Marana, AZ 
Marana Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #6 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 547ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Adventure in southern AZ

5+    3/23/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: chillis
Played: 91  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Marana Rock is a truly unique experience for AZ disc golf. The course is set in a basin that is lush and green for a majority of the year and is surrounded by a rocky rim where you can find numerous tee pads and baskets. What little actual elevation is present, is used very well to create exciting launch pads or tricky approach areas.

The layout is varied in hole lengths and a majority have well-defined fairways that require a straight shot to avoid the brush. Most holes have multiple basket locations, which are indicated on the tee signs with small locks next to the corresponding position.

A handful of tee areas have benches to rest on. There is a good amount of shade here. If you're playing in the hotter months, make sure to take frequents breaks out of reach of the sun's rays.

There is signage at the front of the park to mark the 1st tee area. It also has a nice bench and practice basket.

Local club is constantly improving this course. Every time I make a visit there's less clutter, more defined fairways, and added challenges, perks, and peril! I love the newly-created window to the basket on Hole 13.
Cons: Although the layout is varied, there aren't any doglegs and few blind shots. You can throw the same long, straight drive off the tee and do well. I feel this can get a little repetitive.

Course is pretty rough and is no easy stroll. Lots of rocky inclines to navigate and thick brush off the fairways. There are also lots of burrs in the middle area waiting to attach themselves to you or your gear.

There aren't any facilities - restroom, water fountain, or pavilion. Bring plenty of water!
Other Thoughts: Course can be massively windy! This is usually more noticeable when on the rim of the basin. I could go either way on this - the wind can provide one helluva challenge, or cause your round to be grueling and feel like punishment. Play it smart, and bring your trusty, stable plastic!

I've heard people say this is a seasonal course and I have seen some flooding (Holes 7, 18). However, I've been able to play it year round and have never had to cancel a round due to the conditions. Perhaps I'm just lucky?!

Needs new course pictures - current ones are outdated and don't give a proper impression of the layout.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Green In The Middle Of All This Brown!

1    3/31/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After driving through all the brown surroundings, parking in the lot and walking up to the first teepad, I was astounded to see a valley of lush, green grass. Then I proceeded to kinda fall in love with the first hole. 244' off an elevated pad to a basket sitting atop a small hill, complete with guardian trees and plantlife. The landing area is so small and when you miss, you're left with a difficult uphill putt. Great, great opening hole! Kind of set the tone for the whole course for me.
The course sets in this desert valley complete with plenty of mature trees and desert underbrush of all varieties, including some really prickly ones. This desert vegetation is used throughout the course to increase the difficulty and challenge. On many holes, I found myself having to thread my tee shot through a small opening in order to have a chance for the par. I found many of these same holes long and challenging, at least for my noodle arm.
I loved the indicators to show which position the basket is currently in, either A-B or C. Here they use little padlocks locked through the holes in the metaql signs. No-one can be changing those without the keys!

Navigation was a breeze, at least until I came to # 12 and then I promptly got lost and ended up at # 17. Before then, it had been so obvious by the natural flow and by the players trails.
The course is maintained with a lot of care from the local club. Not only is it litter free but a
Cons: I wasn't a fan of # 11 and it's 817' length. I thought it was long just to be long and length served no real purpose. But then again, when one has a noodle arm as I have, I tend to dislike any and all 800' holes.

I don't know what happen after the # 12 hole and how we got lost.
Other Thoughts: My compliments to the local club and to all the work they've done on this course. I'd love to come back and tackle it again. It pretty much kicked my fanny.
I'd also like to come back to to the # 12 basket and try to find my way to the # 13 pad. It's probably fairly obvious!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great course in Tucson

