Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 8/2008)
Very green, beautiful park



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3

5+    7/13/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Rowick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its pretty

The tee pads are really nice

its good from beginners

its well maintained (biggest problem being its in a low spot so the course is almost always wet)

there are a lot of interesting birds here I've seen pelicans, cormorants, and even some snowy egrets as well as the usual ducks and geese
Cons: in some places like 3-5 you're basically just throwing back and forth across a field

very easy to lose disc on 2, 12 and 13 and a few others if you're way off course

almost no change in elevation

signage could be a bit better though there is a course map. 3 is probably the hardest tee box to find from the previous pin (its across the bridge and a little ways down the path) also 12 is though to spot from 11 (its just up the hill to your left)

its pretty easy
Other Thoughts: I live about half way between this one and village greens and I will almost always chose this one over village greens

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in well-maintained park

1    9/1/2013   6/8/2014
Review By: djros
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge concrete tee pads on every hole, with hole number and distance in the concrete itself - some of the nicest pads I've seen. The water comes in to play on most of the holes, including one hole with a carry of about 200 feet over part of one of the lakes. The holes make a figure 8 around a pair of lakes in a nicely maintained park with nice amenities and mowed grass fairways. Decent mix of long and short holes.
Cons: No signs, but every hole is pretty open, and it's pretty obvious where the basket is from the tee. Trees only come in to play on a couple holes; otherwise, this course is almost entirely open with the exception of the two lakes. Not much variety in terms of hole shape. Unless you want to chose shots shapes that are always over land to avoid losing discs, you are never really forced to throw specific lines, and you can pretty much throw the same shot from every tee.
Other Thoughts: I don't usually like water holes, especially holes that force you to carry significant bodies of water but this course is still fun. The carry over the lake on #2 is manageable with a good throw. Some of the baskets are a bit close to the water's edge, but I guess with the course being so open, that does provide a little extra challenge. Even though the course is open, the water does force you to be accurate in the same way trees would, only if you miss to the water side, you can't recover like you would from hitting a tree. I'm not crazy about the prospect of losing discs to lakes, but once you get over that, the course is still enjoyable, and if you focus on hitting the correct line, you should be able to avoid putting a disc in the lakes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

wide open

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: templink
Played: 61  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.4 Years
Pros: Nice teepads with hole # and distance on them.
Fairly scenic walking park with a small lake the course plays around.
Cons: all holes repetitive and wide open between 250 and 320'. The one longer hole is 400, also wide open.
Virtually no challenge for advanced players.
Beginners might lose discs in the water.
Some fairways were swampy and pins were surrounded by mud/water (not by design).
Other Thoughts: would not play again. I was near Denver airport and found this course.

Beautiful Park

1    9/27/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, wide open, well maintained park with very nice tee pads. There were some nice water holes, but nothing that really gets in your head. Lots of great scenery while moving though the course. Requires a variety of standard shots, but nothing too challenging. The course was easy to navigate and the parks department did a good job of not over crowding the disc golf area, so there wasn't really any risk of hitting walkers or kids on the play ground. the back 9 did have a few nice shade trees that people were picnic-ing under, but they were hip to the course and watched out for themselves.
Cons: This was a nice little course, if anything I can point to as a negative would be that it wasn't terribly challenging, but not every course has to be brutal.
Other Thoughts: The water level was down while we were there, so I assume it would be a bit more difficult during the rainy season. Overall, we enjoyed this little course while we were in Colorado!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Would be good if it wasn't raining

1    5/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: ferret_1986
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open holes with nice concrete tees. Layout of the course was nice.
Cons: All of the holes are open fields with a handful next to a pond.
No map of the course.
Other Thoughts: Length of the holes was good. A few more trees would be nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Expo Park Review

1    9/1/2012   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily accessible course in Denver in a very nice park with long open throws. Park is wide open and very well groomed grass.
Cons: Not a very challenging course but there are still a few throws over water hazard lakes and creeks that can make your disc impossible to recover.
Other Thoughts: If in Denver I would definitely play again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Geese Galore!

