Aurora, CO
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #18 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 216ft.   3 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Short Tee



Reviews: 71
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Popular Denver Course

1    4/10/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +This course looks to be very popular. The locals were friendly and always let me play through. I was a fast playing solo course bagger and they understood.
+Ponds here for water hazards. Approachable yet challenging for many skill levels. There was always a pretty safe shot even if you can't throw far.
+Good variation in distances here. Some ace runs and some that will test the distance potential of many.
+Very well maintained and lanscaped. There was evidence of ongoing maintenance near the ponds when I played.
+Large concrete tees which are numbered to aid in navigation.
+There was a logical flow to the course which was good for me as a traveling player. You will likely have the chance to throw with or behind a local to help your navigation as well.
+Disc golf was fairly secluded from the rest of the course. You are unlikely to hit anyone.
Cons: -There were a few trees here, more than some other course in the area but still not many. There was rarely a hole that made you hit a certain line.
-Other than a few somewhat memorable holes, the course kind of blended together. I think that I would get bored if I lived near here. Not sure where else I would play though.
-The ponds smelled.
-The park looks like it would hold a lot of water after precipitation. Pretty dry right now though.
-Losing a disc is a real possibility.
-Could get pretty windy.
Other Thoughts: -There were a few holes that had a decent fun factor with the water.
-This is the best course in it's area of Denver but I did prefer Camenisch Park and DHU over this course. Denver is lacking in quality courses so if you don't have time to head to the mountains, this isn't a bad bet.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

As Flat As Denver Can Be

1    7/17/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 133  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park Setting - I absolutely love park-style courses, though I prefer a few more mature trees than Exposition Park provides. The park is well-maintained and clean. Sidewalks were in great condition. Grass was mowed. Landscaping was excellent. Exposition park is an aesthetically pleasing place.

Water - The course plays around a small creek and over a feeding pond at the back of the park. There is plenty of challenge, especially on windy days, and for out-of-towners who are not used to the additional disc stability from the elevation .

Pin Placement - The best attribute of Exposition Park, in my opinion, are the pin placements. Lots of risk/reward. Most are tucked fairly close to the water. Birdies are available, but aggressively going after that 50-foot putt can really mess you up if you're long.

Baskets/Pads - Baskets looked to be in good condition and all caught well. Pads were awesome. Very large providing plenty of space.
Cons: Redundancy - The course is so open that you can simply throw your preferred line off of every tee. For me, I was simply throwing gentle hyzer after gentle hyzer. You could easily play this course well with a driver, a mid and a putter.

No Tee Signs - Crossing back and forth over the creek as much as you do, it would really help if tee signs were there. Directionals pointing to the next tee at each basket would also be fine, but we didn't see any of those either. The pads have hole distance written into the concrete, but signs would be helpful for navigation.

Hole #1 - 'welcome to our course. Please throw ~270 feet in front of you with no obstacle of any kind'. That's really Hole #1. Nothing that gets the blood pumping for an exciting round. In my opinion, you should NEVER open or close a course with the most bland hole.

Goose Poop - It was everywhere. Tread carefully.
Other Thoughts: Exposition Park was a fun little stop since it wasn't far from the hotel. We were told it was in the "bad" part of town, but it didn't look too rough to me. I've definitely played in much seedier areas. Bottom line: the course is wide open, and really not that long. The only challenges are provided by the presence of water on most holes and the wind, which seems to get a little crazy at times.

While it was very short, #18 may have been my favorite hole in the Denver area. It is a great closing hole despite it's lack of distance. Water on the left of the fairway and long. A couple of planted trees in various parts of the fairway, though none over 8-10 feet in height. If you're up by a stroke, it can be intimidating knowing that you really need to birdie the hole, but the difference between a birdie and an OB bogey is very small. Great little finishing hole.

If you're in the area, Exposition Park is not a bad place to get in a quick round. The park can be a little crowded, but not nearly as crowded as Johnny Roberts or some of the other park courses in the Denver area. Don't go out of your way to play the course, but I don't think anyone would "hate" playing it, if it were convenient. It is a "typical" course, with water and pin-placement balancing out the wide open nature of the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

wide open

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: templink
Played: 52  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
Pros: Nice teepads with hole # and distance on them.
Fairly scenic walking park with a small lake the course plays around.
Cons: all holes repetitive and wide open between 250 and 320'. The one longer hole is 400, also wide open.
Virtually no challenge for advanced players.
Beginners might lose discs in the water.
Some fairways were swampy and pins were surrounded by mud/water (not by design).
Other Thoughts: would not play again. I was near Denver airport and found this course.


