Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9
3 / 303ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 can be under water



Reviews: 75
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome Tee Pads!

1    7/1/2012   7/2/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 614  Exp: 36.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expo Park DGC is set in a nice large green, sprawling park with lots of water hazards to throw over, around and next too. The tee pads are the best around. They are big and grippy with the hole # and distance molded right into the concrete-first rate all the way. The baskets are DGA with red numbers facing the correct way (that is towards the tee pad). They are lined in concrete pavers which is another nice touch here. Although the course is generally a recreational level course, # 13 is kind of a monster. It's 354' with a carry partly over the lake to a basket which sits on a small peninsula of land . That hole would challenge most any player. Myself, I kinda like # 12. It's a 267' downhill throw over the lake around some trees. It's somewhat scary looking at first but after throwing it the first time I realized that it's actually a fairly easy little hyser ACE run. There are quite a few fun little ACE runs on this course including, # 10, 12, 16 (195') and 18 (210').
Cons: The lake is disgusting and smelly. I'm glad I didn't throw any discs in it. The ditch doesn't seem to be much better. I played in July during the middle of a string of 100 degree days and the lake was way down. I'm sure it would way more menacing in the springtime. The course was fairly boring in places. I would lose some discs here, for sure.
Other Thoughts: Other than the monster hole (#13) I see this course as a decent recreational course. The lake and creek certainly add to the challenge/danger/thrill. I'd like to play it again and improve my score. It's a course where knowing how much room behind the basket would most certainly help you. I gave the lake a wide berth whenever possible. I didn't want to feed that green disc eating monster.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    9/13/2011   6/13/2012
Review By: shawnspraguer
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open space with good visibility.
Grip and rip for working on long game. Some good mid range shots required.
Great condition concrete tee boxes.
Some water hazards to ensure you don't get sloppy.
Goose poop!
Cons: Lots of water. On a windy day you may need to get in the sludge pond if you're committed.
Not much in the way of technical shots.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course because it was real close but despite my many years of playing I still lost a few discs there. When there's no water in CO, it seems ironic that there's so much here.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

1    6/1/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: vagabond
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pads. Easy parking. Clean, Water hazards.
Cons: Lots of people using the park. (Dog walkers, joggers etc.) You really have to pay attention when throwing.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to play after work. Pretty wide open, wind can be a factor.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Dangerous, but fun

1    6/2/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: DukeMcawesome
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long open drives.
Easy to get to and find.
The concrete tee pads have both the hole number and hole length molded into it.
Trees on some holes add a little bit of a non-disc-eating challenge which was nice.
There is detailed course map at the start.
Beautiful course.
Cons: The course hugs the ponds and the small stream. This creates a huge potential to lose discs. To compound this, the ponds look filthy, mitigating any desire one might have to recover discs (though there's apparently a local black market for discs recovered by people willing to brave the water, according to the review by jordonashton, and I think I saw one such "swamp person").

Although I said the course is beautiful, the ponds make it smelly.

I threw across the stream on 15, but the stream is too far and the rocks were to slippery to jump across, so I decided to wade across rather than the long walk around. I threw into the stream on 16, and it was just far enough in that I had to step in to get my disc. The stream was pure mud in that area and there was rusty metal on the shore right where I entered.

Because the tee pads are numbered, there are no standing signs to mark the start of a hole. This caused a little difficulty finding the start of 3 and 8 for my first time through. I had the foresight to take a picture of the course map which I had to refer to in these instances.

I chose to play very safe, choosing to drive wide of the water and then approach the water with more controlled shots. The little tree just on the left at the end of the tee pad on #2 made throwing a powerful-yet-safe shot very difficult.
Other Thoughts: Use your phone to take a picture of the course map on your first go round if no one in your party knows the course as some of the hole transitions aren't obvious, and there aren't any above-ground signs to help.

I wrote more about the cons to explain my opinions more. The pros are pretty self explanatory. I feel that the pros and cons balance each other, creating a dangerous (in the sense of losing a disc), but fun experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Swamp People

5+    5/9/2012   5/9/2012
Review By: jordanashton
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Generally a fun place to play for armature to advanced players.

-However, due to the many water hazards, I wouldn't recommend beginners just starting out.

-The tee pads are concrete and very nicely marked.

-Not usually too busy so you can throw a couple extra discs and not feel rushed.
Cons:
Wretchedly disgusting stagnant water swallows discs all day long.

The swamp people that seemingly reside out there pull out discs by the hand full! They sell discs on the shore whether you have your name and number on there or not.

Don't get me wrong someone's got to get the massive amount of discs out of the water; but have the decadency to pick up the phone and at least text someone about their disc before selling it off.

