Beaverton, OR 
Greenway DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brody Cannon Hole #6
4 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good park 9 hole

1    6/23/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 29.9 Years
Pros: This was a nice example of how to put a fun course into a fairly narrow mixed use space. This course is in one of the many narrow parks along creeks in the West Portland metroplex. Well maintained park with a ton of walking trails. The course has good pads and baskets. Good use of trees to provide some difficulty on this flat course.
Cons: Some of the signs have been vandalized and not replaced yet so I was glad we played with a local young teen. Could have found the holes but would have been hard around 6-8.
Flat and fairly open so an easier course, not all bad but not very challenging for experienced player. Fairways often cross walking paths so I would not want to play this course when busy. We were there early on a Monday and still had to wait a couple times for walkers.
Other Thoughts: One of the best examples of this type of course I have played. Just hard enough to be interesting in a really nice setting. Worth hitting on way through if don't have time for bigger courses.

Decent Neighborhood Park Course

1    11/27/2013   1/2/2014
Review By: 3j0hn
Played: 84  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Good Baskets
-Good tee pads
-Good signage, fairly easy to follow once you find the first hole.
-Well maintained park.

A good variety of holes and enough ways to get into trouble to keep it interesting.
Cons: It is a long walk back from hole 9 to hole 1 - a big con for a 9 hole course where I usually want to play around twice (or more).

The moderately populate biking and walking path is a factor on most holes
Other Thoughts: It would be really nice if this course could be turned into a loop, but it is a pretty efficient use of land as is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Newbies, Practice for Advanced

1    7/23/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful little course that runs along a narrow strip in a wetland. A paved walking path runs on the edge of most fairways, which (in my opinion) should be marked as an OB to make it a bit more challenging. The fairways are immaculately mowed where the edge is trees and grass (which IS OB for the most part, to protect the wetland for wildlife). This makes these fairways a bit more honest, but not terribly difficult, unless you are a newbie who is just starting to develop their distance. Only a couple of holes are really long, so it is an enjoyable pitch and putt for anyone intermediate level and above. The beauty, combined with the fact that there is a mixture of a few trees (but just a few) make it a fun place for people to work on their mid game.

By the way, all the gear is in great condition - signs (which have distances and OB marked) tees and buckets (except #2?, which is bent a wee bit)
Cons: The pathway that runs the length of the park is popular for walkers and joggers will test your patience at times. If a slow walker enters the picture, you will have to wait a minute till they clear. OR you will see them coming and hurry your shot before they come into the danger zone.

There is a long walkout after you finish the 9th hole, since the entire course follows a straight line.
Other Thoughts: I would take beginners here without fail.

I went here to test some discs out without having to do it in an open field and was not disappointed. I also found it fun and met a couple of really nice people to enjoy the experience with.

By the way, follow the directions listed here with the white picket fence, but realize you are in an industrial park. Just park in that lot past the fence and then walk down the path, across the bridge and you are there!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/28/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: mrDROCK
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners. I enjoy taking my wife and father out here so they can enjoy the sport along with me.
Easy walking. Flat lands make for a decent walk, but not drained muscles hiking up and down hill.
Confidence booster. After playing bogey golf at Pier Park for months it is nice to play Greenway and fully understand that you really are making improvement.
Cons: Walking paths are in play at times. There has been some change in the layout to prevent this, but you still have to be aware of your surroundings.
Flooded fairways in the winter months. Doesn't really dry out until March-April.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Greenway Park

1    9/15/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 39  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Makes good use of land
-Variety of hole types
-Good for beginners
-Nice signs and Tee pads
Cons: -There was a lot of people doing their daily walk at the time
-Very narrow at some points, with people walking their dogs as well
Other Thoughts: I played this course in September on my way to the girlfriends sisters place. Stopped and played after work. Seems like the place to be for after work activities. Lots and lots of people. I am so afraid of hitting someone that I'll just wait till I am completely clear, which made for a long round. All in all, decent course. Would really like to play it again, without the crowds.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Generally Awful

2-4    9/24/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: asshamburgers
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tees and baskets are in good condition. Really nice environment, in a beautiful park.
Cons: IT'S IN A STRAIGHT LINE! This is a huge flaw, because once you finish the course you have to walk back through the mile+ to get back to your car.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Blah blah blah

1    8/11/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: close to downtown
Cons: small park, tons of other park users, requires a lot of patience for joggers, bikers, walkers......
Other Thoughts: I guss this course would be ok if I played it for something to do at lunch. I would take my young kids here to learn the game.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/15/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: alozano
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This might be a good course for a beginner learning how to play but cant throw very far.
Cons: Theres alot of people walking between you and the goal. i took my friend there to learn to play and he hit 3 people walking by. thats also because hes not a great shot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good beginner course.

5+    11/2/2011   2/27/2012
Review By: nelsofthewoods
Played: 30  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fairways are routinely mowed.
-Hole distances vary.
-Open holes, clearly marked, easy to navigate.
Cons: -Pedestrians on the path get in the way a lot.
-9 hole course plays quickly, you finish as soon as you get warmed up.
-1st hole and 9th hole are on nearly opposite ends of the park. Meaning you have to walk a ways to get back to your vehicle or play a second round.
Other Thoughts: If you are just passing through the area there are a lot better courses around. This is the course I started playing on as I used to live a few blocks away, and I think it's fine for those starting out. If they added another 9 holes...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Greenway is for practice

1    12/3/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Open layout and good use of space in a narrow park; good teepads and signs.
Cons: Dull. Straight throws, often short, with little use of the surrounding trees to provide a challenge. They need to add alternate teepads to make this a reverse 18 and add variety. Plays along a busy walking trail; watch for pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: If youre on the west side of Portland and want to work on your mid and putting game, this course serve your needs. Good for teaching new players.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.