Disc Golf Store
Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 294ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 76
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Ok course

1    11/27/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: smuggler
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open, easy to just gun for the hole. No finesse needed here. Course map at the beginning is helpful.
Cons: The ponds and creek provide the only challenge. The trees add to the course, but for now are too young to add any challenge. As others have said, the ducks and geese cause a bit of a problem with their waste.
Other Thoughts: I wish this course wasn't the closest to home. As I didn't find this one very challenging.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Worth taking a gander

1    7/19/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
*Water: The lakes and connecting creeks make this course. They add beauty and most of the challenge. Without the water this would be a pretty open and boring course. The water is in play or in view on 11 holes. According to my preferences, my favorite holes are the shots over the water. This risk vs. reward of the water provided the greatest challenge and interest for me. My favorite was hole 13. It's a challenging length at 355 ft, slight downhill, with the lake all along the right side making it risky for RHBH. I also liked the drive over the lake on 2, over the corner of the water on 12, and with the lake on the left on 18.
*Beauty: The verdant grass was very well mowed; combined with the water this had a serene and orderly feel to it.

Design-
*The course plays in a figure 8 pattern around 2 lakes so this creates shot variety with the water being sometimes on the left and sometimes on the right side.

Basics-
*Tee pads- excellent. Long, concrete, trapezoids.
*Baskets- first class. Mach III with number plates.
*Navigation- generally clear and easy, but the map is needed in a few spots.

Amenities-
*There's a nice big course map on a park sign, as well as 2 maps available online. There are good restrooms, a scorecard online, a very good warm up basket, and numerous benches and trash cans along the walking trail.
Cons:
Basics
-Tee signs: There are none. The hole number and length is embedded in the concrete tee pads. This necessitates a bit more effort to scout where to go next, but since the course is so open it's not too hard to navigate.

Design-
-Terrain variety: very low, since most holes are open grass with only a few trees here and there. 13 Open grass / 5 Mixed with a few scattered trees or bushes. Most of the putting areas were also too open and thus mundane for my preferences.
-Fairway shape variety: lacking. Because the terrain is so open most of the holes are straight and open shots. There were no right doglegs at all. 13 St/ 5 Left
-Elevation variety: also lacking. 10 Flat/ 3 Up/ 5 Down. Most holes are flat and any elevation changes are slight, only ranging from 3 to 8 ft.
-Length variety: not much on the standard layout. Holes only range from 190 to 400 ft, but 14 are 200-399 ft. (2 of 190-195/ 8 of 200-299/ 6 of 300-399/ 2 of 400 ft.)
Other Thoughts:
Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)
I only throw about 270 ft., with occasional bursts to 300 ft, so this course was a good length for me. It was fun to card 5 birdies.

Since it was July when I played, the geese and ducks were minimal, so they added to the ambiance and weren't a problem as other reviewers have mentioned.

Overall, I'd play this course again if I happened to be in the vicinity, but I think it might get old if I played it too often. The course is pretty, and I like the water holes, but it's just too open and doesn't have enough elevation change for my taste.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Sweet

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expo Park is a short course great for beginners and more experienced players. The fairways are big as are the tee pads. Beginners don't have to worry about trees. I only play for aces. It is really fun to try and ace nearly every hole. Crowds are pretty minimal.
Cons: Water! I don't play #13 anymore because it is high risk, low reward. Who designed this course? Losing discs makes me want to give up the sport. If you lose your disc into the lake (or the creek) you are not getting it back unless you retrieve it yourself. People regularly wade in the lake and retrieve piles of discs. I have lost 5 discs with my number on them and I have never been called. If the creek is flooded just lay up. It floods regularly. The course has a lot of ducks and geese and their excrement. The tee pads have distances, but some are wrong. The pro tees are not very visible. The water is putrid and is trash filled.
Other Thoughts: The park offers locals many nice amenities so be polite to others in the park. You should play this course in Denver if you like to go for aces. Take your cheap discs and if you go for a hole near water be prepared for the consequences.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 high risk/reward

1    8/17/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: colodiscgolfer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice, well tended park. Concrete tees were generally in good condition, though shorter and wider than most. Nice mach 3 baskets in good condition. The course plays over ponds and creeks on 11 of the 18 holes, which create some high risk/reward drives.
Cons: Mostly shorter holes. Tee 16 is not level, or even close to it. The ponds are filthy, nasty, smelly water with pond scum galore.
Other Thoughts: The course was a bit too easy for my tastes. Every hole is a birdy attempt unless you shank your drive. There were only a handful of trees scattered on the course, and the only other obstacle was the ponds. Retrieving a disc from the pond SUCKS! If it wasn't a brand spanking new disc I lobbed in there, I would have left it. I would play this course again if in the area or for a tourny, but wouldn't go out of my way to play it casually again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short and convenient...

