Orlando, FL 
Gordon Barnett Park - Parkside Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #18 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 402ft.   3 / 563ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 My Home Field

5+    4/12/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees.
Multiple ways of throwing (right, Left, straight, through woods, over water). Must be able to do more then straight throws to succeed on this course. Pro shop is open during decent hours. They have discs, snacks and drinks. And there are various bathrooms to use.
Cons: Tee signs are old.
The so called stream that effects several of the front nine ( #2,3, sometimes 4,and 7 ) is a nightmare. Why, MUCK, MUCK, MUCK. Yes it is a long narrow water way, but if your disc lands in it, might as well kiss it good bye. It will sink and get lost in the MUCK. If you are lucky and are able to remember where your disc goes in and can mark it, the Pro Shop does have a stick to drag the MUCK. So I do my very best to stay away from the MUCK. Also, During rain and after rain, some of the course is "Yucky" to play. But can't blame the course for Mother Nature's actions.
Other Thoughts: Can't say anything really bad about Barnet, it is the "HOME" field for my family. We even had family BBQs afterwards.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots to Like

2-4    3/13/2010   3/13/2010
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 courses at 1 park. Clean, spacious park. Abundant amenities. Course does not play through other park use areas. Benches at some holes. Grabage cans where needed. Shady areas in FL. Pro shop, restrooms, water on site. Good place to play. Feels like this would be a nice course for a tourney. Multiple pin placements and dual pads on most make for variety. See other section for hole-by-hole comments.
Cons: Last time I was here most of 1 through 8 were under water. Not sure if this is a persistent problem. Course conditions were o.k. today, but some wet areas. If you ditch a disc in the creek… not a creek, but a mud trench. Other than 18 being longer and 8, 16, 17 feeling shorter (I did not check the distances) much of the course feels very similar in length. It seemed like baskets were all in the easiest choice placement spot on this visit. I saw basket holders in places that made me say. "that one would have been more fun to play… said it a few times today. See other section for hole-by-hole comments.
Other Thoughts: Hole-by-hole
#1 Nice start. The tree cluster in front of the pin sets you up for approach choices. I like that. Depending on your tee shot hole can play different each time.

#2 Easy water shot. RHBH players can over aim left and be o.k. Water willies will still pull you to the water often.

#3 This looks great form the tee pad and gets better when you walk up to your second shot. Neat-O basket options (but today it was set in the first/easy place. The deeper placements would be fun to play. That palmetto cluster dead ahead, yes, that is where my drive landed, of course. Nice hole, 3 is. I though it might be declared the sig hole here… but, wait…

#4 This is a perfect tree cluster wrapping hyzer hole. Basket is blind… but just crank a mid length hyzer and you will easily deuce this hole. Perfect hole to make a RHBH player feel like he is actually figuring out this sport.

#5 Nice water shot. Pad is close 'nuf that even smaller kids can feel good about teeing across and making a dry landing. Today was set at the far right annie basket spot. Nice to play into the deeper tree gap so as to force drives to finish centered.

#6 Hard annie in behind trees. This is the annie version of the hyzer tree clump hugger on #4.

#7 Short, easy, open. Seem sthat way just until it is time to toss and then you try to decide… You can arc farther and wrap around the shorter trees and try to play the gap between the big trees and small ones… or you can try to thread the small trees. Bigger arms can go for the first option. Smaller arms will go for threading and end up laying pinball with the trees. This hole is not as simple as it first appears. Nice.

#8 Short, dead ahead. Least fave hole of the curse… feels like a filler hole to get you over to 9. OB is close behind basket. This can either be seen as a challenge to hold big arms back or as a hazard to avoid playing into the road. Even bad GD is still DG… and DG is good. I still played it and enjoyed the game.

#9 Excellent piney tree wonderland. Many ways to play. I saw guys just go for pinball and could hear the wood chopping from the tee pad on 11 and basket on 18. Another way to play here if you can control a subtle annie is to toss straight away from the pad and set up an approach or long putt from along the left outside edge of the tree area. I kept trying to figure out how 2 holes could have been put within this tree area instead of the wasted #8… but that might have killed all that is so great about the tree choices and layout of 9. I would call it a fair trade to have a disappointing hole #8 in exchange for this awesome #9. I might even suggest you skip 8 and play this hole 2X and call it done.

#10 This is the sig hole of the course. In my opinion this is a great example of what disc golf can be, at its best. This hole features a great tree gateway framing the tee box. The fairway is open and clear. Just where drives begin to bend and landing sites begin to happen a dense tree cluster holds the basket deep in at the back. If you can ace this hole I will eat my hat. It is even hard to deuce here. Depending on your landing spot from your drive you will have to make shot shaping choices for your approach. In most cases you will leave yourself with a short, easy and make-able putt. It feels great to drop in a simple putt… as good as it feels to land a 40 footer… You can drive annie or hyzer here to change things up a bit, too. This hole only needs 1 pin placement to be great, but, of course there are options for that here, too. You can play this hole 9 times and you will have more fun and play a better variety of disc golf that you can find at many small 9 hole courses across the nation

#11 Nice open hole that makes good use of this wedge of land between 10 and 12. Aceable if you have the arm for it.

