Appleton, WI
Plamann Meadowview 9 Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #6 (Taken 4/2010)
4 / 298ft.   4 / --   3 / 298ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Meadowview 9 hole

1    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 108  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 10 Years
Pros: This course can be played by itself or as the whole 27 hole loop when you start on Apple Creek. If you start on Apple Creek you can jump onto this course after hole 11. You'll be able to play this then jump back on Apple Creek and finish that course. There's concrete tees on every hole here too. These tees are all in real good shape and all level and grip well. The baskets are Mach 3's with the number plates on top just like Apple Creek. These also are all in good shape and catch fine. There's a good amount of distance here. The shortest hole 196 feet on hole 4 up to 396 feet on hole 7. They call this Meadowview because a few of the holes play through a prairie/meadow area. A number of different shots are required here too. The tee signs are just like Apple Creek's. They have hole #, basic hole diagram, par and distance. The flow is pretty easy to follow, I was confused in a couple spots though it wasn't anything major. There's a little bit of elevation and quite a few trees on these 9 holes. there are trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: Again, the hole diagrams on the tee signs are pretty much useless. They don't give you any idea of where the basket is. The rough can be pretty brutal on a number of the later holes. It's only open late spring to late fall. It'd be cool if it was open year round. Also there seems to be quite a bit of unused areas in the later part of this course. Maybe they'll eventually add another 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This along with Apple Creek make for a fun day of disc golf. I personally liked this course better than Apple Creek. I'd recommend checking this course out if you're in the area.

Under rated back 9...

5+    11/10/2012   11/17/2012
Review By: Putter
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free.
Concrete pads with benches and garbage.
Mach 3 baskets.
Well groomed.
Great to play as 9 or as 27.
Most people skip this set of holes leaving it usually empty.
Some holes provide a great secluded from the world feeling.
Cons: Not open all year long. Late spring to late fall.
Some challenging holes for beginners.
Other Thoughts: With so much potential park unused back behind hole 6/7 it's a shame it's not turned into an 18 hole course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    6/23/2011   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3 Years
Pros: Nice fairways
Good cement tees
Good variatey of shots
Tee signs are there they just are not descriptive
Cons: Gets pretty rough if you dont put it on the fairway
All of the holes are pretty long and not beginner friendly
Bugs come out at dusk
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course but if it was not connected to Plamann 18 I probally would have never played it

 Disc Trap

1    6/2/2011   6/10/2011
Review By: DiscGolfer947
Played: 23  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1) good area
2) manucured fairways
3) cement tees, good footing for drives
4) makes a good 27 holes if u play with Plamann Park 18
Cons: 1) the rough is VERY rough in places and there is lots of thorn bushes
2) tee signs are VERY undescriptive
Other Thoughts: overall the course is pretty good, it is a lot more secluded and less busy than the Plamann Park 18 hole course, and is more secluded and quiet

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = Bery Bery nice 9-holer!

1    6/27/2010   3/1/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B
(Overall, this course does not have the kind of trouble in the fairways that will ever automatically turn your birdie run into a 4 if you miss your line. But the obstacles that are there in the way of trees in many fairways and very thick rough off many fairways make you want to throw accurately….or else (lose your disc or have no real lie). Not a whole lot of decision making other than a splitter tree or 2 on 2-3 fairways.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(With only 2 short holes (<200') and one hole that is too long for me (400' up a slight hill), the other holes set up perfectly for my arm length to make things rewarding to card birdies. For whatever reason, I rarely see a 9-hole course set up well for one type of player - they are mostly a mish-mosh of holes that make for a boring round scoring-wise for everyone. Not here!)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B+
(No major terrain and just one major curve (R-to-L) on an early hole, but there is really good variety of hole shapes and hole types. Actually it is quite impressive what the design accomplishes with just 9 holes.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(Lots of brush and prairie grass make the middle holes feel a little scruffy, but unlike the 18 hole course (which we branched off of when playing with TallPaul) that is a beautifully manicured town park, this course feels very secluded and nature-ish.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == NA (0 bonus points for this)
Other Thoughts: This is a scenario where the fact that I keep 2 ratings lists (one for courses with less than 18 and another one for 18 or more hole courses) does not "show" well. I have rated the 18 hole Plamann a B+ because that that is what it is: very good....but not in the excellent category. I feel the same way about how this course stacks up against other 9-holers.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Plamann alternate 9

