Hatfield, PA 
Plains Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #4 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
OK, I guess

1    9/13/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Dublicious
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.1 Years
Pros: Baskets were in good shape. It looks like most of the pads were also maintained mostly. Score card and map provided.
Cons: 9 holes. You have to cross over other fairways a couple of times. Fairways don't really exist. Some holes are in a wide open field, others are through woods with minimal or no clear fairway. Trees in random spots, not in well crafted positions. All of the holes are pretty short.
Other Thoughts: You will not be wowed by this course. It does the job if you live nearby and want to get a quick 9 in after work. I can't imagine there was a whole lot of money put into the course, so I'll give it credit for being as good as it could be, but that doesn't make for an objective review so it's still getting a 1.

Needs alot of work

1    9/18/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: TSivhar
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: It's a challenge to create a good disc golf course on an open ballfield plus a wooded half acre or so. So I give credit for the effort.
Cons: Holes on the ballfield uninteresting as designed. In the woodland (5 to 9), dense woods have scarcely been modified, therefore players can hardly make out any sort of fairways; holes confusing and baskets/ tees now in a degree of disrepair. Couldn't find tee for #9.
Other Thoughts: Course needs to be adopted by some local club or other advocate, otherwise its future may be in doubt. Needs repairs, pruning, and truthfully an overhaul of design. Hole #1 a bit too close to playground area for starters. Mostly it's the pruning though !

Nice quick play

5+    4/11/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 29  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for a quick play if you are in the area. The course map was very useful and I was able to follow the course the first time out with it. For such a small area, the designers did a good job of incorporating the natural elements to make a varied and fun course. Some open shots to give you a birdie chance, and some more technical shots through the trees. As a beginner to the sport, the distances of the holes on this course were perfect for my skill level. I felt a par was achievable on every hole, and with a quality drive, birdies as well. Good way to practice many aspects of the game: shorter drives, mid range shots, and putting.
Cons: As stated previously, the course plays through a soccer field and walking trail. The trail isn't very large, and I have never had an issue with people being in the way. If there is a soccer game going on, hole 3 is completely unplayable, and hole 4 is only playable is you are very confident you can throw your drive relatively straight. Again, I have never encountered an issue in the 10 or so times I have played the course, so it is only a minor concern.

Some of the holes border on unfair. Hole 5 has no real fairway, and it takes some luck to land a drive neer the basket. Hole 8 is also a crazy anhyzer shot through the heart of the woods that takes a prayer to land close. A little thinning of trees would improve things tremendously.

Without the use of the map provided at the park, or online here, the course would be tricky to navigate the first time through. With the map, I was able to navigate it without issue, just look for the mulched tee pads on each hole.

Also, basket numbers would really help the first timer navigate.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course would be rated higher if not for the other elements of the park interfering with the disc golf layout and the unfair shots that there are. Can't fault the park too much, since the disc golf course was shoe horned in here after all those elements existed (I imagine). If given the choice, I would play this course over the Branchwood course due to the increased technical aspects and better layout. Some reviewers expressed concern over the proximity to the road on hole 1, but unless you are WAY OFF with your drive, this shouldn't pose much of a problem.

I wouldn't make a special trip from far away to come check out the course, but if you are local, it is definitely worth a visit. The playground seems nice as well if you have children to bring with you. The course itself is child friendly as well if they are interested in giving it a shot.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Plains Park DGC

2-4    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for a quick play or to take a beginner to learn the game. The park is pretty nice and there are a couple of cool holes. One stand-out starts out in the open and plays into the woods to a basket surrounded by trees.
Decent place to work on your game if you live nearby. Any disc golf course is better than no disc golf course but there are some major flaws.


Cons: This course leaves a lot to be desired.
First of all, the beginning of the course plays through a baseball field and a soccer field which could be dangerous if any other activities are going on. Hole 1 plays right next to a somewhat major road (an errant disc from a friend of mine went over the rd narrowly missing some traffic) Also, the "fairways" on the last few holes double as a walking path which has obvious implications.
There are no real defined fairways in the wooded section of the course...my solution was to throw a tomahawk and pray. Navigation through the wooded section was also difficult; we couldnt figure out which basket to throw to in some situations.
Other Thoughts: An ok place to hone your skills if you live locally but not worth going out of the way for.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Basic Intro Course

1    10/11/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plains Park DGC is very easy to get to. The course sits on a heavily traveled county road and is easy to spot, as the course is adjacent to a local church.

Although in a community park, the course has some variation in fairway types from open, to mixed to, to heavily wooded. Additionally, there are a few holes that had interesting doglegs or "S" shaped fairways.

The baskets were in good shape, as was the park itself. Tee signs indicated the direction to the basket and the hole length.
Cons: The most serious con with Plains Park is the proximity of the course to other public areas of the park. On nearly every hole, the fairway is adjacent to a playground, walking path, soccer field, or other location where a bystander could be in danger from an errant throw. Course designs such as these create too much exposure for a possible accident that would lead to the course being pulled or for litigation to tarnish the sport.

