Millington, TN
Bud Hill - Original Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14
3 / 289ft.   3 / 289ft.   3 / 377ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Unbelievable Experience. Disneyland for disc golfers

1    6/1/2013   1/31/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can't say enough about the entire experience of playing this course. First, the local crew there is amazing. I played the course as I was coming through town on business, and they let me jump right in on doubles night. Very welcoming, very cool group. The entire course is so private and well manicured, it feels like you are at a disc golf resort. There is so much variation over the course of 18 holes. Elevation, tunnel, water, long bombs, short throws, hyzers, anhyzer, everything. In my opinion, this course is one of the standards for all others to be compared against. It is worth any amount of traveling to be able to play Bud Hill.
Cons: It seems like it can get a little muddy at times. Keep in mind this is not some weak-sauce city park that is maintained by the government with a playground for little kids. This is a golf retreat for real men that are not afraid to go on a golf safari. Be prepared to walk, hike, crawl, whatever it takes to beat your friends. In my opinion this is not a "con". This is what makes it great, but I notice lots of people complaining on here about courses not being perfectly landscaped and trimmed with wet wipes available whenever they need them.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention this course is amazing. Cause it is.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow

1    9/26/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What can I say. I was really pleased with this course. Freshly mowed lawns. Beautiful mature forests. A few water hazards. Great signage and tee pads. Great baskets. Well designed holes. Clubhouse with dedicated staff.
Cons: Not much. I would like to see some par 4's and 5's. I know not all agree, but I love the options that come with a well designed par 4, like they have at Selah. Nevertheless, this course is just too good not to get a 5.
Other Thoughts: Throw in the the short course at Bud Hill, and this is a fantastic disc golf destination.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Favorite!

2-4    5/3/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: jdogg884him
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course is well manacured, well marked, and has a variety of shots. Great for all levels of golfers.
Cons: Hole 17 is a little tricky to find the first time you are playing it if you are not paying attention. The first time we played it last year we totally skipped it. If we had not been with a regular yesterday we probably would have missed it again.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME!!

1    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: NoahPeterson
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is WELL marked. Holes are easy to find. Baskets are painted and in great repair. One word: Clubhouse. Heated clubhouse, with spare discs lying around to use. Long holes, wicked curves, some serious water hazards. This is just plain fun. But that's the 18 holes in the front. In the back is the real course. The Ridge - 9 holes of curvaliscious mayhem. Want a workout? Budhill. Want a ton of fun? Budhill? Want to lose a driver? Budhill. Want to meet some really cool people and play a very serious course? Budhill.
Cons: It's a long drive from Portland, OR.
Other Thoughts: I love this place. The owners hang out there. There's always some locals around and they know all the others. Everyone is friendly and funny, plenty of smack talk going on and you can get some great tips on your game from serious players. This is what the game is all about. Beautiful.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/1/2011   10/18/2011
Review By: Tmac811
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: A disc golf sanctuary! this place is gorgeous and always in great shape!

Challenges every aspect of your game on both courses, the championship caliber 18, and The Ridge 9 hole wooded course.

With elevation changes, long drives, left & right turning shots, mandos, water holes and tight trees. You will need every shot in your bag to tackle this course.

Cons: Skeeters can be bad. Be careful of snakes too.

other than that there are no CONS about this place.
Other Thoughts: The Ridge 9 hole course is challenging as well . Always fun to play a putter or roc only round.

On a beautiful piece of property owned by some of the nicest people you will ever meet.