Furthermore, some the people in the park have absolutely no clue that there's a golf course. Sometimes you will have to skip holes because people are picnicking in the middle of the fairway!
Other Thoughts:
This is my "home" course, as I live just across the way. It's a good place to learn to play, Just don't bring your expensive discs to this park. If you throw it in you won't see it ever again (unless you come back on the right day and pay to get it back)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Family Fun

2-4    4/20/2010   4/30/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 108  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This park is great, well kept, trashcans, playground community center, excellent information for the park. Great baskets, teepads, practice basket, shooting over water.
Other Thoughts: This course is beginner friendly not much rough shorter open holes, great park

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/7/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: Modelle
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to follow and well marked. Can get crowded esp since MHC disc competition coming up. Many water shots, liking them all except 13. It will gobble discs so I throw DX's on this one. Somewhat challenging mostly because of the water.
Cons: Cons hole 13!! Pond can get stinky and they over water the course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Steady course in Aurora

2-4    9/5/2011   9/5/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open course that is not usually busy allows for mostly unimpeded play except for the occasional pedestrian. Mixes up short and long holes and a decent use of water hazard to make you think twice about your shot.
Cons: Not enough obstacles for me. Water comes into play on half the holes if you do not like to retrieve your discs from nasty water.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is a good course and should be on your to play list. Its not a favorite by any means, but a solid course for the denver metro area.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 The Expo Experience

5+    8/30/2011   9/1/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 66  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Exposition Park is a flat, wide open, grassy plot of land interwoven with sidewalks and dotted with various bodies of water. It is truly an ideal course for beginners and intermediates because most of the holes play a straight line across spacious fairways blocked only by small, well-groomed trees. The park's hungry water obstacles claim more than their fair share of plastic, giving Expo a reputation for it amongst Denver's urban courses. Aside from the disc-eating ponds, whose presence poses the only real challenge on the course, it is a well-kept, attractive park. There are usually plenty of people out and about, but pedestrian and bicycle crossings very rarely interfere with the game and you'll never have to throw across a path from the tee box. The course's best features are its spacious cement tee pads displaying the hole number and distance, good quality baskets, trash cans, benches, overall upkeep, convenient location and lastly, let's not forget the 4 fun holes alongside the lightly wooded creek.
Cons: Hole #1 is in the middle of an open field and cannot easily be accessed from either of the 2 nearby parking lots, which is a serious design flaw. The ponds flood at least a handful of times each year, leaving a ring of debris and trash 20 feet inland. Luckily, it's generally cleaned up in a few days. Even during the most lengthy droughts there are mud puddles behind and in front of many of the cement tees. In various places, the ground beneath the grass is like a soggy sponge and you won't know it until your foot is squishing into it. The tee box for hole #10 is usually covered in a film of greasy mud because it is too close to the shore. Geese overtake the ponds and shores in winter months and their excrement is everywhere.

There is very little elevation change to speak of throughout the course. Multiple pin locations would be a huge improvement. There is a wealth of free space for it on the existing course and as often as the Aurora Parks & Rec crews are out doing maintenance, moving the baskets would seem a very small task.
Other Thoughts: PARKING: There are 4 different places to park that give access to the course: the main lot at the recreation center off Exposition Ave, the baseball field parking lot (southwest corner of park), streetside parking off Lansing St near basket #4, and the east corner of the Red Lobster parking lot which gives access to tee #12. These options are convenient if you want to play a specific part of the course or change up your starting point.
ALTERNATE TEES: There are some not-so-well-known alternate tees that play from the sidewalks. 2 of them are on the sidewalk to the west of baskets #8 and #10 and another is on the sidewalk behind the #15 tee pad. There is also one faintly marked on the sidewalk behind tee #1, which turns it into a very long fairway drive.

In a nutshell, Expo is a fun, convenient place for a round of 18. It is a valuable location whose radius is notably void of other disc parks. In that regard, Expo is Denver metro's best disc golf offering east of I-25.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    7/18/2011   7/18/2011
Review By: Fiznizzle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Wide open holes with very little trees/bushes in the way.

Although the park is used for other reasons, the disc golf course always seems "open". Never really that busy.

Incredible tee pads, clearly marked hole numbers, distances, and the pads point you towards the baskets!

Great course to learn how to play the game.
Cons: Stinky, stagnate water, full of nasty stuff!

Lots of mosquitos... course can flood at times and be soggy.

The park is used for lots of other reasons (walking, biking, etc.,) There are people who have no clue that disc golf is even being played.

The shore gets steep fast, if a disc goes in the water on the back 9, more than likely-it is gone!
Other Thoughts: Bring a disc retriever along with you! Lots of water!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.