Course Extinct
Alexandria, KY 
Alexandria DGC Share
Uploaded By: jammydee Hole #1 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 84ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Putt-Putt Anyone?

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 164  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just East of the small town of Alexandria, KY lies one of those courses where you have to wonder, "who thought of this?" Nine VERY short holes of disc golf await, but are scattered in an 'interesting' way around a really pretty little fishing lake. The first five start near the path going clockwise around the lake, then work their way away from the lake around the baseball field. Then you have to go across the field, back down to the path, and to the very end of the lake for the tee/putt on #6. It's about a quarter mile walk. After you birdie or ace 6, you hike almost another quarter of a mile to the left side of the lake, where the last three holes fan out from the bowl behind the spillway and dam. A very unusual layout.
Casual players and families with smaller children may enjoy the fun of playing some of these holes, as none are longer than the 180 foot range, and one basket is a mere 50 feet from its tee. The 18 chain baskets are in decent shape, and show very little rust despite their lack of use. I returned here today on a mission to get my long overdue first ace, and actually had some fun at my own little 'birdie bash', but did manage to hit my first and second. The problem with the first (hole 6) was, the hole was so short, it felt like hitting a putt-putt hole in one: nothing to write home about (the second was more satisfying, as it required a 101' laser straight Comet between two trees). The only reason I might return would be to see if I can fill in aces on the other seven holes.
The park itself has a very nice playground, the aforementioned baseball field, three parking areas, restrooms and water fountains, a shelter, a beautiful lakeside deck, a hiking path and a nature trail. There are benches scattered about near the DG course 'tees'. The main attraction here seems to be fishing in the lake, which engaged dozens of patrons each of the times I've been here.
Cons: Unfortunately, the tees are merely landscape timber boxes that haven't been mulched in years. There are no on-site maps or information signs, just posts routered with the hole number.
They do keep most of the park tidied up, but you can tell disc golf isn't considered much because they pile debris in front of the #7 basket, and the #8 tee has shrubs and branches drooping to your hip IN the tee box. I'm not sure if anybody plays this course (certainly anyone above Novice won't find a challenge here).
Other Thoughts: DO come to this park for the fishing, or the scenery, or maybe for your own DG Birdie Bash, but DON'T come if you're seeking a challenge!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing, could have been nice

1    6/1/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: telusive
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Such a lovely area, I wish they had started the course around hole 5 and made the entire course through that park of the park, it is beautiful back there.
Super nice area
Cons: Super hard to navigate, half the holes are on one side of the lake, half on the other, only there's no sign to tell you that.
Super short
Tees are already falling apart

Other Thoughts: Good course for kids

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putting

1    1/21/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Enzy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice small park that gives you multiple things to do and it sits near a sub division so there are always people there. THis course only has 9 holes but it seems to have enogh room to become 18
Cons: Small short course that all you will need is your putter. It is grass tee pads so the ground can be a little wet. The major Con is that the course is hard to navigate so take a map.
Other Thoughts: I don't play this course very often but it is a nice warm up on the way to AJ Jolly. I recommend to play this course and maybe it will become an 18 hole course one day

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Alexandria DGC

2-4    11/26/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: richardmmill
Played: 48  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for putting and approach practice. Nice little park kept pretty nice. Great for beginner to be taught the game and for families with little ones. Decent elevation change hole one is short right up a fairly steep hill, and 7 is down and steep hill 9 cuts back up a hill.
Cons: Flow is not good. I had taken a picture with my phone of the map off GCDCA site to find my way. Even though the course is really short and small, I would not have been able to find my way through the course. Hole 1 starts off the walking path and through 5 move away from the path. Then you have to back track and go around the track to get to 6, which sits all alone. Then continue around the track to find the last three holes. Not laid out very well.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring Your Putter and Your Fishing Pole

1    6/11/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: Joey
Played: 113  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The nice thing about this course is that it showcases a nice little park in Alexandria as you walk from basket to basket. Many of the holes are VERY short and only require a putter. I would even say that an experienced disc golfer should play these as par 2's. For kids and first time disc golfers, this course could be played as par 3's.
Cons: The navigation of this course can be a little confusing. You should start walking clockwise around the lake and look to your left for the first 5 baskets. The 6th tee is a very long walk from the 5th basket. Keep walking clockwise around the lake to find it since it is on the far side of the lake. This hole has the shortest fairway that I've ever seen. It is a putt from the tee. Tee 7 is a long way around the lake from basket 6. Keep walking clockwise around the lake.
Other Thoughts: The course is not very challenging for an experienced player, but could be fun for kids. The lake is great for fishing so bring your fishing pole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.