Hatfield, PA 
Plains Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 good for what it is

1    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: chris v
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -close to my house
-easy to find the park, pavilion and first tee
-no other disc golfers were there
-nice park
-maps are availible, very helpful for first time
Cons: -not very fun to play over and over again. Played a couple rounds and was about to leave but I decided to play another round and make my own safari tees that were longer/harder and that made it much more fun.

-The course shares the park with many other activities so there were a lot of other people around. Lots of kids.

No water fountain that I know of or saw(It was 95 friggin degrees today). I brought plenty of water anyway but a fountain would be nice to refill my bottle.

Other Thoughts: Frankly, I think they did a great job with such a small plot of land. Your opinion of this course will have a lot to do with your expectations coming in. Being so close to amazing courses like Nockamixon, French Creek, etc there are lots choices around here and this course is definately nothing like that.

But for those who live locally this course is a great spot to come throw around for a little while. Its a great little course..for what it is. Not as fun to play as other 9 holers around here like Unami and Phoenixville, but its way better than Salford and Ft Washington. I haven;t been to Branchwood or Windlestrae yet.

I did enjoy it and I will be back. Shot 24 on the regular layout and 30 on my safari layout.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem - with Flaws

1    8/1/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really nice park with a good balance of open and wooded. There is some actual distance to the holes, all over 200' and two over 300'. Baskets are nice and the tee signs do their job. The tee pads are natural, but level for the most part, with a defined line for the front. Navigation is fairly easy from basket to next tee. The wooded holes provide some challenge and I don't think any of them are gimme twos. Advanced players will probably get 3s or better on every hole, but is a good step up for those beginning disc golf and are tired of the open, short courses.
Cons: The biggest con with the course is the fact that it overlaps other activities. The course plays around a soccer field (no fence around it) and a baseball diamond, so if one of those activities is going on, you will probably have to skip a few holes. The course also plays on, over, and around a walking path through the woods, so if someone is taking a stroll, you and they both need to be aware. I played this course on a Saturday morning and there were people walking on the trail. They were very polite and knew what disc golf was about.

Often times fairways over lap each other (such as 4 throwing over 3 or 8 crossing 9). If many groups are playing you will want to be careful and keep your eyes open.

There isn't any water in play, no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the better 9-hole courses I have played. It is not without its flaws, but it is still a pretty good course. The danger this course provides to others using the park for intended purposes lowers the score a good bit. If this park was solely used for disc golf, the rating would be a lot higher. Since it isn't, I feel it needs to be rated lower. And as I mentioned earlier, this course is great for those who are beginning disc golf and want to experience something other than wide open holes. This will teach more control with the wooded holes, but still require distance and accuracy on the open holes.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Plain and Simple

1    3/17/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: adlacro
Played: 79  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 9.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nine hole course with the baskets in great shape. A little mix of wooden and technical holes is always nice. Tees were playable and not muddy. Short drive from the Turnpike. Seems like the course is very well maintained (thanks to any who take care of it). Not overpowering length but not always easy to birdie. The playground, for the most part, does not interfere with the disc course. Fresh supply of maps with scorecard on back. A solo player can be done in as short as 20-25 minutes.
Cons: Unfortunately, with a small park comes a lot of dangers. The first hole plays just off Orvilla Rd. Any shot that screams right will almost certainly nail a vehicle. You probably won't get to play hole 3 safely if there's soccer or baseball being played. It seems like holes 5 and 9 are crapshoots. No clear path from the tee to the hole, just a matter of getting lucky. Pole for the tee of number 9 is missing.
Other Thoughts: For an area that doesn't have any major signature courses around, this will have to do. If the church had more land to work with, there was another small section of woods to work with. If you knocked out some of the trees on 5 and 9 and made a little more of a path to the holes, that'd be a start. My main concern though is the first hole. It should be a bit further from the road. Other than this, if you're passing through or nearby, this is nice to just stretch the legs. I don't recommend driving out of the way to stop here though. One other thought: The second hole could have another pin position behind the field and that would make for a tight, technical, and possibly this course's signature hole. Place it in the far back corner and woods nearby for an even greater challenge.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Church Course...Pray and Poke

