Aurora, CO 
Exposition Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 294ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 74
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Put your phone # on your discs

5+    3/20/2009   3/24/2009
Review By: thinknic
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has nice tee pads and baskets and is easy to navigate. Mostly flatland with gentle slopes on some holes. Good course if you are itching for a chill day with not a lot of workout. Ideal for a quick after work round. The water hazards add some technical shots to the course. Stay dry and watch your score drop!
Cons: The water on this course is extremely polluted! You do not want to get in this water, bring a "Golden Retriever" or a floater driver. Some of the holes have a nice design, but for the most part the baskets are a straight shot from the tee. There tends to be a lot of foot traffic on the course on weekends or evenings, the layout avoids most of the traffic, but not all so watch out for kids and dog-walkers.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course most of the time. Sure, the design isn't that inspired, but it's a great relaxing round...if you stay dry and if there aren't any frolf-oblivious pedestrians. There are a couple of spray-painted pro tees on the sidewalks that add some challenge, particularly #18, across the lake. Also, I heard "Dog Leg Discs" struck a deal with the swampers to sell back lake-bound discs (for a modest fee) with phone numbers on them. Put your number on your disc and you may get a call back.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I've played much better

1    3/22/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: drewbiggs
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It has 18 holes with tee boxes. The park is easily accessible.
Cons: As others mentioned, goose "dirt" everywhere. To make matters worse, I guess they decided that covering all available grass with additional manure would help green it up. While this may be true, I spent the entire time literally playing in poo. Smelled great. Oh ya, The smallest group out there was a foursome. Most groups were 5+. I saw several of 7 and 8. Are you serious? All of the holes are about the same length and other than some water hazards, there is no technicality to it.
Other Thoughts: Less poop, smaller groups, and more trees would make this course a winner.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course, but...

2-4    2/10/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: plus4db
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Expo is a wide-open course with few obstacles, but the great use of the creek and ponds as water hazards make it more fun than most field-golf courses. The pads are well made and level and targets are properly maintained. It is intuitively planned and number markers on the pads make it difficult to get lost.
Cons: The water is gross. On a hot day it can stink a little. Going in the water is not for the faint-of-heart. I read some complaints about goose poop everywhere. That's Northern Colorado. The park is so pretty that if I were a goose, I'd want to be there, too.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for water practice. Put it out there and hope it fades (or turns) back. I score it 3/5 discs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Water Park

1    3/8/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 113  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent tee pads with marked distances on them. Very open course with few obstacles other than water. Great place to practice in the wind. Grass is very short and well kept. Good place for a low scoring round if you stay dry.
Cons: Lot of geese droppings through out the course. The water is gross. The ground can be soggy in the lower areas. Not very technical due to lack of trees. Some pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: Holes 12 & 13 are placed dangerously close to the water. Some times laying up is better than getting wet. Watch the skip because the grass is short. Bring a golden retriever and a lot of courage. I recommend having a Hydra or a Dragon for this course because they float. Can get real windy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Disc Golf Gaggle

5+    3/2/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: mwgheaton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Visually this course is well built and beautiful. The tee pads are huge and widen toward the top. This is nice because quite a few holes are over 300ft and the tee pads provide ample room for a run up. The baskets are high quality as well. The course is mowed and has an open layout. Many of the trees on the course are fairly new and the course will improve as the trees get bigger. For instance, hole number four will eventually require an accurate drive through a dozen trees, but currently the trees are still short enough to play a disc over the top of them. The course is not usually very busy with other disc golfers, although many of the holes pass alongside of pedestrian sidewalks and there does tend to be a lot of other people using the park. Overall, the course flows nicely in a figure eight around and between the lakes.
Cons: There were a minimum of 700 geese in this park when we began to play our round. The majority of them flew away at the same time and basically blackened the sky. I would normally consider wildlife a benefit of a course, but this was out of control. There is not a single square foot of the park that wasn't covered in goose poop. The lakes, as a result, are absolutely disgusting. Walking into the lakes to retrieve a disc is literally walking into dissolved goose excrement.

This course is straight forward and does not require many tough shots. Unfortunately, the few demanding shots it does have are over the lakes, so many players will take safe shots instead of trying their hand at clearing the water. If you do go for the basket on number two, the opposite bank is farther away than it looks so I recommend trying to overthrow the basket.
On previous visits to this course, I have found the grass soggy and over watered and I have also arrived at this course to find it completely flooded. The park is well maintained by normal standards, but park maintenance has some unique animal and drainage problems with this park that they need to address.
Other Thoughts: There are not any other courses east of downtown Denver and Exposition Park becomes the default when I am in that area of the city. It is a fun course to play, but be sure to wash your hands and your discs when you finish.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good family outing course

5+    3/19/2008   2/19/2009
Review By: ponto11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice inner-city park location with winding cement path throughout. Fairly flat and open and stroller-friendly. Good place for kids to learn.
Cons: A lot of disrespectful park-goers use this park. Trash in and near stream and ponds. Area serves as a sewer overflow area. Water is nasty and grass can be moist or flooded with heavy rains. Stinky in the summer months at times.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad place to bring the family if it's not stinky or not wet. Easy to stroller through. Nice playground area too.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The water is NASTY!!!