1    10/29/2010   12/3/2010
Review By: Terry C
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 17.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -A nice mix of holes surrounded by thick rough
-Picks up at Plamann hole #12
-Benches
-Cement teepads
-Signs
-Trash recepticles at most holes
-Good basket placements force risk reward situations, most on this 9 are tucked into the shule or around sharp corners making them trickey to get to.
-Nice elevation changes and a mix of shots, short/long/left/right etc...
-Nice maintained fairways
Cons: -Thick rough
-Play with Plamanns other 18 hole course
Other Thoughts: This is 9 holes that can be played separately or as an add-on to the 18-hole Apple Creek course at Plamann Park (1st tee pad is around hole #12). Many of the holes are similar in nature to the Apple Creek course, a bit hilly with mature trees scattered throughout a wide-open mowed grassy area but there are a few holes in the middle of the round that are cut through some tall grassey medows and pine trees. These holes are easy enough to play except that there is a chance to lose a disc in the tall grass due to the very narrow mowed trails through the grass on some fairways. Keep your discs on the fairway and you will be fine. None of the holes are overwhelmingly long.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Meadowview 9

1    10/30/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - A prairie style 9 holer that can be played by itself, or as a means to stretch Plamann's Apple Creek 18 to 27 holes. Located after Apple Creek's 12th hole, it loops around and leaves you ready to jump back onto Apple Creek's 13th tee.
- A decent mix of holes, with a slightly different vibe from the park-style atmosphere of Apple Creek. Meadowview has fairly thick and punishing schule in the summer months that can easily eat a disc. Outside of the summer months, a lot of the punishing aspect of the schule disappears, although there is definitely some risk and reward based on trying for the "glory" shot or just staying out of the brush.
- Good solid concrete tees. Benches, signs, and trashcans at each hole.
Cons: - One or two of the baskets have chains that have slipped off the center ring.
- The signage suffers the same ambiguity that Apple Creek's does. They're nice looking and all, but impossible to distinguish from one another other than the the hole number and distance.
Other Thoughts: - I assume that this was put in at a different time than Apple Creek's 18 holes. Otherwise I would think that they'd have just made one 27 hole course. Apple Creek and Meadowview compliment each other nicely, and my rating above takes into account Meadowview only. If both courses were rated as one, I would rate them significantly higher (in the 4-disc range.)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quck 9

1    7/5/2010   7/13/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays around the upper part of the park with half the holes similar to most of the Apple Creek course and a few holes that play through a more meadow/prairie area with tall grass rough and scattered shrubs and trees. It has some minor elevation changes that add to the variety of the course, and it calls for a decent variety of shots. There are some different lengths here that call for shorter shots and one or two longer drives.

There are nice concrete pads for all the tees, and decent signs with hole length and number. The baskets are in good shape and catch well. It's easy to follow the course with no navigation issues between holes, and it's really easy to play all 27 holes in the park starting at the beginning of either course.
Cons: This course just feels like added on holes to the Apple Creek course, and it seems a little silly to call it a separate course, especially when only a few of the holes really have the meadow feel to differentiate it from the park style holes of the main course. Though there are some nice shots here and it definitely adds to the overall variety of the full 27 hole loop, there's not enough variety or challenge to make this a very interesting course all on it's own.

The meadow style holes are an interesting change up, but long grass rough is not at all my favorite as it doesn't punish errant shots with strokes, just with time and possibly lost plastic. A couple of the meadow holes are mowed very narrowly, making it difficult to stay on the fairway even with a pretty good shot which gets a little frustrating. The tee signs don't have any hole layout and there are a couple blind holes so you have t do some extra walking your first time through.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice holes on this 9, and it's definitely worth playing as part of the full 27 hole loop here in the park. As a course all on it's own, it's not bad but it's nothing exceptional. Beginners will find most of the holes reasonable, though they will struggle to not lose discs on the meadow holes. More experienced players will find a couple tough holes, but not enough variety to be worth playing except as an optional loop on the 18 hole course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Throw Your Favorite Disc...

