Hatfield, PA 
Plains Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: bcr123psu Hole #6 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
First time!

1    5/5/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: Deagol
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: - 5 minutes from home, so I'll likely be playing it frequently
- Short and compact course. Good if you have limited time to play.
- Easy, even though it was our very first time playing we were only 2 or 3 over par, as an average.
- I don't think many people know about it, so it's probably not going to be crowded.
Cons: - Holes 2, 3 and 4 maneuvre near or thru the baseball field, so if there is a game, forget a bout them.
- There is a lot of undergrowth between the trees. This was a huge problem for my wife.
- The tees could use some maintenance, although they weren't in a bad shape.
- After a week of rain the tees were very muddy and slippery.
- Short course: If what you want is to spend the day playing, this is not the right place to go.
Other Thoughts: My wife and I went to Plains Park to try disc golf for the first time, since it's only 5 minutes from home.
It was a weekday, around 5:45pm, and we had the park for ourselves except for a couple kids playing in the basketball court.

1st hole: Very nice placement, with the tee right by the parking lot.
2nd hole: Nice clean shot, although it gets close to the baseball field.
3rd hole: Another clean shot, this time through the baseball field.
4th hole: This is the one that gets you into the forest area. Nice overall.
5th hole: The first tricky one. You have to maneuver in a narrow trail. For total beginners like us it was more a throw and pray game from this point...
6th hole: Parallel to the fifth one, and very similar.
7th hole: Similar to the previous two, but on a wider fairway. Fun overall.
8th hole: This one is very tricky, curves sharply to the right.
9th hole: The shortest hole, although through a dense cover.

Practice Practice Practice

5+    2/11/2016   2/15/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 79  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some interesting shot shapes and lines to work on.
Rarely have to worry about other park patrons, occasionally a dog walker on the back paths or a soccer game (which make 3 and 4 unplayable).
Real bathrooms (closed in the winter)
Water fountain
The car in the woods behind 6's tee
Huge open field to do field work (A soccer field sits directly between baskets 3 and 4)
Tee markers are arrows with distances on them pointing at the basket.
Cons: Holes 2 and 3 can get very muddy.
Hole 8
The rough is quite thorny
The gravel paths can sometimes chew up your discs
Other Thoughts: I play this course quite a bit as it's my closest local (with baskets). It's a fun little practice course that will let you work on a variety of shots.

Hole 1 is a straight shot through a stand of large trees. There are several other lines to the basket. Miss too far left and you are heading towards a playground, miss too far right and you could end up on the road.
Hole 2 is a straight shot with one large tree on the left and a couple off to the right.
Hole 3 is another basically straight shot but because of the way the basket is tucked into the trees, the ace opportunity requires a huge annie (rhbh).
Hole 4 is a straight line with trees along the left side and a wall of trees about 50' before the basket with the tunnel following the walking path. Miss the line right and you have to decide between the high risk shot through the woods, or throwing back to the path.
Hole 5 is where the course moves into the woods. The basically straight path bends in the middle forcing you to choose a path at least slightly through the thick little trees. I can't recommend a line here as I haven't found a consistent one yet. My best results tend to come from hyzer-flipping a mid straight up the path and hoping it gets past the trees in the middle. The basket is tucked in off the path on the left behind a large tree.
Hole 6 has a few decent lines including a big hyzer out over the walking path, but the recent removal of a single tree about 2/3 of the way down the most direct annie line now means you only have to make a great throw to get to the basket, not make a great throw AND get extremely lucky.
Hole 7 is a big gentle hyzer throw down a straight path.
Hole 8. Hole 8. Hole 8. When I first started playing, I bought a Wolf for hole 8. I don't carry it anymore, but something super understable like that or a strong hyzer flick that will turn the whole way "can" work it's way along the path towards the basket leaving you a reasonable upshot that will also most likely need to continue working to the right. I've seen people throw other lines through the trees, usually up high, that occasionally work. Ultimately though, I don't think there is a line on this hole that can be consistently hit because of how thick the woods are.
Hole 9 My most consistent shot here is a hyzer-flipped leopard that, if it makes it through the line of skinny trees about 15' in front of the tee (My window is less than 2' wide) is quite often parked within 10' of the basket (usually long but there's a bit of wooded backstop to keep me close). Last time I was there a friend showed me a huge sky annie line (winter only) that my Cyclone did pretty well with.

