Millington, TN 
Bud Hill - Original Share
Uploaded By: NoahPeterson Hole #5 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 211ft.   3 / 211ft.   3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Man.. what a fun, wonderful place

1    7/9/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 64  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fantastic spot just north of Memphis with about 80 acres devoted to Disc Golf lovers. The course consists of 38 holes (a short, tight wooded 18 and a championship-quality 18 with 2 alternates). The course has a full-time ambassador/maintenance-guy/caretaker/concierge, DooRagg. You'll definitely want to meet him there (will be hard not to) and hopefully get a round in with him. I was in Memphis for work all last week and ended up playing Libertyland Monday night and Bud Hill every other night for he rest of the week. I couldn't stop coming here! If you're anywhere near southwest Tennessee, contact the gracious owner Danny and get yourself a teetime. Here're my thoughts on the Original (long) course

-Easy navigation. The course flows back to the clubhouse (yes, there's a clubhouse) between 8 and 9
-Don't miss the 2 alternate holes between 2 and 3. Hop into the woods by the 2nd basket and you'll go up the tight hill for the first alternate and back down for an absolutely beautiful 350 ft tunnel shot.
-teepads are excellent and vary in length depending on the hole
-water comes smartly into play on 5 holes. on 14, you'll squeamishly throw downhill 320 ft with water to the right of the basket and trees to the left.
-18 ends with an ace run over water right down from a tent-covered gathering area to relax after a round.
-Great locals who clearly play there weekly and are very hospitable to the out-of-towners
-EXCELLENT MAINTENANCE. grass was short, probably cut weekly. woods were cleared, clever placement of shrubs, great tee signs
-Porto-pot onsite by the clubhouse because Danny and DooRagg love you
-Clubhouse is rustic but looks well equipped to BBQ, get out of the weather, and relax after rounds
Cons: -not an extremely difficult course, for those who were looking to get beat up. It's a strong par 3 course with 2 or 3 par 4 holes
-I almost stepped on about 50 toads hopping across the wooded fairways. watch out, they're everywhere
-that's all I got, this place is wonderful
Other Thoughts: This is a DGCR top 10 destination course for a reason. The land is perfectly suited and the people who run it are fully committed! With Danny's blessing of course, camping here for a few days would be well worth your time. Donation box next to the first tee (be sure to show them your love in return). Thanks!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best Course in the Area

2-4    6/7/2014   6/4/2015
Review By: NothingButChain
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very well maintained
-Friendly and inviting atmosphere
-Good course variation between open and wooded. Offers tee shots that have what I would describe as "fairways" with woods lining the sides.
-Challenging, but rewards good shots
Cons: -Difficult to find
-Located out of the way
Other Thoughts: I originally read about this course on this website and decided to visit it with a couple of friends. The first time we played it we nearly gave up looking for the course because we could not find the entrance. Right before we gave up, we realized how to get in. I am glad that we found the course that time, because it may be my favorite course that I have ever played. It is very well maintained and such a great experience. If it was located in a better area and was easier to find, I would probably make the trip to play it more. It is definitely worth coming and playing if you aren't local. If I lived in the area, I would probably play this all the time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bud Hill

5+    2/1/2014   2/1/2014
Review By: lowrie4
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15
This review was updated on 4/15/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course! Excellent hole variation with some left to right, some right to left and some dead straight tunnel shots. Also an excellent variety of wooded holes and more open fairways. This course has it all, and presents an awesome day of disc golf to any who decide to come and play it. Not only is the variety a great plus for this course but the difficulty is perfect as well. There are a few holes that are very birdie friendly, and some that are more difficult. Great for beginners and more experienced players as well.
Cons: There were a few times navigation was tricky (finding hole 17 in particular), and I've lost a couple of discs here, which is always unfortunate. Also I don't particularly like the baskets here (Mach 5s), and a lot of the tees are either too short or are not even concrete.
Other Thoughts: All things considered a great disc golf location. A big thanks to Danny and Barbara for making Bud Hill disc golf all that it is. This course is one of the best in Memphis, and one of the most well known in the South for a reason. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting looking to play a round or two.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable Experience. Disneyland for disc golfers

1    6/1/2013   1/31/2014
Review By: adamwad
Played: 40  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I can't say enough about the entire experience of playing this course. First, the local crew there is amazing. I played the course as I was coming through town on business, and they let me jump right in on doubles night. Very welcoming, very cool group. The entire course is so private and well manicured, it feels like you are at a disc golf resort. There is so much variation over the course of 18 holes. Elevation, tunnel, water, long bombs, short throws, hyzers, anhyzer, everything. In my opinion, this course is one of the standards for all others to be compared against. It is worth any amount of traveling to be able to play Bud Hill.
Cons: It seems like it can get a little muddy at times. Keep in mind this is not some weak-sauce city park that is maintained by the government with a playground for little kids. This is a golf retreat for real men that are not afraid to go on a golf safari. Be prepared to walk, hike, crawl, whatever it takes to beat your friends. In my opinion this is not a "con". This is what makes it great, but I notice lots of people complaining on here about courses not being perfectly landscaped and trimmed with wet wipes available whenever they need them.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention this course is amazing. Cause it is.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Heaven

