Disc Golf Store
Shawnee, KS 
Shawnee Mission Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #13 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A walk in the park!

1    10/13/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, this is a very visually pleasing and beautiful course! Shawnee Mission Park is huge and very pretty, and this course gives you a gorgeous tour of the park.

This course had a great variety of wooded, open, downhill, uphill, and right/left or left/right shots.

Baskets, tee pads, and signs are all in good condition. I noticed there was minimal trash on the course and it appeared to be in good condition. The bag hangers on each sign were also a nice touch.

Not overly crowded on the Sunday afternoon that we played! It didn't look very heavily used; I know it's a bit out of the way of most of the metro, so maybe that's why.

Course navigation is super easy. Just look for the pea gravel surrounding every tee pad and you'll be golden.

And, obviously, there IS pea gravel around every tee, which I love because it really helps with erosion. You won't get your shoes so muddy this way.

The course is designed really nicely and makes full use of the land that is available.

Alternate pin positions aren't marked, but they frequently change how you'll play the hole. Not sure how often they change them out, but they're generally pretty well thought out.

This course just played super easily, no stress, no worries, and gave a great scenic view of the park. Well designed and very fun to play!

Although some of the holes switchbacked on each other (see more on that in the cons), they didn't play excessively close (like Swope) and you'd really have to have a bad shot to end up in someone else's fairway. We played in a very stiff Kansas wind and didn't have issues. I like the length and spread out feel the course has.

No burrs and the course maintenance was well done. No branches or anything that needed attention.
Cons: From 12-16, you're shooting up and down the same basic hill. They do a good job of giving some different shots and I get that they're just using the elevation, but I'm not generally a fan of switchbacking like this.

No benches and I didn't see any restrooms super close by, but that's not a big deal to me.

Shawnee Mission Park is a many, many, many multi-use park. We had some issues with other park goers wandering directly in front of us while we were throwing; we also ran into some folks just messing around on the holes while we were waiting to tee off. They did finally let us play through -- I think they just didn't know that's the courteous thing to do, so no biggie, but it doesn't look like this course has staked itself out as a DG-exclusive area.
Other Thoughts:
This course is in a very safe, clean park in northwest Johnson County. Take I-435 to the Midland Road exit and go east, then south on Renner and you're there.

Seeing as it's very close to Wyandotte County Park, it seems fitting it reminded me of it a bit, albeit much shorter. If you like WyCo but it's just too long for you, you'll probably like it here better (I personally love both).

Gorgeous vistas, nice maintenance, and good variety get this one a 4.0. Happy discing!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is a fantastic course!

1    7/29/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is beginer friendly and can also be a challenge for more expirienced players
- Course has good flow to it and no hole really felt misplaced
- Mach 3 baskets in great condition
- Love the tee areas! Dirt around the great concrete teepads and there were trash cans and benches
- Course will make you pull out almost every shot you have (It did on my round at least.) You will have dogleg lefts, dogleft rights, straight up the middle, hyzers, anhyzers, uphill, downhill, and much more!
- More than one pin position on each hole makes this a totally different course on each round
- Disc golf secluded was a big plus in my opinion because you could just play your game and not worry about hitting someone
- Extremely well taken care of park! We saw a staff member picking up trash which shows me that they really do care
- Fairways were never too tight and were very distinct towards the basket
- Navigation was easy for the most part
- Senic views
- Tee signs were very descriptive
Cons: - Some holes were repetitive. I wish there had been more of a variety
- As mentioned before, there was some unused wooded areas at the beggining of the course which would have been nice to have holes through
- The rough made it sometimes hard to find a disc
- The lengths were in the same range most of the time. Would have liked some varied distances from hole to hole
- There were some holes that had a long walk to next tee which isnt terrible but could have been avoided
- Depending on time you have to play, once you start playing, no holes come to the parking lot until 18 so you will need to have some time
- I wish there had been more tight holes as most were wide open
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was a very fun play. I enjoyed this course so much. It is worth the time to play and I will come back to play this one again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    7/2/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: craryb
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New signs and bag holders on every hole make this course one of the best I've ever played. Multiple pin locations and excellent maintainence make this course fun to play. Good mix of challenging holes and birdie chances. A must play in the KC area.
Cons: The back 9 gets a little repetitive and has a few holes where it is easy to lose a disc. Beware of poison ivy, especially on hole 16 in the trees on the left side of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This was my 'home' course for 2 years, and definitely one of my all time favorites. A must play for the KC area!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing park great DG course