5+    3/24/2013   3/26/2013
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Well maintained. You can tell that the local disc golf club takes pride in keeping this course clean and free of clutter and debris. The course was recently mowed as well.
-Each hole presents a variety of challenges and encourages the player to use a variety of different shot types
-Tee signs and tee pads are all in great condition
-Shade! I played this course early spring (March), and it was still hot. Luckily there are shady spots on almost every hole, which is good for a desert course.
Cons: -If you're off the fairway you might find yourself in knee deep foliage and plants, which can make it hard to find discs
-In monsoon months a few of the holes can become unplayable because of water, and a few holes will incorporate new basin water hazards. Alt tees are setup
-The course is situated in a location where the wind just rips through a canyon across the course. The lightest wind we had the 3 dfays I played the course was probably 15+mph.
Other Thoughts: I played this course for a tourney, Lockdown at the Rock, and I'd imagine that I saw the course in it's best possible condition. I was really impressed that there was so much vegetation and trees because the drive up to the course is nothing but desert. The locals were more than friendly and willing to show me around the course in a warmup round or two.
I played in spring and was hot, so I'd imagine that this course is VERY difficult to play in the mid summer months unless you're there early in the AM.
Watch for rattlesnakes.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Best in Tucson

5+    1/19/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in distance (240ft - 817ft) fun use of elevation changes - a few holes set on mounds. Good variety of pin placements (the signage shows 2 or even 3 different basket placements) that changed at the first of the year (not sure how often the changes are made) Easily the most challenging course in the Tucson area. Little to no traffic other than disc golfers. Now that the trees are more mature, a few more finesse shots are required (thinking 9 and 14)
Cons: Really only playable 7 months out of the year as the rest of the time it is flooded. There are a few holes with stickers everywhere which gets really annoying after a while. A little worried as to what all the erosion is going to do to this course long term - it may flood out completely in 10 or so years.
Other Thoughts: Generally not a beginner friendly course as distance is rewarded over just about everything else on at least half of the holes. Certainly is a course that will force several aspects of your game to improve. Certainly not the best course I've played but it is easily the best Tucson has to offer.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

good course

1    1/3/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very diverse in not only the holes, but landscape. The course terrain varies from desert to lush. The wildlife is pretty cool too (maybe a con for some people). I got to see a coyote when I played. There are plenty of benches and trashcans available. Most, if not all holes have multiple pin locations. The pin location is noted by a lock in the tee sign, which I think is a pretty clever way of doing that. Some baskets are put on ridges and mounds to increase the risk/reward benefit. The course definitely punished or rewarded you depending on if you threw a bad shot or a good shot. Definitely is a challenging course.
Cons: This course is not beginner friendly. I had a decently hard time with it being my first time out there and not exactly sure where to go next. It would be better if the tee signs showed where the next tee box was. I didn't see any water fountains, but I really wasn't looking for them. I'm used to packing a lot of water for the courses in Arizona. No bathroom facilities. There is ample privacy though.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course was a blast to play. I can't wait to play it again. Definitely wear sturdy shoes.

For quicker directions, get off at Twin Peaks Road, and go north on Coachline Rd, and follow the normal directions

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    6/17/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: finchd4
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Really great use of the land that is there
- Not congested with holes over lapping
- some technical holes (Ant hill)
Cons: Can be a seasonal course with monsoon season rolling through. I didn't get to play two of the holes do to flooding.
Other Thoughts: Will make it a note to try and get out there every time I am in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

2-4    2/16/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course runs thru multiple desert ecosystems
Healthy plants, course in great shape
Not crowded
Right off the fwy but feels like u r in the middle of nowhere
The first serious water hazard I ever played
Could easily find discs
Cons: Nasty mud (played in winter after rain). The mud is more like clay. Bring towels!!
Had to contend with some constant wind. Many wide open holes.
Many tees without distance and pin location info
Other Thoughts: There r tons of long holes - be careful and stretch. This course progresses thru rocky desert, woods, dry riverbed, other types of woods, sandy desert, grassland and a pond - beautiful.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Oasis

2-4    1/16/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: Patsie87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 2/1/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is amazing. Im sure it gets warm in the summer however. This course has elevation long drives short doglegs and will challenge everyone. It is a lot of fun but is in the middle of the dessert with a lot of dry brush. need to wear jeans. Most of the holes and baskets are very well placed. Maps are located in a small bin before hole one and course plays 18 or a short version thats 9 holes.
Cons: The course is dirt dry brush and plants filled with spiders. Be prepared for a day outdoors in the desert. Have lots of water and shoes you dont mind getting dirty but in the end it is all worth it at this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Tommy John Surgery

5+    7/26/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: jigboy22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes are sweet with both uphill and downhill shots...

