Shawnee, KS 
Shawnee Mission Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: TheNutCasey Hole #4 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great for anyone SW of KC

5+    7/26/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tees are concrete and baskets are in good condition. 10/10

Almost all baskets can be seen from the tees. A couple alternate hole positions can be a little tricky to know exactly, but you get the general idea from the tee. 10/10

Obstacles are used very well to make holes interesting and unique without making any impossible. 10/10

Almost all the tees are easy to find from the end of the hole before, between hole 7 and 8 is one of the few exceptions (it's through/around the bushes on the left). 9/10

What elevation that is present is used very well, there are some uphill, downhill, both sidehill, flat. there just aren't many severe slopes. 9/10

Course is maintained very well. Fairways are regularly mowed and benches are present on every hole. My only minor complaint is that baskets aren't moved very often. 9/10

There is a great variety of openness throughout the course. Some holes require tighter drives, some more open drives with tighter second shots. The back nine gets a little repetitive in this regard between 10 and 15. 8/10

This course is great at challenging all levels, it's not impossible, just a little long, for beginners, and it's not too easy for advanced players when the holes are in the back positions. 8/10

There are multiple ways to play many of the holes, especially from hole 7 on. 8/10

There are several holes that require different shot paths to succeed. For example, holes 3 and 18 require a R to L drive, while 4 and 17 require a L to R. 7/10

Alternate hole positions are pretty good about making the holes different, and more were recently added. Now every hole has at least two and many of them have three. It would be nice and they were moved more often though. 8/10
Cons: Variety of Distances: The holes all have pretty much two distances depending on which hole position. There's the kind of short birdieable length that requires good shape on the drive, and the pretty long holes that require two good shots to have a realistic shot at par. 3/10

There isn't really that much elevation present compared to other courses. Most holes are either steadily slightly downhill, steadily slightly uphill or pretty flat (4, 16, and 17 are exceptions). It's kind of hard to describe, but there is slope but not really hills. After the first three holes everything just feeds down toward the road and the lake. 3/10

Some holes have long walks between baskets and the next tee. 3/10

Tall grass makes discs hard to find some of the time, and it gets pretty uncomfortable if you're in there very long. Also watch for ticks and snakes in the tall grass. I do like the use of tall grass for rough though. I've played ball golf for a long time and I think more courses need to be more punishing if you venture off the fairway. 4/10

No multiple tees, which I still think every course should have.
Other Thoughts: Overall difficulty 5/10

This is the course that helped me learn how to really play the game. It really helped me with shaping shots and knowing what shots to play.

If you live in the Olathe/Overland Park area (or anywhere southwest of downtown KC) and don't feel like driving a long way, this course is great.

*edit 9-8* New baskets recently added. There are now 3 spots on 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 17 and 2 spots on 4 and 15 (maybe a few more, I had to skip a few because it was getting dark)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My origin course

5+    4/1/2010   6/29/2012
Review By: larryth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Professionally designed and good teaching course
Cons: fairly challenging and lake wind always present and gusty.
Other Thoughts: This is where I fell a in love with disc golf. The course is designed like a golf golf course. The view is great.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A mission you should choose to accept

1    4/23/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 114  Reviewed: 112  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the better manicured courses I've played. Woodchips were well placed to keep wetter areas from being muddy. The fairways were well mowed and shaped so that the rough was a bit longer. It felt a little like a golf course and added to the pleasant scenery.

The holes tend to be in the 275-425 feet range and are all reasonable par 3s. The first half of the course plays around (but not through) some heavily wooded areas, and there is often a gap that you have to hit on the way to the hole. The back 9 is more open, but most of the holes are not completely open and do have some trees to contend with. The moderate elevation changes are used well on the back 9.

Navigation was a breeze, and I didn't need a map. The next hole is pretty much always where you would guest it would be.

Tee signs are the same ones you see in most KC courses, and I am a fan of this type of design. The holes were usually visible from the tee, but the signs always made it clear where you were going and which position was in use (most holes had two positions).
Cons: The rough, while aesthetically pleasing, did force me to search a minute or so for some of my discs. The grass wasn't so long that you could really lose a disc, though.