I play this course a lot because of its proximity. If there were other courses as close or closer, I doubt I would play here very often. With that said, I always have fun when I play here. I've only ever lost one disc at this course, it was on the roof of the garage to the right of hole 2. Sat up there for several months,it was found by a friend at Camp Sank. shortly after it disappeared off the roof. Overall I think this is a nice little practice course. Nothing overly challenging here, but it's not boring either. It would get another half a star if they would clear out the rest of the thorny underbrush from the rough.



4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Short tight fun course

1    8/27/2015   8/27/2015
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8 Years
Pros: Map and scorecards available.

Bathrooms and water fountain.

Decent short course.

Quick to play and still fun.
Cons: Hole 1 plays between road and playground. I would not feel comfortable letting fly with a strong drive if there were children on the playground.

Tiny fairways in the woods.

Hole 8 is a big horseshoe.
Other Thoughts: It was worth playing once.

Good course for new players

2-4    6/12/2015   6/24/2015
Review By: Mobro
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2
Pros: - Map and scorecards available
- Bathrooms near hole 1
- Short course, good for beginners who don't have their long drive down yet
- Quick course to play. We played it twice back to back in under 2 hours.
Cons: - Hole 1 plays between road and playground. I would not feel comfortable letting fly with a strong drive if there were children on the playground.
- Hole 3 & 4 plays across baseball/soccer field. If there were ball games in progress, I would have skipped these entirely.
- Tight fairways in the woods.
- Hole 8 has no obvious fairway.
- Tee for hole 9 was hard to find.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a nice use of the land on the part of the church that owns it.
- If you live close by it's a great course to get in a quick 9 holes.

 OK, I guess

1    9/13/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: Dublicious
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: Baskets were in good shape. It looks like most of the pads were also maintained mostly. Score card and map provided.
Cons: 9 holes. You have to cross over other fairways a couple of times. Fairways don't really exist. Some holes are in a wide open field, others are through woods with minimal or no clear fairway. Trees in random spots, not in well crafted positions. All of the holes are pretty short.
Other Thoughts: You will not be wowed by this course. It does the job if you live nearby and want to get a quick 9 in after work. I can't imagine there was a whole lot of money put into the course, so I'll give it credit for being as good as it could be, but that doesn't make for an objective review so it's still getting a 1.

 Needs alot of work

1    9/18/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: TSivhar
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: It's a challenge to create a good disc golf course on an open ballfield plus a wooded half acre or so. So I give credit for the effort.
Cons: Holes on the ballfield uninteresting as designed. In the woodland (5 to 9), dense woods have scarcely been modified, therefore players can hardly make out any sort of fairways; holes confusing and baskets/ tees now in a degree of disrepair. Couldn't find tee for #9.
Other Thoughts: Course needs to be adopted by some local club or other advocate, otherwise its future may be in doubt. Needs repairs, pruning, and truthfully an overhaul of design. Hole #1 a bit too close to playground area for starters. Mostly it's the pruning though !

 Nice quick play

5+    4/11/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 37  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great for a quick play if you are in the area. The course map was very useful and I was able to follow the course the first time out with it. For such a small area, the designers did a good job of incorporating the natural elements to make a varied and fun course. Some open shots to give you a birdie chance, and some more technical shots through the trees. As a beginner to the sport, the distances of the holes on this course were perfect for my skill level. I felt a par was achievable on every hole, and with a quality drive, birdies as well. Good way to practice many aspects of the game: shorter drives, mid range shots, and putting.
Cons: As stated previously, the course plays through a soccer field and walking trail. The trail isn't very large, and I have never had an issue with people being in the way. If there is a soccer game going on, hole 3 is completely unplayable, and hole 4 is only playable is you are very confident you can throw your drive relatively straight. Again, I have never encountered an issue in the 10 or so times I have played the course, so it is only a minor concern.

