Orlando, FL
Gordon Barnett Park - Parkside Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 284ft.   3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Blue Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Parkside Love

1    2/16/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: KickballTom
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Two Tee Pads - Red (Up) & Blue (Back).
*Must Use Various Shots For Each Hole.
*Water Hazards & OB Come Into Play Enough To Make You Shape Shots. - Found many water hazards had long branches that were left by other Disc Golfers to help grab discs in the water.
*Extremely Easy To Navigate To Each Hole.
*Well Maintained.
*Has Pro Shop On Course !!!!!!!

The park is TREMENDOUS with all of the amenities it provides for not only Disc Golf but for Cooking/Paintball/BMX/Playgrounds/Golf Range (Net) & Putting Green -- ALL FREE
Cons: *Water is murky and dirty and doesn't look like the county treats or cleans it so if your disc goes in you might not be able to see it AT ALL. - Make sure to bring some type of retriever for discs (Seems that many Disc Golfers have left long branches near water hazards for you to use).
*This course does get crowded and backed up at some points during the day (but only because it is the closest course when you get into the park).
*Pedestrian activity is VERY HIGH with holes being close to other park activities so be aware of arrant throws.
*Ant Hills - BE VERY AWARE OF WHERE YOU PLACE YOUR BAGS, COOLERS & TOWELS - AS WELL AS WHERE YOUR DISC COMES TO REST BEFORE YOU PICK IT UP. The hills are so massive that anything that comes in contact with it is COVERED within seconds.
Other Thoughts: Overall - I really liked how well maintained (other than the Ant Hills) this course is. I like how the placement of the pads and baskets bring trees into play so that you have to shape your shots. The amenities alone (bathrooms/pro shop/etc) are worth playing this course. 36 HOLES !!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course in a city park

1    1/11/2012   1/14/2012
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course pro and pro shop on site and open.
Great signage, layout, and flow.
Good mix of long and open holes with shorter challenging type as well.
Wooded holes and water holes.
I loved the flow and foliage used to the risk reward factor.
Great tee pads
Great baskets.
Some holes have to be navigated well and shots shaped just right to have a chance at birdie.
Cons: Busy park with a good bit of foot traffic.
Some holes play close to a busy basketball course.
Other Thoughts: Great course and has another 18 holes as well. When I get back to Orlando, I'll make sure to hit the other 18

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of Orlando's finest courses

5+    6/11/2011   7/12/2011
Review By: chainedwraith
Played: 58  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course for a wide range of skill levels. Good mix of wooded/open fairways. Multiple tee pads and basket placements. Excellent open holes with little worry of losing discs as long as you can avoid the water on a few holes. Course sees a lot of player traffic and is well maintained. A great group of locals frequent this course so there is almost always someone friendly to throw with if you come solo.
Cons: A few holes are a little close to sidewalks and walkways and on weekends especially expect a few delays while waiting for pedestrians to clear out. Signage looks old and could probably use an update on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite local courses. If you came there planning to play both courses in the same visit then I recommend starting on Parkside Hole 9. This way you can flow right into North Course Hole 1 from where Parkside Hole 8 finishes. (The walk from parkside 18 to north course 1 is kinda long).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Field

5+    4/12/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 22.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees.
Multiple ways of throwing (right, Left, straight, through woods, over water). Must be able to do more then straight throws to succeed on this course. Pro shop is open during decent hours. They have discs, snacks and drinks. And there are various bathrooms to use.
Cons: Tee signs are old.
The so called stream that effects several of the front nine ( #2,3, sometimes 4,and 7 ) is a nightmare. Why, MUCK, MUCK, MUCK. Yes it is a long narrow water way, but if your disc lands in it, might as well kiss it good bye. It will sink and get lost in the MUCK. If you are lucky and are able to remember where your disc goes in and can mark it, the Pro Shop does have a stick to drag the MUCK. So I do my very best to stay away from the MUCK. Also, During rain and after rain, some of the course is "Yucky" to play. But can't blame the course for Mother Nature's actions.
Other Thoughts: Can't say anything really bad about Barnet, it is the "HOME" field for my family. We even had family BBQs afterwards.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun in Orlando

5+    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is more wide open than the North course, but still supplies difficulty and plenty of fun shots. What really stood out to me was that I didn't have to pull out the Anhyzer really at all, (poka is Lefty) there were alternate routes for me. So it was definetly unbiased either way you play.

