Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #14 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 330ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 77
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Decent intro course, great for wind practice

1    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: CodeMonkey
Played: 99  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of great rolling hills or flat grassy areas making it difficult to lose discs in anything other than the water hazards (see cons below). Great wind that can either help you learn to throw and what to throw in windy conditions or really screw with your "normal" game. Even long tees are fair to make par. Had some near aces and long puts with a new player friend.
Cons: Water hazards are fine if you can get to your disc in the hazard. Unfortunately over half of the tees are right up against muddy, smelly, and relatively deep looking ponds/lakes. The areas between the ponds are just creeks but the brush on each side of the creek can easily "eat" a disc, never to be found when it's likely right in front of you. We got lucky and didn't lose anything but saw several other folks that weren't so fortunate. Highly unlikely you will lose anything if you play smart/careful but the wind can really mess with that when you have long throws right at a basket up against the water.
Other Thoughts: Though these types of courses are not as fun or challenging as others in the area, they are great for practicing your technique and learning the game or how a new disc handles. Creates a more even playing field when playing with someone that has less experience playing. Less likely to waste a bunch of time looking for discs like many other courses nearby.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Busy Park

2-4    7/29/2011   7/26/2012
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty park, good tees and baskets. It's not too hard to find your way. There are a few unique shots.
Cons: The park is a public park with a DG course added so its CROWDED! I spent most of my time waiting for people to meander past the hole so I could throw. There is a lot of nasty water that you are likely to lose a disc in. There are a 3-4 holes that pose significant water hazards.
Other Thoughts: This could be a fun course early in the morning before the park is too crowded. Its wide open so there is little for obstacles except that water.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Tee Pads!

1    7/1/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expo Park DGC is set in a nice large green, sprawling park with lots of water hazards to throw over, around and next too. The tee pads are the best around. They are big and grippy with the hole # and distance molded right into the concrete-first rate all the way. The baskets are DGA with red numbers facing the correct way (that is towards the tee pad). They are lined in concrete pavers which is another nice touch here. Although the course is generally a recreational level course, # 13 is kind of a monster. It's 354' with a carry partly over the lake to a basket which sits on a small peninsula of land . That hole would challenge most any player. Myself, I kinda like # 12. It's a 267' downhill throw over the lake around some trees. It's somewhat scary looking at first but after throwing it the first time I realized that it's actually a fairly easy little hyser ACE run. There are quite a few fun little ACE runs on this course including, # 10, 12, 16 (195') and 18 (210').
Cons: The lake is disgusting and smelly. I'm glad I didn't throw any discs in it. The ditch doesn't seem to be much better. I played in July during the middle of a string of 100 degree days and the lake was way down. I'm sure it would way more menacing in the springtime. The course was fairly boring in places. I would lose some discs here, for sure.
Other Thoughts: Other than the monster hole (#13) I see this course as a decent recreational course. The lake and creek certainly add to the challenge/danger/thrill. I'd like to play it again and improve my score. It's a course where knowing how much room behind the basket would most certainly help you. I gave the lake a wide berth whenever possible. I didn't want to feed that green disc eating monster.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    9/13/2011   6/13/2012
Review By: shawnspraguer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open space with good visibility.
Grip and rip for working on long game. Some good mid range shots required.
Great condition concrete tee boxes.
Some water hazards to ensure you don't get sloppy.
Goose poop!
Cons: Lots of water. On a windy day you may need to get in the sludge pond if you're committed.
Not much in the way of technical shots.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course because it was real close but despite my many years of playing I still lost a few discs there. When there's no water in CO, it seems ironic that there's so much here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    6/1/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads. Easy parking. Clean, Water hazards.
Cons: Lots of people using the park. (Dog walkers, joggers etc.) You really have to pay attention when throwing.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to play after work. Pretty wide open, wind can be a factor.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Dangerous, but fun

1    6/2/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: DukeMcawesome
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long open drives.
Easy to get to and find.
The concrete tee pads have both the hole number and hole length molded into it.
Trees on some holes add a little bit of a non-disc-eating challenge which was nice.
There is detailed course map at the start.
Beautiful course.
Cons: The course hugs the ponds and the small stream. This creates a huge potential to lose discs. To compound this, the ponds look filthy, mitigating any desire one might have to recover discs (though there's apparently a local black market for discs recovered by people willing to brave the water, according to the review by jordonashton, and I think I saw one such "swamp person").

Although I said the course is beautiful, the ponds make it smelly.

I threw across the stream on 15, but the stream is too far and the rocks were to slippery to jump across, so I decided to wade across rather than the long walk around. I threw into the stream on 16, and it was just far enough in that I had to step in to get my disc. The stream was pure mud in that area and there was rusty metal on the shore right where I entered.

Because the tee pads are numbered, there are no standing signs to mark the start of a hole. This caused a little difficulty finding the start of 3 and 8 for my first time through. I had the foresight to take a picture of the course map which I had to refer to in these instances.

I chose to play very safe, choosing to drive wide of the water and then approach the water with more controlled shots. The little tree just on the left at the end of the tee pad on #2 made throwing a powerful-yet-safe shot very difficult.
Other Thoughts: Use your phone to take a picture of the course map on your first go round if no one in your party knows the course as some of the hole transitions aren't obvious, and there aren't any above-ground signs to help.

I wrote more about the cons to explain my opinions more. The pros are pretty self explanatory. I feel that the pros and cons balance each other, creating a dangerous (in the sense of losing a disc), but fun experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Swamp People

5+    5/9/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: jordanashton
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Generally a fun place to play for armature to advanced players.

-However, due to the many water hazards, I wouldn't recommend beginners just starting out.

-The tee pads are concrete and very nicely marked.

-Not usually too busy so you can throw a couple extra discs and not feel rushed.
Cons:
Wretchedly disgusting stagnant water swallows discs all day long.

The swamp people that seemingly reside out there pull out discs by the hand full! They sell discs on the shore whether you have your name and number on there or not.

Don't get me wrong someone's got to get the massive amount of discs out of the water; but have the decadency to pick up the phone and at least text someone about their disc before selling it off.

Furthermore, some the people in the park have absolutely no clue that there's a golf course. Sometimes you will have to skip holes because people are picnicking in the middle of the fairway!
Other Thoughts:
This is my "home" course, as I live just across the way. It's a good place to learn to play, Just don't bring your expensive discs to this park. If you throw it in you won't see it ever again (unless you come back on the right day and pay to get it back)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Family Fun

2-4    4/20/2010   4/30/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 115  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park is great, well kept, trashcans, playground community center, excellent information for the park. Great baskets, teepads, practice basket, shooting over water.
Other Thoughts: This course is beginner friendly not much rough shorter open holes, great park

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/7/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: Modelle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to follow and well marked. Can get crowded esp since MHC disc competition coming up. Many water shots, liking them all except 13. It will gobble discs so I throw DX's on this one. Somewhat challenging mostly because of the water.
Cons: Cons hole 13!! Pond can get stinky and they over water the course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Steady course in Aurora

2-4    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open course that is not usually busy allows for mostly unimpeded play except for the occasional pedestrian. Mixes up short and long holes and a decent use of water hazard to make you think twice about your shot.
Cons: Not enough obstacles for me. Water comes into play on half the holes if you do not like to retrieve your discs from nasty water.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a good course and should be on your to play list. Its not a favorite by any means, but a solid course for the denver metro area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.