Silverdale, WA 
Kitsap Fairgrounds DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #13
3 / 319ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Stay on the fairway and you're good

5+    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: 12thManJustin
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging woodsy course, many birdie able holes with a few longer more challenging par 3's. Really fun technical course that I think will just keep getting better with work being put into it every year. Great tee pads, trash bags on tees, a few benches, nice scenery, the association and volunteers do a great job of maintaining the course.
Cons: Keep an eye or two or three on your disc, and it still might take a minute to find it. Spotters recommended on some holes. Thorns and stinging medals, so pants are nice to have when a disc hits a tree and lands in the underbrush. Spending extra time looking for discs that don't land in the fairway is my only real con.
Other Thoughts: If it's your first or even second time playing disc golf ever I would recommend NAD park or the Bud Pell. You will lose a disc for sure, you'd be lucky to get past the first hole. This course taught me to really keep it on the fairway, too much danger off of it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet, Enjoyable, Challenging, Fun.

1    11/15/2011   11/21/2011
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Plenty of parking
-Grippy concrete tees
-Good tee and next tee signage
-Good benches and bag hooks
-Good baskets
-Well maintained
-Good mix of left, right, up, down
-Challenging tight lines on some holes, but still lots of birdie opportunities
-A few unique holes
Cons:
-Land is almost uniformly wooded, so no way to have long bomber holes in the open (not really a con, the course is designed very well for the site)
-A couple missing next tee signs made first time navigation a little difficult
Other Thoughts:
Kitsap Fairgrounds is a sweet little course in the woods with plenty of birdie opportunities but more than enough challenging design to make it both fun and interesting. I played in a dry mid-November and neither undergrowth nor drainage were an issue at all. It is clearly a well-loved and maintained course. Next tee signs help a first timer on almost every hole, with well worn paths making up for a couple of missing signs.

I thought the design was very well thought out and wrested almost everything from the available landscape features, with up and down a constant, and plenty of variance in left, right, and straight ahead holes. I'm a Pacific NW disc golfer with an aging arm and no super distance ability and I love wooded courses. This course takes technical skill and like most heavily wooded courses, you can get in trouble fast off the tee. You can also rack up the birdies on this course ( I did not). A few unique holes really stood out including a short, sharp left-right downhill, a shot across a gully, and a very tight fairway steep downhill. Sorry, can't remember the numbers, and the maps here need to be updated as this is now numbered as an 18 hole course.

Although there is validity to the thought that there is a little too much "sameness" to the holes, I don't think there was much of a solution for the design of this course. It's heavily wooded and short of massive tree and vegetation removal there's not much to be done about it. The beauty here is the use of elevation, the challenging but still fun aspects of the course, and the great close to town but still feels like you are out in the forest feel. I'll be back!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fairgrounds DGC

5+    7/14/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: jedimasterbryan
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/25/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-Good Baskets
-Benches and Bag hooks on a lot of holes
-Good area, not overcrowded
-Bulletin board at the beginning of the course with lots of good information
-Lost disc box at the beginning of the course
Cons: -LOTS of undergrowth, much of it thorny. Makes keeping an eye on your disc imperative and wearing jeans vice shorts is preferable when you have to go hunting for it

-Some of the signage is water/sun faded and good be a little more descriptive. I think i'd prefer an overhead layout vice a picture with an arrow showing the tee.