Excellent concrete tees with shorter tees for beginners. Very beautiful course and impeccably maintained. Plenty of trash cans. Benches scattered throughout to rest the pups. Excellent signage with the hole placement marked by a wingnut.

Pro shop with all the stuff. Bob runs a good show there. Nice plastic for reasonable prices. Lost and found. Restrooms that are clean at pro shop.

Water on a few holes. Excellent risk, reward factors throughout
Cons: A lil wide open at some holes, but nothing to really gripe about. Some fairways get swampy from the rain, but, what do you do? Can't stop thge rain....
Other Thoughts: I had a tough time rating this course less than the North course. They are very similiar, but the other cours is a bit more difficult.

Favorite Holes:

Front: #5. Nice shot through an open fairway that gets tight with a bog on the right. Take some good length and control to get through. Hole #2 stood out a bit, but wasn't hard for me because the creek is on the right, so I don't even sweat it. Probably harder for righties

Back: #14. Open at the tee, then gets kinda tight about 150'. You gotta hit the window just right with a nice S-turn. Not really long (325'), but long enough to test your accuracy

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Setting for Disc Golf

1    6/25/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a wonderful park with old growth trees, great tees and signage, lush grass and almost no chance to lose discs and nice amenities, including a pro shop in the rec center.

This is a classic disc golf course in a really nice park. It is a wonderful change of pace from the saw palmettos that fill so many Florida courses. Not only is the setting great, the course itself is very well designed. There is a great variety of holes from both sets of tees. There are holes that are long - 550+, holes that are short - 220s, holes with trouble near the tee that open up and holes with open tee shots and trouble near the basket. The pacing is also done well so that you do not have a similar holes close to each other.

There are also multiple pin positions that are clearly marked on the very informative tee signs. The concrete tees are nice and long.

The creek that runs through the course and is integrated into holes 2-5 adds a great dimension and sense of danger. The good thing is that a disc thrown into the creek can most likely be retreived.
Cons: The park is in a slightly questionable part of town, but I did not feel at all uncomfortable playing here. The grass was very thick, which would make rollers unthinkable. It is Florida in the summer and the grass could be cut every other day and still be thick. There was also a lot of standing water when we played it early in the morning. Again, it is the rainy season and these two points are not an issue for most of the year.
Other Thoughts: Gordon Barnett Park was the last stop on a one and a half day, 100 hole, 6 course Orlando disc golf tour for my friend and I. We loved the feel and the atmosphere of the Parkside course. It is a wonderful course for advanced players as well as families. When I return to Orlando, this course will definitely be on the top of the list to play again.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/24/2008   6/8/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course layout
Very well maintained
Nice lush scenery
Nice variety of long and short holes
Good variety of obsticles
Cons: Fire/Red biting ants
Be careful when going into the thick brush to find a disc. I got bitten/stung at least a dozen times going after one of my discs
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses that I've played. Anytime I'm in the Oralndo area this is a must play.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 gordon barnett park

3/20/2004   5/20/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 130  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: two 18 hole courses. well maintained manicured location. has own pro shop to buy merchandise. it wasnt crowded when i played.
Cons: none to speak of.
Other Thoughts: played this in '04, and they were just adding the extra nine holes to make it two 36 hole courses. what existed at the time was great, there were a variety of shots to challenge right and left handed players. a fairly wide open course but with some tight technical drives needed as well. the conditions were excellent as well, mostly mowed grass with all kinds of trees to play around, and water danger to keep away from throughout the course. coming from an area where disc golf courses are few and far between, this is like a mecca to me. two well designed courses at the same location with a pro shop! what more could you ask for?

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.