Marana, AZ
Marana Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee (Short Position)



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course

1    6/17/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: finchd4
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Really great use of the land that is there
- Not congested with holes over lapping
- some technical holes (Ant hill)
Cons: Can be a seasonal course with monsoon season rolling through. I didn't get to play two of the holes do to flooding.
Other Thoughts: Will make it a note to try and get out there every time I am in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

2-4    2/16/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course runs thru multiple desert ecosystems
Healthy plants, course in great shape
Not crowded
Right off the fwy but feels like u r in the middle of nowhere
The first serious water hazard I ever played
Could easily find discs
Cons: Nasty mud (played in winter after rain). The mud is more like clay. Bring towels!!
Had to contend with some constant wind. Many wide open holes.
Many tees without distance and pin location info
Other Thoughts: There r tons of long holes - be careful and stretch. This course progresses thru rocky desert, woods, dry riverbed, other types of woods, sandy desert, grassland and a pond - beautiful.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Marana Rock & Roll

2-4    8/5/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 12/13/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So im from indiana and i have never been to arizona. Im in tucson this month visiting my aunt and decided to play marana rock. First impression is amazing, there is a large mountain backdrop in this disc golf only area. Lots of mature vegetation that provide shade and beauty. The first hole tells the story of this great course, its a little over 200ft but has a very elevated basket which makes for a difficult birdie, i knew i was in for a treat. I would say the course has slight elevation but they put a basket on just about every hill/mound they could find which makes putting a challenge. They also used the available vegetation very well to shape each hole. They have multiple basket places for almost every hole. The positions i played made the course nice and long, making birdies a premium. The concrete pads are in great shape and are large and level. The baskets look brand new. This course feels like it plays through several different lanscapes even though its in the same area, there are holes that are very sandy like ur playing in the desert (11), holes like ur at a canyon course (17), and very green holes with mature trees (3). Trash cans are everywhere and benches are in shady areas. The tee signs are in mint shape and very clear and informative. Its a very beautiful area and its full of local wildlife( lots of lizards, ground squirrels, and roadrunners). Great way to get a feel for the areas outdoor landscape. They made the best course they could with the landscape and IT SHOWS! Great course.
Cons: Not many.... This course is a gem! Only thing i could think of is it looks like it could flood but we all know that standing water wont last long in this area.
The course has a great flow and the next hole isnt hard to find but they could use some markers to show the direction.
Other Thoughts: This is a course that pros an advanced players will love. It has lots of distance and difficult putting. The club is doing a great job. I wish people would update there reviews on this site, it looks as if it got some low reviews from when it was " a work in progress". This is a amazing course that the best pros in the would would enjoy its challenges. This was the first course i went to in AZ and it set the bar for the rest i visit. Thanks to the club for making this a top notch beautiful course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of available land

1    7/30/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Khuv
Played: 104  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I would say that this course is a great use of available land. The layout of the course play's well around the park. Every hole has good tee sign's and i think all but one hole has cement pads.It also has a great mix of short and long holes with blind shots off the tee to pretty open holes. The course seems to be well kept and has great stairways built into the hills that take you to baskets/tees.
Cons: The only con I have is only because im not a local but I think they could add arrows pointing you to the next pad. Although being in wash area im sure it would be hard to maintain those. Maybe an arrow on the tee sign indicating the direction of the next pad.
Other Thoughts: All in all I would say this is a great course that used what they had very well.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Tucson Area

2-4    7/24/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Discette
Played: 232  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, vegetation and terrain in the design. This park area is dedicated to disc golf. This is by far the best course in the Tucson area. It is just off Interstate10 and well worth the stop if you are driving by.

While this is a desert course, it is not too rugged and can be played in regular shoes and shorts.The backdrop of the saguaro covered mountains added to the desert beauty.

Many holes have several pin placements providing extra variety. Some pin placements are perched near drop offs adding to the challenge. Some holes are really just about distance, but most are about navigating the terrain and obstacles. Probably not a super beginner friendly course, but experienced players will enjoy the challenges.

There are ample concrete tees on all holes and great signage. Course is easy to navigate without a map. There are benches or natural seating on most holes and plenty of trash cans.

There are actually quite a few trees throughout the course that provide obstacles, as well as a break from the sun. The course was well maintained. It was evident that volunteers were doing a lot of work building stairs and bridges and removing the burrs.

It is easy to find Hole1 from the giant parking area. There is a club board with maps, scorecards and announcements. There is also a rules sign.

No restroom facilities but ample opportunities for privacy throughout course.

They did a great job designing a course on an unwanted piece of land.
Cons: The course is built in a drainage basin. Some holes become unplayable after rains - even if it doesn't actually rain at the park. Water running in the Santa Cruz means water on the course. (But still better than SCRP or Groves) Not a problem during dry season.

Not really a con, but this is a desert course. It is rocky and dusty. There are cactus and other thorny trees and plants to avoid. Bring durable plastic or be prepared to get chewed up discs.

I saw a three foot long rattlesnake on Hole 18!
Other Thoughts: Played first round Friday afternoon and the course was dry and dusty. Came back Sunday morning and several holes were covered with water from rainfall south of area on Saturday.

The map I downloaded from this site was incorrect. (File dated 4-14-2008) . It showed a nine hole course that played forwards and backwards. Some older photos on this site show holes that have since been renumbered.

