Marana, AZ 
Marana Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: dysmike Hole #14 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Long and open

1    7/10/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: joecross98
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of open, long holes. Great for bombing your driver from tee to basket. Look for the 800 foot hole!! Several 400-600 foot holes. Even bad drives are usually OK since it's so open.
Cons: It is ungodly hot out on the course. Yes, Tucson is always hot, but the course is in a huge wash with very little shade. The sun just beats off of the hardpan. Bring more water than you think you could drink.
Other Thoughts: There's not a ton of variety or technical challenge here, but the length and open layout make it a lot of fun.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    10/20/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Liked the diversity of the landscape and the mountains in the background.
Cons: Holes 10-14 were difficult to play with all the overgrowth and bristles you had to wade through to get to the baskets. This was most likely due to recent flooding in the area. I had to skip 13 and 14 because I couldn't find the tee boxes and only found 14's basket on accident when I went to 15's tee box.
Signage that points to the next hole would be nice too. Without a map, this course is hard to navigate. #7 has two tee pads, one that points into the middle of a "lake", which I guess will be dry in the non-monsoon season.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed holes 1-9 and 15-18. I would like to play this course again when it is drier. However, I live in Ohio, and played this on a visit to AZ, so I am not sure when I will get to play it again. Nice course, tho.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course not far from Tucson

1    4/28/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: domromer
Played: 42  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes, good mix of long and short holes, nice scenery lots of wildlife mainly lizards and birds. Easy to find your way around first 9 holes.
Cons: Windy! The area is pretty much a wind tunnel between 2 small mountain ranges. Best time to play is the morning before the wind kicks up. The back nine is natural pads and plays back on the same pins. it's almost impossible to figure out the back 9 layout without someone showing you first. Also the layout has been recently updated so the map that is posted here in no longer accurate.
Other Thoughts: It's nice to have another course not far from Tucson, it's a good place to beat the crowds on the weekend. Careful where you step. We saw three rattlesnakes in one morning.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Windier than Most

1    11/24/2008   11/24/2008
Review By: hansolo01
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tees and pins were intuitively laid out and relatively easy to find. Many tees had concrete pads, and the dirt pads were mainly flat and level. Course was completely deserted at 10am on a weekday. Clean course with little trash - best to keep it that way. Inventive use of otherwise-unusable land. Nice baskets. For 18 approaches sharing 9 baskets, this plays very well. Lots of variety between lefty-and-righty shots, short and long holes.
Cons: The wind at the ridgelines can throw you off. Several pins are hard to land a tee shot near without your disc falling back down the hill. Several pads still need concrete. No restrooms. No benches either, but course did not seem too busy.
Other Thoughts: Use heavy discs to fight the wind. Also, you simply can't avoid some discs landing in ankle-deep cover, so bright discs are recommended. Wear jeans or long pants. I would also recommend shoes with some ankle support, as you will be hiking up and down steep grades and over uneven terrain with nasty burr-laden plants that will coat your bare socks.. Print out a course map before you go. Some of the tee pads were incorrectly marked with ceramic tiles (perhaps they renumbered the tees at one point?), but all the tee posts were correct. Take lots of water with you! This course is more of a hike than any other local courses - you will need a little extra time and energy to finish. Of the Tucson courses I've played, this was the most challenging and fun.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.