Vashon Island, WA
Burton Adventure DGC Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 235ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Make an Excuse to go to Vashon

1    7/14/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: bfrank
Played: 16  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vashon is awesome!
Elevation changes
Holes call for hyzer and anhyzer shots
Well marked
No traffic (had the place to myself on a sunny Saturday afternoon!)
Cons: For being on an island, it's not a super scenic course. It's a grassy meadow with a hill and a few trees. The drive there sure is nice!
Tall grass (wear pants, even in summer)
Other Thoughts: If this were an 18-hole course with the back nine running through the adjacent woods it could be a stellar course! As it is, it's a playable 9-holer if you are already on the island. Vashon is awesome - make a weekend (or day-trip) out of it and go to the Saturday farmer's market, stop at Minglement for some tea, and bring some extra cash for awesome second hand tools (and lots of other cool stuff) at the thrift store Treasure Island. If you go only to play this course you will probably be disappointed.
Overall I shot +2 over 9-holes. A little better than what I usually shoot at my home course (Lakewood).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Finally Played

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: GiggleWorks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a challenging course, with great holes and lots of fun. Easy to find and the holes were easy enough with a printed out map.
Cons: Its on an island, making it not worth a ferry ride since its not the best course. Don't get me worng, it was fun, but not worth the time/money for a trip out there unless you really want to play every disc golf course in the area.
The other con....the weeds and bushes and grasses were too thick/long etc.
Other Thoughts: Very fun course to play. Don't know why others ranked it so low. I am an average player and usually get a par to plus 5 at white river , yet I ended at a plus 7 on nine holes here. It was a challenge. Dont go if you hate bushes and bugs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not As Bad As It Looks

2-4    5/11/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: Petey
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Against a lot of the other hype about this course it really is a decent little 9 hole course. Although not very well groomed the area is in enough control that you're not trekking through a jungle or forest while you're playing.

There are two really sweet downhill long-arm shots and a couple other flat long shots accompanied by some very cool technical shots. All in all a decent variety of holes.

I would say the main way to navigate the course is to first look for one of the blue and white signs, some of which are on post and others of which are not, but if no sign can be seen at first most of the tee boxes are in the surrounding areas of the previous pin and with a little common sense it really is easy to navigate.

One of this courses strong points is that on holes in which the pin is not directly visable from the tee pad there are about 3 foot metal stakes in the group with either red or white tape on them the lead you directly to the pin, all you have to do is follow them.
Cons: This course is not the most well maintained course but really if you avoid throwing discs that are the exact same color as the grass you won't have any real problems with losing discs.

Other than that the only main down point of this course would be its general location on an island. It is a little pricey to get there if all you're looking to do is play a round or two of disc golf but if you're in the area it is definitely be a good place to visit.
Other Thoughts: All in all a good course with a great variation of shot types and the more times you play it the more alleys and routes you can discover for each hole.

Look for the white and blue signs for each next hole and you should have no problem navigating the course.

Definitely a great way to spend some time on Vashon Island.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Burton DGC Needs A Sugar Daddy !

1    2/12/2011   2/12/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course desperately needs someone to step up to the plate and do a minimal amount of work and bring it up to the minimal acceptable island standard as adopted by islands everywhere. What are they you ask? I have no idea. But first and foremost, someone needs to mount the three tee signs on posts which are currently lying on the ground and get them inbedded in the ground before they disappear. It's a wonder and a credit to the Vashon teen community that these signs haven't vanished already. Secondly, I'd like to see some work done to the current natural, rough tee pads. They're pretty sorry right now.

I happen to think that this particular piece of property has some value as an island disc golf course. It's never going to be a destination course but it does have the hillside enjoyment factor. It does have enough trees to create some interesting holes. It does have enough space to put in some 350 ft. holes although the designer did kinda have to criss-cross three or four other fairways to get those 350 footers. There is ample parking. The signs, especially the standing ones, are more than adequate. The Discatchers baskets are all in pretty good condition except for the afore-mentioned rusting # 5 which apparently lies directly below a rain cloud.
Cons: Without a map navigation would be dicey at best. With the on-line map, it was a breeze. Holes 1-5 all have crossing fairways. Personally, this doesn't bother me all that much. I don't see this course getting that much use and if there were mutiple groups playing, I'm sure I could play with strafing anyone or without being struck and seriously injured by a flying discs. Maybe there aren't any practicing attorneys out here on the island?