1    1/13/2009   1/13/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2009
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a nice quaint church park. Balanced: has 2 mixed, 2 open, and 5 technical wooded holes to challenge your game. Hole #8 was a pleasant unique surprise. It is a long tight lefty curving or anhyzer that mimicks a croissant or a crescent as it meanders through the woods. Great place to work on your technical game. Gives locals a chance to work on game after work, school, etc. if they don't have the 30-45 minutes travel to play world class courses to the north of here. Nice tee signs.
Cons: Flat! It has some design flaws. It is a short course. Park has many other activities that would absolutely disrupt play or be a safety concern: a busy street, walking trail, and playground on hole #1, A property to the right and athletic field on hole #2, Athletic field on hole #3, (the shots literally play through the field and not just along the side of it. #3 and 4 criss cross fairways. Holes 4-9 all use walking paths as fairways through the woods. #5-7 are basically just really dense forrests with no fairway except for the adjacent walking path. #9 has no fairway at all. There is a way, but I'm not sure Innova has invented the UFO disc that changes directions and elevations numerous times to negotiate forrests. Course seems to induce big drives where there may be people and then it is almost impossibly technical in the woods. Not a real long course. I am not even sure it is beginner friendly due to the potential danger and frustration level. Tee Pads are mud with wood slab.
Other Thoughts: I am glad there is a course in the North Penn area. They needed one. There is a nice memorial to a disc golfer who maybe was taken too soon. Course is in his/her memory. Awesome. Groovy statues in the park too. I always enjoy a round and there is enough here that I might stop by if I am in the area. Definetely more challenging than Branchwood 9 that is nearby. Not many ace chances so the fun factor is down a bit here for a short niner. Basically fills a void in an area that lacked a course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent little park

1    12/24/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: strain
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course ia a nice little park for beginners. There is a map and makes it eaiser to navigate.The baskets are in good shape and have numbers for each hole.
Cons: The course is a little short and the tee pads could be better well marked.It gets tough to navigate,even with a map.The fairways could be cleaned up a little bit better.I played this course in the ice and snow and can get a little muddy and slippery, so watch your step.
Other Thoughts: This park could use some concrete or rubber tee pads for better stance. Also it would be nice to have numbers on the baskets so there eaiser to find.It looks like the park is big enough to add a few more holes to the game.But over all, the park is a nice little neighborhood park and I will play it again when in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Just Alright

2-4    9/19/2008   10/19/2008
Review By: misfitrev
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is easy to locate. There is a nice park and pavilion available for use. The course is mostly shaded on those hot summer days. The course is relatively well maintained.
Cons: Signage is not that great. If you have never played it before you will have a very tough time knowing where to go. Many of the baskets are hard to see. Summer time foliage makes this course even more challenging.
Other Thoughts: This course could use some tree clearing. I would not feel comfortable taking newbies to this course - they would hate the game!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Organized Chaos

7/31/2008   7/31/2008
Review By: Asvetic
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Marked holes have wooden arrows pointing towards baskets (if lucky) and estimated distance. Baskets appear to be Mach II with double chains, they sit low.
Cons: Dirt tee pads with a beveled wooden 4x6 to indicate edge facing basket. Baskets are hard to locate, so scouting ahead is advised. This is a short course, most holes 200-300ft long. As the course moves into the wooded area, things start to get a little tight and unnecessarily difficult for the length of this course. Finding the next tee or basket was not obvious. Too many trees make for unrecognizable fairways. Expect many tree collisions. This course is short but extremely difficult. It also appears to be poorly maintained.
Other Thoughts: Plays along a church (I assume owns the course), with a park, jungle gym, ball field and skate park. There are bathrooms on site. Lots of kids were playing on the skate park when I arrived, and I asked where the first hole was. They were kind enough to point me in the general direction and I was on my own from there. This course seems slapped in with little thought.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short course

7/3/2008   7/9/2008
Review By: maf763
Played: 21  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A couple of tight wooded holes provide some challenge for accuracy. Reasonably well kept except for dirt patch tees. Well-marked.
Cons: Tees - throws on first four holes are bound to hit somebody in playground or on field - short.
Other Thoughts: It's nice to have another course in Montgomery County so I can do a quick nine or 18 after work.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Quick Niner

2/9/2008   3/2/2008
Review By: adamn
Played: 40  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Park Setting, Signs pointing you in the right direction, Scorecards available, 10 minutes away from Branchwood Creek DGC (another 9 holer)
Cons: Park Activities on Ball Field may interfere, most Tees are mud with some tees placed on a gravel walking path used by others, Woods are thick with undergrowth and thorn bushes,
Other Thoughts: Good Recreational Course, would be great if tees had some gravel or other medium. Woods need to be cleared out more, lots of thorns and vines get in the way
Hole 1: Lightly wooded through playground area
Hole 2: Straight Shot to the pin
Hole 3: Straight Open Shot across the ballfield to a protected basket surrounded by trees and shrubs
Hole 4: Straight Shot from feild into woods with trees protecting hole
Hole 5: Heavy Woods, No fairway, just tomahawk it and hope you get close...
Hole 6: Tight Straight Fairway, moderately wooded to a protected basket
Hole 7: Straight Shot down walking path to a protected basket, tight fairway
Hole 8: Long Anhyzer shot through tight fairway to a protected basket.
Hole 9: Straight Shot through a Twisting Wooded fairway, follows path.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.