Silverdale, WA 
Kitsap Fairgrounds DGC Share
Uploaded By: yardbird Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Stay on the fairway and you're good

5+    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: 12thManJustin
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging woodsy course, many birdie able holes with a few longer more challenging par 3's. Really fun technical course that I think will just keep getting better with work being put into it every year. Great tee pads, trash bags on tees, a few benches, nice scenery, the association and volunteers do a great job of maintaining the course.
Cons: Keep an eye or two or three on your disc, and it still might take a minute to find it. Spotters recommended on some holes. Thorns and stinging medals, so pants are nice to have when a disc hits a tree and lands in the underbrush. Spending extra time looking for discs that don't land in the fairway is my only real con.
Other Thoughts: If it's your first or even second time playing disc golf ever I would recommend NAD park or the Bud Pell. You will lose a disc for sure, you'd be lucky to get past the first hole. This course taught me to really keep it on the fairway, too much danger off of it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bushy

1    4/20/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: nathani
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice use of terrain, has a mix of tight wooded holes with a few more open fairways. Includes a few long par 3s. Great cement tees with seating and garbage at most holes. Lots of parking available. Signage is good. Lost disc box is a definate bonus here. Multiple holes have "hazards" (spots where you don't want to put your disc), and I like that. A technically challenging course and a well managed one too.
Cons: Many holes less than 250', but the use of elevation and trees keeps it challenging. Underbrush and blind throws contribute to lost discs. Stinging nettle also found here, wear pants.
Other Thoughts: Our party didn't lose any, but we posted a spotter on most blind throws and there were still several disc hunts.
Great course to put pressure on your mid and short game. There are some throws that make you sweat and it shows on the score card.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good Course, Great Challenge

5+    11/23/2013   11/26/2013
Review By: John_Hav
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With all 18 holes a Par 3 this is a good course for novice to slightly more advanced players.

Variety of angles and decent terrain.
Cons: As mentioned in the other reviews the brush on the course does make it difficult to find a disc thrown off course. It has improved as more players go thru the course but my group and I have recovered 3 discs on a single run thru the course.
Other Thoughts: As mentioned all the holes are Par 3 and may not present a challenge for more advanced players. That being said, for average players still learning this course is great.

One bad throw can land you in brush that will take a couple throws to get out of. Fighting with the foilage will certainly help train you to throw straight and true.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One very challenging course

5+    9/1/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: Great parking. All holes marked and have cement tee pads. This course is for players who desire to play a technical and challenging course. All holes have a possible chance for a great drive with the reward of a possible birdie...I repeat "possible chance". If you don't have a good drive then you are scrambling to (1) find your disc..(2) throw some kind of hizer-tomahawk-roller. Great deep woods course, you know you're playing in the woods in the north not in a field or pasture...you will need all you're shots/throws/tricks to conquer this course. Hole 8 very hard par 3. Hole 13 very hard par 3...this hole is well protected by the woods. Hole 17 very hard par 3...this hole is well protected by the woods.
Cons: Not for beginners! Nettles, devil's club, blackberries and other sticker bushes. If you go off the fairway, which in most cases is only 15 feet wide you will be in the search mode. Expect 20-40 minutes of disc searching.
Other Thoughts: Lost a disc last night. Deep off course when my drive on 7 went way into the woods on the right. It isn't pretty down in that area. Longandwrong was not what I wanted :)
I have played this course at least 50 times and as a right handed forearm thrower it is very very difficult to score. If you have a good straight 200-250 backhand you will be rewarded. Have a great day playing here. You will have a course to remember and talk about for a long time.

Hardest Kitsap course

5+    8/22/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: ajjrt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wow, you want the challenge of every throw counting? This is the place. Deep woods, heavy undergrowth that will make you throw every type of throw plus every disc you carry. Great parking, good pads, good signs. Playable all year around. Not a crowded course!
Cons: Deep underbrush makes for lost disc's (there is a found disc box that allows people to go to Team Sports and retrieve their lost disc.) Also you must watch out for Nettles and other sharp plants if your throw is errant. No toilets of any kind.
Other Thoughts: Consider this the hardest course in Kitsap county which makes me play it over and over. Come to Kitsap...3 great courses within 8 miles...2 within 1.5 miles. Make a day of it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Bad bad and worse

1    8/1/2012   8/26/2012
Review By: powerplantthom
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow this course was bad. The only good i can come up with is i found three other peoples disc while searching for my own and all had phone numbers on them so they got reunited with their owners.
Cons: Not a course for beginners or intermediates. You will loose a disc or two. Poor maintenance, kids smoking pot in several places, broken bottles in many places, trash, unsafe road crossing, not well marked in places.
Other Thoughts: Go up the road to the near-by course thats million times better.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fairgrounds is a fair challenge

