Shawnee, KS 
Shawnee Mission Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheNutCasey Hole #2 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Good Course

2-4    9/28/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: akray21
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Good balance of technical/distance
Cons: - Back 9 has some repetitive holes back and forth.
- More than optimal walking between some holes.
Other Thoughts: - One of the better courses in the area if you live on the south side of KC.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A walk in the park!

1    10/13/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, this is a very visually pleasing and beautiful course! Shawnee Mission Park is huge and very pretty, and this course gives you a gorgeous tour of the park.

This course had a great variety of wooded, open, downhill, uphill, and right/left or left/right shots.

Baskets, tee pads, and signs are all in good condition. I noticed there was minimal trash on the course and it appeared to be in good condition. The bag hangers on each sign were also a nice touch.

Not overly crowded on the Sunday afternoon that we played! It didn't look very heavily used; I know it's a bit out of the way of most of the metro, so maybe that's why.

Course navigation is super easy. Just look for the pea gravel surrounding every tee pad and you'll be golden.

And, obviously, there IS pea gravel around every tee, which I love because it really helps with erosion. You won't get your shoes so muddy this way.

The course is designed really nicely and makes full use of the land that is available.

Alternate pin positions aren't marked, but they frequently change how you'll play the hole. Not sure how often they change them out, but they're generally pretty well thought out.

This course just played super easily, no stress, no worries, and gave a great scenic view of the park. Well designed and very fun to play!

Although some of the holes switchbacked on each other (see more on that in the cons), they didn't play excessively close (like Swope) and you'd really have to have a bad shot to end up in someone else's fairway. We played in a very stiff Kansas wind and didn't have issues. I like the length and spread out feel the course has.

No burrs and the course maintenance was well done. No branches or anything that needed attention.
Cons: From 12-16, you're shooting up and down the same basic hill. They do a good job of giving some different shots and I get that they're just using the elevation, but I'm not generally a fan of switchbacking like this.

No benches and I didn't see any restrooms super close by, but that's not a big deal to me.

Shawnee Mission Park is a many, many, many multi-use park. We had some issues with other park goers wandering directly in front of us while we were throwing; we also ran into some folks just messing around on the holes while we were waiting to tee off. They did finally let us play through -- I think they just didn't know that's the courteous thing to do, so no biggie, but it doesn't look like this course has staked itself out as a DG-exclusive area.
Other Thoughts:
This course is in a very safe, clean park in northwest Johnson County. Take I-435 to the Midland Road exit and go east, then south on Renner and you're there.

Seeing as it's very close to Wyandotte County Park, it seems fitting it reminded me of it a bit, albeit much shorter. If you like WyCo but it's just too long for you, you'll probably like it here better (I personally love both).

Gorgeous vistas, nice maintenance, and good variety get this one a 4.0. Happy discing!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is a fantastic course!

1    7/29/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is beginer friendly and can also be a challenge for more expirienced players
- Course has good flow to it and no hole really felt misplaced
- Mach 3 baskets in great condition
- Love the tee areas! Dirt around the great concrete teepads and there were trash cans and benches
- Course will make you pull out almost every shot you have (It did on my round at least.) You will have dogleg lefts, dogleft rights, straight up the middle, hyzers, anhyzers, uphill, downhill, and much more!
- More than one pin position on each hole makes this a totally different course on each round
- Disc golf secluded was a big plus in my opinion because you could just play your game and not worry about hitting someone
- Extremely well taken care of park! We saw a staff member picking up trash which shows me that they really do care
- Fairways were never too tight and were very distinct towards the basket
- Navigation was easy for the most part
- Senic views
- Tee signs were very descriptive
Cons: - Some holes were repetitive. I wish there had been more of a variety
- As mentioned before, there was some unused wooded areas at the beggining of the course which would have been nice to have holes through
- The rough made it sometimes hard to find a disc
- The lengths were in the same range most of the time. Would have liked some varied distances from hole to hole
- There were some holes that had a long walk to next tee which isnt terrible but could have been avoided
- Depending on time you have to play, once you start playing, no holes come to the parking lot until 18 so you will need to have some time
- I wish there had been more tight holes as most were wide open
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course was a very fun play. I enjoyed this course so much. It is worth the time to play and I will come back to play this one again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A great course for both experienced and beginners.

5+    7/28/2013   7/28/2013
Review By: phantom51
Played: 20  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front nine has some good technical shots, especially teeing off from #3 and #6. Keep it low and avoid the trees on both sides. My favorite is #5, which even in it's second basket pin is still fairly easy to birdie. Depending upon what time you tee off (I usually head out around 6pm), by the time you get to #18 (Course usually takes about an hour to two hours to play), you can spot deer grazing in the evening.
Cons: The thick rough! The grass outside of the fairways is usually above knee height. Often, you need to be right on top of your disc to see it. I recommend brightly colored discs where the fairways have more foilage and chances of losing a disc.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course six times now and I'm still challenged each time. Depending on the multiple basket locations on each hole, some holes can be a close par 4 versus a long par 3. The course is fun. The players out here are friendly and helpful. I'm amazed out how many times I've been offered help in locating a lost disc or been given advice on throwing. Definitely worth the trip!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    7/2/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: craryb
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: New signs and bag holders on every hole make this course one of the best I've ever played. Multiple pin locations and excellent maintainence make this course fun to play. Good mix of challenging holes and birdie chances. A must play in the KC area.
Cons: The back 9 gets a little repetitive and has a few holes where it is easy to lose a disc. Beware of poison ivy, especially on hole 16 in the trees on the left side of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: This was my 'home' course for 2 years, and definitely one of my all time favorites. A must play for the KC area!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Good Day Out

