Orlando, FL
Gordon Barnett Park - Parkside Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 216ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Red Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Skip Disneyland, come here!

1    2/20/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Classic park course with immaculate landscaping - all on mowed lawn and through a mix of natural and planted trees and vegetation. The course is open enough to allow you to air things out, do rollers, over hands and everything in between. It has great variety in its layout and is forgiving of some errors, but has a few areas of thick scrub that can be punishing and even tough to find your disc. Lots of ace and birdie opportunities, and a choice of long and short tee pads. By the way, the short pads would rate for intermediate players. The long tee on #18 (which is somewhat of a signature hole) would rate as the only par 4 on the course in my estimate.

All the equipment is top notch, and there is a small pro shop on site.
Cons: First timer con - more than half the pins are blind from the tee or just were not really very visible to me from the tee. Even though the signs are pretty accurate, you still might want to walk up a good piece to find the pin

Seems they could stretch out a few holes for par 4 opportunities.

Walking paths go along several holes (although they weren't always occupied). Seems many are oblivious to disc golf (people had set up chairs right next to one of the baskets).

Too bad the water trench that runs through a section of the course does not play as a hazard for the experienced player - I was sure that it would add an element of risk, but it didn't.
Other Thoughts: I showed up just in time for Thursday 4:00 winter doubles and played with some really good people. What a great way to be introduced to a new course. I have no idea how easy this place was to navigate from hole to hole, but it seemed intuitive, and they also had maps at the pro shop.

I was warned to not linger too long after dark (rough neighborhood) - they said you are safe so long as you stay close to the lit areas like the tennis courts.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Home Course

5+    12/23/2013   12/25/2013
Review By: Marcwrosejr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great flow. 1-8 Plays threw the south side of the park and ends at the road. With about a hundred yard walk you come to 9 which starts by the restrooms and golf center. 10-18 wrap up the south side and end at the parking lot and restrooms so you refill on water when needed.

Great for entry to amateur level players. Many different variety's of shoots needed. You won't bust out all your disc but you'll use a good amount. Some good ace runs

There's a nice blend of 200-375 ft tees, both for amateur and professionals. The longest is #18 at 563 if shooting from the pro pad.

Cons: To me I love the course, I just feel as though there isn't a great degree of difficulty. I've only been hooked on this game for 6 months now and I feel that in another 6 I'll destroy this course. Everything is pretty much open fairways except 3, 9, 10 & 12.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a great course. The park itself has many different functions and great enjoyable amenities to offer for all ages and athletes. I recommend you play this course at least once.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another Orlando Great.

5+    10/15/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Located in the massive and gorgeous Gordon Barnett Park in Orlando.
- The park itself has all sorts to offer, bmx, recreation areas, ball golf putting green and driving range (I used the driving range to warm up, the nets caught the discs perfectly.)
- Baskets are all in really good condition.
- Tee-Pads are all in pretty good shape.
- Wide variety of shots; pretty much every shot and every disc in your bag will be used.
- Course is difficult but not overbearing.
- The course flows really well from hole to hole; don't expect to get lost here.
- The course also flows really well around the park, starting and finishing in the same area.
- Signature hole on the course in my opinion is the finishing hole; #18. Huge par 3 that has a deceptively tight fairway that leads 550'+ to a basket located under a nice tree.
- Couple of descent ace runs out there.
- Pro shop located on grounds.
Cons: - The tee-signs are nothing special,don't seem very accurate in distance and could use upgrading.
- Because of the popularity of this park, the course is subject to a lot of pedestrian activity. I don't rate courses any lower for pedestrian activity as it is something the course can't be blamed for. I suggest getting there early before everyone wakes up.
- For me, the back nine becomes a Hyzer fest.
Other Thoughts: - This course is Top 10 favorites and Top 10 in difficulty.
- This course just adds to the mystique of Orlando disc golf; Orlando is turning into a premiere disc golf destination.
- One of two courses located in the park, I would highly recommend making a day trip to play this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course