Some of the holes border on unfair. Hole 5 has no real fairway, and it takes some luck to land a drive neer the basket. Hole 8 is also a crazy anhyzer shot through the heart of the woods that takes a prayer to land close. A little thinning of trees would improve things tremendously.

Without the use of the map provided at the park, or online here, the course would be tricky to navigate the first time through. With the map, I was able to navigate it without issue, just look for the mulched tee pads on each hole.

Also, basket numbers would really help the first timer navigate.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course would be rated higher if not for the other elements of the park interfering with the disc golf layout and the unfair shots that there are. Can't fault the park too much, since the disc golf course was shoe horned in here after all those elements existed (I imagine). If given the choice, I would play this course over the Branchwood course due to the increased technical aspects and better layout. Some reviewers expressed concern over the proximity to the road on hole 1, but unless you are WAY OFF with your drive, this shouldn't pose much of a problem.

I wouldn't make a special trip from far away to come check out the course, but if you are local, it is definitely worth a visit. The playground seems nice as well if you have children to bring with you. The course itself is child friendly as well if they are interested in giving it a shot.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Plains Park DGC

2-4    5/17/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: stout202
Played: 52  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for a quick play or to take a beginner to learn the game. The park is pretty nice and there are a couple of cool holes. One stand-out starts out in the open and plays into the woods to a basket surrounded by trees.
Decent place to work on your game if you live nearby. Any disc golf course is better than no disc golf course but there are some major flaws.


Cons: This course leaves a lot to be desired.
First of all, the beginning of the course plays through a baseball field and a soccer field which could be dangerous if any other activities are going on. Hole 1 plays right next to a somewhat major road (an errant disc from a friend of mine went over the rd narrowly missing some traffic) Also, the "fairways" on the last few holes double as a walking path which has obvious implications.
There are no real defined fairways in the wooded section of the course...my solution was to throw a tomahawk and pray. Navigation through the wooded section was also difficult; we couldnt figure out which basket to throw to in some situations.
Other Thoughts: An ok place to hone your skills if you live locally but not worth going out of the way for.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Basic Intro Course

1    10/11/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plains Park DGC is very easy to get to. The course sits on a heavily traveled county road and is easy to spot, as the course is adjacent to a local church.

Although in a community park, the course has some variation in fairway types from open, to mixed to, to heavily wooded. Additionally, there are a few holes that had interesting doglegs or "S" shaped fairways.

The baskets were in good shape, as was the park itself. Tee signs indicated the direction to the basket and the hole length.
Cons: The most serious con with Plains Park is the proximity of the course to other public areas of the park. On nearly every hole, the fairway is adjacent to a playground, walking path, soccer field, or other location where a bystander could be in danger from an errant throw. Course designs such as these create too much exposure for a possible accident that would lead to the course being pulled or for litigation to tarnish the sport.

Despite making good use of the land that was available, the hole lengths were fairly short and the layout of several of the holes were basic straight shots. The course was almost completely flat with no real elevation change on any hole.
Other Thoughts: Despite the length of the cons, this isn't a bad course...but it's not a good course either. In a word, this course is vanilla. Like so many other community courses, Plains Park is another good place for a new player, child, or senior to get some initial exposure to disc golf before moving on to a more professional course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 compact

1    9/21/2010   9/27/2010
Review By: flyerzphan923
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice and quick play
Cons: only 9 holes and very compact
some holes intersect others
Other Thoughts: will probbably never be more than yourself and 6 others on the course at a time, seems almost unknown.
awesome way to kill 30 minutes if you are driving by!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.