Disc Golf Store
Shawnee, KS 
Shawnee Mission Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #17 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 My origin course

5+    4/1/2010   6/29/2012
Review By: larryth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Professionally designed and good teaching course
Cons: fairly challenging and lake wind always present and gusty.
Other Thoughts: This is where I fell a in love with disc golf. The course is designed like a golf golf course. The view is great.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A mission you should choose to accept

1    4/23/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 110  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the better manicured courses I've played. Woodchips were well placed to keep wetter areas from being muddy. The fairways were well mowed and shaped so that the rough was a bit longer. It felt a little like a golf course and added to the pleasant scenery.

The holes tend to be in the 275-425 feet range and are all reasonable par 3s. The first half of the course plays around (but not through) some heavily wooded areas, and there is often a gap that you have to hit on the way to the hole. The back 9 is more open, but most of the holes are not completely open and do have some trees to contend with. The moderate elevation changes are used well on the back 9.

Navigation was a breeze, and I didn't need a map. The next hole is pretty much always where you would guest it would be.

Tee signs are the same ones you see in most KC courses, and I am a fan of this type of design. The holes were usually visible from the tee, but the signs always made it clear where you were going and which position was in use (most holes had two positions).
Cons: The rough, while aesthetically pleasing, did force me to search a minute or so for some of my discs. The grass wasn't so long that you could really lose a disc, though.

Probably the biggest con for me was that there was clearly some wooded terrain that wasn't used for this course. There could have been some great short technical holes interspersed with the more open holes, although I recognize those types of holes are much more labor intensive.
Other Thoughts: There aren't any signature holes here, but all of them made me think about what line I wanted to take. The atmosphere was nice, and it did seem like a pretty family-friendly place. If there are some courses where the neighborhood (or the other disc golfers!) is too sketchy, this is a good alternative. The course didn't blow me away, but I had a fun round and would come back.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 SMP

5+    9/19/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: mindoveryou
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the newer courses in KC. This course continues to be improved over time. Alternate pin placements were added a few months ago; prior to that, the teepads and signage were upgraded. This park is beautiful and a pleasure to visit. Wide sweeping views balanced with forays into tree lined fairways make this park challenging, yet still friendly for new players. The new left turning dogleg pin placements on 10, 11, 12 really add depth to this course.
Cons: Avoid the lines on hole one and start across the street mid course. WIND! Everyday, regardless of weather. This course sits on a hill and gets lake generated wind, so the middle portion of the course will require thoughtful disc selection.
Other Thoughts: The front 6 offers relatively easy birdies, the middle 6 are solid par placements, and the back 6 will test your arm. Great balance. This is the most popular park in KC and makes for a great family outing, picnic destination, or hiking spot after the disc golf game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/5/2013   7/21/2011
Review By: jeffreyjeanshorts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Smp is a average course in a very nice multi-use park. Points for good size tee pads, trash cans, signage. Between parks/rec and the kc flying disc club course is well maintained and mowed. One of a few in south KC and much easier than Prairie Center and a lot shorter than Wyco. A friendly course to learn the game on but still not always an easy par round.
Cons: 7,8,9 can be tough on windy days. 11-15 are bland back and forth. Gotta be sneaky with beers and other refreshments due to park cops in cars and bikes.
Other Thoughts: Pins are getting moved more often. League on tues nights during warm months. Looks like more improvements around tee pads and maybe some new holes in 2013. KCFDC.org for event info

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course

5+    4/23/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: kguyty
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Tees and baskets are in good condition
- Benches and trash cans at most holes
- A good challenge for all skill levels
- A good variety of holes - a few wooded, a few wide open fairways, decent elevation changes on the back 9
- A fun course that is challenging, but not frustrating for new players
Cons: For some reason, I am not a huge fan of holes 2 and 3. Other than those holes, I really enjoy this course.
Other Thoughts: A good course. Good for beginners, intermediates, and upper-echelon players. I enjoy the challenge of this course. The hole distances are long enough, but not too long.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/5/2011   1/12/2011
Review By: Timmylom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was really open and peaceful, the land was beautiful. The tee boxes are well maintained and clearly marked. Paths are mowed from basket to the next tee, and there are benches at every tee box incase it gets busy. Plenty of elevation changes.
Cons: Not very challenging for more experienced players. Mostly straight holes. Trees are mostly not a factor, however wind could be a HUGE factor.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful land. Very peaceful and quiet. Too bad I live 500 miles away, I'll definitely stop here and play this one again when I'm in town.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for all skill levels!

5+    8/10/2010   8/13/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Though open, the pins are far enough away to make each hole a bit of a challenge.
Wind can effect the course, providing another good obstacle.
Not a busy course, but well maintained.
Good to learn on, and advanced players can work at getting under par.
The new hole locations/benches/and all other new things make this course very fresh and exciting.
Cons: I would prefer to have a few holes that are pretty short and very techincal and then also have a couple holes that are much longer and much more open.
A water hazard would be nice too.
Other Thoughts: This is a wonderful course in Kansas City. Beginners would love playing here because its not too long and its fairly wide open.
More advanced players would love playing here because of the great mix of longer holes with technique involved.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SMP

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: AaronHieb
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very nice course with good distance and turns. There is a ton of shade for those hot and/or rainy days. It is a nice par 3 course with lots of obstacles to have fun with such as trees an woods.There were a few holes that I wanted to throw multiple drives on such as holes 6 and 7. The course is also mowed very nicely on the fairway.
Cons: I dont like how the rough is about 3 feet tall but its kinda fun with the challenge.I dont like the woods having tall grass and being pretty deep on holes 16 and 18 because I almost lost my driver probably 3 or 4 times. There are also no visible bathrooms. I also dont like how there is alot of space in between holes because there could be a few more smaller holes. There are also no holes that are less than about 250-245 ft.
Other Thoughts: Lots of walking. Pretty course thogh

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shawnee Mission...

2-4    8/4/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a slightly hills, prairie-like park. There are lots of slight uphill/downhill holes. The first few holes are moderate distance and moderately technical. Then It becomes mostly open with maybe 5-10 trees on each hole. Concrete Tees on every hole. Tee signs are great and very easy to read with all the necessary information. Baskets are in good condition and there are multiple pin placements on almost every hole. 17 and 18 are good finishing holes. 17 is a blind anhyzer shot and 18 is a blind hyzer shot.
Cons: No trash cans or benches in the park. After hole 6, there aren't any fun holes. It's almost like it was supposed to be a 6 hole course and the rest of the holes are just to get back to the parking lot. Anyway, after 6, all of the holes are straight and open, up and down a field.
Other Thoughts: This course has all the basics, just none of the, "wow factor". Good tees, good tee signs, good baskets, just not a good course design. I still rated this course a 3.5 (very good). I really enjoyed this playing this course, but it just wasn't good enough for a 4.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Where the Wild Turkey Rome

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Coming down #18, I had 3 huge wild turkey just pop out of the woods and started walking down the fairway with me. It was really cool. This place has some elevation, great tee pads, great tee signs, and decent baskets. The fairways are mowed nicely. You can tell it is well maintained. They have a message board and you really don't need a map as it is fairly easy to follow along.
Cons: Between many of the holes, there was enough space to put another hole in there. So expect to walk a bunch. Most of these holes are straight shots and I did not really feel much accuracy needed to navigate yourself through the holes. This place needs more trashcans, needs benches, and there was no bathroom on the course that I saw.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is not really doing it for me. This was just an OK layout for me. There really isn't anything wrong with this nice course. I just didn't have that feeling where I wanted to throw multiple drives on any particular hole.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.