Decent use of the brush/shrub to shape holes in both directions

Nice new baskets as well as grippy tee boxes

Distance is the selling point on this course. Some holes you really don't need to aim all that much, just throttle it as hard as you can. Definately possible to hurt yourself if you get to into it.

Secluded

Everytime I've played it its never been all that windy, mostly playing in the morning though...

Minimal use of the overhand throw (huge plus) because there are so many options on almost every shot
Cons: Distance from residence, good 30-40 minutes to get there

Snakes, burrs freaking everywhere

No water on the course

Not enough shade on the course, also no real tall trees to get in the way and make you shape shots

Really easy to lose your disc in the tall weeds

Other Thoughts: Definately the best course in Tucson BY FAR...

Whoever maintains the course many thanks and great job on the design and layout. Great baskets and even better course layout.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Nice 18

5+    5/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Anger Monsoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As of May 2009, this course has 18 baskets and 18 distinct holes, which really improves the course. Know this: the course is long (most holes >= 300 feet, with several significantly longer) and tends to play long with the wind, which is very often significant.

There are not very many birdie holes for recreational players (maybe 4 or so if you can't throw 300 feet). It's a difficult course cut out of some beautiful landscape. Great punishing rough. Snakes and who knows what in the heavy rough. Watch your shots.

There are a couple awesome holes with elevation (hole 1-- pictured-- is really bitchy; short and downhill, but plays to a green on a small hill. Birdieable but very easy to 4 or 5). Plenty of holes have baskets situated just up on a little bluff or on the edge of one, adding risk/reward to the game. Overall there is a good variety of holes on this course, though most of them are relatively open. You'll use quite a few different shots to play this course at even close to par. Hole 18 is a great finishing hole, playing 320' over the reservoir (water in there most of the year) or you can play it safe like a chump and try to get up and down for par.

Downloadable map from the course website will be helpful but not necessary; it's pretty easy to find your way around. There are a couple jerryrigged signs on the ground (arrows made of debris) to the next tees which are a nice touch.

The tee pads (about 2/3 of them are poured concrete as of this writing) are great, long, professional-style, with nice signage.

It's rough terrain, and not an easy course, but this is disc golf, not putt putt. You want to be punished when you throw it in the rough.

Leave the kids home for this one.

Lots of wildlife; I see roadrunners, lizards, hawks, rabbits, and more on a typical round. Hopefully no snakes, but you never know. It's the desert, y'all.

There's a water fountain just off of hole 18 which you'll want to use.
Cons: The Titanic hole (800' or so) on the back 9 is boring, a disappointment, and not a good use of the landscape (other holes are all very nicely designed). Just open and wind and throwing long. Hopefully the designers will put in an alternate pin to the right so your upshot can play into the woods to add interest.

The course could use a few more technical holes in what woods there are for variety (there's not a lot of woods, but there's lots of scrub brush and mesquites; if you're used to golfing in the forest, this will be an interesting change; go up to Flagstaff instead).

Recreational players will find this to be a challenge. Heat is an issue in the summer. Bring lots of water.

During the monsoon season (July-August) 2008 much of the course flooded due to some problems with the water. That made the course... interesting... but probably unplayable for all but the most hardcore players. Word is the Army COE is on it so it shouldn't happen in the future, though I haven't been up there to play yet in the monsoon this year.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly the best course I've played in low-elevation Arizona. Well-designed, well-maintained, and lots of fun. Recreational players try Groves or Santa Cruz. Anyone looking for a longer, nastier course with some awesome desert scenery and wildlife will like this a lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.