5+    8/9/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: teddster06
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean course and park for that matter.
Baskets are easy to locate and are very practical par 3s.
Easy to follow and front 9 really mixes up different locations.
Beautiful landscaping.
Cons: The front 9 has a lot of walking between tees and hard to play just a quick front 9 cause the ninth hole is the farthest from the parking lot. If u play 9 u might as well play all 18.
The back 9 is just up and down the same hill so u don't get to see any new scenery (unlike the beautiful front 9)
Trash cans and benches are far and few between. I think the first bench is hole 10 so it wears on the body when playing in 100+ degrees
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course everyone should play. I started out playing on this course cause its just right down the street from my house but fell in love with it after a couple of difficult birdies. I usually just play the front 9 1) because each hole looks like it could be from dirrfent courses.
2) the lack of shade and resting areas in this 100+degree summer really eats at ya.
3) and walking up and down the same hill kinda seems redundant and the last 9 almost play the same.
Nevertheless amazing place to play all 18.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for anyone SW of KC

5+    7/26/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are concrete and baskets are in good condition. 10/10

Almost all baskets can be seen from the tees. A couple alternate hole positions can be a little tricky to know exactly, but you get the general idea from the tee. 10/10

Obstacles are used very well to make holes interesting and unique without making any impossible. 10/10

Almost all the tees are easy to find from the end of the hole before, between hole 7 and 8 is one of the few exceptions (it's through/around the bushes on the left). 9/10

What elevation that is present is used very well, there are some uphill, downhill, both sidehill, flat. there just aren't many severe slopes. 9/10

Course is maintained very well. Fairways are regularly mowed and benches are present on every hole. My only minor complaint is that baskets aren't moved very often. 9/10

There is a great variety of openness throughout the course. Some holes require tighter drives, some more open drives with tighter second shots. The back nine gets a little repetitive in this regard between 10 and 15. 8/10

This course is great at challenging all levels, it's not impossible, just a little long, for beginners, and it's not too easy for advanced players when the holes are in the back positions. 8/10

There are multiple ways to play many of the holes, especially from hole 7 on. 8/10

There are several holes that require different shot paths to succeed. For example, holes 3 and 18 require a R to L drive, while 4 and 17 require a L to R. 7/10

Alternate hole positions are pretty good about making the holes different, and more were recently added. Now every hole has at least two and many of them have three. It would be nice and they were moved more often though. 8/10
Cons: Variety of Distances: The holes all have pretty much two distances depending on which hole position. There's the kind of short birdieable length that requires good shape on the drive, and the pretty long holes that require two good shots to have a realistic shot at par. 3/10

There isn't really that much elevation present compared to other courses. Most holes are either steadily slightly downhill, steadily slightly uphill or pretty flat (4, 16, and 17 are exceptions). It's kind of hard to describe, but there is slope but not really hills. After the first three holes everything just feeds down toward the road and the lake. 3/10

Some holes have long walks between baskets and the next tee. 3/10

Tall grass makes discs hard to find some of the time, and it gets pretty uncomfortable if you're in there very long. Also watch for ticks and snakes in the tall grass. I do like the use of tall grass for rough though. I've played ball golf for a long time and I think more courses need to be more punishing if you venture off the fairway. 4/10

No multiple tees, which I still think every course should have.
Other Thoughts: Overall difficulty 5/10

This is the course that helped me learn how to really play the game. It really helped me with shaping shots and knowing what shots to play.

If you live in the Olathe/Overland Park area (or anywhere southwest of downtown KC) and don't feel like driving a long way, this course is great.

*edit 9-8* New baskets recently added. There are now 3 spots on 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 17 and 2 spots on 4 and 15 (maybe a few more, I had to skip a few because it was getting dark)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 SMP

