Marana, AZ 
Marana Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #10 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
good course

1    1/3/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very diverse in not only the holes, but landscape. The course terrain varies from desert to lush. The wildlife is pretty cool too (maybe a con for some people). I got to see a coyote when I played. There are plenty of benches and trashcans available. Most, if not all holes have multiple pin locations. The pin location is noted by a lock in the tee sign, which I think is a pretty clever way of doing that. Some baskets are put on ridges and mounds to increase the risk/reward benefit. The course definitely punished or rewarded you depending on if you threw a bad shot or a good shot. Definitely is a challenging course.
Cons: This course is not beginner friendly. I had a decently hard time with it being my first time out there and not exactly sure where to go next. It would be better if the tee signs showed where the next tee box was. I didn't see any water fountains, but I really wasn't looking for them. I'm used to packing a lot of water for the courses in Arizona. No bathroom facilities. There is ample privacy though.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course was a blast to play. I can't wait to play it again. Definitely wear sturdy shoes.

For quicker directions, get off at Twin Peaks Road, and go north on Coachline Rd, and follow the normal directions

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just Awesome

5+    11/3/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: darwinskatana
Played: 24  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Every type of hole or shot you can want.Can be difficult at time which makes it challenging. One hole is 800 plus distance. Lots of walking and hiking around.
Cons: You kinda need to have long distance drives most of the time.Can not play this course after it rains. Very easy to lose a disc if dont have accurate drives.During the summer very hot.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Bring lots of water

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    10/20/2012   10/24/2012
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Liked the diversity of the landscape and the mountains in the background.
Cons: Holes 10-14 were difficult to play with all the overgrowth and bristles you had to wade through to get to the baskets. This was most likely due to recent flooding in the area. I had to skip 13 and 14 because I couldn't find the tee boxes and only found 14's basket on accident when I went to 15's tee box.
Signage that points to the next hole would be nice too. Without a map, this course is hard to navigate. #7 has two tee pads, one that points into the middle of a "lake", which I guess will be dry in the non-monsoon season.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed holes 1-9 and 15-18. I would like to play this course again when it is drier. However, I live in Ohio, and played this on a visit to AZ, so I am not sure when I will get to play it again. Nice course, tho.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Wish it Was Not Flooded

1    8/17/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: highdesertdisc
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting holes that cover a great deal of ground. Some really challenging ones which are a ton of fun. I really dig the large tees as well. The view off hole 8 is incredible!
Cons: Definately a seasonal course, there was much flooding which cut off paths to holes and tees, espicially right now with the moonson rains.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray or reap the consequences.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    6/17/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: finchd4
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Really great use of the land that is there
- Not congested with holes over lapping
- some technical holes (Ant hill)
Cons: Can be a seasonal course with monsoon season rolling through. I didn't get to play two of the holes do to flooding.
Other Thoughts: Will make it a note to try and get out there every time I am in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

2-4    2/16/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course runs thru multiple desert ecosystems
Healthy plants, course in great shape
Not crowded
Right off the fwy but feels like u r in the middle of nowhere
The first serious water hazard I ever played
Could easily find discs
Cons: Nasty mud (played in winter after rain). The mud is more like clay. Bring towels!!
Had to contend with some constant wind. Many wide open holes.
Many tees without distance and pin location info
Other Thoughts: There r tons of long holes - be careful and stretch. This course progresses thru rocky desert, woods, dry riverbed, other types of woods, sandy desert, grassland and a pond - beautiful.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Marana Rock & Roll

