Disc Golf Store
Marana, AZ 
Marana Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette   (Taken 7/2011)
Information Sign - Hole 1 Tee in Background



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tucson's "Must-Play" Course!

5+    5/3/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The challenge: the Marana Rock is not for the faint of heart. If you're gonna play this course, be prepared to go hard. I think the only baskets that are not as challenging are #3 (in the short position) and maybe #10 (although I screw this one up all the time).

The variation: you'll need a lot of it to get through this course! You don't necessarily have to change your throwing style though - I'm right-handed and throw backhand, and there aren't many baskets that force me to throw forehand.

The league: I play in the weekly Saturday morning league at this course, and the people are awesome. If you get the chance, come join us!
Cons: The water: during monsoon season, the course will flood. The presence of water offers some unique challenges. Sure, avoiding water hazards can be difficult. But I think the biggest challenge is avoiding malaria from all of the mosquitoes! Seriously, bring some bug spray. It gets nasty out here.

#11: how is an 800'+ distance not deserving of being a par-5?!
Other Thoughts: This course puts hair on your chest.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just Awesome

5+    11/3/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: darwinskatana
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Every type of hole or shot you can want.Can be difficult at time which makes it challenging. One hole is 800 plus distance. Lots of walking and hiking around.
Cons: You kinda need to have long distance drives most of the time.Can not play this course after it rains. Very easy to lose a disc if dont have accurate drives.During the summer very hot.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Bring lots of water

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Marana Rock & Roll

2-4    8/5/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 59  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So im from indiana and i have never been to arizona. Im in tucson this month visiting my aunt and decided to play marana rock. First impression is amazing, there is a large mountain backdrop in this disc golf only area. Lots of mature vegetation that provide shade and beauty. The first hole tells the story of this great course, its a little over 200ft but has a very elevated basket which makes for a difficult birdie, i knew i was in for a treat. I would say the course has slight elevation but they put a basket on just about every hill/mound they could find which makes putting a challenge. They also used the available vegetation very well to shape each hole. They have multiple basket places for almost every hole. The positions i played made the course nice and long, making birdies a premium. The concrete pads are in great shape and are large and level. The baskets look brand new. This course feels like it plays through several different lanscapes even though its in the same area, there are holes that are very sandy like ur playing in the desert (11), holes like ur at a canyon course (17), and very green holes with mature trees (3). Trash cans are everywhere and benches are in shady areas. The tee signs are in mint shape and very clear and informative. Its a very beautiful area and its full of local wildlife( lots of lizards, ground squirrels, and roadrunners). Great way to get a feel for the areas outdoor landscape. They made the best course they could with the landscape and IT SHOWS! Great course.
Cons: Not many.... This course is a gem! Only thing i could think of is it looks like it could flood but we all know that standing water wont last long in this area.
The course has a great flow and the next hole isnt hard to find but they could use some markers to show the direction.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that pros an advanced players will love. It has lots of distance and difficult putting. The club is doing a great job. I wish people would update there reviews on this site, it looks as if it got some low reviews from when it was " a work in progress". This is a amazing course that the best pros in the would would enjoy its challenges. This was the first course i went to in AZ and it set the bar for the rest i visit. Thanks to the club for making this a top notch beautiful course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in AZ? Could be.

5+    12/11/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome amount of diversity. This course requires every kind of shot you can put together! Parking is abundant, tee pads are signs are great. The locals take a ton of pride in this course, so it's always maintained.
Cons: It's a young course, so improvements are ongoing. A couple benches and trash cans would be welcome. I think the benches are slated to go in this year though...so I think we can check that off.
Other Thoughts: I have played just about all the courses in the state, and I think this is my favorite year-round course. Snowbowl is better...but only around in the summer. The Chain Lightening guys have themselves a gem with this course!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.