Shawnee, KS 
Shawnee Mission Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A great course for both experienced and beginners.

5+    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: phantom51
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front nine has some good technical shots, especially teeing off from #3 and #6. Keep it low and avoid the trees on both sides. My favorite is #5, which even in it's second basket pin is still fairly easy to birdie. Depending upon what time you tee off (I usually head out around 6pm), by the time you get to #18 (Course usually takes about an hour to two hours to play), you can spot deer grazing in the evening.
Cons: The thick rough! The grass outside of the fairways is usually above knee height. Often, you need to be right on top of your disc to see it. I recommend brightly colored discs where the fairways have more foilage and chances of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course six times now and I'm still challenged each time. Depending on the multiple basket locations on each hole, some holes can be a close par 4 versus a long par 3. The course is fun. The players out here are friendly and helpful. I'm amazed out how many times I've been offered help in locating a lost disc or been given advice on throwing. Definitely worth the trip!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Good Day Out

5+    6/8/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course! Signs and each hole and benches and trash cans throughout. Poured concrete tee boxes and multiple pin locations to keep things interesting. Variety of hole types and shot selections. Kept up very well especially since it's in a nicer part of the KC area. Elevation and trees put to good use.
Cons: The last part of the course gets a little repetitive by going up and down the same hill, but the holes still present their own challenges. Tall grass near the fairways could cost you a disc if you're not careful, so watch closely where it lands and use brightly colored discs if you have them. Some pedestrian traffic, but it is minimal.
Other Thoughts: Made for intermediate/casual players. I always enjoy playing this course. It presents good challenges and a good opportunity to practice multiple types of throws. Stop by if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + well groomed course, upkeep is good
+ nice park
Cons: - par 3 birdie fest. Plenty of room to stretch out the distance; course does not fully use land available.
-Most shots are the same, esp on 12-16
-only about half the wholes had tee signs as of review time
Other Thoughts: Not a course you hear a lot about in KC, which is odd because it's one of the better ones. Maybe better than Swope and Rosedale depending on configuration and opinion. There is also room for expansion/improvement which the Holy Trinity of KC courses don't have going for them.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course - Memorable

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The par 3 holes are appropriate distances.
Very easy to follow.

Hole 1: Most memorable on the course. Its a great distance and its a great tunnel shot to start off the round.

Hole 2: If the hole is on the short position, its very possible to birdie this hole.

Hole 4: Perfect variation for left handed players.

Hole 5: Very easy to par. This hole is almost a confidence booster.

Hole 6: Perfect for right handed hyzer throws. Good practice for fairway drivers.

Hole 7: Great Distance. I always get good practice with my drivers here.

Hole 8: Another memorable hole. It's fun to have room to throw initially and then have to make it into a bit of a wooded area.

Hole 9: Good elevation change toward the end of the whole. (Downhill)

Hole 16: This is a fun hole as long as you can keep your drive low. Great elevation change. One of my favorite holes on the course, even if I do throw it into the woods half the time.

Hole 17: Fun hole to practice right hand forehand throws and right hand back hand anhyzers.

Hole 18: Great way to end the round. Great elevation change. Memorable hook around the trees if you get your throw right.
Cons: Back 9: 4 of the holes are on the same hill. It gets very boring.
Few Benches.
Almost no trash cans.

Hole 3: Very difficult to par this hole without a great drive and a great up shot.

Hole 4: Great for left handed players.

Hole 10: Basically the same as hole 11.

Hole 11: Basically the same as hole 10.

Hole 12-15: Up and down the same hill. The view gets a bit boring.


Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and pros alike. I have fun playing there every time I go.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course

5+    4/23/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: kguyty
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tees and baskets are in good condition
- Benches and trash cans at most holes
- A good challenge for all skill levels
- A good variety of holes - a few wooded, a few wide open fairways, decent elevation changes on the back 9
- A fun course that is challenging, but not frustrating for new players
Cons: For some reason, I am not a huge fan of holes 2 and 3. Other than those holes, I really enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: A good course. Good for beginners, intermediates, and upper-echelon players. I enjoy the challenge of this course. The hole distances are long enough, but not too long.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for all skill levels!

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Though open, the pins are far enough away to make each hole a bit of a challenge.
Wind can effect the course, providing another good obstacle.
Not a busy course, but well maintained.
Good to learn on, and advanced players can work at getting under par.
The new hole locations/benches/and all other new things make this course very fresh and exciting.
Cons: I would prefer to have a few holes that are pretty short and very techincal and then also have a couple holes that are much longer and much more open.
A water hazard would be nice too.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course in Kansas City. Beginners would love playing here because its not too long and its fairly wide open.
More advanced players would love playing here because of the great mix of longer holes with technique involved.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Shawnee Mission...

