Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 281ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    3/16/2009   3/26/2009
Review By: Usher
Played: 71  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Both the tee pads and the baskets are in very good condition. This course uses the entire park spreading out each hole. Most of the holes go around the lake in the park to provide a little more difficulty. It has both short holes and longer holes for all age uses and ability levels. The baskets are in a concrete ring which I feel is a nice added touch.
Cons: There is goose "crap" everywhere! Be prepared to step in a lot of it. When the course starts to wrap back around the other side of the lake the smell really starts to pick up. The park was kinda busy for a week day, for the most park the non disc golf players stay out of the way.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this course when playing in the greater Denver Metro area. This course is a good half hour drive from where I live and I can wait to make that drive to play it again.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Flat course with water.

5+    2/20/2012   3/24/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy access to get to, parking is very reasonable. Nice large kiosik with large map to study. Teepads are massive, with interesting grooves, obviously some time spent on those. I like the big numbers and hole length on the teepad. Not a whole lot of elevation here, but the water definately comes into play on several holes to add some challenge. Plays much like Vista del Camino in Phoenix. A few of the baskets are close to the water which will make you think about what shot to take. Carefully thrown discs will allow for an easy par on these holes.
Cons: Study the map at the kiosik first otherwise navigation can be an issue. Minimal trees at this park and the yonger ones that there are really don't affect the flight path too much. Most of the holes are wide open, just let it fly. Elevation is pretty minimal. Some of the teepads are slightly uneven, nothing too distracting though. The landscape here just doesn't lend itself to a great course layout, i.e. fairly flat and a few trees. The water is a hazard in itself. Black smelly water thanks to the numerous geese that make that park their own. I think the water is some sort of reclaimed "cleaned" water. Lose a disc in that and good luck. Watch your step, goose poop is there in large amounts. Large sidewalk goes throughout park and is used by many, this can cause delays in teeing off.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for water holes in the area, then this is the place to go. Aside from the water, this course lacks other real obstacles to create a challenge to more experienced players and they should easily be able to shoot under par for this course. New players could get easily frustrated on some of the water holes by losing discs, not a good way to get them started into disc golf.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Put your phone # on your discs

5+    3/20/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets and is easy to navigate. Mostly flatland with gentle slopes on some holes. Good course if you are itching for a chill day with not a lot of workout. Ideal for a quick after work round. The water hazards add some technical shots to the course. Stay dry and watch your score drop!
Cons: The water on this course is extremely polluted! You do not want to get in this water, bring a "Golden Retriever" or a floater driver. Some of the holes have a nice design, but for the most part the baskets are a straight shot from the tee. There tends to be a lot of foot traffic on the course on weekends or evenings, the layout avoids most of the traffic, but not all so watch out for kids and dog-walkers.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course most of the time. Sure, the design isn't that inspired, but it's a great relaxing round...if you stay dry and if there aren't any frolf-oblivious pedestrians. There are a couple of spray-painted pro tees on the sidewalks that add some challenge, particularly #18, across the lake. Also, I heard "Dog Leg Discs" struck a deal with the swampers to sell back lake-bound discs (for a modest fee) with phone numbers on them. Put your number on your disc and you may get a call back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I've played much better

1    3/22/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: drewbiggs
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has 18 holes with tee boxes. The park is easily accessible.
Cons: As others mentioned, goose "dirt" everywhere. To make matters worse, I guess they decided that covering all available grass with additional manure would help green it up. While this may be true, I spent the entire time literally playing in poo. Smelled great. Oh ya, The smallest group out there was a foursome. Most groups were 5+. I saw several of 7 and 8. Are you serious? All of the holes are about the same length and other than some water hazards, there is no technicality to it.
Other Thoughts: Less poop, smaller groups, and more trees would make this course a winner.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, but...