2-4    5/19/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: Calyub
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good variation from hole to hole. You will see AMPLE vegetation, plenty of obscured shots, shots to the left, shots to the right, elevated throws and throws down hill.
- Unique shots (for example: one hole will have you shooting over a small valley, another will have you shooting over a muddy swamp area).
- Tee shots are nice and flat.
- Ample parking.
- There is an extra basket up near the parking area to warm up. Behind this warm up area are some nice soccer fields if you feel like airing a few out before starting.
- Very clean with a lot of trash bins.
- Disk drop box at the start of the course (you will appreciate this feature as my groups alone have been here 3 times and have found and returned 3 disks to the drop box).
- Good distance variety on the shots. You will see distances range from 150 - 300+.
- Nice scenery. You feel isolated in the beautiful wilderness.
Cons: - Too much underbrush! You will spend a lot of your time looking for your disks in blackberries, tall grass and stinging nettles. Make every shot count and be careful if you are wearing shorts!
- While the place is marked on most shots, you will still get turned around on a couple of holes (most notably when you have to cross the street to play 10-16 and then have to cross back to play 17-18).
- Crossing the street around hole 9 seems dangerous with no crosswalk.
Other Thoughts: Most of the issues I have with this course is with the dense blackberry and stinging nettles. You can expect to add about an hour to your play time just to look for disks if you are just beginning to play or have issues with LH holes that bank to the right. That being said, the course is clean, fairly well marked and a good challenge to most skill levels.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fairgrounds a Fair Course

1    5/6/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: Lazzdar
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Challenging with lots of trees and many L-shaped shots.
- A variety of distances from 100+ feet to over 400 feet shots.
- Very cleanly kept and maintained. There was a garbage bag kept at every tee.
Cons: - Crossing the street to the other side (to basket 8 ... then back across to basket 17) can be a bit dangerous as the road is a busy one. Too bad there wasn't a safer way across, or a crosswalk available. Though with a bit of common sense fol;ks should be fine.
- Only one tee per shot (I think one hole had a second choice. This didn't bother me much personally, but I'm sure as my skill grows, a second more difficult shot, might be enjoyable).
- Watch out for the Stinging Nettles around the mid-to-later half of the first 7 holes. Very swampy in this area and if your disk flies off the course then you'll likely find some right on the off-path trails. Especially for those who are wearing shorts.
Other Thoughts: I loved this course. I found it quite challenging. It was also simply a great hike. Kept very clean and beutifully maintained. Probably my personal favorite course so far as I enjoyed the walk-around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet, Enjoyable, Challenging, Fun.

1    11/15/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Plenty of parking
-Grippy concrete tees
-Good tee and next tee signage
-Good benches and bag hooks
-Good baskets
-Well maintained
-Good mix of left, right, up, down
-Challenging tight lines on some holes, but still lots of birdie opportunities
-A few unique holes
Cons:
-Land is almost uniformly wooded, so no way to have long bomber holes in the open (not really a con, the course is designed very well for the site)
-A couple missing next tee signs made first time navigation a little difficult
Other Thoughts:
Kitsap Fairgrounds is a sweet little course in the woods with plenty of birdie opportunities but more than enough challenging design to make it both fun and interesting. I played in a dry mid-November and neither undergrowth nor drainage were an issue at all. It is clearly a well-loved and maintained course. Next tee signs help a first timer on almost every hole, with well worn paths making up for a couple of missing signs.

I thought the design was very well thought out and wrested almost everything from the available landscape features, with up and down a constant, and plenty of variance in left, right, and straight ahead holes. I'm a Pacific NW disc golfer with an aging arm and no super distance ability and I love wooded courses. This course takes technical skill and like most heavily wooded courses, you can get in trouble fast off the tee. You can also rack up the birdies on this course ( I did not). A few unique holes really stood out including a short, sharp left-right downhill, a shot across a gully, and a very tight fairway steep downhill. Sorry, can't remember the numbers, and the maps here need to be updated as this is now numbered as an 18 hole course.

Although there is validity to the thought that there is a little too much "sameness" to the holes, I don't think there was much of a solution for the design of this course. It's heavily wooded and short of massive tree and vegetation removal there's not much to be done about it. The beauty here is the use of elevation, the challenging but still fun aspects of the course, and the great close to town but still feels like you are out in the forest feel. I'll be back!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fairgrounds DGC

5+    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-Good Baskets
-Benches and Bag hooks on a lot of holes
-Good area, not overcrowded
-Bulletin board at the beginning of the course with lots of good information
-Lost disc box at the beginning of the course
Cons: -LOTS of undergrowth, much of it thorny. Makes keeping an eye on your disc imperative and wearing jeans vice shorts is preferable when you have to go hunting for it

-Some of the signage is water/sun faded and good be a little more descriptive. I think i'd prefer an overhead layout vice a picture with an arrow showing the tee.

-I think there's a missing "next tee" sign at the end of hole 4, making finding hole 5 a little tricky if you haven't played here before. Though if you follow the beaten path to the left you'll find your way.
Other Thoughts: After being away from the sport for over 6 years, this was my first course getting back into the sports. My sloppy shot meant a lot of time searching in the growth for discs, something i wasn't much used to being used to the more open courses in Colorado.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.