5+    9/19/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the newer courses in KC. This course continues to be improved over time. Alternate pin placements were added a few months ago; prior to that, the teepads and signage were upgraded. This park is beautiful and a pleasure to visit. Wide sweeping views balanced with forays into tree lined fairways make this park challenging, yet still friendly for new players. The new left turning dogleg pin placements on 10, 11, 12 really add depth to this course.
Cons: Avoid the lines on hole one and start across the street mid course. WIND! Everyday, regardless of weather. This course sits on a hill and gets lake generated wind, so the middle portion of the course will require thoughtful disc selection.
Other Thoughts: The front 6 offers relatively easy birdies, the middle 6 are solid par placements, and the back 6 will test your arm. Great balance. This is the most popular park in KC and makes for a great family outing, picnic destination, or hiking spot after the disc golf game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/5/2011   1/12/2011
Review By: Timmylom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was really open and peaceful, the land was beautiful. The tee boxes are well maintained and clearly marked. Paths are mowed from basket to the next tee, and there are benches at every tee box incase it gets busy. Plenty of elevation changes.
Cons: Not very challenging for more experienced players. Mostly straight holes. Trees are mostly not a factor, however wind could be a HUGE factor.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful land. Very peaceful and quiet. Too bad I live 500 miles away, I'll definitely stop here and play this one again when I'm in town.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/28/2010   3/2/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained throughout summer. Fairways are cut at least weekly. Makes it look like golf course with roughs. Trees in play on most holes. A few dog legs. Couple shorties. New cement boxes. New signs, Alternate pins. Added trash cans and benches to holes 1,4,10,13,and 16. Holes 1-3 start near the parking lot. and course follows across the street throughout a section of the park. Holes 12-16 go up and down a stretch with the downhill being long for great drives. and the up hills being shorter but need some technical ability. 18 finishes up the course with a blind dog leg left (unless alternate pin is in use).

Update: New trash can on hole 5 tee.
Cons: Tall grass, Lost a couple of discs to it. Lack of changing pins around, however the new pins were set up recently when worlds came through. Not enough trashcans they added one on holes #'s 1,4,10, 13, and 16.. Other than that you have to walk to find one. No bathrooms. unless you like the woods. Could invest in benches on every hole. With all the space in the park could easily put in a second course.
Other Thoughts: Awesome course. First one ever played. Hit it up at least once a week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun and Challenging Course

5+    6/15/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shawnee Mission Park did a great job transforming this once heavily wooded and weeded area into a solid disc golf course. It has some very nice layouts with lots of variety. Some holes offer more technical shots because of the trees around it, while others are more open giving you more room to work with. I like the way this course takes advantage of the hilly environment, especially on the back 9, to make some of the holes a little more challenging. Some holes encourage you to use sidearm throws, while others encourage you to use forehand throws. There are also a few blind tee shots. The fairways are usually in good shape, and the rough will encourage you (especially in the summer) to throw your disc more accurately.
Cons: From about mid spring to early fall the woods in this park can be real nasty in a bad kind of way. It's filled with ticks, chiggers, mosquitoes, and poison ivy. There might also be snakes in that area as well, including copperheads, so it'll probably be a good idea to keep your eyes on the ground when playing this course. The 5th hole has too many trees in the way, and there are a few holes that are too wide open that could benefit from having more trees.
Other Thoughts: I like how much variety there is to this course. The layouts provide some challenging holes that really make it a fun course to play. Some holes have room for improvement, but overall I really like what the park has done with this area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 review by jace

5+    8/12/2011   3/9/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Restrooms are located at baseball fields which are near the parking area for hole #1 and holes #12, #14, #16. There is also a restroom located along hole #8.

There is a great warm-up putting area with trees at th start
There are a good variety of hole types with great topography changes on almost every hole.

The real beauty of SMPark course is its tree lined fairways on most of the holes. There are several tightly lined tee shots that also require a low level toss. This did not factor in too much during the winter months, but as the trees bloom the course becomes more challenging. Current maintenance crews have let the prairie grass take hold and now mow the fairways regularly. This is a class 'A' groomed course!

The basket placement is done on most holes to create a decent challenge on your approach shots. A couple of the holes are easily reachable on the drive if the winds are calm enough. Duece opportunities exist throughout.

Hole variety coupled with the topography make for a fantastic challenge for long throwers as well as finese players.

Holes #5 is by far my favorite - The tee is nestled into the woods with about an 12' wide area to crawl out of. If your drive is straight enough to get out, it is possible to birdie the hole.

I have play this couse regularly and have never had to wait on a group yet. This is a really nice course with minimal player activity it appears.

Fantastic updated course map is available in the links section.

Concrete tee pads have been installed thanks to the World's in KC this year. great length!

Course navigation is now a breeze with the addition of new signage that is easy to spot from the previous basket. Hole signage is truly magnificant - again an addition due to the Worlds in KC this year.
Cons: trash cans are now installed so now we just need the players to use them in order to alleviate the trash/beer cans.
Other Thoughts: Wear a pair of hiking boots or similar when it's wet.
Lots of poison Ivy in the brush so beware!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.