Despite making good use of the land that was available, the hole lengths were fairly short and the layout of several of the holes were basic straight shots. The course was almost completely flat with no real elevation change on any hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite the length of the cons, this isn't a bad course...but it's not a good course either. In a word, this course is vanilla. Like so many other community courses, Plains Park is another good place for a new player, child, or senior to get some initial exposure to disc golf before moving on to a more professional course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 compact

1    9/21/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice and quick play
Cons: only 9 holes and very compact
some holes intersect others
Other Thoughts: will probbably never be more than yourself and 6 others on the course at a time, seems almost unknown.
awesome way to kill 30 minutes if you are driving by!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best they could do with land

5+    9/11/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: Drago
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course well positioned, given minimal land.
Cons: Back five have ridiculously thin fairways.
Other Thoughts: The first four manage to utilize the open space very well. They are challenging and fun. The other five just try to fit in the small walking trails in the forest. They are shorter holes that you just want to gently glide your disc down the trail without hitting a tree (almost impossible). I'll always applaud anyone willing to squeeze a course in a tight space - they couldn't do much more with the space given. This is on church property, so it is nice for them to let anyone play this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Excitable but something's wrong...

2-4    8/8/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 19  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Bathrooms on site
-Scorecards with maps, always good
-Friendly people in the area
-A few choice holes did really challenge skill
Cons: -Many holes relied on lucky shots through trees
-I liked hole 3 but I could picture the entire hole being inturrupted by activity on the soccer or baseball field
-Tees and baskets still pretty hard to find even using the map
Other Thoughts: - The course was cool, but I would not go out of my way to play it
- Hole 1 was a pretty straight shot that makes you worry about a few trees
- Hole 2 required good thinking. There were two very large trees you had to go around to get to another straight shot
- Hole 3 was another straight shot, this time through two sports fields (I was lucky that they were empty) and ending in a protected basket
- Hole 4 was where you enter the woods, like #3 it was a straight shot that ended in a protected hole
-Hole 5 was the beginning of the luck holes. You have trees about fifteen feet away that you have to avoid only to run into another set of trees twenty feet after that. I suggest just chucking a power shot hopefully through them.
- Hole 6 was a fairly straight shot protected by more trees. This involved a "someone's gotta hit it" tree in the middle of the fairway that eliminates the straight shot.
- Hole 7 requires a good RHBH and a set of trees you need to get lucky to get past.
- Hole 8 took a miracle to find even with the map. It is straight for about 25 feet and takes a sharp left for the last 175 or so. This required a set of nice rolls to scrape out a 4
- In front of Hole 9 is four trees. You close your eyes and T-Hawk through it, good luck.
- Overall the course just "passed" but none of the holes really did anything for me. I was a little disappointed because I brought my dad out for the first time and it was fairly frustrating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 good for what it is

1    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: chris v
Played: 48  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -close to my house
-easy to find the park, pavilion and first tee
-no other disc golfers were there
-nice park
-maps are availible, very helpful for first time
Cons: -not very fun to play over and over again. Played a couple rounds and was about to leave but I decided to play another round and make my own safari tees that were longer/harder and that made it much more fun.

-The course shares the park with many other activities so there were a lot of other people around. Lots of kids.

No water fountain that I know of or saw(It was 95 friggin degrees today). I brought plenty of water anyway but a fountain would be nice to refill my bottle.



Other Thoughts: Frankly, I think they did a great job with such a small plot of land. Your opinion of this course will have a lot to do with your expectations coming in. Being so close to amazing courses like Nockamixon, French Creek, etc there are lots choices around here and this course is definately nothing like that.

But for those who live locally this course is a great spot to come throw around for a little while. Its a great little course..for what it is. Not as fun to play as other 9 holers around here like Unami and Phoenixville, but its way better than Salford and Ft Washington. I haven;t been to Branchwood or Windlestrae yet.

I did enjoy it and I will be back. Shot 24 on the regular layout and 30 on my safari layout.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem - with Flaws

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really nice park with a good balance of open and wooded. There is some actual distance to the holes, all over 200' and two over 300'. Baskets are nice and the tee signs do their job. The tee pads are natural, but level for the most part, with a defined line for the front. Navigation is fairly easy from basket to next tee. The wooded holes provide some challenge and I don't think any of them are gimme twos. Advanced players will probably get 3s or better on every hole, but is a good step up for those beginning disc golf and are tired of the open, short courses.
Cons: The biggest con with the course is the fact that it overlaps other activities. The course plays around a soccer field (no fence around it) and a baseball diamond, so if one of those activities is going on, you will probably have to skip a few holes. The course also plays on, over, and around a walking path through the woods, so if someone is taking a stroll, you and they both need to be aware. I played this course on a Saturday morning and there were people walking on the trail. They were very polite and knew what disc golf was about.

Often times fairways over lap each other (such as 4 throwing over 3 or 8 crossing 9). If many groups are playing you will want to be careful and keep your eyes open.

There isn't any water in play, no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better 9-hole courses I have played. It is not without its flaws, but it is still a pretty good course. The danger this course provides to others using the park for intended purposes lowers the score a good bit. If this park was solely used for disc golf, the rating would be a lot higher. Since it isn't, I feel it needs to be rated lower. And as I mentioned earlier, this course is great for those who are beginning disc golf and want to experience something other than wide open holes. This will teach more control with the wooded holes, but still require distance and accuracy on the open holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.