Beaverton, OR 
Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brody Cannon Hole #3
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

2-4    9/20/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: -Nice little course in a multi-use park. It plays along the Fanno Creek Greenway in Greenway Park.
-Great beginner course. Longest hole now is only about 350, and it is fairly open.
-Well maintained
-I suppose it is a good after-work round. Quick and easy with just enough trees to make it interesting. The holes are well designed. Holes 4 and 8 were my favorites.
-Nice playground if you have kids.
Cons: -Really hard to find. You have to park at the Fanno Creek Farmhouse and walk along this trail to the first tee. The park is secluded among office buildings and stores and this is the only spot to park.
-When I played last, the path from the Fanno Creek Farmhouse parking lot to the first tee was closed. I had to walk through a bunch of office building parking lots and up to Hall Blvd, then wound my way back to the first tee.
-Old hole 5 was flooded by the mighty beaver damming Fanno Creek. To get to the new hole 5 follow directions on the new map on file. It's quite a long walk, with no signage.
-Course routing is terrible. I suppose they just squeezed in holes where ever they could, since the park is so small, but you need the map to find your way on your first time. Hole 9 is really far from hole 1.
-A very popular pedestrian path winds through the entire course. This is the biggest con, by far. On almost all holes you have to wait for bicyclists and pedestrians. They have the right of way, which is frustrating but I guess that's what it has to be. Weekend rounds are especially terrible.
-Hole 2 is the worst hole ever. 150 ft to a deformed basket, wide open.
-Most of the holes have bush thickets just before the creek. You won't go in the creek, but you will have to poke through thorny bushes to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: -If you're a local it may be a good practice course but definitely not on the weekends. Joggers and cyclists abound. You'll end up waiting so much, finding another course or a disc store is a better use of your time. Play It Again Sports is nearby and they have a great disc selection.
-Not a course I'd want to play again.

 Beginner friendly course needs a bit more attention to detail

1    8/24/2015   8/24/2015
Review By: hotchkii
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The holes that do have signs have nice ones. Distance to the basket, par information, maps and out of bounds.

-Fairly short holes, good for beginners and families.

-Grass and brush is well-maintained.

-Nice mix of open holes and strategically located trees to keep shots interesting.

-Located in a very pretty park with a long paved walking paths and play equipment for the kids. Bathrooms available.
Cons: -Holes 5 and 6 do not have signs and are several minutes walk away from hole 4. Finding the basket for hole 5 isn't intuitive for first timers, and because there are no signs you'll end up wondering if you're in the right place.

-Some informational signs are placed at a 90 degree angle from the tee, which makes it difficult to use the given map because you have to rotate everything in your head.

-No water fountains in the park.

Other Thoughts: My biggest beef with this park was the spotty signage after hole 4. Holes 5 and 6 have no signage, and the signage on holes 7-9 are also spotty. One the whole it is an enjoyable quick course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth going out of your way for

1    8/4/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: wispoman
Played: 47  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy, good beginner course. Convenient location (it was 5 minutes drive from my hotel)
Cons: Flat, no variety of shots, a few trees but mostly open, many pedestrians. Tee 5 took me a while to find since map on file is incorrect because of flooding.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good practice course for locals

5+    7/3/2015   7/9/2015
Review By: volklaero
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Park setting, well manicured and maintained grounds.

Several fun and pretty holes.

Great course for beginner/intermediate players.

Great course for date night

Hole 4 and hole 8 are my favorites. 4 plays just over 200' under a weeping willow tree. 8 is a longer throw into the most wooded green on the course.

New hole 6 is a nice addition to circumvent the flooding.
Cons: So....FLOODING is a big issue. There have been fences put up that block the walking path, but disc golfers have made a trail that wraps behind the fence to go right to tee pad 5.

The flooding smells, takes a few minutes to walk past.

The 9th hole requires a walk back (about 5 minutes) to the parking lot / 1st tee. Not a huge deal, but annoying if you want to play 2 quick rounds.

Can get crowded.

PEDESTRIANS have the right of way, and they are often in the way. Walking paths go right through the entire course. It is mostly safe, but you do need to watch for bikes and path occupants.

Basket 2 has been vandalized and the cage is tilted. It also might be the worst DG hole in Portand - 150 feet maybe with a banged up basket...throw a putter, move on.
Other Thoughts: This will never be a very highly rated course.

With that said, I have had many good rounds here with some beautiful sunsets. It is a good practice course, especially for mids/putters or beginner/intermediate players. Great for date nights like I said before, and last time out my wife and I saw many couples playing.

Can play nine holes in about 30-40 min when not crowded.

5 minutes from my house, this course makes it super easy to get a quick DG fix and let off some steam. I complain about some things, but I am very glad to have this course nearby.