1    8/17/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: TeeRex
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: To me the maintenance of the turf, the care around the baskets, I felt like this was a better course than I am used to. I haven't much experience, only playing since May 13. I liked the pads, the signage and the sludge creek (which my throws thankfully stayed out of-not so for my poor partner - Note: pro Shop had pvc pipe to retrieve disc, you don't want to walk in that muck, will sink and keep your shoe I hear). Felt like it was a real long course to play. Partner kept loosing his disc likely made it seem longer. But left course with all disc accounted for. Kinda close to some party pavilions on some holes. Not real challenging, but I'm still a beginner and found this challenging. Like the fact there is a small disc pro shop. Bought a couple discs to help keep him in business.
Cons: Got kinda lost around 17 & 18, not marked the best.Some thinning of thick trees and lower foliage would be a dream come true.
Other Thoughts: Going to keep playing here a fun place to play. Not the biggest challenge but fun way to pass the morning/afternoon.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course

1    8/9/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 145  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/22/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sometimes, a course is just decent. Solid, playable but unmemorable holes. That would be an excellent description of the Parkside course at Barnett.

It's a pretty open course that would probably suit new players well. Even the the narrower fairways will seem wide open to a player accustomed to wooded courses, and the shallow creeks will give confidence in throwing over water.

The maintenance is also excellent. There were mowers going while we were there, and most of the course is rather nice looking, being in a public par with a ton of other activities. It also boasts a small pro shop. Good-enough tees, and decent signs.

There a bunch of minor water carries, as a slimy creek winds throughout the park.
Cons: Still, its just a creek, and its not much of a challenge as far as water hazards go. On that not, there really isn't much challenge anywhere on Pakside, unless you count the muck on many of the fairways. (Does it rain a lot in Florida in the summer, sure, but Turkey Lake fairways were dry the following day.)

So Parkside is a very solid three, until the last two holes. 17 plays up parallel to a row of properties with a variety of fences. This row includes one fence with a barbed wire cover and others include dogs that go mad while your are on the fairway. There has to be another way to place a hole that will complete the course.

After all, it's not like 18 as it exists now is that necessary. It crosses over a parking area and it does feature a rather large pond, unmarked on the map that is pretty much in what looks from the tee to be an ideal landing spot. This problem could easily fixed just by changing the tee sign. Seventeen however, needs to be relocated in someway, and 18 isn't really great in its current location.
Other Thoughts: It's a decent course that could you could definitely play regularly. I would just find a way to wrap up the course in an alternate way.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Central Fl. Fun

1    8/2/2013   8/2/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 24  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: * Large teepads with accurate signage. This was very beneficial for some back nine holes.
* Many holes have short pads and multiple basket placements.
* I used a good variety of shots, and the differences in distance was just enough to keep things fresh
* Reasonable switching between left right and right left shots.
* Water hazzards were small but used well.
* Other than one place, the park flowed well, and was easy to navigate.
* Pro shop on site is a wonderful touch. I picked up a protege clutch and was very impressed with the variety!
* Large real bathrooms and water fountains are on site.
* Course was of moderate difficulty. New players and experienced alike should find some fun here.
* Speaking of fun, the fun factor was high. The course varied from open near the water to tighter later on. I enjoyed it quite a bit and would love to come back.
Cons: * There was a challenging transition from 8 to 9 which required you to walk around the basketball course and cross the street. This wont be a problem next time, but be aware if you are a first timer.
* The course was often away from others, but a few holes were very close to high interest park activities. I can see how this would make some holes tough to play during busy times.
Other Thoughts: Barnett park was a flat out awesome place! Even if you don't play DG, there was tons to do. Feel free to bring your family, because there are many hours to be filled by hiking, fishing, playgrounds, basketball, and putting on a putting green. The actual course was moderately challenging, but extremely fun. Most holes were attackable, and left me with the desire to come back. I envy those who live near this gem, because it is a lovely course indeed, and I certainly will be back!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Excellent course

5+    6/10/2013   6/19/2013
Review By: blueblur
Played: 63  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 25.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tee pads and multiple pin positions. Good signage. Water is a factor on numerous holes (1,2,3 and sometime 6 depending on pin position). These are mostly canals instead of lakes. Internal park roads as OB are a big factor on holes 10,11,13,15 and 18.