2-4    2/2/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: chrisgoldtop
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.8 Years
Pros: -Clean Park
-Water hazards, which I like.
-Concrete Tee pads
-Easy to find next tee pad for first timers
Cons: -Losing your disc in water
-For the most part too wide open
-Geese are everywhere in the winter
-Surprisingly busy
Other Thoughts: I actually enjoy this course. I always like courses with water hazards that make you focus a little more. I saw two people get their disc and fall through the ice into the lake. Be careful out there!

Classic Suburban Denver

1    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 23  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice neighborhood, feels very homey.

Great open feel. Lots of room for a busy first round of the year.

Very typical use of open space in Denver Metro Area. A low lying patch of land that serves as runoff for storms and floods.

Some longer holes encourage beginners like me to focus on form for maximum distance.

70+ people came out to play on New Year's Day. This is a popular course, and a must-play among the big courses in the region.
Cons: Wide open space. Few mature trees. I got sunburn from the reflective snow on January 1!

I'd bet, given the general geography of this park, that it is wet and sloppy after a melt or a storm.
Other Thoughts: The pond was frozen solid today, and many golfers went out to bring errant discs back. There was a good flow of water in and out of the pond, though, and I worry that the ice may be less forgiving on other days.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little public park.

2-4    12/15/2012   12/16/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 23.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good, full color map near the practice basket. Encased in a polyurethane case to protect it from the elements.
-Practice basket with plenty of room around it to warm up on those long putts
-Over half the holes have water in play, and except for hole 13, have very good basket positions to make them challenging yet not fustrating
-A few open bomber holes for the big arms to enjoy as well
-Tee number and distance carved directly into the back of the teepad, so no need to worry about vandalism
Cons: -Biggest gripe is the teepads. The have little channels grooved into them, I assume to funnel off water, bit makes run ups feel weird.
-While the layout is mostly intuitive, the lack of teesigns can make a few holes hard to find
-Tons of goose and duck feces on the teepads, sidewalks and baskets. Not Mich anyone can do a out that, but its really gross.
-Aside from the water, there's really no other obstacles, just a few random trees, but none that require any true shot shaping
Other Thoughts: Super busy park, which is a good thing for the sport. But its best to come with a group because, even in the winter months, you'll probably be waiting around a bit. Lots of non-disc golf traffic as well so as always, be respectful, and you're better off yelling "heads up!" Than "fore!" As they wont know otherwise.

Overall, a fun park that is pretty average. The water makes it pretty cool and adds more challenge than most park courses usually have. Begginers and intermediates are the target audience, but advanced players will ti.d some fun here too.
FAVORITE HOLE: 2; a 250 foot straight shot across the pond. A super fun little ace run that I hit chains on multiple times. Just a cool hole all around.
LEAST FAVORITE HOLE: 13; a long hole known locally as "The Island." Big arms may like it, but for my skill level it was just a stupid pain in the butt.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Tee Pads!

1    7/1/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expo Park DGC is set in a nice large green, sprawling park with lots of water hazards to throw over, around and next too. The tee pads are the best around. They are big and grippy with the hole # and distance molded right into the concrete-first rate all the way. The baskets are DGA with red numbers facing the correct way (that is towards the tee pad). They are lined in concrete pavers which is another nice touch here. Although the course is generally a recreational level course, # 13 is kind of a monster. It's 354' with a carry partly over the lake to a basket which sits on a small peninsula of land . That hole would challenge most any player. Myself, I kinda like # 12. It's a 267' downhill throw over the lake around some trees. It's somewhat scary looking at first but after throwing it the first time I realized that it's actually a fairly easy little hyser ACE run. There are quite a few fun little ACE runs on this course including, # 10, 12, 16 (195') and 18 (210').
Cons: The lake is disgusting and smelly. I'm glad I didn't throw any discs in it. The ditch doesn't seem to be much better. I played in July during the middle of a string of 100 degree days and the lake was way down. I'm sure it would way more menacing in the springtime. The course was fairly boring in places. I would lose some discs here, for sure.
Other Thoughts: Other than the monster hole (#13) I see this course as a decent recreational course. The lake and creek certainly add to the challenge/danger/thrill. I'd like to play it again and improve my score. It's a course where knowing how much room behind the basket would most certainly help you. I gave the lake a wide berth whenever possible. I didn't want to feed that green disc eating monster.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.