 miles. Make a day of it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bad bad and worse

1    8/1/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow this course was bad. The only good i can come up with is i found three other peoples disc while searching for my own and all had phone numbers on them so they got reunited with their owners.
Cons: Not a course for beginners or intermediates. You will loose a disc or two. Poor maintenance, kids smoking pot in several places, broken bottles in many places, trash, unsafe road crossing, not well marked in places.
Other Thoughts: Go up the road to the near-by course thats million times better.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fairgrounds is a fair challenge

2-4    5/19/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Calyub
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good variation from hole to hole. You will see AMPLE vegetation, plenty of obscured shots, shots to the left, shots to the right, elevated throws and throws down hill.
- Unique shots (for example: one hole will have you shooting over a small valley, another will have you shooting over a muddy swamp area).
- Tee shots are nice and flat.
- Ample parking.
- There is an extra basket up near the parking area to warm up. Behind this warm up area are some nice soccer fields if you feel like airing a few out before starting.
- Very clean with a lot of trash bins.
- Disk drop box at the start of the course (you will appreciate this feature as my groups alone have been here 3 times and have found and returned 3 disks to the drop box).
- Good distance variety on the shots. You will see distances range from 150 - 300+.
- Nice scenery. You feel isolated in the beautiful wilderness.
Cons: - Too much underbrush! You will spend a lot of your time looking for your disks in blackberries, tall grass and stinging nettles. Make every shot count and be careful if you are wearing shorts!
- While the place is marked on most shots, you will still get turned around on a couple of holes (most notably when you have to cross the street to play 10-16 and then have to cross back to play 17-18).
- Crossing the street around hole 9 seems dangerous with no crosswalk.
Other Thoughts: Most of the issues I have with this course is with the dense blackberry and stinging nettles. You can expect to add about an hour to your play time just to look for disks if you are just beginning to play or have issues with LH holes that bank to the right. That being said, the course is clean, fairly well marked and a good challenge to most skill levels.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fairgrounds a Fair Course

1    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Lazzdar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging with lots of trees and many L-shaped shots.
- A variety of distances from 100+ feet to over 400 feet shots.
- Very cleanly kept and maintained. There was a garbage bag kept at every tee.
Cons: - Crossing the street to the other side (to basket 8 ... then back across to basket 17) can be a bit dangerous as the road is a busy one. Too bad there wasn't a safer way across, or a crosswalk available. Though with a bit of common sense fol;ks should be fine.
- Only one tee per shot (I think one hole had a second choice. This didn't bother me much personally, but I'm sure as my skill grows, a second more difficult shot, might be enjoyable).
- Watch out for the Stinging Nettles around the mid-to-later half of the first 7 holes. Very swampy in this area and if your disk flies off the course then you'll likely find some right on the off-path trails. Especially for those who are wearing shorts.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. I found it quite challenging. It was also simply a great hike. Kept very clean and beutifully maintained. Probably my personal favorite course so far as I enjoyed the walk-around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet, Enjoyable, Challenging, Fun.

1    11/15/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 21.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Plenty of parking
-Grippy concrete tees
-Good tee and next tee signage
-Good benches and bag hooks
-Good baskets
-Well maintained
-Good mix of left, right, up, down
-Challenging tight lines on some holes, but still lots of birdie opportunities
-A few unique holes
Cons:
-Land is almost uniformly wooded, so no way to have long bomber holes in the open (not really a con, the course is designed very well for the site)
-A couple missing next tee signs made first time navigation a little difficult
Other Thoughts:
Kitsap Fairgrounds is a sweet little course in the woods with plenty of birdie opportunities but more than enough challenging design to make it both fun and interesting. I played in a dry mid-November and neither undergrowth nor drainage were an issue at all. It is clearly a well-loved and maintained course. Next tee signs help a first timer on almost every hole, with well worn paths making up for a couple of missing signs.