5+    9/6/2008   2/6/2009
Review By: J-TRU
Played: 67  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's in a nice park.(well maintained) The pins are short and easy and there is a good mix of shots.
Cons: There are two ponds that come in to play on like 7 or 8 of the holes. Whatever you do play it safe. Cause these ponds are gross. tons of goose poop. I have herd of people getting sick from being in there to long. don't play this course at night. I have a friend that witnessed a Gang fight that ended in a shooting. noone was hurt but still scared him..
Other Thoughts: good for begginers

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Suburban Hell

1    11/19/2008   11/19/2008
Review By: disconsolator
Played: 61  Reviewed: 7
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has some of the most original and functional teepads I have seen. Imagine the symbol used for "signal strength" except 10 feet long. Baskets are really nice and park has a clean look.
Cons: There is goose crap everywhere. You could put your bag in it, slip on it on the tee, get it on your disc etc.
The landscape of the course is barren, no big mature trees, no bushes, no life really. It makes it difficult to be creative with the design -which where the con of the water comes in. There are some man made lakes that run through the course. I'm all for some water shots, but to make the course "challenging" by putting 14 or so of the baskets within 25 feet of water is just poor. Again, the risk should lose you strokes, not discs. Maybe one or two close to the water when you really have to challenge and make that decision to go for it or not is fine, but laying up or playing safe so you don't lose a disc almost every hole is not disc golf. I guess without these shots, the course might be even worse.
Other Thoughts: Not too much you can do with a flat sterile park like that I'm afraid.
Really bad public sculpture as well.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque Disc Golf

1    8/22/2008   10/31/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
DGA double chain baskets in good condition. Huge concrete tee pads. Ample parking. Practice basket. Course map sign. There are enough benches and trash cans located at various points along the walking/jogging trail. Hole information etched in concrete tees makes it difficult to vandalize. Very nice multi-use park.

The latter part of the course does a figure-eight around the lake which works nicely to keep a balance between favoring RHBH vs. LHBH shots. There's some minor elevation changes on a few holes.
Cons:
Basket #9 and tee #10 are close to the lake edge and show visible evidence of frequently getting flooded. A local told me that the course doesn't drain very well and is often very soggy after rain. Hole information etched in concrete tees makes it difficult to update distances if baskets move as was apparently the case on #4: as the tee it says 402' when in reality it's 329'. But seeing how the baskets are installed with a concrete ring around them, moving in the future seems unlikely. Being a multi-use park there may be some holes where walkers or joggers interfere with throws.
Other Thoughts:
The lack of traditional tee signs isn't that big a deal since the tee pads are so ginormous, they're easy enough to spot if you're looking for them.

The course plays mostly open shots with pin placement or water crossings adding the challenges and keeping it interesting. However, this is not that challenging of a course for a good REC player or above; I shot a 51 my first time there. This was the easiest of the seven 18+ hole courses I played on my Denver trip. I didn't realize there were alt/pro/long tees until I got to #18 (which is a really cool shot from the long tee). A local told me that the alt/pro/long tees are mostly around the sidewalk marked with white paint. It was a very enjoyable round of golf at Expo and I would easily go back again, though I'd try to find the alt tees the next time.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Scarry Water

1    10/18/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a very nice big and open park. There are very few things that inhibit play and the course rules further make play confined to areas where fewer passers by will be in the way. The tees are incredible nice and each hole is well marked and visible from the tee. One can get a map and score card in the community center right near the first tee making navigation significantly easier.
Cons: This is probably one of the shortest courses that I have played though distances were very well varied throughout. Water is a very significant part of this course. There are so many discs thrown into the water that there are regular guys that come out just to find lost discs in the lakes. There is a fair amount of trash on a few holes near the water left from when water levels are higher. This was an extremely busy course on the weekend. Besides the water I did not think that this course was all that challenging and I scored extremely well for the first time playing a course. Flooding on this course is likely and would inhibit play on a couple of holes significantly.
Other Thoughts: Bring something with you to help you retrive water discs, or play the long way on a few holes and skip potential water hazards all together. I did wak away with a couple of beat up discs that I was able to grab from the waters edge. For the first time playing you will definately want a map as a lack of signs makes it hard to know when you need to cross the water to get to the next tee.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.