-I think there's a missing "next tee" sign at the end of hole 4, making finding hole 5 a little tricky if you haven't played here before. Though if you follow the beaten path to the left you'll find your way.
Other Thoughts: After being away from the sport for over 6 years, this was my first course getting back into the sports. My sloppy shot meant a lot of time searching in the growth for discs, something i wasn't much used to being used to the more open courses in Colorado.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/3/2011   6/22/2011
Review By: Barthanatos
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tees, quality baskets, info kiosk, lost disk return box. Benches on many tees.
- Course is clearly defined, with adequate signage.
- An excessive amount of parking is available.
- Practice basket in vicinity of tee one.
- I consider the blind throws a positive.
- Soccer fields next to parking lot convenient for practicing long drives (500 ft of open field).
- Holes are legitimate par 3's, and not pitch and toss like Van Zee.
- Some unique holes such as #16.
- Low traffic, peaceful atmosphere. Area is used only for disc golf, with occasional use by cross-country team.
- Course is actively managed by the WSDGA.
Cons: -Nothing longer than a par 3, and longest hole is 423 ft. That's actually a major ding in my book, as it removes a major element of game play.

-The undergrowth does have quite an appetite for disks. I lost three at this course when I first started playing (none since then). Two of those throws were really hideous, and the other was just bad. But even with good throws I spend more time than I like searching for my disks, even after an approach shot. It's easy to catch a bad bounce off a tree, and the ferns mandate keeping a close eye on the path of your disc for EVERY throw, not just the ones you think are going to be trouble. This is not as bad on holes 10 through 16.

- Hole #5 is _quite_ muddy and could use improved drainage. It appears that efforts are occurring to improve this. You're fine with a good throw, but a tree shot can drop your disc short and last time this happened to me, I was very happy to be wearing boots because I sank ankle deep retrieving it.

- Hole #5 is also the limiting factor for strollers. I haven't tried taking one on the course yet, but would say you are currently limited to jogging strollers, and then only if you're willing and able to muscle it up the steep, narrow (but short) path on number five.
Other Thoughts: There's a work party scheduled for July 16th to clear brush.

Despite the course not being as tidy as NAD, I think that the actual gameplay is better here at Fairgrounds. The holes are more interesting.

Special events sometimes limit access to the course due to it being located at the Fairgrounds. This can include closure of Fairgounds Road between Tibardis Road and Tracyton Blvd. I once encountered a tent pitched directly on tee number one inhabited by a traveling fair attendee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Kitsap Fairgrounds DGC

5+    12/20/2009   1/15/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2011
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Kitsap Fairgrounds is a great course in a beautiful northwest setting. It has plenty of elevation changes and intricate holes due to tight fairways and difficult pin placements. This course has a lot to offer and can be extremely challenging for intermediate and advanced players alike. When I arrived to hole one I was greeted by a large kiosk that informed players as to what was going on around the Puget Sound disc golf community. There was a warm up basket near by and a wonderful metal disc return box (which I wish more courses had).

What made this course so challenging to me was that many of the holes tended to be geared toward left handed or side armed players which was unusual considering most courses favor right handed players. Because of that I found that this course attacked the weaker aspects of my game which I appreciated. It helped me work on straightening out some of my issues and allowed for a very challenging round.

The signs for the course are fantastic. They look as if they had been done by Google maps, with full color and distance shown. The tee pads were cement which was vital considering the course is located in the northwest where disc golf and it can get extremely muddy around these parts. The bag holders were a nice addition so that players would not find themselves sticking their bags in the harsh elements.

Many holes provided multiple approaches to each hole however tight those might be. The fairways were for the most part tight or very tight, with dense foliage on either side making your upshot difficult. Accuracy is key to scoring well on this course, as is knowing where the pin is located.
Cons:
As others have stated, many holes seem to be redundant. Although they were well thought out, it would have been nice to see more of a variety to allow for more types of shots. Rarely did I find myself using a powerful backhand (more like a strong sidearm, an approach shot, and then a putt). The first seven holes seemed to have a lot of brush as well. I had a hard time trying to find the baskets and/or my disc because of the amount of growth on and off the fairways. As time goes on I hope that these holes get cleared up so that they can be as great as the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts:
I really enjoyed my time at the Fairgrounds. Their signature hole #16 was one of the better holes that I have played since I began this great game over 11 years ago. The hole is a 329 foot par 3 that drops about 50-60 feet in elevation. On both sides are rows of trees that are unforgiving, turning what would be a par or even birdie shot in to a bogie or double bogie. As I have stated in other reviews regarding the courses around the area, I love the atmosphere on this side of the state and feel like the locals have and are continuing to do a fantastic job with the land they have allotted. I look forward to the next time I get to play this course. Keep up the good work!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fairgrounds