I thought the design was very well thought out and wrested almost everything from the available landscape features, with up and down a constant, and plenty of variance in left, right, and straight ahead holes. I'm a Pacific NW disc golfer with an aging arm and no super distance ability and I love wooded courses. This course takes technical skill and like most heavily wooded courses, you can get in trouble fast off the tee. You can also rack up the birdies on this course ( I did not). A few unique holes really stood out including a short, sharp left-right downhill, a shot across a gully, and a very tight fairway steep downhill. Sorry, can't remember the numbers, and the maps here need to be updated as this is now numbered as an 18 hole course.

Although there is validity to the thought that there is a little too much "sameness" to the holes, I don't think there was much of a solution for the design of this course. It's heavily wooded and short of massive tree and vegetation removal there's not much to be done about it. The beauty here is the use of elevation, the challenging but still fun aspects of the course, and the great close to town but still feels like you are out in the forest feel. I'll be back!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fairgrounds DGC

5+    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-Good Baskets
-Benches and Bag hooks on a lot of holes
-Good area, not overcrowded
-Bulletin board at the beginning of the course with lots of good information
-Lost disc box at the beginning of the course
Cons: -LOTS of undergrowth, much of it thorny. Makes keeping an eye on your disc imperative and wearing jeans vice shorts is preferable when you have to go hunting for it

-Some of the signage is water/sun faded and good be a little more descriptive. I think i'd prefer an overhead layout vice a picture with an arrow showing the tee.

-I think there's a missing "next tee" sign at the end of hole 4, making finding hole 5 a little tricky if you haven't played here before. Though if you follow the beaten path to the left you'll find your way.
Other Thoughts: After being away from the sport for over 6 years, this was my first course getting back into the sports. My sloppy shot meant a lot of time searching in the growth for discs, something i wasn't much used to being used to the more open courses in Colorado.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/3/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Barthanatos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tees, quality baskets, info kiosk, lost disk return box. Benches on many tees.
- Course is clearly defined, with adequate signage.
- An excessive amount of parking is available.
- Practice basket in vicinity of tee one.
- I consider the blind throws a positive.
- Soccer fields next to parking lot convenient for practicing long drives (500 ft of open field).
- Holes are legitimate par 3's, and not pitch and toss like Van Zee.
- Some unique holes such as #16.
- Low traffic, peaceful atmosphere. Area is used only for disc golf, with occasional use by cross-country team.
- Course is actively managed by the WSDGA.
Cons: -Nothing longer than a par 3, and longest hole is 423 ft. That's actually a major ding in my book, as it removes a major element of game play.

-The undergrowth does have quite an appetite for disks. I lost three at this course when I first started playing (none since then). Two of those throws were really hideous, and the other was just bad. But even with good throws I spend more time than I like searching for my disks, even after an approach shot. It's easy to catch a bad bounce off a tree, and the ferns mandate keeping a close eye on the path of your disc for EVERY throw, not just the ones you think are going to be trouble. This is not as bad on holes 10 through 16.

- Hole #5 is _quite_ muddy and could use improved drainage. It appears that efforts are occurring to improve this. You're fine with a good throw, but a tree shot can drop your disc short and last time this happened to me, I was very happy to be wearing boots because I sank ankle deep retrieving it.

- Hole #5 is also the limiting factor for strollers. I haven't tried taking one on the course yet, but would say you are currently limited to jogging strollers, and then only if you're willing and able to muscle it up the steep, narrow (but short) path on number five.
Other Thoughts: There's a work party scheduled for July 16th to clear brush.

Despite the course not being as tidy as NAD, I think that the actual gameplay is better here at Fairgrounds. The holes are more interesting.

Special events sometimes limit access to the course due to it being located at the Fairgrounds. This can include closure of Fairgounds Road between Tibardis Road and Tracyton Blvd. I once encountered a tent pitched directly on tee number one inhabited by a traveling fair attendee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/23/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: bigbmoney
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Uniform and level tees. Plenty of parking. Nice to see trash can placed around. Course condition has come along way.
Cons: I am not left handed. This course LOVES lefty. Could use some brush clearing. That might come with more play.
Other Thoughts: Hard for me to go there over NAD or Fredrickson.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.