2-4    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a slightly hills, prairie-like park. There are lots of slight uphill/downhill holes. The first few holes are moderate distance and moderately technical. Then It becomes mostly open with maybe 5-10 trees on each hole. Concrete Tees on every hole. Tee signs are great and very easy to read with all the necessary information. Baskets are in good condition and there are multiple pin placements on almost every hole. 17 and 18 are good finishing holes. 17 is a blind anhyzer shot and 18 is a blind hyzer shot.
Cons: No trash cans or benches in the park. After hole 6, there aren't any fun holes. It's almost like it was supposed to be a 6 hole course and the rest of the holes are just to get back to the parking lot. Anyway, after 6, all of the holes are straight and open, up and down a field.
Other Thoughts: This course has all the basics, just none of the, "wow factor". Good tees, good tee signs, good baskets, just not a good course design. I still rated this course a 3.5 (very good). I really enjoyed this playing this course, but it just wasn't good enough for a 4.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my personal favorites

5+    10/3/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: x3billRONIN
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very easy to find, and the course is very well maintained. There are a few restrooms, and trashcans available throughout the course.

The course is very well maintained, and plays excellently with the change of elevation, and natural surroundings. The course is in a very nice area of the city, with plenty of parking. It is not usually too crowded, and you won't find yourself waiting to play many holes, or feeling pressed to hurry up and finish.

Holes 3, 6, 12, and 16 are some of my favorites and all play on some of the different strengths of this course.
Cons: There isn't alot of variance in alot of the way these holes play. Holes 7-10 are all relatively straight, on flat land, with a few trees that come into play.

Holes 12-16 all play up and down the same elevations, but are of varying lengths, and some with more trees coming into play than others.

I've played this course a number of times, and I have yet to see any alternate pin placements.
Other Thoughts: This course remains one of my favorites, as it is really where I "learned" to play. It's a great challenging course, although it can get a bit repetitive, especially through 7-10 and 12-15. It still ranks as a "must play" course, and will have you coming back to play again, and again.

This is a great intermediate-advanced course, that will offer even more experienced players enough challenges to keep this course in their regular rotation.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My home

5+    8/10/2010   7/29/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 99  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2012
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course now has multiple pins, making some of the holes quite a bit more challenging of a par for advanced am players. Before these pins went in, the hole were almost all or played between 300'and 400'. Now there are options for holes as short as 200' and as long as 500+'. None of the shots on this course are extremely technical unless you get off the fairway and into the woods on holes 1-7 and 16-18, but even then the trees have a strange tendency to kick you back into a relatively safe spot. There are many different lines you can take on most holes, which can be seen as either a good thing or bad. I personally like that I can work on different shots on the same course and same hole. This is a great course to come to alone and try some line shaping practice, and it usually is not so crowded that this cannot be done, however it is beginning to draw bigger and bigger crowds. The facilities on the course are good enough with a bathroom and water fountain to the right of hole 8 across the street. The course flows decently well, ending where it begins, and it also provides an opportunity to cut it short due to time, weather, etc. if you must and play 1-9 then hop over to 16 and finish from there. The fairways are usually well mowed and the rough provides enough of an inconvenience to give an incentive to stay in the fairway.
Cons: I really wish there were more scenic holes. The Shawnee Mission park property has ample opportunity for beautiful shots, and it seems to me the parks and rec department set aside the worst bit of land in the park for disc golf. Its still a fine bit of land, but there is so much potential on the property that its a bit of shame disc golf got stuck on land that could be used for ball golf. The elevation is usually a bit underwhelming at this course, and the trees do not provide enough of a challenge in the short pins for the experienced player. Holes 8-12 can be disproportionally more windy than the rest of the course due to their location on the top of a hill.
Other Thoughts: The front 9 are definitely the best 9 on this course, so if you are running low on time, be sure to play those. Holes 10-15 have long been complained about because they zig zag up and down a hill and a lot of people, however I still maintain that each hole on this course is fairly unique. I did acknowledge there are multiple lines for many holes, but each hole also has a very established preferred line. The preferred lines are really split down the middle-50% LHBH 50% RHBH, giving the better played the advantage instead of the played who happens to be right or left handed. As my home course for 3 years, I played it almost twice a week and it really never got tiring. If you're in the area, go ahead and hit up this course. Its not the ver best or very hardest in KC, but you will like this course all the same.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.