Beaverton, OR 
Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brody Cannon Hole #3
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    9/20/2015   10/20/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: -Nice little course in a multi-use park. It plays along the Fanno Creek Greenway in Greenway Park.
-Great beginner course. Longest hole now is only about 350, and it is fairly open.
-Well maintained
-I suppose it is a good after-work round. Quick and easy with just enough trees to make it interesting. The holes are well designed. Holes 4 and 8 were my favorites.
-Nice playground if you have kids.
Cons: -Really hard to find. You have to park at the Fanno Creek Farmhouse and walk along this trail to the first tee. The park is secluded among office buildings and stores and this is the only spot to park.
-When I played last, the path from the Fanno Creek Farmhouse parking lot to the first tee was closed. I had to walk through a bunch of office building parking lots and up to Hall Blvd, then wound my way back to the first tee.
-Old hole 5 was flooded by the mighty beaver damming Fanno Creek. To get to the new hole 5 follow directions on the new map on file. It's quite a long walk, with no signage.
-Course routing is terrible. I suppose they just squeezed in holes where ever they could, since the park is so small, but you need the map to find your way on your first time. Hole 9 is really far from hole 1.
-A very popular pedestrian path winds through the entire course. This is the biggest con, by far. On almost all holes you have to wait for bicyclists and pedestrians. They have the right of way, which is frustrating but I guess that's what it has to be. Weekend rounds are especially terrible.
-Hole 2 is the worst hole ever. 150 ft to a deformed basket, wide open.
-Most of the holes have bush thickets just before the creek. You won't go in the creek, but you will have to poke through thorny bushes to find your disc.
Other Thoughts: -If you're a local it may be a good practice course but definitely not on the weekends. Joggers and cyclists abound. You'll end up waiting so much, finding another course or a disc store is a better use of your time. Play It Again Sports is nearby and they have a great disc selection.
-Not a course I'd want to play again.

 Blah blah blah

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: close to downtown
Cons: small park, tons of other park users, requires a lot of patience for joggers, bikers, walkers......
Other Thoughts: I guss this course would be ok if I played it for something to do at lunch. I would take my young kids here to learn the game.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Greenway is for practice

1    12/3/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open layout and good use of space in a narrow park; good teepads and signs.
Cons: Dull. Straight throws, often short, with little use of the surrounding trees to provide a challenge. They need to add alternate teepads to make this a reverse 18 and add variety. Plays along a busy walking trail; watch for pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: If youre on the west side of Portland and want to work on your mid and putting game, this course serve your needs. Good for teaching new players.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Greenway DGC

1    6/4/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 195  Reviewed: 188  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/6/2012
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Located in Beaverton, Oregon, Greenway DGC was designed on a narrow space of wetland along Fanno Creek. Due to its scenic beauty, abundance of wildlife, and proximity to town, this park is always very active. This park is extremely well maintained and cared for by the locals, with ongoing improvements to the course and park. The course has well maintained cement tee pads, Mach V baskets, and tee signs which incorporate the distance, par, and pin location. Most of the holes are wide open off the teepads but do present an occasional obstacle from time to time. Pin placements were a mix, either guarded by a cluster of trees or placed in open space. Holes range anywhere from 174 - 400 feet long and are best suited for amateur players. However, more advanced players will enjoy working on putt and approach shots, especially on windier days.

Favorite hole/s: #3
Because Greenway DGC is located on wetlands the course tends to flood during the wetter months. The ground becomes soggy and puddles form near the pins. The flow to the course falls short as well considering hole #8 (or the last hole) is on the opposite side of the park. Players have to walk about mile back toward tee one when finished. Currently hole #9 has been placed between holes #1 and #2 making it more like #2A, and is a very short ace run. Last, pedestrians are everywhere whether it is the local joggers, walkers, ROTC, bird watchers, bicyclists, etc. which adds up to several minutes of wait time.

Worst hole/s: #2a (current location for #9)
Other Thoughts:
Greenway DGC is a fun nine hole course that is located just outside Portland and therefore often gets overlooked by more advanced players. However, it is the perfect place to introduce newer players to the game, to have weeklies at, or to play solo. When it isn't very busy, it is easy to get a quick round or two in and still make the most of your day. I always appreciate it when locals put so much work into the upkeep and appearance. I am just not sure how long this course will stay intact considering all the plant and wildlife advocates are always looking for ways to have this course removed.Hole #9 moves like a child in the military! I wish locals all the best and hope that Greenway will eventually get nine (not eight) permanent holes.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It's the green-way

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/10/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about Greenway DGC is the park itself, it is so clean and in spectacular shape with no vandalism or litter anywhere in the park that I could see at all. Another little park in the Oregon system that is in tip top shape, has a small disc golf course on it and is naturally beautiful. Even though it's just a small local course there are still some fun, challenging, long holes on it and the few trees were well used. Hole six is probably one of the best tee locations as it puts you right in front of the only trees on the hole and instantly it makes that hole interesting.
Cons: Since it is such a nice park and there is a great walking trail that plays along side and in front of most holes this could lead to waiting for pedestrians. The course leads you as far away from the car as possible and the walk back is a ways but it is the only way you can fit eight holes in here. Most advanced level players will be under par and could get bored after a while.
Other Thoughts: It's a tough call on when to visit this park as I suspect the summer months are filled with people and the winter months the course is flooded to almost unplayable. It's a little strange getting to the parking area of this place as you go through a local area business park and end up parking back in there as well. It's not horrible for a course bagger or if you lived in the area but not worth a huge trip to go out and play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.