Probably the biggest con for me was that there was clearly some wooded terrain that wasn't used for this course. There could have been some great short technical holes interspersed with the more open holes, although I recognize those types of holes are much more labor intensive.
Other Thoughts: There aren't any signature holes here, but all of them made me think about what line I wanted to take. The atmosphere was nice, and it did seem like a pretty family-friendly place. If there are some courses where the neighborhood (or the other disc golfers!) is too sketchy, this is a good alternative. The course didn't blow me away, but I had a fun round and would come back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 SMP

5+    9/19/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the newer courses in KC. This course continues to be improved over time. Alternate pin placements were added a few months ago; prior to that, the teepads and signage were upgraded. This park is beautiful and a pleasure to visit. Wide sweeping views balanced with forays into tree lined fairways make this park challenging, yet still friendly for new players. The new left turning dogleg pin placements on 10, 11, 12 really add depth to this course.
Cons: Avoid the lines on hole one and start across the street mid course. WIND! Everyday, regardless of weather. This course sits on a hill and gets lake generated wind, so the middle portion of the course will require thoughtful disc selection.
Other Thoughts: The front 6 offers relatively easy birdies, the middle 6 are solid par placements, and the back 6 will test your arm. Great balance. This is the most popular park in KC and makes for a great family outing, picnic destination, or hiking spot after the disc golf game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/5/2013   7/21/2011
Review By: jeffreyjeanshorts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Smp is a average course in a very nice multi-use park. Points for good size tee pads, trash cans, signage. Between parks/rec and the kc flying disc club course is well maintained and mowed. One of a few in south KC and much easier than Prairie Center and a lot shorter than Wyco. A friendly course to learn the game on but still not always an easy par round.
Cons: 7,8,9 can be tough on windy days. 11-15 are bland back and forth. Gotta be sneaky with beers and other refreshments due to park cops in cars and bikes.
Other Thoughts: Pins are getting moved more often. League on tues nights during warm months. Looks like more improvements around tee pads and maybe some new holes in 2013. KCFDC.org for event info

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course

5+    4/23/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: kguyty
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tees and baskets are in good condition
- Benches and trash cans at most holes
- A good challenge for all skill levels
- A good variety of holes - a few wooded, a few wide open fairways, decent elevation changes on the back 9
- A fun course that is challenging, but not frustrating for new players
Cons: For some reason, I am not a huge fan of holes 2 and 3. Other than those holes, I really enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: A good course. Good for beginners, intermediates, and upper-echelon players. I enjoy the challenge of this course. The hole distances are long enough, but not too long.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/5/2011   1/12/2011
Review By: Timmylom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was really open and peaceful, the land was beautiful. The tee boxes are well maintained and clearly marked. Paths are mowed from basket to the next tee, and there are benches at every tee box incase it gets busy. Plenty of elevation changes.
Cons: Not very challenging for more experienced players. Mostly straight holes. Trees are mostly not a factor, however wind could be a HUGE factor.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful land. Very peaceful and quiet. Too bad I live 500 miles away, I'll definitely stop here and play this one again when I'm in town.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for all skill levels!

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 48  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Though open, the pins are far enough away to make each hole a bit of a challenge.
Wind can effect the course, providing another good obstacle.
Not a busy course, but well maintained.
Good to learn on, and advanced players can work at getting under par.
The new hole locations/benches/and all other new things make this course very fresh and exciting.
Cons: I would prefer to have a few holes that are pretty short and very techincal and then also have a couple holes that are much longer and much more open.
A water hazard would be nice too.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course in Kansas City. Beginners would love playing here because its not too long and its fairly wide open.
More advanced players would love playing here because of the great mix of longer holes with technique involved.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SMP

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: AaronHieb
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very nice course with good distance and turns. There is a ton of shade for those hot and/or rainy days. It is a nice par 3 course with lots of obstacles to have fun with such as trees an woods.There were a few holes that I wanted to throw multiple drives on such as holes 6 and 7. The course is also mowed very nicely on the fairway.
Cons: I dont like how the rough is about 3 feet tall but its kinda fun with the challenge.I dont like the woods having tall grass and being pretty deep on holes 16 and 18 because I almost lost my driver probably 3 or 4 times. There are also no visible bathrooms. I also dont like how there is alot of space in between holes because there could be a few more smaller holes. There are also no holes that are less than about 250-245 ft.
Other Thoughts: Lots of walking. Pretty course thogh

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shawnee Mission...

2-4    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a slightly hills, prairie-like park. There are lots of slight uphill/downhill holes. The first few holes are moderate distance and moderately technical. Then It becomes mostly open with maybe 5-10 trees on each hole. Concrete Tees on every hole. Tee signs are great and very easy to read with all the necessary information. Baskets are in good condition and there are multiple pin placements on almost every hole. 17 and 18 are good finishing holes. 17 is a blind anhyzer shot and 18 is a blind hyzer shot.
Cons: No trash cans or benches in the park. After hole 6, there aren't any fun holes. It's almost like it was supposed to be a 6 hole course and the rest of the holes are just to get back to the parking lot. Anyway, after 6, all of the holes are straight and open, up and down a field.
Other Thoughts: This course has all the basics, just none of the, "wow factor". Good tees, good tee signs, good baskets, just not a good course design. I still rated this course a 3.5 (very good). I really enjoyed this playing this course, but it just wasn't good enough for a 4.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center