$$ ALWAYS DONATE$$

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    7/24/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best courses I have ever played. It has every type of shot imaginable, including several beautiful water hazard holes. Every hole has a great tee pad (concrete), many with multiple tees, well built benches (even some under a shaded roof), trash cans and bag racks. The "original" 18 hole course is easily one of the best, beautifully manicured and enjoyable course I have ever played. The "ridge" course is an additional 9-holer that requires precise technical shots to master and makes a great warm-up course. The site is devoted entirely to disc golf and has a clubhouse and tented area for relaxation or cookouts. The private nature of the course, along with the secluded location, achieves the goal of keeping out the riff raff. The course was easy to navigate without a map and each hole was easy to see the shot required (not many blind shots). There are some unique holes that introduce power lines, poles and other interesting obstacles/decoration.
Cons: Quite honestly the only thing that was slightly deterring was the drive to the place. It is quite literally in the middle of nowhere according to a GPS and anyone who is unfamiliar with the area. If the course were moderately ranked, we would have turned around and drove away. The high rating drove us onward and we eventually made some right turns to find our way there. This could also be considered a good thing however, because it keeps out everyone except those dedicated to the sport.(No park traffic or non-golfers).
Other Thoughts: The course has awesome custom baskets that are painted blue with a high-visibility orange strip on the pole. These are the coolest baskets I have ever seen. Not only should you drive out of your way to play here, you should bring some money to pay the owners, Danny and Barbara, for all of the hard work they have put into this course. They were some of the nicest people we have encountered on a disc golf course and were generous enough to host us last minute as we passed through Memphis.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  The Standard

5+    3/20/2003   8/20/2010
Review By: vegeta727
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: I haven't played this course in a number of years, but there is no doubt in my mind that it is still as great as I remember. The Daniels were kind enough to let some friends and I camp on their property back in 03'. We played disc golf morning, noon and night for three days. Bud Hill, in my mind, will always be "The Standard."
Cons: None

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/5/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: Harpua
Played: 123  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: awesome!!!!
The atmosphere is great and the course was in great condition.
One thing I loved about it was there was an extra 9 holes just for practice/specialty shots.
Open fairways, tight fairways, water, elevation, low ceilings, high ceilings, club house, concrete tee pads, accurate signs and benches. It really has it all.
Another pro is that it is a private course.
Cons: NOTHING!!!
Other Thoughts: The daniels are awesome. The whole family from senior to Jr. to Trey are great people. I dont want to forget the Daniels ladies, they are the nicest women. The family loves the sport and it shows. Cant wait to play it again. Thanks to the Daniels for the course and the hospitality you always show when I am up there.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in the Mid-south!

5+    5/3/2010   5/4/2010
Review By: volmed10
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything.

Large teepads, immaculate maintenance, great variety of shots, amazing people, etc. It really is hard to list all the positives, and find any negatives. Danny Daniels is a top notch host, even if you are a regular (like me). The folk that play at the Hill are some of the nicest you will meet in disc golf, and the only time you will not find someone sitting around the campfire by the clubhouse ready to play is around midnight. And even then, you may just find some players out there throwing a round of glow.

The Ridge is phenomenal as well. It is completely different than the "classic" Bud Hill style hole, but that is the point. It was put in there to bring a different feel, and also to make the course even more well rounded. The holes are very short, but the majority of them are extremely technical. If you want to park your car at a course that allows you to throw long open bombs, tight wooded long drives, and very technical short drives, look no further than this course.

Also, signs have finally been added, which include distances from the different teepads and also the location of the next teebox.

Yes, some holes are tricky when it rains, but that will only make a person a better disc golfer. Any course will play more difficult when wet, and this one is no different.
Cons: Honestly, I cannot find any issues with this DGC.
Other Thoughts: The best course I have ever played. Period.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Simply the Best

1    10/9/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: odysseus81
Played: 72  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 16.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bud Hill ranks #1 on my list of courses I have played. I played the course under some of the worst weather conditions imaginable and it still was everything I could hope for and more in a course. The land is absolutely gorgeous and immaculately maintained. Be ready to throw every shot in your bag. The course has widely varied terrain. It plays uphill, downhill, wooded, park-like, open, water shots (my favorite being a tee shot over a pond---in the woods). The intangibles really take this course over the top. There is great signage, courses flows very easily, plenty of benches, bag hangers, a clubhouse, and lots of cool little "landmarks" throughout the course. I can't the Daniels' enough for the love and care that they have put into the course...it oozes out on each hole. A real pleasure and I wish I lived in the area and could play it more. By the way, the are replacing all of their baskets...about half way there. The new blue powder coated baskets are awesome and look great.
Cons: Mosquitos were pretty rough and we were playing during a torrential rain...can't imagine how it would have been without the rain. That's my ONLY complaint.
Other Thoughts: I only played the original 18 so that is what this review is for. I am sure there are better courses out there, but I sure haven't played any...so for me, this is a 5 disc course. Closest thing to disc golf heaven I have experienced in my few years of playing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.