I would seriously like to see the tee pads leveled, marked and maybe set with patio blocks. That would be a major upgrade to this course in my mind. Seems to be more labor than these islanders have in mind.

There's maybe a truckload or two of debris that could be hauled away, old tires, brush, not too much really.
Other Thoughts: If I lived on Vashon island and had to pay $15.50 every time I wanted to leave the island, I'd play this course. I'd buck up and put a little sweat, a few $ and a little love into this course and turn it into my own little piece of heaven. It still wouldn't be a destination course by any means, but then I'd boost it rating all the way up to a "2". And I'd play it all the time.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Burton Adventure DGC

1    3/6/2010   3/6/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Burton Disc Golf Course is a fairly short nine hole course located on a small plot of land on the former Burton School property. As you pull in to park, you first notice a bunch of colorful graffiti along an indoor skate park. Inside the skate park, you will find an office where there are some discs to borrow if needed (although it might be a lost and found, as it was closed at the time). A port o potty is also located at the top of the course near the skate park (if needed). Baskets are DISCatchers, and all have numbers on top which help with navigation.

Although there are no signature holes, there are a few that stand out as somewhat entertaining. Hole one is a 358 ft. hole which has a nice elevation drop (although it crosses three fairways). The basket is wide open with the exception of a large tree on the right, but wind does play a factor. Hole six is another hole that although short (247 ft.), has a nice little elevation change downhill. It requires a RHBH thrower to throw a controlled hyzer over a cluster of trees toward a well protected pin (in order to birdie). Last, hole eight is a 259 ft. hole with elevation, having you throw uphill toward a blind hole (crossing over tee nine).
Cons:
Although Burton DGC is a great place for kids to learn this game, it is full of problems. Navigation (starting from tee one) was somewhat difficult. Baskets are labeled but without a map it would be very difficult to follow. There are brown posts with yellow tape throughout the course that have numbers (black sharpie) indicating where the next tee pad is, but you must then look for tiny flags in the ground showing you where exactly to tee off from. Some of the flags were missing, and locating basket #7 took some time (even with a map) as it was hidden behind some massive Fur trees. There were also a bunch of black stakes with red on them, and also a few extra brown posts that seemed to have nothing to do with the course at all.

The course layout was a mess too. I felt as if there was some potential for this course (although not much) if some tee pads and baskets were relocated, and much of the upper portion of the course was used. With the exception of holes six and seven, every hole crosses at least one fairway, and up to three. Because of this, it makes it next to impossible to have more than one group playing at a time. Fortunately, due to the remoteness of the course, this usually seems to not be an issue.

Last, the terrain has a major impact on the overall playability. The area is full of BMX jumps, potholes, and several other random dirt mounds. The terrain is extremely difficult to get proper footing on, whether it be for walking, putting, and/or especially driving off the tee. Leveled tee pads would go a long way on this course, as well as a massive clearing of thorn brambles all along hole eight and near basket five.
Other Thoughts:
This course is really not worth ones time if coming from the mainland. It cost my wife and me $20 dollars to ride the W Seattle Ferry (Fauntleroy) to play a course that maybe took 40 minutes. Because of this, we decided to make a day of it by visiting Point Robinson Lighthouse (roughly 5 miles NE of the course, just look for the signs on the right hand side).

Although Vashon is best to visit during the summer, there is plenty to do on this little island including visiting local artists, the local farmer market, or one of their great locally run restaurants. Views of Mount Rainier and inner Quartermaster Harbor can be seen from the island on clear days, making for some great photographs.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/27/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/18/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm going to be pretty rough on this course because it needs to be said but first I'll start with the good, though there isn't much with this place. Hole number one was a big downhill throw into the open, not really challenging but fun to throw off of the hill even if you are throwing into three other fairways but more on that later. Hole number six was also fun even if there really is only one approach to the hole. You have to throw a RHBH hyzer over some tall trees to the basket, pretty straight forward and not much challenge but it was still a fun shot. The Innova DISCatchers were all in good shape except for basket number five which had a bunch of rust around the top which is surprising because I thought the course was still pretty new. It's the only course on Vashon Island so it has a monopoly when it comes to disc golf so if the ferries stop running or something at least you have some baskets I guess.
Cons: Everything. No really pretty much everything...

