Beaverton, OR 
Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brody Cannon Hole #2
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Practice Course

5+    8/20/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: Ace of Fades
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: -Depending on the time, fast play.
-Great place for warm-up/practice with new disks.
-Middle of bustling metropolis.
-Great use of space.
-Grocery store very close-by.
-Well manicured fairways.
Cons: -Can be very busy during prime-time weekend hours.
-Floods due to wildlife. (Beavers making dam's in particular)
-Popular for foot traffic and family's at the work-out structures around hole 4.
-Extended walk from hole 9 back to hole 1 (If you intend playing more than 9 holes which i commonly do)
-Kind of short for advanced players.
-Gets VERY wet during winter months.
-Some of the baskets tilted.
-Not very challenging hole locations.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a great course if your warming up, or just want to practice some accuracy. Many of the holes are mid-range distance, with a couple worth shooting a solid drive. I personally like it because it's within biking distance. Waiting for pedestrian traffic can sometimes be a little irritating and i've nearly hit people i did not see coming. On hole one, don't miss high right, because the small forest will swallow your disks. There are plenty of trails through it, but if you catch some wind, it will be hard to find. I've also found on windy days in particular this course is difficult to play. It's fairly wide open so wind plays a HUGE role in your shots in 10+ mph wind. I do really enjoy having a course this close though, with easy location holes for practice when i purchase new disks. It's definitely not a course worth making a trip out to just to play, but if your within a 5-7 mile radius, definitely check it out. It can be fun with a small group of buddies, especially with all the ace opportunities!

Decent Neighborhood Park Course

1    11/27/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: 3j0hn
Played: 84  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Good Baskets
-Good tee pads
-Good signage, fairly easy to follow once you find the first hole.
-Well maintained park.

A good variety of holes and enough ways to get into trouble to keep it interesting.
Cons: It is a long walk back from hole 9 to hole 1 - a big con for a 9 hole course where I usually want to play around twice (or more).

The moderately populate biking and walking path is a factor on most holes
Other Thoughts: It would be really nice if this course could be turned into a loop, but it is a pretty efficient use of land as is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Newbies, Practice for Advanced

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 178  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 22.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful little course that runs along a narrow strip in a wetland. A paved walking path runs on the edge of most fairways, which (in my opinion) should be marked as an OB to make it a bit more challenging. The fairways are immaculately mowed where the edge is trees and grass (which IS OB for the most part, to protect the wetland for wildlife). This makes these fairways a bit more honest, but not terribly difficult, unless you are a newbie who is just starting to develop their distance. Only a couple of holes are really long, so it is an enjoyable pitch and putt for anyone intermediate level and above. The beauty, combined with the fact that there is a mixture of a few trees (but just a few) make it a fun place for people to work on their mid game.

By the way, all the gear is in great condition - signs (which have distances and OB marked) tees and buckets (except #2?, which is bent a wee bit)
Cons: The pathway that runs the length of the park is popular for walkers and joggers will test your patience at times. If a slow walker enters the picture, you will have to wait a minute till they clear. OR you will see them coming and hurry your shot before they come into the danger zone.

There is a long walkout after you finish the 9th hole, since the entire course follows a straight line.
Other Thoughts: I would take beginners here without fail.

I went here to test some discs out without having to do it in an open field and was not disappointed. I also found it fun and met a couple of really nice people to enjoy the experience with.

By the way, follow the directions listed here with the white picket fence, but realize you are in an industrial park. Just park in that lot past the fence and then walk down the path, across the bridge and you are there!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Greenway Park

1    9/15/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Makes good use of land
-Variety of hole types
-Good for beginners
-Nice signs and Tee pads
Cons: -There was a lot of people doing their daily walk at the time
-Very narrow at some points, with people walking their dogs as well
Other Thoughts: I played this course in September on my way to the girlfriends sisters place. Stopped and played after work. Seems like the place to be for after work activities. Lots and lots of people. I am so afraid of hitting someone that I'll just wait till I am completely clear, which made for a long round. All in all, decent course. Would really like to play it again, without the crowds.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for a quick 9 (or 8)

5+    8/7/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great baskets and are well mantained.
- Great signage with distances and pars.
- The park is well maintained as far as being grass being mowed and trees being trimmed.
- Nice variety of holes. Some ~200' holes and the longest at 405' provides a challenge while still keeping it fun.
Cons: - The park gets pretty busy when the weather is nice.
- The parks department is still deciding on where to relocate hole #9 so the course only has 8 holes right now.
- The last hole is on the other side of the park from hole 1 so you have to walk all the way back across the park to leave.
Other Thoughts: Once they get hole #9 situated, this will be a great 9 hole course, right it's only a great 8 hole course. It has challenging holes, long holes, short holes, and technical shots. Great for beginners and aspiring professionals.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/3/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- Mowed grass & nice trees, including willows
- Big concrete teepads & excellent tee signs
- The only course in that part of town
Cons:
- Horrible flow
- Tons of pedestrians
- No elevation changes
- Prone to flooding and general squishiness after heavy rains
Other Thoughts:
The Greenway Park disc golf course follows a narrow green space along Fanno Creek, heading southward. The flow isn't bad for most of the course; you have to cross a couple of bridges between holes, but it's usually not TOO long of a walk. But then, after #8, you have to walk a full third of a mile back to #9, and from there it's another 1/4 mile back to #1.

The isolated Hole 9, besides having flow issues, is horribly unsafe, with a basketball court and two picnic tables just 70 feet to the left of the flight path. Which brings me to the other big problem with Greenway: pedestrians everywhere. Given the number of joggers, bikers, and dog-walkers that frequent the paved paths in the park, it's amazing that this course even exists. Be very careful, and look both ways before you throw!

Most of the holes are more or less open for most of their length, and all are completely flat. The primary obstacles are O.B. areas, and the branches of deciduous trees, which makes this course a bit unusual by Oregon standards. (It actually feels like the Midwest.) Some people will see the long, wide-open fairways as a good thing; I prefer more forested courses, so I personally find it a bit boring.

I'll admit that Greenway is a very pretty park; the fairways are mowed regularly, the creek is undergoing restoration, and there's a bird-filled wetland area just to the east. The weeping willows surrounding the basket on #4 and especially on #3 look amazing. But the incredibly long walks back to the north -- which I realize may be unavoidable, given the space available here -- knock it down a full rating point in my book.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/6/2008   6/6/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety in distance.
Tough Holes, much harder than most inner city 9 hole courses, fun to play.
Good teepads and baskets.
Park is kept up well, not too much trash and not too many sketchy people.
Cons: Flat, no real spectacular holes to remember.
Only 8 holes now, without any courses too close.
No tee signs.
Long walk outs.
Other Thoughts: Greenway is a very nice course, especially in comparison to other 9 hole city park courses, if I lived closer I might play here more. It's not very remarkable but it tests many aspects of your game and is a great practice course, it's got a few holes where amateurs like myself can let loose and bomb some drives, (I throw 340' or so) If you live somewhere in the Portland metro area it's definitely worth it to check it out, if you're traveling to Portland I'd probably recommend some of the 18 hole courses in the area.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.