1    11/22/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: nightwing
Played: 117  Reviewed: 23
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Just a beautiful place to play. Not just challenging, but INTERESTING, which is a much higher standard.
Cons: Not much. Maybe some par fours but this is a labor of love and I really don't want to start nit-picking.
Other Thoughts: As with my 'Ridge' review, I'm keepin it short because 'Mr. Mirth' gets it right. See his review. A BIG thank you though to Teddy, Danny, and all the guys for a real down welcome at this most excellent destination Disc Golf Heaven. Bring Danny some money to pay for all this. It takes a lot of love and lucre to make things this good and it shows.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    9/26/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: SuperBorg
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What can I say. I was really pleased with this course. Freshly mowed lawns. Beautiful mature forests. A few water hazards. Great signage and tee pads. Great baskets. Well designed holes. Clubhouse with dedicated staff.
Cons: Not much. I would like to see some par 4's and 5's. I know not all agree, but I love the options that come with a well designed par 4, like they have at Selah. Nevertheless, this course is just too good not to get a 5.
Other Thoughts: Throw in the the short course at Bud Hill, and this is a fantastic disc golf destination.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    9/10/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: lildragon
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
- Beautiful course
- Great use of the terrain
- Benches or seats pretty much at every hole
- Nice flow from hole to hole, didn't have to search much, if at all
- I don't live in TN
Other Thoughts:
- Bring a couple bucks with ya! They accept donations for the upkeep of the course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty ... and a best.

2-4    3/7/2013   3/9/2013
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 98  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 26.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set on secluded private property devoted to disc golf, Bud Hill is a most enjoyable and challenging experience. The land is not only magnificent in its natural beauty, being adjacent to a river basin, but is well suited for quality course design, which is achieved here through years of attention and keen use of elevations slight to extreme, multiple bodies of water, mature forest, open rolling fields and more. The rustic clubhouse sits central to the Original course (as well its little bro The Ridge) and provides the perfect spot for putting and hanging about between rounds, taking in the peaceful vistas all the while. I can only imagine the camping good times during tournaments ...
The course is adorned with bright blue DGA Mach Vs you'd think were just installed; they're easily visible and great catchers. Signs are uniform, clear and accurate with "next tee" arrows lending to easy flow. Tees are concrete, save one, with various alts too; all in good shape. Large sturdy benches on nearly every hole easily accommodate groups of four, inviting one to have a sit. And rightly so, since four or five of them, if not more, are exquisite spots for taking in this secluded natural splendor! The heavily wooded fairways are extremely clean well beyond their tightly defined lines, which makes the errant throw and or subsequent kick a less daunting recovery.
Whether long or short, a straight line punch-out, a punch-in with drop down, a technical tunnel, an uphill finesse... whether an open downhill, a flat monster S, a tight touch across a pond or open carry on another... whether a fast green to the water or a guardian orchard, a basket and a tee too enveloped by bamboo... from start to finish this course couples challenging variety with persistent fun. Favorites are the 6, 7, left to right, right to left sequence: tight lines across the heavily wooded pond with steep elevations. 6 is especially tricky given how fast the green runs back to the water (~60deg!), never mind the sheer drop off just beyond to the left. 11 too is a favorite with its open to tight, right to left line with 20' drop then elevated pin.
Cons: Considering this is private property devoted to disc golf I find it most difficult to say anything negative. I will say there were a few shot-length dependent tees which wouldn't be a problem if they were surrounded by level terrain, but many of them were at least the thickness of the concrete above the ground. You either stepped to accommodate the trip hazard or compacted your x-step. The slopes on a few of the holes could be problematic after a rain. There's a chance of throwing into 17s fairway or onto 18s tee from 16 if one flies too right, while there's a chance of releasing too early on 17 and flying into 18s tee. I don't really see these as much problem unless the place is packed. I'm nitpicking...
Other Thoughts: Although Bud Hill is more open than wooded, with mostly straight or right to left lines, The Ridge gives balance with its extremely tight, short, left to right holes. I'm thoroughly impressed by what Danny and his crew have done with Bud Hill. You will be too. The terrain and beauty are here. They had the vision and put in the hard work, which has resulted in a quality course for players of all levels. A "best in class" as it were.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/3/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: jdogg884him
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course is well manacured, well marked, and has a variety of shots. Great for all levels of golfers.
Cons: Hole 17 is a little tricky to find the first time you are playing it if you are not paying attention. The first time we played it last year we totally skipped it. If we had not been with a regular yesterday we probably would have missed it again.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: NoahPeterson
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is WELL marked. Holes are easy to find. Baskets are painted and in great repair. One word: Clubhouse. Heated clubhouse, with spare discs lying around to use. Long holes, wicked curves, some serious water hazards. This is just plain fun. But that's the 18 holes in the front. In the back is the real course. The Ridge - 9 holes of curvaliscious mayhem. Want a workout? Budhill. Want a ton of fun? Budhill? Want to lose a driver? Budhill. Want to meet some really cool people and play a very serious course? Budhill.
Cons: It's a long drive from Portland, OR.
Other Thoughts: I love this place. The owners hang out there. There's always some locals around and they know all the others. Everyone is friendly and funny, plenty of smack talk going on and you can get some great tips on your game from serious players. This is what the game is all about. Beautiful.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.