Hood River, OR 
Hood River DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #4 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 93ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  Worst course Iíve ever played

1    9/13/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: sweetman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: it's in Hood River, brand new pins, a few nice trees to make it interesting
Cons: Very short, full of scrub brush, under brush, thistles, black berry bushes.
Quite a few blind shots

Other Thoughts: They need to dig up the pins and move them to a park

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 a Short 9

5+    8/11/2010   9/13/2009
Review By: Uhlman
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A gerat place to work on your midrange and putting skills. This course now offers at least 9 great technical midrange shots.
Cons: This course is short; you could do this course now with only a putter if you wanted. However, I would recommend that you take your "bread and butter" midrange and a putter.
There is a poison oak issue, and a lot of it on the fairways and trails is marked (so it can be sprayed) but still need to be careful while in the rough.
The park is near the freeway and the car noise can be loud on busy days.
The walk out between 8 and 9 is really close to the fairway for 8 but at least you are looking the direction the discs will be coming.
Other Thoughts: This course's layout was recently changed to a pitch and put style course. It is still rough in places but a lot more playable than the previous layout. With the help of some local and not so local golfers, this course is shaping up nicely. My rating of this course remains the same

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/24/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: runnaman
Played: 38  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- The baskets where good and well maintained.
- There were signs at every hole with distance and par marked.
Cons:
- The holes were absolutely rediculous. Twice, I had to throw blindly over huge trees.
- The maps weren't much help so I had to walk down every hole to see where I was throwing.
- When searching for the 4th hole basket I stopped and realized I could see 4 baskets all within 50 feet of each other. The area is simply too small and cluttered for a course.
Other Thoughts:
I'm glad that they tried to bring disc golf to hood river (seeing that the next closest one is ~15 miles away), but I really hope someone realizes that this course is not helping anyone and relocate somewhere better.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 could be worse?!

5+    8/25/2010   12/11/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is the only course in the town of Hood River. It has very nice pro level baskets. The signage is fairly helpful. Its a good place for me to stop after work and practice my up shots and putting. The skate park next door is very nice if you skate.
That being said...
Cons: To start there is a good deal of poison oak which the P and R dept are trying to remedy as we review. To stick with the vegetation the black berries are fairly abundant. The rough has been cleared a bit more recently but still requires work. All holes are rather short which compared to old lay out may be a good thing. The walk between 4 and 5 is a bit confusing to find for a first timer, as well as 5/6 and 7/8. Once again ,in my opinion,a slight improvement on the old course walks. The walk out from 9 is a bit excessive and, as the person who designed most of this new lay out, was not my idea... But you can still play old number 7 and the walk out is not so bad and you get a extra hole, just use spotters if you decide to do so. We seem to have a extreme amount of garbage in the park and I don't really believe it is from disc golfers, but we could use some trash cans on the property so we can help pick it up.
Other Thoughts: Hope this slightly easier layout will welcome new comers to the sport instead of scaring them away. If anyone would like a guide on the course or a friendly round please feel free to PM me. Contact Hood River Parks and Rec. if you would be interested in sponsoring a hole or donating some time. Hopefully we can grow a community of DG'ers outta this little piece of land.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Too Small

5/3/2008   5/5/2008
Review By: kevin
Played: 67  Reviewed: 64
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Not much to report.
There is a neat skateboard park across the street.
Cons: Small area, not worthy of a disk golf course.
There are streets all around the outside of the course including the highway. Most shots cross in the middle, but when you miss you could loose a disc into a car. The park is not groomed for the course.
Other Thoughts: Did not like.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center