Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9
3 / 303ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Flood zone by basket #9 / tee #10



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Popular Denver Course

1    4/10/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +This course looks to be very popular. The locals were friendly and always let me play through. I was a fast playing solo course bagger and they understood.
+Ponds here for water hazards. Approachable yet challenging for many skill levels. There was always a pretty safe shot even if you can't throw far.
+Good variation in distances here. Some ace runs and some that will test the distance potential of many.
+Very well maintained and lanscaped. There was evidence of ongoing maintenance near the ponds when I played.
+Large concrete tees which are numbered to aid in navigation.
+There was a logical flow to the course which was good for me as a traveling player. You will likely have the chance to throw with or behind a local to help your navigation as well.
+Disc golf was fairly secluded from the rest of the course. You are unlikely to hit anyone.
Cons: -There were a few trees here, more than some other course in the area but still not many. There was rarely a hole that made you hit a certain line.
-Other than a few somewhat memorable holes, the course kind of blended together. I think that I would get bored if I lived near here. Not sure where else I would play though.
-The ponds smelled.
-The park looks like it would hold a lot of water after precipitation. Pretty dry right now though.
-Losing a disc is a real possibility.
-Could get pretty windy.
Other Thoughts: -There were a few holes that had a decent fun factor with the water.
-This is the best course in it's area of Denver but I did prefer Camenisch Park and DHU over this course. Denver is lacking in quality courses so if you don't have time to head to the mountains, this isn't a bad bet.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

As Flat As Denver Can Be

1    7/17/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park Setting - I absolutely love park-style courses, though I prefer a few more mature trees than Exposition Park provides. The park is well-maintained and clean. Sidewalks were in great condition. Grass was mowed. Landscaping was excellent. Exposition park is an aesthetically pleasing place.

Water - The course plays around a small creek and over a feeding pond at the back of the park. There is plenty of challenge, especially on windy days, and for out-of-towners who are not used to the additional disc stability from the elevation .

Pin Placement - The best attribute of Exposition Park, in my opinion, are the pin placements. Lots of risk/reward. Most are tucked fairly close to the water. Birdies are available, but aggressively going after that 50-foot putt can really mess you up if you're long.

Baskets/Pads - Baskets looked to be in good condition and all caught well. Pads were awesome. Very large providing plenty of space.
Cons: Redundancy - The course is so open that you can simply throw your preferred line off of every tee. For me, I was simply throwing gentle hyzer after gentle hyzer. You could easily play this course well with a driver, a mid and a putter.

No Tee Signs - Crossing back and forth over the creek as much as you do, it would really help if tee signs were there. Directionals pointing to the next tee at each basket would also be fine, but we didn't see any of those either. The pads have hole distance written into the concrete, but signs would be helpful for navigation.

Hole #1 - 'welcome to our course. Please throw ~270 feet in front of you with no obstacle of any kind'. That's really Hole #1. Nothing that gets the blood pumping for an exciting round. In my opinion, you should NEVER open or close a course with the most bland hole.

Goose Poop - It was everywhere. Tread carefully.
Other Thoughts: Exposition Park was a fun little stop since it wasn't far from the hotel. We were told it was in the "bad" part of town, but it didn't look too rough to me. I've definitely played in much seedier areas. Bottom line: the course is wide open, and really not that long. The only challenges are provided by the presence of water on most holes and the wind, which seems to get a little crazy at times.

While it was very short, #18 may have been my favorite hole in the Denver area. It is a great closing hole despite it's lack of distance. Water on the left of the fairway and long. A couple of planted trees in various parts of the fairway, though none over 8-10 feet in height. If you're up by a stroke, it can be intimidating knowing that you really need to birdie the hole, but the difference between a birdie and an OB bogey is very small. Great little finishing hole.

If you're in the area, Exposition Park is not a bad place to get in a quick round. The park can be a little crowded, but not nearly as crowded as Johnny Roberts or some of the other park courses in the Denver area. Don't go out of your way to play the course, but I don't think anyone would "hate" playing it, if it were convenient. It is a "typical" course, with water and pin-placement balancing out the wide open nature of the park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/17/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Public park course playing over grassy fairways around several small lakes and a creek. Some of the best concrete tees anywhere- large, grooved with curves that point in the direction of the basket, with hole number and distance etched into them. The baskets are in great shape. Hole placements are tricky and strategic helping to make up for the lack of other obstacles.
Cons: Most holes were very wide open and had little to no obstacles. Yes many holes played next to the lake or creek, but there was also a generous and safe area to play the hole safely with little risk.

No tee signs, just pads, (info on the pad), but this makes it hard to see where they are the first time playing, especially since the course crosses the lakes multiple times.

This course is supposedly in the "not-so-good" part of town, but compared to many other places I have played with this reputation.
Other Thoughts: I played when it was very windy making it much tougher, but on a calm day this course would get fairly repetitive and easy to master being mostly just wide open. This is a good place to get out and learn to throw discs with ample room to work them.