2-4    2/10/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expo is a wide-open course with few obstacles, but the great use of the creek and ponds as water hazards make it more fun than most field-golf courses. The pads are well made and level and targets are properly maintained. It is intuitively planned and number markers on the pads make it difficult to get lost.
Cons: The water is gross. On a hot day it can stink a little. Going in the water is not for the faint-of-heart. I read some complaints about goose poop everywhere. That's Northern Colorado. The park is so pretty that if I were a goose, I'd want to be there, too.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for water practice. Put it out there and hope it fades (or turns) back. I score it 3/5 discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Water Park

1    3/8/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent tee pads with marked distances on them. Very open course with few obstacles other than water. Great place to practice in the wind. Grass is very short and well kept. Good place for a low scoring round if you stay dry.
Cons: Lot of geese droppings through out the course. The water is gross. The ground can be soggy in the lower areas. Not very technical due to lack of trees. Some pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: Holes 12 & 13 are placed dangerously close to the water. Some times laying up is better than getting wet. Watch the skip because the grass is short. Bring a golden retriever and a lot of courage. I recommend having a Hydra or a Dragon for this course because they float. Can get real windy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Disc Golf Gaggle

5+    3/2/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Visually this course is well built and beautiful. The tee pads are huge and widen toward the top. This is nice because quite a few holes are over 300ft and the tee pads provide ample room for a run up. The baskets are high quality as well. The course is mowed and has an open layout. Many of the trees on the course are fairly new and the course will improve as the trees get bigger. For instance, hole number four will eventually require an accurate drive through a dozen trees, but currently the trees are still short enough to play a disc over the top of them. The course is not usually very busy with other disc golfers, although many of the holes pass alongside of pedestrian sidewalks and there does tend to be a lot of other people using the park. Overall, the course flows nicely in a figure eight around and between the lakes.
Cons: There were a minimum of 700 geese in this park when we began to play our round. The majority of them flew away at the same time and basically blackened the sky. I would normally consider wildlife a benefit of a course, but this was out of control. There is not a single square foot of the park that wasn't covered in goose poop. The lakes, as a result, are absolutely disgusting. Walking into the lakes to retrieve a disc is literally walking into dissolved goose excrement.

This course is straight forward and does not require many tough shots. Unfortunately, the few demanding shots it does have are over the lakes, so many players will take safe shots instead of trying their hand at clearing the water. If you do go for the basket on number two, the opposite bank is farther away than it looks so I recommend trying to overthrow the basket.
On previous visits to this course, I have found the grass soggy and over watered and I have also arrived at this course to find it completely flooded. The park is well maintained by normal standards, but park maintenance has some unique animal and drainage problems with this park that they need to address.
Other Thoughts: There are not any other courses east of downtown Denver and Exposition Park becomes the default when I am in that area of the city. It is a fun course to play, but be sure to wash your hands and your discs when you finish.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good family outing course

5+    3/19/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice inner-city park location with winding cement path throughout. Fairly flat and open and stroller-friendly. Good place for kids to learn.
Cons: A lot of disrespectful park-goers use this park. Trash in and near stream and ponds. Area serves as a sewer overflow area. Water is nasty and grass can be moist or flooded with heavy rains. Stinky in the summer months at times.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place to bring the family if it's not stinky or not wet. Easy to stroller through. Nice playground area too.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The water is NASTY!!!

5+    9/6/2008   2/6/2009
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's in a nice park.(well maintained) The pins are short and easy and there is a good mix of shots.
Cons: There are two ponds that come in to play on like 7 or 8 of the holes. Whatever you do play it safe. Cause these ponds are gross. tons of goose poop. I have herd of people getting sick from being in there to long. don't play this course at night. I have a friend that witnessed a Gang fight that ended in a shooting. noone was hurt but still scared him..
Other Thoughts: good for begginers

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Suburban Hell

1    11/19/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: disconsolator
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some of the most original and functional teepads I have seen. Imagine the symbol used for "signal strength" except 10 feet long. Baskets are really nice and park has a clean look.
Cons: There is goose crap everywhere. You could put your bag in it, slip on it on the tee, get it on your disc etc.
The landscape of the course is barren, no big mature trees, no bushes, no life really. It makes it difficult to be creative with the design -which where the con of the water comes in. There are some man made lakes that run through the course. I'm all for some water shots, but to make the course "challenging" by putting 14 or so of the baskets within 25 feet of water is just poor. Again, the risk should lose you strokes, not discs. Maybe one or two close to the water when you really have to challenge and make that decision to go for it or not is fine, but laying up or playing safe so you don't lose a disc almost every hole is not disc golf. I guess without these shots, the course might be even worse.
Other Thoughts: Not too much you can do with a flat sterile park like that I'm afraid.
Really bad public sculpture as well.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.