Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: filmwalrus Hole #8 (Taken 11/2010)
3 / 402ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Expo Park

2-4    9/5/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Dreeley
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good mix of short to long holes.
A couple tough pin placements.
Easy to navigate.
Traffic is moderate
Cons: Not much in the park to make it real challenging.
Very open. No real accurate throws needed to score well (-2).
The park is always wet. They water this place way too much.
Usually mud pits/severe drop offs behind tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Good warm up course.
Somewhere to go if you just want a relaxed round to throw. Not really challenging, but not a piece of cake... Big arm is needed on occasion.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Eater

2-4    6/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: HAWKSNEST1979
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Only course in this part of town.
Full lush grass fairways
Cons: Not many trees on this course and the only thing that makes the course challenging is the ponds. Problem is the ponds are disgusting and become deep immediately.. You throw in there and you're not getting it back. Lost a bunch of discs because of poor throws, high winds, or the fact the basket is right next to the bank.
Never been afraid to go in after a disc but not setting foot in these ponds.

Course hardly has any trees and far too many wide open shots.
Other Thoughts: If you lose a few discs and come back on the weekends you may very well be able to buy your disc back at a discounted price from a guy that looks like he's homeless so never had an issue buying disc from him. I sure am not going in that pond after a disc. Played one weekend and a tournament the next and bought back my own disc.

I have no interest in going back to this course when you consider how many technical courses with elevation changes there are in Denver.

I wouldn't recommend this course. Beginners are gonna lose their discs and experienced players aren't going to be challenged.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Nice grassy course

1    8/31/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: Pwhitma
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Open space, grassy (sandal friendly), long and short holes, built like a golf course without many holes around you congesting things at all, map at course head, easy to follow design
Cons: Could use a couple long long holes, but thats ok. Water in play on many holes, but not overbearing shots needed.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to play, by public school, many people biking walking around, but no one is ever in the way, skip on windy day for sure.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/21/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Freakyjazer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Varying shots. Water in play on most of the holes. Wide open. Concrete tee boxes.
Cons: Lack of vertical signs makes finding the next hole difficult. Easy to lose discs on a windy day. The lakes are very dirty and smell awful. Tons of bird droppings.
Other Thoughts: Skip this course on a windy day.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice... if you like geese

2-4    7/14/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: turchynowicz
Played: 64  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained grass, open (treeless) park. The ponds make up for the lack of trees regarding obstacles.
The pads are the highest quality I've played on.
Early morning play offers no crowds and friendly walkers.
This is a great first timer park as well. You really have lots of space to see what your discs will do.
Cons: Be advised that the flow of the park is very odd. I would strongly advise using this website and print off the scorecard that includes a map. Signage pointing out the direction of the next tee would be helpful.
Use caution in the mornings, the sprinklers come on without warning and use non-potable water.
It's evident to me this site is a former wetland as the soils do not drain well, and this is also the source of the odor noted in other comments.
Other Thoughts: I don't want to make this report sound awful. It really is a good park. Just bring a towel and be ready to wipe goose poo off your shoes and discs.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: thatdirtykid
Played: 36  Reviewed: 11
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Although the course is pretty open OB sidewalks and water hazards make placement very important on 66% of the holes. Course is rather short. Hole 4 marked >400 is not 400'. Unless I can throw a Buzzz or a Pred spike hyzer 400+. Hole 8 plays longest, but is reachable for the average 925+ rated player. The course is well manicured, and mostly disc golf only used. The paths do get used, but usually only have to wait for 1 jogger per hole max.
Cons: Beginners get discouraged quickly losing discs often here. Only one placement per hole. While the concrete rings and gravel under the pins look great, a prefect shot that would usually stick in the lush grass of this course will often skip for a difficult putt.
Other Thoughts: This was my home course when I was learning how to play. Helped me develop a decent grasp of when taking risks is worth it. But now, its a less than exciting course, with my personal course record being a -16. Avg closer to a -6. Definately duce or die when playing competitively.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 STINKY.

1    6/20/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: monkeytaco
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee boxes and baskets. Placement of baskets in relation to water is good, some gentle elevation changes add a little challenge.
Cons: Overall way too open. Not much in the way of obstacles, the water REALLY smells BAD. If you dump a disc in the water, make sure all your immunizations are current before going in after it. Lots of geese and poop everywhere. The ground is soggy and wet (muddy around the baskets) if you play before noon.
Other Thoughts: Until there are some more mature trees in this park, this course is way too open and easy for an experienced player, although it does feel good to launch a whopper of a drive on several holes here.

It may be better in the winter when the water is frozen and doesn't stink so bad. Depending on which way the wind is blowing it smells like you're playing in a sewer.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Expo

5+    5/1/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: bkunited
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Accessibility to Denver metro area
2. Park atmosphere is comfortable
3. Water can be a psychological opponent
Cons: 1. Lack of trees and obstacles
2. Foul smelling water
Other Thoughts: - Looks like the park ponds have recently been cleaned out
- Some of the bushes/trees near the creek have been cut down, making it less likely to lose a disc in the weeds

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Curve 'em or lose 'em

1    4/4/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: AggieTau
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing open area, lots of people running around. The course has a lot of holes that are an easy birdie or eagle if you throw right. It's a very technical course if you're working on your accuracy and placing the disc where you want it.
Cons: The water hazards look shallow but they're deep as hell. I lost a disc on #2 over the water and could see it a few feet from the shore. I rolled up the pants and stepped in, only to sink four feet deep in duck muck.
Other Thoughts: f it's in the water, it's gone unless you're a hippie stoner who fishes it out and doesn't play well with others. I almost had to fight someone for not returning my disc. Name and # on the disc mean nothing here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/21/2010   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This being my first stop on the way in from the airport, I wasn't disappointed, totally different feel than play at sea-level; nice creek running through the course; three frozen ponds with geese galore - must have been at least 2000+ out there; nice little course with excellent tee pads and baskets.
Cons: Tons of bird droppings, I thought they were dog droppings
Other Thoughts: Santizer/towel for you and your discs, bag to put your shoes in when done. Keep your disc out of creek if possible, you'll thank me later

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.