It is quicker to take the Twin Peaks exit from I-10. However, there are more business/services at the Cortaro Road exit. Exit Twin Peaks and go West. Turn right (north) at Coachline. Watch for blue and white pump house on right, immediately turn right into parking lot. Pump house is visible in photos of 16 and 18.



3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Review

5+    2/21/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: dclevenger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2011
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great diversity, Navigating is easy, Terrain is great good walk.
Cons: Some holes are a little long for the par rating they have. I am a beginner and some holes took me forever to complete.
Other Thoughts: All in all cool place to throw and lots of wildlife.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Desert Oasis

2-4    1/16/2011   1/16/2011
Review By: Patsie87
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 2/1/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is amazing. Im sure it gets warm in the summer however. This course has elevation long drives short doglegs and will challenge everyone. It is a lot of fun but is in the middle of the dessert with a lot of dry brush. need to wear jeans. Most of the holes and baskets are very well placed. Maps are located in a small bin before hole one and course plays 18 or a short version thats 9 holes.
Cons: The course is dirt dry brush and plants filled with spiders. Be prepared for a day outdoors in the desert. Have lots of water and shoes you dont mind getting dirty but in the end it is all worth it at this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in AZ? Could be.

5+    12/11/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Awesome amount of diversity. This course requires every kind of shot you can put together! Parking is abundant, tee pads are signs are great. The locals take a ton of pride in this course, so it's always maintained.
Cons: It's a young course, so improvements are ongoing. A couple benches and trash cans would be welcome. I think the benches are slated to go in this year though...so I think we can check that off.
Other Thoughts: I have played just about all the courses in the state, and I think this is my favorite year-round course. Snowbowl is better...but only around in the summer. The Chain Lightening guys have themselves a gem with this course!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Tommy John Surgery

5+    7/26/2009   8/2/2009
Review By: jigboy22
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation changes are sweet with both uphill and downhill shots...

Decent use of the brush/shrub to shape holes in both directions

Nice new baskets as well as grippy tee boxes

Distance is the selling point on this course. Some holes you really don't need to aim all that much, just throttle it as hard as you can. Definately possible to hurt yourself if you get to into it.

Secluded

Everytime I've played it its never been all that windy, mostly playing in the morning though...

Minimal use of the overhand throw (huge plus) because there are so many options on almost every shot
Cons: Distance from residence, good 30-40 minutes to get there

Snakes, burrs freaking everywhere

No water on the course

Not enough shade on the course, also no real tall trees to get in the way and make you shape shots

Really easy to lose your disc in the tall weeds

Other Thoughts: Definately the best course in Tucson BY FAR...

Whoever maintains the course many thanks and great job on the design and layout. Great baskets and even better course layout.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Very Nice 18

5+    5/20/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: Anger Monsoon
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As of May 2009, this course has 18 baskets and 18 distinct holes, which really improves the course. Know this: the course is long (most holes >= 300 feet, with several significantly longer) and tends to play long with the wind, which is very often significant.

There are not very many birdie holes for recreational players (maybe 4 or so if you can't throw 300 feet). It's a difficult course cut out of some beautiful landscape. Great punishing rough. Snakes and who knows what in the heavy rough. Watch your shots.

There are a couple awesome holes with elevation (hole 1-- pictured-- is really bitchy; short and downhill, but plays to a green on a small hill. Birdieable but very easy to 4 or 5). Plenty of holes have baskets situated just up on a little bluff or on the edge of one, adding risk/reward to the game. Overall there is a good variety of holes on this course, though most of them are relatively open. You'll use quite a few different shots to play this course at even close to par. Hole 18 is a great finishing hole, playing 320' over the reservoir (water in there most of the year) or you can play it safe like a chump and try to get up and down for par.

Downloadable map from the course website will be helpful but not necessary; it's pretty easy to find your way around. There are a couple jerryrigged signs on the ground (arrows made of debris) to the next tees which are a nice touch.

The tee pads (about 2/3 of them are poured concrete as of this writing) are great, long, professional-style, with nice signage.

It's rough terrain, and not an easy course, but this is disc golf, not putt putt. You want to be punished when you throw it in the rough.

Leave the kids home for this one.

Lots of wildlife; I see roadrunners, lizards, hawks, rabbits, and more on a typical round. Hopefully no snakes, but you never know. It's the desert, y'all.

There's a water fountain just off of hole 18 which you'll want to use.
Cons: The Titanic hole (800' or so) on the back 9 is boring, a disappointment, and not a good use of the landscape (other holes are all very nicely designed). Just open and wind and throwing long. Hopefully the designers will put in an alternate pin to the right so your upshot can play into the woods to add interest.

The course could use a few more technical holes in what woods there are for variety (there's not a lot of woods, but there's lots of scrub brush and mesquites; if you're used to golfing in the forest, this will be an interesting change; go up to Flagstaff instead).

Recreational players will find this to be a challenge. Heat is an issue in the summer. Bring lots of water.

During the monsoon season (July-August) 2008 much of the course flooded due to some problems with the water. That made the course... interesting... but probably unplayable for all but the most hardcore players. Word is the Army COE is on it so it shouldn't happen in the future, though I haven't been up there to play yet in the monsoon this year.
Other Thoughts: This is certainly the best course I've played in low-elevation Arizona. Well-designed, well-maintained, and lots of fun. Recreational players try Groves or Santa Cruz. Anyone looking for a longer, nastier course with some awesome desert scenery and wildlife will like this a lot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.