2-4    8/5/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So im from indiana and i have never been to arizona. Im in tucson this month visiting my aunt and decided to play marana rock. First impression is amazing, there is a large mountain backdrop in this disc golf only area. Lots of mature vegetation that provide shade and beauty. The first hole tells the story of this great course, its a little over 200ft but has a very elevated basket which makes for a difficult birdie, i knew i was in for a treat. I would say the course has slight elevation but they put a basket on just about every hill/mound they could find which makes putting a challenge. They also used the available vegetation very well to shape each hole. They have multiple basket places for almost every hole. The positions i played made the course nice and long, making birdies a premium. The concrete pads are in great shape and are large and level. The baskets look brand new. This course feels like it plays through several different lanscapes even though its in the same area, there are holes that are very sandy like ur playing in the desert (11), holes like ur at a canyon course (17), and very green holes with mature trees (3). Trash cans are everywhere and benches are in shady areas. The tee signs are in mint shape and very clear and informative. Its a very beautiful area and its full of local wildlife( lots of lizards, ground squirrels, and roadrunners). Great way to get a feel for the areas outdoor landscape. They made the best course they could with the landscape and IT SHOWS! Great course.
Cons: Not many.... This course is a gem! Only thing i could think of is it looks like it could flood but we all know that standing water wont last long in this area.
The course has a great flow and the next hole isnt hard to find but they could use some markers to show the direction.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that pros an advanced players will love. It has lots of distance and difficult putting. The club is doing a great job. I wish people would update there reviews on this site, it looks as if it got some low reviews from when it was " a work in progress". This is a amazing course that the best pros in the would would enjoy its challenges. This was the first course i went to in AZ and it set the bar for the rest i visit. Thanks to the club for making this a top notch beautiful course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of available land

1    7/30/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Khuv
Played: 104  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I would say that this course is a great use of available land. The layout of the course play's well around the park. Every hole has good tee sign's and i think all but one hole has cement pads.It also has a great mix of short and long holes with blind shots off the tee to pretty open holes. The course seems to be well kept and has great stairways built into the hills that take you to baskets/tees.
Cons: The only con I have is only because im not a local but I think they could add arrows pointing you to the next pad. Although being in wash area im sure it would be hard to maintain those. Maybe an arrow on the tee sign indicating the direction of the next pad.
Other Thoughts: All in all I would say this is a great course that used what they had very well.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Tucson Area

2-4    7/24/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Discette
Played: 242  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 18.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, vegetation and terrain in the design. This park area is dedicated to disc golf. This is by far the best course in the Tucson area. It is just off Interstate10 and well worth the stop if you are driving by.

While this is a desert course, it is not too rugged and can be played in regular shoes and shorts.The backdrop of the saguaro covered mountains added to the desert beauty.

Many holes have several pin placements providing extra variety. Some pin placements are perched near drop offs adding to the challenge. Some holes are really just about distance, but most are about navigating the terrain and obstacles. Probably not a super beginner friendly course, but experienced players will enjoy the challenges.

There are ample concrete tees on all holes and great signage. Course is easy to navigate without a map. There are benches or natural seating on most holes and plenty of trash cans.

There are actually quite a few trees throughout the course that provide obstacles, as well as a break from the sun. The course was well maintained. It was evident that volunteers were doing a lot of work building stairs and bridges and removing the burrs.

It is easy to find Hole1 from the giant parking area. There is a club board with maps, scorecards and announcements. There is also a rules sign.

No restroom facilities but ample opportunities for privacy throughout course.

They did a great job designing a course on an unwanted piece of land.
Cons: The course is built in a drainage basin. Some holes become unplayable after rains - even if it doesn't actually rain at the park. Water running in the Santa Cruz means water on the course. (But still better than SCRP or Groves) Not a problem during dry season.

Not really a con, but this is a desert course. It is rocky and dusty. There are cactus and other thorny trees and plants to avoid. Bring durable plastic or be prepared to get chewed up discs.

I saw a three foot long rattlesnake on Hole 18!
Other Thoughts: Played first round Friday afternoon and the course was dry and dusty. Came back Sunday morning and several holes were covered with water from rainfall south of area on Saturday.

The map I downloaded from this site was incorrect. (File dated 4-14-2008) . It showed a nine hole course that played forwards and backwards. Some older photos on this site show holes that have since been renumbered.

It is quicker to take the Twin Peaks exit from I-10. However, there are more business/services at the Cortaro Road exit. Exit Twin Peaks and go West. Turn right (north) at Coachline. Watch for blue and white pump house on right, immediately turn right into parking lot. Pump house is visible in photos of 16 and 18.



3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Review

5+    2/21/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: dclevenger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great diversity, Navigating is easy, Terrain is great good walk.
Cons: Some holes are a little long for the par rating they have. I am a beginner and some holes took me forever to complete.
Other Thoughts: All in all cool place to throw and lots of wildlife.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.