#12 This felt like things were to change up a bit. This is a fairway carved through dense FL wilderness. Good use of all this vegetation. Nice hole to have a true FL feel.

#13 After 12 things opened up a bit. I was expecting, hoping for more of 12… but this is back to more like the first 6. Not a bad thing. Good all around DG.

#14 Love the low tree canopy here that forces keeping shots low to get to the basket zone. If you can control a hyzer and throw a frozen rope you can set up nicely here.

#15 Hard annie into a tree pocket. My tee shot landed short and forced me to annie an approach that landed at the foot of the basket. Well played if I do say so myself. Now that I have played it I would try to shoot straight and overshoot the hole and approach back to the basket with a clearer shot… but you cannot go that route until your second time through the course… save that choice for next visit.

#16 The view from the tee pad is the poster shot from the course… Canal, bridge, path, tree gap, basket in view, ideally picturesque. Nice. I could stand there on the pad and just look at it and marvel at the fun of DG. A controlled drive makes this an easy deuce.

#17 Feels like another filler hole to get me back to the main course. But, examine it deeper and it is nice. Plays along canal. Safe for RHBH players who will chuck it into the trees anyway. Tucked in basket backs up your birdie attempt. If you go for ace you will need height and power and when you miss you will end up deep in the trees. Better to lay up on the open leaving a mak-able putt.

#18 This is the long hole of the course. Why? Who needs to air out their arm on the last hole? Who has any big arm left after tossing all 17 before this? Better to pull that basket nearly half way up to a spot nearer the trees and make a hole out of it instead of just an open bomb. It would still finish close enough to the tee box on #1 so as to be able to declare that you finish where you started… like it should be. Not a bad hole… Just not the hole this course needs for an 18th. Finish strong. Leave 'em smiling. Suggestion… When you finish 18 walk over and play #10 a few extra times. That will really send you off happy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Fun in Orlando

5+    7/2/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2010
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is more wide open than the North course, but still supplies difficulty and plenty of fun shots. What really stood out to me was that I didn't have to pull out the Anhyzer really at all, (poka is Lefty) there were alternate routes for me. So it was definetly unbiased either way you play.

Excellent concrete tees with shorter tees for beginners. Very beautiful course and impeccably maintained. Plenty of trash cans. Benches scattered throughout to rest the pups. Excellent signage with the hole placement marked by a wingnut.

Pro shop with all the stuff. Bob runs a good show there. Nice plastic for reasonable prices. Lost and found. Restrooms that are clean at pro shop.

Water on a few holes. Excellent risk, reward factors throughout
Cons: A lil wide open at some holes, but nothing to really gripe about. Some fairways get swampy from the rain, but, what do you do? Can't stop thge rain....
Other Thoughts: I had a tough time rating this course less than the North course. They are very similiar, but the other cours is a bit more difficult.

Favorite Holes:

Front: #5. Nice shot through an open fairway that gets tight with a bog on the right. Take some good length and control to get through. Hole #2 stood out a bit, but wasn't hard for me because the creek is on the right, so I don't even sweat it. Probably harder for righties

Back: #14. Open at the tee, then gets kinda tight about 150'. You gotta hit the window just right with a nice S-turn. Not really long (325'), but long enough to test your accuracy

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Setting for Disc Golf

1    6/25/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a wonderful park with old growth trees, great tees and signage, lush grass and almost no chance to lose discs and nice amenities, including a pro shop in the rec center.

This is a classic disc golf course in a really nice park. It is a wonderful change of pace from the saw palmettos that fill so many Florida courses. Not only is the setting great, the course itself is very well designed. There is a great variety of holes from both sets of tees. There are holes that are long - 550+, holes that are short - 220s, holes with trouble near the tee that open up and holes with open tee shots and trouble near the basket. The pacing is also done well so that you do not have a similar holes close to each other.

There are also multiple pin positions that are clearly marked on the very informative tee signs. The concrete tees are nice and long.

The creek that runs through the course and is integrated into holes 2-5 adds a great dimension and sense of danger. The good thing is that a disc thrown into the creek can most likely be retreived.
Cons: The park is in a slightly questionable part of town, but I did not feel at all uncomfortable playing here. The grass was very thick, which would make rollers unthinkable. It is Florida in the summer and the grass could be cut every other day and still be thick. There was also a lot of standing water when we played it early in the morning. Again, it is the rainy season and these two points are not an issue for most of the year.
Other Thoughts: Gordon Barnett Park was the last stop on a one and a half day, 100 hole, 6 course Orlando disc golf tour for my friend and I. We loved the feel and the atmosphere of the Parkside course. It is a wonderful course for advanced players as well as families. When I return to Orlando, this course will definitely be on the top of the list to play again.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    7/24/2008   6/8/2009
Review By: ntwrk
Played: 16  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course layout
Very well maintained
Nice lush scenery
Nice variety of long and short holes
Good variety of obsticles
Cons: Fire/Red biting ants
Be careful when going into the thick brush to find a disc. I got bitten/stung at least a dozen times going after one of my discs
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses that I've played. Anytime I'm in the Oralndo area this is a must play.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun

