Appleton, WI 
Plamann Meadowview 9 Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #2 (Taken 4/2010)
4 / 299ft.   3 / 299ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Decent course

1    8/13/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: michaelzenith
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 9/28/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean well kept course
Nice layout of open fairways and wooded technical.
concrete pads
plenty of parking
easy to get to
fun course with plenty of ace runs
Cons: Every 16-20 year old in the greater Appleton area seem to live the course. Most play with just a few discs and have terrible language and knowledge of the game. Have had numerous rounds where we were played into or denied the ability to play through.
This is a fun course but not very challenging. I would consider it a warm up course to get the rust off.
Terrible tee markers with very generous pars.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun 18 hole course that I enjoy playing as it is close to home. I encourage anyone who does not want to deal with crowds to play before noon. It is not very challenging and when it is not crowded I can get through 18 holes in just over an hour.
Very well maintained and a pleasant area.
Update 9/2014
I have played this course about three times per week since my original review. I play between 9-11AM. I have found myself really enjoying the course, the green, and the peace in the morning. Low traffic during this time of the day allowing me to test out new discs. If I were to review the course during this time of the day I would give it four stars, but once the crowds show up, it drops to two.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Meadowview Course Review

1    7/30/2013   7/30/2014
Review By: FoxRacer23TW
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Its a beautiful scene and has nice groomed grass. Its fun to play as something different from time to time.
Cons: The throwing lanes are really tight, and the grass in the "rough" is long and can eat discs up really easily. Be prepared to look for your disc on almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: Its intentions to add another 9 to the regular course is awesome, but it also makes the game a lot longer and your arm a lot more sore. It is a cool addition, though.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Meadowview 9

1    10/30/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A prairie style 9 holer that can be played by itself, or as a means to stretch Plamann's Apple Creek 18 to 27 holes. Located after Apple Creek's 12th hole, it loops around and leaves you ready to jump back onto Apple Creek's 13th tee.
- A decent mix of holes, with a slightly different vibe from the park-style atmosphere of Apple Creek. Meadowview has fairly thick and punishing schule in the summer months that can easily eat a disc. Outside of the summer months, a lot of the punishing aspect of the schule disappears, although there is definitely some risk and reward based on trying for the "glory" shot or just staying out of the brush.
- Good solid concrete tees. Benches, signs, and trashcans at each hole.
Cons: - One or two of the baskets have chains that have slipped off the center ring.
- The signage suffers the same ambiguity that Apple Creek's does. They're nice looking and all, but impossible to distinguish from one another other than the the hole number and distance.
Other Thoughts: - I assume that this was put in at a different time than Apple Creek's 18 holes. Otherwise I would think that they'd have just made one 27 hole course. Apple Creek and Meadowview compliment each other nicely, and my rating above takes into account Meadowview only. If both courses were rated as one, I would rate them significantly higher (in the 4-disc range.)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quck 9

1    7/5/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays around the upper part of the park with half the holes similar to most of the Apple Creek course and a few holes that play through a more meadow/prairie area with tall grass rough and scattered shrubs and trees. It has some minor elevation changes that add to the variety of the course, and it calls for a decent variety of shots. There are some different lengths here that call for shorter shots and one or two longer drives.

There are nice concrete pads for all the tees, and decent signs with hole length and number. The baskets are in good shape and catch well. It's easy to follow the course with no navigation issues between holes, and it's really easy to play all 27 holes in the park starting at the beginning of either course.
Cons: This course just feels like added on holes to the Apple Creek course, and it seems a little silly to call it a separate course, especially when only a few of the holes really have the meadow feel to differentiate it from the park style holes of the main course. Though there are some nice shots here and it definitely adds to the overall variety of the full 27 hole loop, there's not enough variety or challenge to make this a very interesting course all on it's own.

The meadow style holes are an interesting change up, but long grass rough is not at all my favorite as it doesn't punish errant shots with strokes, just with time and possibly lost plastic. A couple of the meadow holes are mowed very narrowly, making it difficult to stay on the fairway even with a pretty good shot which gets a little frustrating. The tee signs don't have any hole layout and there are a couple blind holes so you have t do some extra walking your first time through.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice holes on this 9, and it's definitely worth playing as part of the full 27 hole loop here in the park. As a course all on it's own, it's not bad but it's nothing exceptional. Beginners will find most of the holes reasonable, though they will struggle to not lose discs on the meadow holes. More experienced players will find a couple tough holes, but not enough variety to be worth playing except as an optional loop on the 18 hole course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.