1    12/10/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is similar to the other courses in the area in that it is a technical course with short holes and tight fairways which I happen to love. If you can master dead straight shots, short hyzers and short anhyzers who can finish with a great score here, the mix of right and left turns are done very well. This time of year when I played it there was no under brush and the local club just put in brand new tee signs which are very helpful. This is the best time of the year to play this course if you can stand the cold, the concrete tee pads didn't even have ice on them.
Cons: Being it was my first time playing the course my score was a lot higher than usual because of the many number of blind basket locations. There was a fair amount of elevation which is a good thing for the course but combined with a little bit of walking from hole to hole can make you get tired. If you like long open bomb holes this is not the course for you. During the summer months this course gets over grown and swallows discs for all of eternity.
Other Thoughts: This is a great little course on the Fairgrounds that is playable all year round as long as there isn't something going on at the Fairgrounds. This is my favorite type of course with tough fairways and all the holes under 400 feet, I would be glad to go back.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/13/2009   3/14/2009
Review By: olydiscgolf
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc golf only setting. Very good signeage. #1 and #16 would both be in the running for course signature hole. Some good landscaping using downed trees for benches and stairs. Hard working, dedicated crew doing a good job. These people take pride in what they do!
Cons: Many blind shots, having to walk half way or more down fairways to see the basket. This will probably open up in the future with more play. But, right now is the most open of the year, just before spring, and its hard to see your target. I imagine a lot of lost plastic when trees start filling in and ferns fill up.

Bring your forehand or turnover backhand shot. Many anhyser shots. Too many. I forgot what hole I was on because it seemed like I just played the same anhyser shot over again.

Other Thoughts: Many courses "favor" right hand, back hand players. This course "loves" the lefty! This is a woods course. There is no wide open long holes.The design fits in well with the terrain. Lots of elevation is used in hole design.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 New Course In The NW Forrest!

1    3/14/2008   3/15/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/3/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set in a very pretty, heavily forested section of land on a slight hillside. There are tall fir trees, much thick underbrush including wild rhododendrons and salal bushes. All nine holes have average sized cement tee pads, clever little wooden signs giving the hole # and a nice pole with four hooks to hang your bag on. The locals have done a lot of work already on this course clearing away the fairways and basket areas. I consider this to be a fair course. By that, I mean the fairways are tight but you're not just throwing through a grove of saplings hoping your disc sails through. If you can keep it straight for 100-200 ft. on this course, you'll score well. Every hole is a possible duece. My favorite was the third, a long (for this course) maybe 300 ft. downhill tunnel shot with approximately a 20 ft. wide opening 100 ft. downhill. The basket is just visible from the tee and there is currently thick underbrush on both sides if you hyzer or anhyzer one.
Cons: Although the course is set on a hilly piece of land, four of the holes play uphill and five holes are blind tee shots. Too often you feel like you're teeing off down in a hole. There are still some piles of trash lying around. No benches yet or signs showing the whereabouts of the basket. Lots of spare brush cuttings are waiting to be hauled away. It's obviously not a course where you can cut loose with the big throw.
Other Thoughts: The course reminded me quite a bit of the NAD. Same forest feel. Same blind tee shots with a dogleg at the end. This course is new and still a work in progress. I'm sure many of the cons I've mentioned will be fixed as $ and manpower are available. They're off to a great start and a few improvements would raise my rating. Also players will help tromp and break down much of the annoying underbrush. I'd be curious to know from a local, are there plans to put a second nine here?

NOTE: Two years later and I'm updating my review. I haven't been back but I know they've added a back nine. That's enough for me to up my orginal rating.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.