1    7/22/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: DG_Wizard
Played: 20  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee pads with the hole number and distance stamped in, nice baskets, some signs, and a decent course design. This course is one of the few in the area. It is set in a nice park where the grounds are well maintained. Bathrooms and other facilities are present. Several water holes present (2, 6, 9-16, 18) to include ponds and a creek. I like the layout of hole #2 shooting over the pond.
Cons: This course is too short. I had a terrible round and still finished at even. One of the holes is only 185 feet. Most of the holes are significantly less than 300 feet. There is no place to really throw a long open drive. IMO too much emphasis was put on placing the pins next to the water. It opened it up for flooding. There was a good storm that came through the day before, and it flooded out the tee pad for #10 and left a lot of water and mud around some of the baskets. There are ducks, geese, and people in the park that get in the way of the round. Navigating this course can be difficult if you don't know it.
Other Thoughts: This would be a good course to take out beginners or children. The park is scenic.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 First Timers Great Time

1    7/18/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Elkman27
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fairlly easy, Nice water holes, good basket location. Well Kept lawn green grass, fun in sandles and leisure atire. and wide open holes so you can let them rip.
Cons: Not alot of shade. Thats about the only Con i got
Other Thoughts: A very fun course, so fun i had to play twice, there is alot of room for anouther 18 holes, that would be great.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Expo

5+    6/1/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: Sectorado
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun course to play if you are near Denver, Dog Leg Discs is a few blocks away, some holes to let your driver rip and others you can use a putter,practice hole, nice tee pads
Cons: Other than the lake, not many obstacles, can be a lot of people and kids walking through the park or playing in between the tee and basket, can get busy, if you play often expect to lose a disc or two
Other Thoughts: You don't want to go in the water, so better to play it safe on some holes, especially when it's windy

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course, stinky air

5+    5/17/2009   5/19/2009
Review By: Camgolfer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The concrete tee pads at this course are very nice. The designer thought long about how to maximize the tee pads to add hole info on them. The design of the course creates some long shots, some short shots and some intimidating shots. The park is mostly grass so that makes play more enjoyable. Most tees are easy to spot from the previous basket.
Cons: The park smells something funky when it is warm because of the nasty lake water. There is a lot of trash/goo in the water areas. I would not recommend going in to the lake to retrieve a lost disc. There are many families that frequent the park's walking path so you have to be careful when teeing off.
Other Thoughts: This course plays pretty fast. Most players can get 18 holes in about an hour. There are some potential ace holes and some longer drives so each shot is not boring. Like most city parks you have to deal with non-DGers, but is minimal. There is a very nice disc golf shop minutes away from this course called Dog Leg Discs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice grass

2-4    5/13/2008   4/25/2009
Review By: shortz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: beautiful grass and park. mostly wide open. some nice water hazards. some fun over/near the water shots. good use of the few trees. very nice tee boxes!!!
Cons: quite muddy in some parts. Goose scat everywhere. lots of people walking, and kids playing to watch out for.
Other Thoughts: this is a good little course some long but not all long, so it makes it a nice even walk. great grass where it is not muddy,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good, but nothing special

1    4/16/2009   4/17/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a well kept, mostly open park, this course is great for those that can take risky shots over and around water. Not much accuracy is needed to conquer this course, but confidence is required to blast over water hazards. The fairways are very green with top-notch baskets and large, unique tee pads with numbers and hole lengths. The pins that don't play around the water are mostly flat and open making easy targets for beginners. The holes are mostly short ranging in length from 150'-350' and one 400' hole. Young trees on open fairways can make holes tougher in the future.
Cons: Although I have only played it once, I did not find this course very challenging at all. The holes are too flat and open.The course water hazards may frustrate some disc golfers. The pond is very disgusting, so be careful what you throw where it is in play. You don't want to go in that water! Geese have maintained their habitat in the area and leave droppings everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Stay off of the course at night because this is not a very good area of town to be at after dark.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.