5+    6/29/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good challenge in terms of requiring accurate distance. Success on holes 3 and 4 hinges on throwing a right-to-left drive. Good variety of holes for only being a 9 hole diversion. Grass in the fairways is always neatly cut. Concrete tee pads, signs, and benches for every hole. Roughly half of the holes are flexible in terms of alternate workable routes available for your drive. It's as cleanly maintained as its neighbor Apple Creek and should be experienced.
Cons: Thickly wooded holes are brutally punishing for missed drives. Keep a very close eye and have someone spot your drives, because it's possible to be standing directly over a disc in the rough and not see it. This portion of Plamann is always more thinly populated than Apple Creek, due to punishing rough. I also suspect that the casual Plamann golfers just aren't up for an extra nine holes. With a little thinning out of the rough, this nine could be on par with the rest of Plamann.
Other Thoughts: Play Apple Creek up to hole 11, then jump to hole 2 of Meadowview. Finish with Meads hole 1, then continue to hole 12 of Apple Creek. It would be nice if the extra 9 holes were placed at the end of the round, rather than inserted into the back nine of Apple Creek.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The lesser maintained of the Plamanns

1    11/8/2009   11/8/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice concrete tee pads add to the playability of this course.

2) Again nice looking tee signs with distances listed.

3) Benches on every tee and garbage cans are plentiful to help provide a very clean park.

4) Overall this 9 hole course has some challenges. Mostly the challenege comes on the middle holes. The first two and last two are not very difficult and can easily be parred or dueced. The others have more diffuclt shots to execute and because the maintenance is not where they mow everything in site on these holes, you can end up with some tough lies. Good and bad (good because it adds some challenge, but bad because it makes the appearance not as attractive. I am not saying they need to maintain everything, but that could selectively get rid of the thorny and invasive plant species in the meadow area.

5) For the most part this 9 holes could be considered beginner friendly with only one hole over 300' and a couple under 200'. There will be some challenge and you will have to still execute the shot, but you can generally recover from one bad shot.

6) Slight to moderate elevation change on a few of the holes is an added benefit, just like it is on the Apple Creek 18.
Cons: 1) Truly only 5 of the holes are set in the Meadowview part of the park. 1, 2, 8, 9 are set in a similar property to the Apple Creek course where there are just large mature trees that you need to avoid in more open feeling park setting with maintained turf on the entire hole. The other true meadowview holes either run through the meadow, along the meadow, into the meadow, or out of the meadow.

2) Maintenance of the meadow areas is a little lacking. As I have said I dont mind that they don't want to mow the entire area in fact I like that there is a prairie feel out on some of these holes, but there is invasive species and some thorny plants, that if those were removed selectively these holes would look and play much better.

3) There is a little bit of compaction ocurring in a few spots where people walk in the same place. This ocurrs when the grass isn't mowed and is bound to only get worse over time. It isn't reason to mow wall to wall, but those areas could have multiple paths so that gives the people options to walk in mowed turf instead in just one 5'-10' wide area.

4) Signs although helpful with the distance, do not have any sort of diagram of the hole. This may be intentional because the holes are stll changing, but in the end if you are gonna buy these expensive signs you might as well put a general layout of the hole on there, adding or moving baskets on these signs is always possible.
Other Thoughts: It is sortof hard for me to differentiate between the courses because I played them for the first time and went from hole #11 on Apple Creek to Meadowview and then back to Apple Creek, so they kindof all fit together. I think this course had some good holes but it also had a few holes with not enough maintenance done (or true fairways). There was a little more underbrush, most of it wasn't buckthorn it was more Red Twigged dogwood, some prairie grasses, a few volunteer trees sprouting up, but there were a few areas with some thorny type plants too. I would like to see these issues better maintained to provide with a much more consistant feel between courses. It does feel like a seprate course and maybe that is intentional by the designer to provide 9 holes that feel very different than the original 18. However, only half of the holes in my opinion are truly "Meadowview" holes. #1, 2, 8, 9 are still much similar to the Apple Creek hole design than they are to the other 5 holes on Meadowview. This isn't a huge deal, but if they are to create 2 different courses, I would like to see consistancy between the courses or complete differentiation. It does not bring the disc rating down in my opinion because it is simply a design flaw (one that doesnt affect playability, but it does effect the overall appearance).

I wanted to give this a higher grade but I just cannot. I think the maintenance will improve over time and some issues on this course can be resolved making it a much better course. I will edit my review when I see that this has happened, but until then it remains a 3. I do think it has the potential to move up to 3.5 but the property doesn't lend itself to anything higher than that probably.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.