5+    11/12/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love this course. All of the holes are very easy to find and require different throwing techniques. There is a swampy creek that goes through the first couple of holes and just adds a little to the course. The front 9 are pretty open and easy to get warmed up. The back 9 get a little more technical and require accurate shots. Good times. Oh, the on site pro shop and owner are great!
Cons: The water is hard to see through and I've lost a couple discs because of friends who can't throw. On holes 15 and 17 you can launch your discs into someone's back yard and it is a pain to get them back, it can even be dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Nice course for beginners and pros' there is also another course in the park.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good First Impression

6/23/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: jaysonwhelpley
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very well laid out. Well marked (much better than the other park). Challenging enough without being frustrating. Nice open holes with a few trees to spice it up. I like 3 and 10 for that factor.
Cons: One bridge out made it impossible to play some of the holes quickly (particularly 2 and 3) which has nothing to do with the course itself, but it's frustrating to have to walk the length of the hole three times over just to play it. Would have scored higher if this wasn't the case. 15 and 17 could be a problem with private property coming close to the course.
Other Thoughts: There did seem to be some sketchyness going on there today, some old guy yelling at some "kids". I didn't see it end, but then I didn't see the guy again, but it was a little distracting.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 gordon barnett park

3/20/2004   5/20/2008
Review By: martinb
Played: 144  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: two 18 hole courses. well maintained manicured location. has own pro shop to buy merchandise. it wasnt crowded when i played.
Cons: none to speak of.
Other Thoughts: played this in '04, and they were just adding the extra nine holes to make it two 36 hole courses. what existed at the time was great, there were a variety of shots to challenge right and left handed players. a fairly wide open course but with some tight technical drives needed as well. the conditions were excellent as well, mostly mowed grass with all kinds of trees to play around, and water danger to keep away from throughout the course. coming from an area where disc golf courses are few and far between, this is like a mecca to me. two well designed courses at the same location with a pro shop! what more could you ask for?

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip

1    7/8/2005   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two courses on site. Stocked pro-shop. Close to the Orlando attractions. Well manicured. Low schule factor. Easy to navigate. Solid fun factor with a bit of challenge.

When it's windy (which is frequently) this course comes to life. The creek and other hazards become much more of a factor and strategy becomes important. Many of the shots have multiple options and it's crucial to make the right choices when it's windy.

Between the two sets of tees and relatively low schule factor, Barnett Parkside has a very broad appeal to players of pretty much all skill levels.
Cons: The routing is awkward in a couple of places. i.e. after playing hole one, you'll cross the creek to tee on hole two and then cross back by hole one's basket to walk down hole two's fairway.

A couple holes that crowd each other and a shot down a bike path are safety concerns.

This park gets a little sketchy at times, particularly towards dark.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Parkside is a well-maintained and fun disc golf course with a moderate amount of challenge. It merits an "average" rating of 2.5. Considering the on-site pro-shop and the second course on property, I'd say that it'd be a "must stop" destination for any disc golfer, except for the fact that Turkey Lake is very closer and better.

Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Florida Park Course

5+    3/3/2007   3/10/2008
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, layout and design, varied trees.
Other Thoughts: Set in in well maintained city park, Gordon Barnett Park is a worthwhile disc golf experience in a typical Florida setting. Barnett Park has two distinct 18-hole courses, both par 3 for the most part. Overall, both courses feature nice, open, well mown fairways with a good collection of oaks, pines, and palmetto to make most holes sufficiently challenging. A canal running through the park comes into play on a few holes also. The North Course adds the challenge of some unforgiving Florida woods holes, and finishes with a classic water hole.

This course is set up well, with nice pro and am tee pads and good signs, making it easy to follow. The course doesn't demand too much of players; the trees and foliage are enough to keep you honest, more in some places, but no hole is overly long or requires too much hook or slice one way or the other. The water is actually a challenge, but not a prominent one like at Cliff Stephens, for instance. Some holes are more open than others, but no hole is completely open, and no hole is unreasonably tight either. Overall, the Parkside Course is fairly typical of the Florida courses I've played, and that means no elevation changes but otherwise a generally ideal environment for disc golf - lush, green, and worth the trip.

Overall, the Parkside Course is better for beginners, and for those that prefer to grip and rip rather than play a bit of a control game. But the North Course is a little more varied and challenging, and does feature four or five just picture perfect disc golf holes. Something for everybody at Barnett Park.

Favorite Hole - #5 Parkside - relatively long diagonal shot across the canal ending with a basket well protected by oaks, palmetto, and a bit of a bog.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.