I played here mainly because it was close to where we were staying when visiting, but if you are coming on vacation this is one that is not worth going out of your way to play. I have played many average courses like this in many cities across the U.S.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Practice Course

5+    8/5/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Shogun
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I dig the open fields for long drives, especially practicing a different type of throw. Concrete tee boxes are a major +. The front nine is a smooth transition across open fields with little obstacles. The back nine starts throwing water, trees, and brush in your way to close out your round with a slight challenge increase.
Cons: No real shade at the tee boxes. You will find yourself waiting on this course from time to time, and a little shade would be nice. Water.... specifically hole 13 & 14, if your a lefty watch slinging it over the water hoping for it to roll back. If the wind is up even a litte, it can carry you out, and its not getting recovered. Bogged out holes is another issue on this course if the water level rises from rain. Hole 9 (the basket) & 10 (the tee box) can completely disappear. If there has been any rain, wear some good mud shoes lol.
Other Thoughts: In general, great practice or beginner course. If your showing up and throwing alone, take a few minutes to just hit the practice pin. Groups always meet up, and other singles meet up there, so you're bound to be able to hop into a group if you want.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Busy Park

2-4    7/29/2011   7/26/2012
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty park, good tees and baskets. It's not too hard to find your way. There are a few unique shots.
Cons: The park is a public park with a DG course added so its CROWDED! I spent most of my time waiting for people to meander past the hole so I could throw. There is a lot of nasty water that you are likely to lose a disc in. There are a 3-4 holes that pose significant water hazards.
Other Thoughts: This could be a fun course early in the morning before the park is too crowded. Its wide open so there is little for obstacles except that water.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    9/13/2011   6/13/2012
Review By: shawnspraguer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open space with good visibility.
Grip and rip for working on long game. Some good mid range shots required.
Great condition concrete tee boxes.
Some water hazards to ensure you don't get sloppy.
Goose poop!
Cons: Lots of water. On a windy day you may need to get in the sludge pond if you're committed.
Not much in the way of technical shots.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course because it was real close but despite my many years of playing I still lost a few discs there. When there's no water in CO, it seems ironic that there's so much here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    6/1/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads. Easy parking. Clean, Water hazards.
Cons: Lots of people using the park. (Dog walkers, joggers etc.) You really have to pay attention when throwing.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to play after work. Pretty wide open, wind can be a factor.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/21/2011   6/28/2011
Review By: slice
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Only course I have played that has water and I really liked the risk of losing a disc. The tee pads are huge. I like having the guys swimming for disc (he grabbed two of my friends disc and didnt charge)
Cons: Came here a day or two after a big rain storm and it was disgusting! Dead fish all over the field and trash everywhere due to flooding. The smell made me want to run through the park just to get out faster. While the tee pads are nice they were covered in goose poop this time.
Other Thoughts: While at first I liked having the risk of losing a disc I really became a pain after two friends both lost their disc (were all have been playing less then 2 months) Will probably wait until we get better before coming back again. Only reason we came back this time was to meet someone that had fished one of my disc out of the water.. That should be a pro because the last thing on my mind was someone calling saying they found that disc (because of all the swampers that sell disc here)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Only Course In The Area

1    7/17/2010   6/1/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fairly wide open course that does a sort of loop around a set of lakes. The tee pads are all extremely nice, long, and made of concrete. Most holes on the course are around 300 feet, some are more some are less. They did a good job with what they had in this park. It is basically an open field with a few large ponds and minimal trees. However, the designers tried to make almost all of the trees incorporated into holes. While they may not be the hardest pin placements, there was some effort put forth. This place will certainly have you aiming away from the water. If you are an accurate or moderately good discer you will not have to worry about this as the water usually lies next to a very large and open fairway. A few holes are aceable, but most are just easy straight shots at a long distance. That being said, there are a few holes with pins next to the water adding for a little bit of excitement. This is a large park, and there are few other parkgoers. It is great to see that they at least give locals a course to play on and a place to get the sport out there to new players. The course is also easy to follow. Great for a introductory-to-mid level player. Not quite introductory due to the abundance of water.
Cons: There is very little variation to this course. Most are straight shots, and for good players the large lakes are easily avoidable adding little excitement. By the 18th hole, you feel as if you have thrown the same shot almost every time. The grass is nicely trimmed and open, but the lack of trees makes the average player underwhelmed. There is not much to say besides this course is a typical decent course... not much creativity, not much variety, but in a nice park.
Other Thoughts: This course is certainly not a destination. It is a great course for those who live in the area, but the lack of variation will leave the avid discer upset after 18 holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/15/2010   2/24/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: It is a good public park course. Has a few water hazards that make some of the holes challenging. Nice tee boxes and a well maintained course. Not hard to find your way around.
Cons: It is public park right next to a school. So if you play around the time the school lets out there are a bunch of kids running around in the way. Other than the water hazards, there is not any other challenges. Just kind of throw back and forth but that's expected from a public park course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.