1    7/17/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Public park course playing over grassy fairways around several small lakes and a creek. Some of the best concrete tees anywhere- large, grooved with curves that point in the direction of the basket, with hole number and distance etched into them. The baskets are in great shape. Hole placements are tricky and strategic helping to make up for the lack of other obstacles.
Cons: Most holes were very wide open and had little to no obstacles. Yes many holes played next to the lake or creek, but there was also a generous and safe area to play the hole safely with little risk.

No tee signs, just pads, (info on the pad), but this makes it hard to see where they are the first time playing, especially since the course crosses the lakes multiple times.

This course is supposedly in the "not-so-good" part of town, but compared to many other places I have played with this reputation.
Other Thoughts: I played when it was very windy making it much tougher, but on a calm day this course would get fairly repetitive and easy to master being mostly just wide open. This is a good place to get out and learn to throw discs with ample room to work them.

I played here mainly because it was close to where we were staying when visiting, but if you are coming on vacation this is one that is not worth going out of your way to play. I have played many average courses like this in many cities across the U.S.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Park

1    9/27/2012   7/17/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 111  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 13.1 Years
Pros: Beautiful, wide open, well maintained park with very nice tee pads. There were some nice water holes, but nothing that really gets in your head. Lots of great scenery while moving though the course. Requires a variety of standard shots, but nothing too challenging. The course was easy to navigate and the parks department did a good job of not over crowding the disc golf area, so there wasn't really any risk of hitting walkers or kids on the play ground. the back 9 did have a few nice shade trees that people were picnic-ing under, but they were hip to the course and watched out for themselves.
Cons: This was a nice little course, if anything I can point to as a negative would be that it wasn't terribly challenging, but not every course has to be brutal.
Other Thoughts: The water level was down while we were there, so I assume it would be a bit more difficult during the rainy season. Overall, we enjoyed this little course while we were in Colorado!

Would be good if it wasn't raining

1    5/14/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: ferret_1986
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open holes with nice concrete tees. Layout of the course was nice.
Cons: All of the holes are open fields with a handful next to a pond.
No map of the course.
Other Thoughts: Length of the holes was good. A few more trees would be nice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Expo Park Review

1    9/1/2012   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily accessible course in Denver in a very nice park with long open throws. Park is wide open and very well groomed grass.
Cons: Not a very challenging course but there are still a few throws over water hazard lakes and creeks that can make your disc impossible to recover.
Other Thoughts: If in Denver I would definitely play again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Geese Galore!

2-4    2/2/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: chrisgoldtop
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.1 Years
Pros: -Clean Park
-Water hazards, which I like.
-Concrete Tee pads
-Easy to find next tee pad for first timers
Cons: -Losing your disc in water
-For the most part too wide open
-Geese are everywhere in the winter
-Surprisingly busy
Other Thoughts: I actually enjoy this course. I always like courses with water hazards that make you focus a little more. I saw two people get their disc and fall through the ice into the lake. Be careful out there!

Frozen

1    1/1/2013   1/13/2013
Review By: RibDaddy
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice park, Played in the MHDGC Tags match, great way to start the new year. The ponds were frozen and the Geese were flying.

Good variety of shots needed
Cons: When the ponds are not frozen you better bring some way to retrieve your disc in case you throw a little of course, lots of water here.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Quick Course

1    1/1/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course had a great lay out as it went throughout the park. Water came to play in most of the holes. The ponds where frozen solid on New Year Day and if you are new to the game you should play this course in the winter. It will keep you from losing your disk to a water hazards. One of the best marked tee box courses I have played with the distances marked in the concrete throwing pads.
Cons: GOOSE POOP! Even on the frozen snow covered ground you could see the grounds are covered in it. Do not wear your good shoes to play as they will need a cleaning after a round of golf. They need to extend the holes to have a few par 4 or 5 holes. The park does not have much for obstacles to throw around and it felt as though I was having to hold back during tee off. I could throw directly to most holes and even past many if I really let one rip. After playing one hole you felt as though many of the holes played the same just sightly shorter or longer.
Other Thoughts: If in the area you need to stop by and play this course, but they really need to figure out how to get rid of the geese. I would offer up another half star if they got rid of them. The only thing that keeps this course from 5 stars is that and the lack of obstacles and no long holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.