Layout Issues - If you take a look at the online map from the links section you can see how many fairways cross other fairways and tee pads, it actually is even worse at the course then it looks on the map. With all of the layout problems it would be just about impossible to have more than one group on it at one time. This piece of land doesn't have much potential and the current layout doesn't even make use of what's here very well. The top section of the course is the right place to put in a long bomber hole with some guardian trees, maybe two shorter holes if you wanted to go that direction instead and this space wasn't even used.

Navigation issues - Most of the "tee pads" have a little post in the ground with a little yellow band around them to indicate where to throw from but for some reason hole one only has little blue flags and without knowing this I had to look around for a while to find where to throw from. After you find the course a lot of the baskets are either not visible or you can't see the hole number from the tee so you have to walk to the hole the first time to see where the basket is. Holes five and seven are the same post so when you get to five, look on the other side of the post this will save you some time looking for the post for hole number seven.

Terrain - The terrain is some of the worst I have ever seen for a disc golf course period. Uneven tee pads, bike ramps in the middle of the fairways, elevation change with holes to step in, bumpy paths and so on make this course dangerous to even walk on. They put in baskets and poles to indicate where to throw from and called it a course.

In order to get to the Island it's a twenty minute ferry ride to and from Vashon Island and it costs almost $16 round trip, this is a huge waste of time and money that you should avoid at all costs.
Other Thoughts: If you got rid of all of the cons I mentioned and some more I've forgotten about along with a major overhaul by someone who knows what they are doing this might jump into the 1-2 rating range but as of now it's one of the worst courses I have ever played. I like my practice basket and 9 different tee pads better then this. If you like skateboarding then you will enjoy the indoor street course they have next to the parking lot.

While I was there it was raining and there were two guys with ultimate discs playing some safari layout they were making up on the spot. With just the two groups on the course it was almost unplayable until the rain came down a little harder and pushed them out. Then a lady showed up with her five kids and they went out and moved our discs in the fairway and were following us the entire round which was annoying.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Potential unrealized

1    2/27/2010   2/27/2010
Review By: Crazydriver
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two nice downhill shots. Nice baskets. Rural course with little traffic.
Cons: Needs better tee pads; Needs better course marking. The fairways overlap and if there are many people out on the course, this would be a problem. It was not clear where hole 7 was supposed to be played.
Other Thoughts: It appears that this course does not get a lot of play. With a little work, this could be a nice little course. If you lived on Vashon Island or were stuck there, you would play this, but I probably won't make another trip to play it again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: wvbrdr
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice new baskets. Some nice open shots. The terrain offered some challenges, along with a few vegetation hazards. All the poles are standing, and the invasive vegetation is being eradicated. Work is definitely being done here and the course is getting better.
Cons: No map posted. Tee boxes/poles not labeled enough - no direction or distance markers. Random cement mounds and a BMX course wander throughout course.
Other Thoughts: The course has had some volunteer work done recently and it shows.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfer Death Trap

4/19/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Brand new baskets - seriously - still some packing foam around the tops of the chains on a couple of baskets.
Cons: Wow - where to start. Like the other review... this course is a course only in the sense that their are baksets here in need of having discs thrown at them. There are yellow jackets, thorn brambles and random holes and ground debris that make it quite unpleasant to play.
Other Thoughts: I came here the first time I visited the island, with an out-of-town buddy. We were REALLY disappointed in the course. We went downtown and had good beer instead!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth a trip out to the island.

3/24/2008   3/24/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is some nice graffiti on the skate park building that tell you that you are in the right place. They make good use of the lone hill. The tee areas are the few paved areas. Its a unique experience being on an island.
Cons: It appears that one of the baskets is missing as well as several poles that mark where to tee off from. Some of the poles are laying on the ground. If it wasn't for the map a frolfer would have no clue. It seems like a tractor has plowed the earth down to a dirt core and now the course has become some kid's dirt bike pit. Perhaps the plowing was done out of necessity as it seems like it used to be a big lot infested with thorny berry vines, now you just have the remaining stumps to trip over.
Other Thoughts: This course is really only good for a course bagger like myself or people trapped on the island. This might be the worst course I've ever played.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.