5+    6/8/2013   6/25/2013
Review By: bkern85
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice course! Signs and each hole and benches and trash cans throughout. Poured concrete tee boxes and multiple pin locations to keep things interesting. Variety of hole types and shot selections. Kept up very well especially since it's in a nicer part of the KC area. Elevation and trees put to good use.
Cons: The last part of the course gets a little repetitive by going up and down the same hill, but the holes still present their own challenges. Tall grass near the fairways could cost you a disc if you're not careful, so watch closely where it lands and use brightly colored discs if you have them. Some pedestrian traffic, but it is minimal.
Other Thoughts: Made for intermediate/casual players. I always enjoy playing this course. It presents good challenges and a good opportunity to practice multiple types of throws. Stop by if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  OK, Just Wasn't What Was Wanted

1    8/18/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: One_Armed_Mannequin
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The first five holes. This course starts you off playing through a fairly open, yet technical section. Just the right amount of trees to keep you on your toes. When I played, hole 5 was at the long position which is an uphill shot to a great right dogleg (quickly becoming one of my favorite throws). Holes 17 offers a great uphill shot with another dogleg right throw just with a bit of a difference from 5. And as you go to 18 to finish the round you get to throw a nice tight hyzer shot wrapping around the woods rather tightly. Thus ending a round at a fairly decent course
Cons: Now onto the bad. After five your led to a short (200-255') hole that offers little challenge other than the few low hanging branches. Six was alright, not too challenging, as long as you can get a decent amount of distance without hitting one of the few trees scattered about it's an easy birdie hole. Then seven is just a straight shot with a few trees protecting the pin, again a fairly easy birdie shot. The part that really starts to just blend together is when you get to ten. Ten to fifteen are all the same shot for the most part. One goes downhill slightly, the next goes uphill slightly, rinse, repeat. At sixteen you get to break that cycle but barely due to the chance to shank one into the woods.

Then comes the lack of signage. After you get out of the woods and into the open almost all of the tee signs have been removed, leaving distances to ones imagination. Benches are present on most holes, but a lack of trash cans means you'll be hauling any trash you may have accrued with you.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course is worth a play at least once. With the great selection of great courses spread throughout the kansas city metro area, this one is kind of placed on the back burner. Yes it is a great course, but the challenge just isn't what I expected. In my opinion if you have the time, go to water works, or better yet head out to smithville and play at Woodhenge.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: astomps
Played: 53  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: + well groomed course, upkeep is good
+ nice park
Cons: - par 3 birdie fest. Plenty of room to stretch out the distance; course does not fully use land available.
-Most shots are the same, esp on 12-16
-only about half the wholes had tee signs as of review time
Other Thoughts: Not a course you hear a lot about in KC, which is odd because it's one of the better ones. Maybe better than Swope and Rosedale depending on configuration and opinion. There is also room for expansion/improvement which the Holy Trinity of KC courses don't have going for them.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course - Memorable

5+    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The par 3 holes are appropriate distances.
Very easy to follow.

Hole 1: Most memorable on the course. Its a great distance and its a great tunnel shot to start off the round.

Hole 2: If the hole is on the short position, its very possible to birdie this hole.

Hole 4: Perfect variation for left handed players.

Hole 5: Very easy to par. This hole is almost a confidence booster.

Hole 6: Perfect for right handed hyzer throws. Good practice for fairway drivers.

Hole 7: Great Distance. I always get good practice with my drivers here.

Hole 8: Another memorable hole. It's fun to have room to throw initially and then have to make it into a bit of a wooded area.

Hole 9: Good elevation change toward the end of the whole. (Downhill)

Hole 16: This is a fun hole as long as you can keep your drive low. Great elevation change. One of my favorite holes on the course, even if I do throw it into the woods half the time.

Hole 17: Fun hole to practice right hand forehand throws and right hand back hand anhyzers.

Hole 18: Great way to end the round. Great elevation change. Memorable hook around the trees if you get your throw right.
Cons: Back 9: 4 of the holes are on the same hill. It gets very boring.
Few Benches.
Almost no trash cans.

Hole 3: Very difficult to par this hole without a great drive and a great up shot.

Hole 4: Great for left handed players.

Hole 10: Basically the same as hole 11.

Hole 11: Basically the same as hole 10.

Hole 12-15: Up and down the same hill. The view gets a bit boring.


Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and pros alike. I have fun playing there every time I go.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing park great DG course

5+    8/9/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: teddster06
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very clean course and park for that matter.
Baskets are easy to locate and are very practical par 3s.
Easy to follow and front 9 really mixes up different locations.
Beautiful landscaping.
Cons: The front 9 has a lot of walking between tees and hard to play just a quick front 9 cause the ninth hole is the farthest from the parking lot. If u play 9 u might as well play all 18.
The back 9 is just up and down the same hill so u don't get to see any new scenery (unlike the beautiful front 9)
Trash cans and benches are far and few between. I think the first bench is hole 10 so it wears on the body when playing in 100+ degrees
Other Thoughts: Definitely a course everyone should play. I started out playing on this course cause its just right down the street from my house but fell in love with it after a couple of difficult birdies. I usually just play the front 9 1) because each hole looks like it could be from dirrfent courses.
2) the lack of shade and resting areas in this 100+degree summer really eats at ya.
3) and walking up and down the same hill kinda seems redundant and the last 9 almost play the same.
Nevertheless amazing place to play all 18.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.