Variety of distances and creative holes force you to shape lots of different shots to do well on this course.
Cons: Can get busy with disc golfers and sometimes other park goers can interfere with play.

Loss of trees has hurt difficulty level of this course over time.

Many holes on Parkside course might be considered too easy for good players, but most holes are challenging for average players.
Other Thoughts: Free to play. Disc golf pro shop on site. Northside disc golf course in same park is more difficult but fun. Park has other amenities like cricket, football, playgrounds, tennis, dog park, basketball, splash playground and more.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Parkside Love

1    2/16/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: KickballTom
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.3 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: *Two Tee Pads - Red (Up) & Blue (Back).
*Must Use Various Shots For Each Hole.
*Water Hazards & OB Come Into Play Enough To Make You Shape Shots. - Found many water hazards had long branches that were left by other Disc Golfers to help grab discs in the water.
*Extremely Easy To Navigate To Each Hole.
*Well Maintained.
*Has Pro Shop On Course !!!!!!!

The park is TREMENDOUS with all of the amenities it provides for not only Disc Golf but for Cooking/Paintball/BMX/Playgrounds/Golf Range (Net) & Putting Green -- ALL FREE
Cons: *Water is murky and dirty and doesn't look like the county treats or cleans it so if your disc goes in you might not be able to see it AT ALL. - Make sure to bring some type of retriever for discs (Seems that many Disc Golfers have left long branches near water hazards for you to use).
*This course does get crowded and backed up at some points during the day (but only because it is the closest course when you get into the park).
*Pedestrian activity is VERY HIGH with holes being close to other park activities so be aware of arrant throws.
*Ant Hills - BE VERY AWARE OF WHERE YOU PLACE YOUR BAGS, COOLERS & TOWELS - AS WELL AS WHERE YOUR DISC COMES TO REST BEFORE YOU PICK IT UP. The hills are so massive that anything that comes in contact with it is COVERED within seconds.
Other Thoughts: Overall - I really liked how well maintained (other than the Ant Hills) this course is. I like how the placement of the pads and baskets bring trees into play so that you have to shape your shots. The amenities alone (bathrooms/pro shop/etc) are worth playing this course. 36 HOLES !!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

All You Could Ask For

1    7/20/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: rorymcd
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course offers an excellent variety of long drives and strategic approaches, and is bound to test your arsenal of throwing styles. Signage is the best I've seen to this point in my career. It clearly indicates pin position as well as recommended approaches. Most holes have multiple tee-boxes which are also indicated on each sign. There is adequate shade throughout course to help keep up your stamina. Trash cans are present at each hole, and restrooms are readily accessible. A pro-shop with a very decent selection is available as well.
Cons: It may be difficult for first-timers to navigate themselves through the course without a map, but that is easily fixed by arriving somewhat prepared (printable maps are available online). There are also multiple conveniently placed "Next Hole -->" signs throughout the course.
Watch for big ANT HILLS
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is very scenic and a nice place to spend time, whether playing or not. It is a very friendly atmosphere, and most non-playing visitors are very cordial. If given a choice of the 2, I prefer this park over the North Course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Orlando's Finest

5+    7/23/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: Hyzer Soze
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Easier than the North Course. Great layout, with changing pin placements and 2 different tee boxes per hole.

Great pro shop with very knowledgeable pro who is there almost everyday. He has the coldest gatorade known to man and a lost & found...so if you lose one in the woods or in the muck be sure to check with him a few days/weeks after.
Cons: Some pedestrian traffic depending on when you play, but that is the price you pay when it's free to play.
Other Thoughts: Play the North Course for a challenge. The course pro/designer thinks it's funny making par a myth.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.