Flooding Im sure will be an issue in the winter. In that case, I usually play holes 1-4 a few times as they stay the driest and are close to the parking lot.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great for beginners/quick rounds

5+    9/22/2012   10/23/2014
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1- Very beginner friendly.
2- Easy to navigate layout
3- Enough variation to require a few different shots or thought consideration.
4- Few longer distance holes to disenhearten beginners.
5- Grass is typically well maintained.
Cons: 1- Get's swampy when the rainy season hits. Borderline unplayable.
2- Foot traffic is a bit of a concern, but It never bothered me anytime I went?
3- Some built up vegetation if you throw off the course into the thick.
Other Thoughts: It's not award winning, but I've played some pretty bad courses before, and honestly this is pretty good for what it is. Not every course has to be an experts wet dream to be a great course. It's good for what it is, and if you're trying to use it for something it isn't and don't like it, you only have yourself to blame!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

5+    8/20/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: Ace of Fades
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Depending on the time, fast play.
-Great place for warm-up/practice with new disks.
-Middle of bustling metropolis.
-Great use of space.
-Grocery store very close-by.
-Well manicured fairways.
Cons: -Can be very busy during prime-time weekend hours.
-Floods due to wildlife. (Beavers making dam's in particular)
-Popular for foot traffic and family's at the work-out structures around hole 4.
-Extended walk from hole 9 back to hole 1 (If you intend playing more than 9 holes which i commonly do)
-Kind of short for advanced players.
-Gets VERY wet during winter months.
-Some of the baskets tilted.
-Not very challenging hole locations.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a great course if your warming up, or just want to practice some accuracy. Many of the holes are mid-range distance, with a couple worth shooting a solid drive. I personally like it because it's within biking distance. Waiting for pedestrian traffic can sometimes be a little irritating and i've nearly hit people i did not see coming. On hole one, don't miss high right, because the small forest will swallow your disks. There are plenty of trails through it, but if you catch some wind, it will be hard to find. I've also found on windy days in particular this course is difficult to play. It's fairly wide open so wind plays a HUGE role in your shots in 10+ mph wind. I do really enjoy having a course this close though, with easy location holes for practice when i purchase new disks. It's definitely not a course worth making a trip out to just to play, but if your within a 5-7 mile radius, definitely check it out. It can be fun with a small group of buddies, especially with all the ace opportunities!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Only if you have to

1    6/12/2013   8/2/2014
Review By: Rakoz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - quick play...when not too crowded
- very beginner friendly
- as good of use of space as possible
- take the kids/sig other/parents
- flat easy terrain
-decent upkeep
Cons: - multiuse to the point of inefficiency for disc golf
- short. Putters only needed for the most part
- straight.
- Geese. They make a mess
- Floods
- Not a lot to offer
- much better courses in the area
Other Thoughts: Just ok. There are superior courses in the area. Ok for warm up or cool down. Just too much other stuff going on in the park to be a useful disc golf park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good park 9 hole

1    6/23/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 85  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 31.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a nice example of how to put a fun course into a fairly narrow mixed use space. This course is in one of the many narrow parks along creeks in the West Portland metroplex. Well maintained park with a ton of walking trails. The course has good pads and baskets. Good use of trees to provide some difficulty on this flat course.
Cons: Some of the signs have been vandalized and not replaced yet so I was glad we played with a local young teen. Could have found the holes but would have been hard around 6-8.
Flat and fairly open so an easier course, not all bad but not very challenging for experienced player. Fairways often cross walking paths so I would not want to play this course when busy. We were there early on a Monday and still had to wait a couple times for walkers.
Other Thoughts: One of the best examples of this type of course I have played. Just hard enough to be interesting in a really nice setting. Worth hitting on way through if don't have time for bigger courses.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Decent Neighborhood Park Course

1    11/27/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: 3j0hn
Played: 84  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
-Good Baskets
-Good tee pads
-Good signage, fairly easy to follow once you find the first hole.
-Well maintained park.

A good variety of holes and enough ways to get into trouble to keep it interesting.
Cons: It is a long walk back from hole 9 to hole 1 - a big con for a 9 hole course where I usually want to play around twice (or more).

The moderately populate biking and walking path is a factor on most holes
Other Thoughts: It would be really nice if this course could be turned into a loop, but it is a pretty efficient use of land as is.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for Newbies, Practice for Advanced

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful little course that runs along a narrow strip in a wetland. A paved walking path runs on the edge of most fairways, which (in my opinion) should be marked as an OB to make it a bit more challenging. The fairways are immaculately mowed where the edge is trees and grass (which IS OB for the most part, to protect the wetland for wildlife). This makes these fairways a bit more honest, but not terribly difficult, unless you are a newbie who is just starting to develop their distance. Only a couple of holes are really long, so it is an enjoyable pitch and putt for anyone intermediate level and above. The beauty, combined with the fact that there is a mixture of a few trees (but just a few) make it a fun place for people to work on their mid game.

By the way, all the gear is in great condition - signs (which have distances and OB marked) tees and buckets (except #2?, which is bent a wee bit)
Cons: The pathway that runs the length of the park is popular for walkers and joggers will test your patience at times. If a slow walker enters the picture, you will have to wait a minute till they clear. OR you will see them coming and hurry your shot before they come into the danger zone.

There is a long walkout after you finish the 9th hole, since the entire course follows a straight line.
Other Thoughts: I would take beginners here without fail.

I went here to test some discs out without having to do it in an open field and was not disappointed. I also found it fun and met a couple of really nice people to enjoy the experience with.

By the way, follow the directions listed here with the white picket fence, but realize you are in an industrial park. Just park in that lot past the fence and then walk down the path, across the bridge and you are there!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.