Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 198ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short & Sweet

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expo Park is a short course great for beginners and more experienced players. The fairways are big as are the tee pads. Beginners don't have to worry about trees. I only play for aces. It is really fun to try and ace nearly every hole. Crowds are pretty minimal.
Cons: Water! I don't play #13 anymore because it is high risk, low reward. Who designed this course? Losing discs makes me want to give up the sport. If you lose your disc into the lake (or the creek) you are not getting it back unless you retrieve it yourself. People regularly wade in the lake and retrieve piles of discs. I have lost 5 discs with my number on them and I have never been called. If the creek is flooded just lay up. It floods regularly. The course has a lot of ducks and geese and their excrement. The tee pads have distances, but some are wrong. The pro tees are not very visible. The water is putrid and is trash filled.
Other Thoughts: The park offers locals many nice amenities so be polite to others in the park. You should play this course in Denver if you like to go for aces. Take your cheap discs and if you go for a hole near water be prepared for the consequences.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 high risk/reward

1    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: colodiscgolfer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, well tended park. Concrete tees were generally in good condition, though shorter and wider than most. Nice mach 3 baskets in good condition. The course plays over ponds and creeks on 11 of the 18 holes, which create some high risk/reward drives.
Cons: Mostly shorter holes. Tee 16 is not level, or even close to it. The ponds are filthy, nasty, smelly water with pond scum galore.
Other Thoughts: The course was a bit too easy for my tastes. Every hole is a birdy attempt unless you shank your drive. There were only a handful of trees scattered on the course, and the only other obstacle was the ponds. Retrieving a disc from the pond SUCKS! If it wasn't a brand spanking new disc I lobbed in there, I would have left it. I would play this course again if in the area or for a tourny, but wouldn't go out of my way to play it casually again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and convenient...

1    7/22/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee pads with the hole number and distance stamped in, nice baskets, some signs, and a decent course design. This course is one of the few in the area. It is set in a nice park where the grounds are well maintained. Bathrooms and other facilities are present. Several water holes present (2, 6, 9-16, 18) to include ponds and a creek. I like the layout of hole #2 shooting over the pond.
Cons: This course is too short. I had a terrible round and still finished at even. One of the holes is only 185 feet. Most of the holes are significantly less than 300 feet. There is no place to really throw a long open drive. IMO too much emphasis was put on placing the pins next to the water. It opened it up for flooding. There was a good storm that came through the day before, and it flooded out the tee pad for #10 and left a lot of water and mud around some of the baskets. There are ducks, geese, and people in the park that get in the way of the round. Navigating this course can be difficult if you don't know it.
Other Thoughts: This would be a good course to take out beginners or children. The park is scenic.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First Timers Great Time

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Elkman27
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fairlly easy, Nice water holes, good basket location. Well Kept lawn green grass, fun in sandles and leisure atire. and wide open holes so you can let them rip.
Cons: Not alot of shade. Thats about the only Con i got
Other Thoughts: A very fun course, so fun i had to play twice, there is alot of room for anouther 18 holes, that would be great.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Expo

5+    6/1/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Sectorado
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course to play if you are near Denver, Dog Leg Discs is a few blocks away, some holes to let your driver rip and others you can use a putter,practice hole, nice tee pads
Cons: Other than the lake, not many obstacles, can be a lot of people and kids walking through the park or playing in between the tee and basket, can get busy, if you play often expect to lose a disc or two
Other Thoughts: You don't want to go in the water, so better to play it safe on some holes, especially when it's windy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course, stinky air

5+    5/17/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The concrete tee pads at this course are very nice. The designer thought long about how to maximize the tee pads to add hole info on them. The design of the course creates some long shots, some short shots and some intimidating shots. The park is mostly grass so that makes play more enjoyable. Most tees are easy to spot from the previous basket.
Cons: The park smells something funky when it is warm because of the nasty lake water. There is a lot of trash/goo in the water areas. I would not recommend going in to the lake to retrieve a lost disc. There are many families that frequent the park's walking path so you have to be careful when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: This course plays pretty fast. Most players can get 18 holes in about an hour. There are some potential ace holes and some longer drives so each shot is not boring. Like most city parks you have to deal with non-DGers, but is minimal. There is a very nice disc golf shop minutes away from this course called Dog Leg Discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 nice grass

2-4    5/13/2008   4/25/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: beautiful grass and park. mostly wide open. some nice water hazards. some fun over/near the water shots. good use of the few trees. very nice tee boxes!!!
Cons: quite muddy in some parts. Goose scat everywhere. lots of people walking, and kids playing to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: this is a good little course some long but not all long, so it makes it a nice even walk. great grass where it is not muddy,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but nothing special

1    4/16/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a well kept, mostly open park, this course is great for those that can take risky shots over and around water. Not much accuracy is needed to conquer this course, but confidence is required to blast over water hazards. The fairways are very green with top-notch baskets and large, unique tee pads with numbers and hole lengths. The pins that don't play around the water are mostly flat and open making easy targets for beginners. The holes are mostly short ranging in length from 150'-350' and one 400' hole. Young trees on open fairways can make holes tougher in the future.
Cons: Although I have only played it once, I did not find this course very challenging at all. The holes are too flat and open.The course water hazards may frustrate some disc golfers. The pond is very disgusting, so be careful what you throw where it is in play. You don't want to go in that water! Geese have maintained their habitat in the area and leave droppings everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Stay off of the course at night because this is not a very good area of town to be at after dark.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 69  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Both the tee pads and the baskets are in very good condition. This course uses the entire park spreading out each hole. Most of the holes go around the lake in the park to provide a little more difficulty. It has both short holes and longer holes for all age uses and ability levels. The baskets are in a concrete ring which I feel is a nice added touch.
Cons: There is goose "crap" everywhere! Be prepared to step in a lot of it. When the course starts to wrap back around the other side of the lake the smell really starts to pick up. The park was kinda busy for a week day, for the most park the non disc golf players stay out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this course when playing in the greater Denver Metro area. This course is a good half hour drive from where I live and I can wait to make that drive to play it again.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat course with water.

5+    2/20/2012   3/24/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy access to get to, parking is very reasonable. Nice large kiosik with large map to study. Teepads are massive, with interesting grooves, obviously some time spent on those. I like the big numbers and hole length on the teepad. Not a whole lot of elevation here, but the water definately comes into play on several holes to add some challenge. Plays much like Vista del Camino in Phoenix. A few of the baskets are close to the water which will make you think about what shot to take. Carefully thrown discs will allow for an easy par on these holes.
Cons: Study the map at the kiosik first otherwise navigation can be an issue. Minimal trees at this park and the yonger ones that there are really don't affect the flight path too much. Most of the holes are wide open, just let it fly. Elevation is pretty minimal. Some of the teepads are slightly uneven, nothing too distracting though. The landscape here just doesn't lend itself to a great course layout, i.e. fairly flat and a few trees. The water is a hazard in itself. Black smelly water thanks to the numerous geese that make that park their own. I think the water is some sort of reclaimed "cleaned" water. Lose a disc in that and good luck. Watch your step, goose poop is there in large amounts. Large sidewalk goes throughout park and is used by many, this can cause delays in teeing off.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for water holes in the area, then this is the place to go. Aside from the water, this course lacks other real obstacles to create a challenge to more experienced players and they should easily be able to shoot under par for this course. New players could get easily frustrated on some of the water holes by losing discs, not a good way to get them started into disc golf.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.