Disc Golf Store
Beaverton, OR 
Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brody Cannon Hole #5
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good park 9 hole

1    6/23/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30 Years
Pros: This was a nice example of how to put a fun course into a fairly narrow mixed use space. This course is in one of the many narrow parks along creeks in the West Portland metroplex. Well maintained park with a ton of walking trails. The course has good pads and baskets. Good use of trees to provide some difficulty on this flat course.
Cons: Some of the signs have been vandalized and not replaced yet so I was glad we played with a local young teen. Could have found the holes but would have been hard around 6-8.
Flat and fairly open so an easier course, not all bad but not very challenging for experienced player. Fairways often cross walking paths so I would not want to play this course when busy. We were there early on a Monday and still had to wait a couple times for walkers.
Other Thoughts: One of the best examples of this type of course I have played. Just hard enough to be interesting in a really nice setting. Worth hitting on way through if don't have time for bigger courses.


5+    6/28/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: mrDROCK
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. I enjoy taking my wife and father out here so they can enjoy the sport along with me.
Easy walking. Flat lands make for a decent walk, but not drained muscles hiking up and down hill.
Confidence booster. After playing bogey golf at Pier Park for months it is nice to play Greenway and fully understand that you really are making improvement.
Cons: Walking paths are in play at times. There has been some change in the layout to prevent this, but you still have to be aware of your surroundings.
Flooded fairways in the winter months. Doesn't really dry out until March-April.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course.

5+    11/2/2011   2/27/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fairways are routinely mowed.
-Hole distances vary.
-Open holes, clearly marked, easy to navigate.
Cons: -Pedestrians on the path get in the way a lot.
-9 hole course plays quickly, you finish as soon as you get warmed up.
-1st hole and 9th hole are on nearly opposite ends of the park. Meaning you have to walk a ways to get back to your vehicle or play a second round.
Other Thoughts: If you are just passing through the area there are a lot better courses around. This is the course I started playing on as I used to live a few blocks away, and I think it's fine for those starting out. If they added another 9 holes...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Too Bad...

5+    7/17/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: lokirising
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: An open course for beginners in a well kept wildlife area. A very nice park for DG or hanging out.
Cons: Very open. Advanced players may find this course a bit less of a challenge. Hole 9 was removed. Can flood after heavy rain turning a few fairways in to a swampy mess. A lot of traffic with bicyclists and pedestrians. The bushes to the right of the hole 1 fairway is notorious for eating discs. I should know.
Other Thoughts: A fun course for a quick game.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Scenic Gem tucked in the Suburbs

5+    10/31/2008   11/27/2008
Review By: TreeLove
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
* Scenic - beautiful mix of manicure and wetlands, paved paths, bridges, & wildlife help get the wife out for a walk while I disc.
* Convenient - off Hall Blvd near Greenway just E of 217, I can get in and out in less than an hour.
Challenging - the OB water and paths, trees, varied hole lengths, and occasional wind offer more resistance than a typical pitch-n-putt.
Cons:
* Disjointed - being a heavy-use shared park, the holes cannot flow as ideally as in a dedicated DG area
* Wetland - this course can flood during the winter. A new creek redesign may help this year, I am sure Brody will keep us posted.
Other Thoughts:
Living halfway between Lunchtime & Greenway, I find myself drawn to Greenway more and more. (I run a summer league at Lunchtime, so I get at least 13 rounds a year there.) Greenway is more scenic, and I can play it more quickly. It still has long holes, so can still work on your drive. Greenway is a great asset to the Beaverton/Tigard/SW Portland area. Just be sure to print out the latest map if you haven't been there recently, continuous park redevelopments cause holes to be added, moved, and changed often.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 The curse of #9

5+    5/2/2009   11/21/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/2/2009
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well maintained course!!! Hardly any trash. Wide variety of wildlife in a marsh type landscape. Concrete tee boxes w/ hole markers and new baskets. Good variety of hole lengths w/ a few fun obstacles. Friendly locals. A great 9 hole course for beginners and advanced players.
Cons: Pedestrians!!! Long walk backs on holes #1, #8, and especially the new #9. Few trashcans. Use caution on Hole #1 if you shank it to the right (heavily wooded)... you can spend hours in this area looking for lost discs.

the location of basket #9 keeps changing and someone has gone as far as to even rip it out of the ground on 5-1-09

(the new location of hole #9 is a ridiculously long walk from #8's basket. it ruins the flow of the course and makes no sense now and w/ the heavy patrol recently included i changed my rating of a 4 to a 3)

Other Thoughts: Always yell fore on wild throws!!! as this park is shared w/ pedestrians and bikers and the fairways cross many paths or run along side them.

they are really cracking down on this course it's going through some changes and seems like they are trying to run disc golfers out of the shared park/course. i say this because it seems as they are only singling out the discgolfers and not the rest of the general park goers. so if you plan on playing here, id suggest by sticking to the park rules/laws.

it is located between "orchard park" and "lunchtime" so its very possible to play all three in one day.

(HOLE #2 TEE BOX IS NOW CONCRETE 12-1-08)

(TEE BOX MARKERS ADDED 1-5-09)

(HOLE MAPS ADDED 1-16-08)

(NEW HOLE #9 LOCATION 2-2-09)

(COURSE IS HEAVILY ENFORCED BY T.H.P.R.D. THIS MEANS NO ALCOHOL OR NIGHT GOLF 2-20-09)

(Basket #1 vandalized and basket #9 ripped out of the ground was lost but now found 5-2-09)

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little 9 Holer!

1    5/24/2008   5/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2013
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is in a lovely sprawling park. There are plenty of trees to throw over, under and around. There are holes that big arms can really air it out on. The park was clean and litter free. It looks like the locals are trying to take care of this one.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Park is flat. There were no holes that were really memorable. Not having tee signs would make this difficult to navigate for the first time player. I was lucky to be hosted by the local resident stud player. Tee signs like the ones at Cascades Gateway in Salem and Ewing Young in Newberg are non-obtrusive, informative, park dept. friendly and easily replaced if vandalized. They would be a great asset to this course.
Other Thoughts: This course didn't have the "WOW" factor for me. It didn't have the one or two holes that I would want to go back and play again and again. It's nice. It's good. It's clean.

Update*** 5 years later. Just realized that the tall skinny local kid who showed me his local course here was Brody Miller . Brody was already throwing about 375' as a 16 year old and I left predicting big things for his disc golf career. He is now one of the premier Pros in the NW.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.